Metascore
76

Generally favorable reviews - based on 6 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.2

Mixed or average reviews- based on 99 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Vindictus, known in Asia as Mabinogi Heroes, will combine gritty third-person brawling combat with massively multiplayer role-playing.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 6
  2. Negative: 0 out of 6
  1. Dec 14, 2010
    85
    Vindictus is truly a huge advancement in free-to-play MMOs.
  2. Jan 26, 2011
    85
    High production values and original gameplay combine to make Vindictus one of the most interesting MMOGs to launch in several years.
  3. Jan 7, 2011
    82
    A free-to-play MMO of a higher caliber, Vindictus' combo-driven combat and addictiveness make it hard to resist. [Feb 2011, p.70]
  4. Dec 27, 2010
    78
    Vindictus is what happens when an MMO meets a beat'em up, giving players the opportunity to play for free with a micro transactions system: the result It's a fast paced action online game with some good ideas a great visual, waiting for more contents and the official european release.
  5. Nov 21, 2011
    70
    Your long-term attachment to the game will also be determined by how much of an experience grind you're prepared to undertake (combined with your attitude towards impermanent purchases), and whether the hack-and-slash combat against somewhat repetitive character models is a meaty enough adventure to keep you satisfied.
  6. Jan 19, 2012
    60
    You might like this game for its detailed characters, over the top weapons and combat animations worthy of a Japanese action game. Unfortunately all the advantages are buried under thick layer of typical hack'n'slash routine. [February 2012, p.59]
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 28 out of 40
  2. Negative: 10 out of 40
  1. Dec 8, 2013
    10
    Vindictus is a game type that i thoroughly enjoy. I used to play Rakion, which was the original game using this style of gameplay and it wasVindictus is a game type that i thoroughly enjoy. I used to play Rakion, which was the original game using this style of gameplay and it was probably my favorite game ever until they implemented the cash store which skewed the level of gameplay too far. Vindictus is a much different game although the same playstyle as Rakion. If you can get past the clunky UI and graphics, the game is quite good and immersive. At first it can be an ultimate turn off but once you learn the mechanics I think you will enjoy it. Good luck! Expand
  2. Nov 27, 2010
    10
    The "best" F2P MMO with micro transactions I have ever encountered.

    Vindictus has to be Nexons best game so far, I'm a fan (but currently
    The "best" F2P MMO with micro transactions I have ever encountered.

    Vindictus has to be Nexons best game so far, I'm a fan (but currently Ex-Player) of their MMOFPS Combat Arms and Vindictus just hit the spot for me.

    Being 100% free to play was a huge bonus, and the micro transactions are completely reasonable and well structured. The graphics and game mechanics blew my mind for a F2P and the content was amazing.

    First off, being free. Lots of games out there are "free" but very few are FREE. Majority of games that are free tend to have large limitations on content to those who do not pay. Not Vindictus, free players can do everything just the same as those that pay money. However, it may be a little more difficult or take a little more time. Another big thing is that paying players have no extreme advantage, their biggest advantages are sheer aesthetics. That is what I really like about an F2P game.

    The graphics are a huge jump into the future. I haven't played many MMORPG's with a graphics system that works this well with the game play. The fact that blood spurts from your enemies in the exact spot you slash them was incredible! The cinematic camera angles that change along with the motion blur and vignette effects in combat all wrap it up into an amazing package. Nexon put the Source engine to perfect use in this game giving the graphics and intense and immersive feel, complimenting the game play and content.

    I am a huge fan of the "live" combat system that Vindictus has. I've never liked the whole "auto-attack" deal that lots of other MMORPG's have. The combat system in vindictus allows and requires players to strategize their actions in all situations. Keeping the game interesting and action-y. The ability to pick up and use almost every object in the game, and destroy parts of the environment was a great bonus. Adding depth to the battles and strategy.

