Vietcong PC

User Score
8.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 78 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 68 out of 78
  2. Negative: 2 out of 78
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. CregA.
    Apr 5, 2003
    10
    Grrrrreeeat!
  2. HansH.
    May 5, 2003
    9
    Best FPS shooter I have played, ever. I like that's it's a bit more realistic than comparable games. Also, I much prefer the fighting in the jungle and open landscape to the dungeons, houses and subways of other games. MUCH better than Black Hawk down, also. Funny the game mags gave it mad marks while all who play it love it. Maybe the distributor doesn'T buy anough ads to Best FPS shooter I have played, ever. I like that's it's a bit more realistic than comparable games. Also, I much prefer the fighting in the jungle and open landscape to the dungeons, houses and subways of other games. MUCH better than Black Hawk down, also. Funny the game mags gave it mad marks while all who play it love it. Maybe the distributor doesn'T buy anough ads to please the game mags. Expand
  3. NavidN.
    Aug 5, 2003
    7
    This game is really good, with action packed jungle warfare the fun never ends, however, there are certain problems that has casted a shadow over this game, bad things.... 1) the guys at GOD Games have shipped a whole lot of bugs while releasing vietcong 2) Graphics are overall not got, it is quite outdated 3) some AI concept of players is not that good. good things..... 1) Multiplayer is This game is really good, with action packed jungle warfare the fun never ends, however, there are certain problems that has casted a shadow over this game, bad things.... 1) the guys at GOD Games have shipped a whole lot of bugs while releasing vietcong 2) Graphics are overall not got, it is quite outdated 3) some AI concept of players is not that good. good things..... 1) Multiplayer is very fun and awsome to play with 2) alot of sigleplayer missions to keep you challenged 3) good level environment. 4) sound is good, also weapons are great overall this game's not that bad :)) but b4 you buy this game, try Men of valor first another FPS based on the Vietnam war by 2015. Expand
  4. YuchenZ.
    Apr 3, 2003
    8
    Really good game, not the best, but not the worst. Graphics aren't that good but it's not the graphics that count.
  5. RyotaA
    Jan 21, 2010
    10
    Single player has one of the best campaign experience ever. Weapons are unique respectively . the story is rich as good war movie out there, but not overly-dramatic like those ordinal WW2 shooters. Various locations drawn/built in fine detail. Perfect shooting balance between realistic shooter and arcade action. Truly a masterpiece.
  6. [Anonymous]
    Aug 31, 2004
    10
    I love it.
  7. Schadov
    Aug 9, 2004
    9
    Najlepszy fps jaki widzia³em w ¿yciu a widzia³em wiele - nie dam 10 poniewa¿ mam nadzieje ¿e doczekam siê jeszcze lepszych gierek (np. vietcong 2, ... )
  8. TomR.
    Apr 24, 2003
    9
    This game is cool. It's attention to detail is unsurpassed. The fire fight feels real and the virtual battlefied is huge! w/lots of blood and boobies...its a must have for 1st person shooter enthusiasts...
  9. JeremyL.
    May 24, 2003
    6
    Although it has a lot to offer in terms of realism and the jungle atmosphere is quite immersive, the laughably buggy AI (teammates getting stuck in trenches is a common problem) and slow pace of some of the movement will deter a lot of people. This tried hard but was let out of the door too early -- and it's NOT as good as Delta Force: Blackhawk Down, a much more polished game.
  10. CheeseMaster
    Nov 15, 2005
    7
    Good for sound, graphics (yes!), hence then atmosphere. F-ing atrocious for bugs - even with the latest patch! I would gladly punch the person who did Quality Assurance on this in the face repeatedly - and I've never done this in my life! Only because the rest of the game has such a different standard to the bugs... With the patches - who gives a toss if graphics glitches are fixed Good for sound, graphics (yes!), hence then atmosphere. F-ing atrocious for bugs - even with the latest patch! I would gladly punch the person who did Quality Assurance on this in the face repeatedly - and I've never done this in my life! Only because the rest of the game has such a different standard to the bugs... With the patches - who gives a toss if graphics glitches are fixed for crappy SIS cards when you can still drop a grenade on your foot instead of throwing it and the enemy can walk and breathe underwater?! Dodgy bugs in category A! Expand
  11. MafiaGuy
    Nov 3, 2003
    7
    Fine...I like it.
  12. Feb 5, 2015
    9
    For me this game is best FPS i ever played. Story is not epic like in modern Call of Duty games, but in this case its less is sometimes more, characters are very well written with own character, which sometimes say some funny quotes, graphics for that in which is this game made is great, especialy characters looks great and voice acting (especialy in czech version) is really good, alsoFor me this game is best FPS i ever played. Story is not epic like in modern Call of Duty games, but in this case its less is sometimes more, characters are very well written with own character, which sometimes say some funny quotes, graphics for that in which is this game made is great, especialy characters looks great and voice acting (especialy in czech version) is really good, also sounds are great especially when you going through jungle, so this deserves any good review. Expand
  13. Jun 9, 2015
    10
    This Game is one of my All-time Favorites! When it was released it perfectly aroused a dense and oppressive Jungle feeling. I have to admit that my rating probably has a small nostalgia bonus though.
Metascore
74

Mixed or average reviews - based on 22 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 22
  2. Negative: 0 out of 22
  1. Computer Games Magazine
    100
    One of its most remarkable accomplishments is the way gunfights play out like gunfights rather than shooting galleries. [July 2003, p.88]
  2. G4 TV
    60
    Excerpt forthcoming.
  3. Vietcong strays down the path between arcade shooter and tactical war simulator perfectly, resulting in a game that you’ll find hard to put down.