User Score
6.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 43 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 21 out of 43
  2. Negative: 12 out of 43

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Mar 31, 2013
    3
    Viking: Battle for Asgard is -exactly- what is wrong with modern gaming; namely that it is an extremely poor console port. It's poor performance causes for head-ache inducing camera movement, the controls feel as if though you're trying to control a gamepad with a keyboard because when you attack, you are locked in a one-on-one with the enemy which is hard to break free from. That might be useful on a console because a gamepad limits the ability of the user to quickly respond but if you have a mouse and keyboard, it feels like a huge limitation and ends up making for very frustrating fights because you'll be constantly trying to interrupt what you are doing to respond to new threats and will rarely succeed. You can learn new techniques to use during fights but this mostly means remembering a heck of a lot of key combinations. You'll also spend a lot of time wandering around and listening to uninteresting voice-actors. The game looks quite good despite its age but the way the combat works just made me drop it. I'm not sure if I'll pick it up again. The broken combat combined with the poor performance just makes me wish I hadn't bought it. Expand
  2. Feb 2, 2013
    8
    un juego "hack and slash" con ambientación en la mitología nórdica, lo cual me encanta. Amo las temáticas vikingas. Si bien, el juego no puede considerarse obra maestra, ni aportar nuevos conceptos, si lleva bien a cabo un sistema de combate sólido y la posibilad de protagonizar inmensas battallas junto a centenares de aliados. No es un juego de Rol, es más bien solo acción y aventura con locaciones y personajes de la mitología nórdica que repito, me encanta. Recomendado para los fieles al género hack and slash y amantes de la mitología nórdica. Expand
  3. Jan 9, 2013
    8
    I bought this game originally for Xbox360 and played it on there, therefor i cannot speak for PC experience, i never actually completed the game but i did get around over the half way point of the game and found it pleasantly enjoyable, however at times can get frustrating due to how hard some of the bot mobs can be. the battles tend to get repetitive but there is always something you can buy and a different place to explore, which an adventure action game like this should always have, all in all i found it sometimes glitches in the map and some mission glitches but nothing to severe, all in all a very enjoyable game which i would say is well worth the purchase Expand
  4. Apr 30, 2013
    5
    The game probably is nice, but have a lot of bugs that will annoy you, besides that the resolution options are terrible and the worst, mouse control is not working, at least not in my Steam version...
  5. May 29, 2014
    6
    Don't both trying to play this is you don't have a gamepad or if you are using a laptop. Viking suffers from a terrible port job and there is a huge framerate problem on notebooks that makes the game unplayable. Also, for people who get dizzy easily, the game is capped at 30 FPS so be wary. It's unfortunate since Viking really isn't that bad of a game. You get an open world where you go around slaughtering enemies and rescuing other Vikings. These vikings will help you defeat any nearby enemies which can make for a fun skirmish, and they will also aid you in the massive city assaults that take place throughout the game. At first these massive battles look epic and super fun, but by the time you do it the third time you realize how tedious and boring it really is. You do the same thing every time but just in a different area. It's super repetitive and so is the combat in general. You'll do the same moves, take the same approach, and succeed at it most of the entire game. To make it worse, every time you face a "boss" enemy, whether it be a giant, a champion, or the end boss, you'll be fighting them by button mashing and then going through a lame quick time event. Even so much as opening a chest or using a lock on a door has you go through a quick time event. QTEs are one of the worst things in modern gaming and need to go. There is absolutely no excuse to have them in your game. The sound quality is low and there is no music, so you'll be wandering around for house in silence, which can either be a good or bad thing depending upon your preference. The game is quite easy even on the highest difficulty. The only exception is the final level and boss battle which can be very annoying and luck based. Other than that it's quite enjoyable and a recommend checking it out if it's on sale for a cheap price. Expand
  6. Jun 28, 2013
    2
    Viking: Battle for Asgard for PC is a horrible console-port. The keyboard bindings are awful and re-binding doesn't help a single bit. Though graphics are the only quite decent thing in the game but bad porting isn't the only thing making this game bad. Even in the beginning the game and its story are quite confusing and dull, and the NPCs or the combat mechanics don't support this game. Though the NPCs voice actors are good, and also one of them is legendary Brian Blessed, it feels so dumb that almost every word that NPC says is replaced with a synonym. It just feels stupid. When the combat starts, the developers tried to make the protagonist a fast killing machine with executing ability and power-based strikes. Unfortunately this has gone down the sink, because the power-based spells are nearly impossible to find and cast on PC and you just have to kill all enemies, focusing them one by one, in a single-target combat just using your normal attacks and the executing ability. Because of this, the second camp is almost impossible to clear. Also the map & inventory menu on PC is as awful too. One does not simply use any items in your inventory and the map & fast travel are the only thing that works. And what comes to the quests, they could have been more clear, like a marker where to go or something. I recommend avoiding this game, especially the PC version, but also the console versions too. This game is bin material. Avoid and save your money! Expand
  7. May 20, 2014
    2
    Another poorly done console port. An major aspect of this game, the combat, is completely broken. I suppose it IS possible to get a game pad and play as though you're on a console, but it's very limiting. I highly recommend avoiding this.
Metascore
65

Mixed or average reviews - based on 6 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 6
  2. Negative: 0 out of 6
  1. Dec 10, 2012
    65
    Lacks the polish and panache to be a true champion, but Viking is still solid, no-thrills entertainment.
  2. Nov 29, 2012
    60
    Creative Assembly was searching for their own formula for a slasher but kinda got lost along the way. Viking can be fun but calling it a 'Nordic God of War' would be an exaggeration. [CD-Action 13/2012, p.50]
  3. Nov 23, 2012
    65
    Four years is a long time. The once humdrum, but spectacular console slasher is now a humdrum, plain-looking PC game.