    Vindictus' content boasts next to no drawbacks to it. The Introduction portion of the game catapults the player into a storyline that refuses to die off throughout the game. Vindictus has the storyline depth and complexity of a single-player game while maintaining the flexibility and sociability of most MMORPG's. Never does one feel "out of the story" their are tons of side stories for a player to take but it isn't overwhelming. MY only complaint about the content is that you play as a "character" instead of the classic "race/gender/class" combo. I truly don't mind having my gender locked, but I'd rather see Rokhed level 22 Berserker instead of Rokhed level 22 Lann. The next 2 characters that Nexon is looking at seem very promising in propelling the game even further.

    A disadvantage to the game is the matchmaking method for parties. Instead of the dungeon instance being hosted on Nexon's servers, it is hosted by players, so you might end up with a supper choppy and laggy 5 player dungeon. However, you can avoid this by hosting you own boats and then befriending those who tend to lag less in your boats and party with them.

    Overall, Vindictus has everything needed in an MMORPG with the added bonuses of sweet graphics and a F2P environment. The content is clean and understandable while maintaining intense depth that keeps the player wanting more. The few drawbacks it has are absolutely, 100%, negligible as they are, in fact, avoidable by extremely simple means. This is why, in my books, Vindictus deserves a 10 out of 10.

    Good Job Nexon, Keep it coming!
    Expand
  3. Nov 20, 2010
    10
    The graphics are simple gorgeous. The game play is very reminiscent of Guild Wars, which is not a bad thing. And while they are stillThe graphics are simple gorgeous. The game play is very reminiscent of Guild Wars, which is not a bad thing. And while they are still implementing all the class types and spells, its an excellent beginning and a real breath of fresh air. Why isn't the Source engine being used for more MMO games, because once you see this eye candy you will find it hard to put up with WOW or other pedestrian graphics.

    Worthy of the download.
    Expand
  4. Jan 28, 2013
    8
    This game, while fun and visually pleasing, can become a bit tedious at times. It would have earned itself a 9, if not for Nexon's greedyThis game, while fun and visually pleasing, can become a bit tedious at times. It would have earned itself a 9, if not for Nexon's greedy money-squeezing tactics. Expand
  5. Dec 7, 2012
    7
    Note: There IS grind but the gameplay itself, which is action oriented, is compelling and fun. One of 'good' F2P title. However, remember thatNote: There IS grind but the gameplay itself, which is action oriented, is compelling and fun. One of 'good' F2P title. However, remember that there IS grind and Pay-to-Win aspect in the End-game level, although you can avoid such gripe without running serious raids but staying in easier contents having fun with friends. It's not as demanding as WoW, where you don't have anything else to do other than raids or arena both require high end gears that takes months to farm. In fact, I would rather compare this game with hack and slash ARPG games than MMORPGs. The town is a Hub, and actions require a small team, maximum number of 10 people for raid but 4 for typical runs. No persistent world but there is not so well forged storyline element. Expand
  6. Aug 19, 2013
    7
    The game is awesome, but the coding is far less awesome. I just tried to play it and the first thing was a resolution error that crashed theThe game is awesome, but the coding is far less awesome. I just tried to play it and the first thing was a resolution error that crashed the game before I got it. I managed to fix the resolution and then Microsoft Security Essentials went nuts and crashed the game then froze my entire PC. Restarted and ran the game and it froze my entire PC again when it got to the loading bar screen.

    No game should be that difficult to play.
    Expand
  7. Jan 17, 2015
    0
    A game made b mongoloids, they cannot even syncronise their account info between NEXANS Eu webpage and their game. The game fails at the firstA game made b mongoloids, they cannot even syncronise their account info between NEXANS Eu webpage and their game. The game fails at the first step possible. Being able to properly login. Ontop of that their error message guideline gives you guidelines to a page which doesn't exist for **** Great game, most awesome design ever. 2bad it failed@login. Expand

See all 40 User Reviews