Metascore
76

Generally favorable reviews - based on 6 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 6
  2. Negative: 0 out of 6
  1. Jan 26, 2011
    85
    High production values and original gameplay combine to make Vindictus one of the most interesting MMOGs to launch in several years.
  2. Dec 14, 2010
    85
    Vindictus is truly a huge advancement in free-to-play MMOs.
  3. Jan 7, 2011
    82
    A free-to-play MMO of a higher caliber, Vindictus' combo-driven combat and addictiveness make it hard to resist. [Feb 2011, p.70]
  4. Dec 27, 2010
    78
    Vindictus is what happens when an MMO meets a beat'em up, giving players the opportunity to play for free with a micro transactions system: the result It's a fast paced action online game with some good ideas a great visual, waiting for more contents and the official european release.
  5. Nov 21, 2011
    70
    Your long-term attachment to the game will also be determined by how much of an experience grind you're prepared to undertake (combined with your attitude towards impermanent purchases), and whether the hack-and-slash combat against somewhat repetitive character models is a meaty enough adventure to keep you satisfied.
  6. Jan 19, 2012
    60
    You might like this game for its detailed characters, over the top weapons and combat animations worthy of a Japanese action game. Unfortunately all the advantages are buried under thick layer of typical hack'n'slash routine. [February 2012, p.59]
User Score
7.2

Mixed or average reviews- based on 100 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 29 out of 41
  2. Negative: 10 out of 41
  1. Nov 20, 2010
    10
    The graphics are simple gorgeous. The game play is very reminiscent of Guild Wars, which is not a bad thing. And while they are stillThe graphics are simple gorgeous. The game play is very reminiscent of Guild Wars, which is not a bad thing. And while they are still implementing all the class types and spells, its an excellent beginning and a real breath of fresh air. Why isn't the Source engine being used for more MMO games, because once you see this eye candy you will find it hard to put up with WOW or other pedestrian graphics.

    Worthy of the download.
    Full Review »
  2. Nov 21, 2010
    10
    I'm a pretty picky guy when it comes to MMO's and have tried a number of them. I always look for new and unique MMO's cause I get tired of theI'm a pretty picky guy when it comes to MMO's and have tried a number of them. I always look for new and unique MMO's cause I get tired of the same old thing over and over again. This is the reason that I have not and will not play WoW. Vindictus caught my eye first for looking so damn good, and second cause word of mouth said that this was an action heavy MMO with emphasis on style. What I was excited to hear most, however, was that you were pretty much in control of your character the whole time. No auto-attacking, which I detest in most MMO's (is it really so hard to be able to swing your own sword manually?). Thankfully, Vindictus is not another run of the mill auto-attack MMO. And yes, it is very action heavy. Besides having active combat, it also runs on the Source engine (you know, the same one Half Life 2 ran on), which means there is much of the environment that you can interact with. This means nifty little addictions like being able to pick up rubble and smash your enemy with it I am actually pretty surprised this is free to play, considering how good it looks, how well it plays, and how smooth it runs. There is a limit of content, my only complaint, but hopefully it gets popular and with the popularity comes more content (looks to be that way, too). You can choose between three different standard archetypes: Fiona, the tank with a sword and shield, Lann the quick and agile dual sword wielder, and Evie, the mage. The game also has all the usual trappings. You battle monsters, shop for equipment and items, and level up as usual. However repetitive the game may be though, the action is fun and cool looking enough to make it interesting. And it should be noted that the writing is better than average k-MMO, and the translations are surprisingly sharp. While the game seems a bit shallow in the content department, there are plenty of missions to go on and plenty to collect. The game also does away with typical grinding in favor of mission objects which will keep you wanting to run some missions over again just to get the extra battle points of complete the extra goals. I'm always vary wary of MMO's, especially F2P MMO's. I typically get bored after only a short while due to repetitiveness and clone structuring. Vindictus, however, is a welcome change with active and exciting combat, gorgeous graphics, and a lack of any actual grinding. If you want something a little different, try Vindictus. You just might enjoy it as much as I have. Full Review »
  3. Nov 15, 2012
    1
    A fun, fast paced, graphically pleasing game to be sure... However, Nexon are greedy beyond words and I as a consumer feel that this gameA fun, fast paced, graphically pleasing game to be sure... However, Nexon are greedy beyond words and I as a consumer feel that this game ultimately left a bad taste in my mouth over the two years I've played. It's pay to win antics are ridiculous and extremely expensive, leaving the average player with no hope to succeed in higher level content. Make no mistake, I've played this game since It's closed Beta phase, and the in game pay items are becoming more and more necessary and even more expensive. As great as this game could have been, greed ultimately killed it for me. Full Review »