Vindictus PC

Vindictus Image
Metascore
76

Generally favorable reviews - based on 6 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 120 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Vindictus, known in Asia as Mabinogi Heroes, will combine gritty third-person brawling combat with massively multiplayer role-playing.

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 6
  2. Negative: 0 out of 6
  1. Dec 14, 2010
    85
    Vindictus is truly a huge advancement in free-to-play MMOs.
  2. Jan 26, 2011
    85
    High production values and original gameplay combine to make Vindictus one of the most interesting MMOGs to launch in several years.
  3. PC Gamer
    Jan 7, 2011
    82
    A free-to-play MMO of a higher caliber, Vindictus' combo-driven combat and addictiveness make it hard to resist. [Feb 2011, p.70]
  4. Dec 27, 2010
    78
    Vindictus is what happens when an MMO meets a beat'em up, giving players the opportunity to play for free with a micro transactions system: the result It's a fast paced action online game with some good ideas a great visual, waiting for more contents and the official european release.
  5. Nov 21, 2011
    70
    Your long-term attachment to the game will also be determined by how much of an experience grind you're prepared to undertake (combined with your attitude towards impermanent purchases), and whether the hack-and-slash combat against somewhat repetitive character models is a meaty enough adventure to keep you satisfied.
  6. CD-Action
    Jan 19, 2012
    60
    You might like this game for its detailed characters, over the top weapons and combat animations worthy of a Japanese action game. Unfortunately all the advantages are buried under thick layer of typical hack'n'slash routine. [February 2012, p.59]
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 27 out of 52
  2. Negative: 18 out of 52
  1. Sep 29, 2012
    10
    i do not need to re-word my post but ill simply say that i agree with pretty much all who rated 8+. Thers a negative rating here however idi do not need to re-word my post but ill simply say that i agree with pretty much all who rated 8+. Thers a negative rating here however id like to point out that the game has gone thru lots of updates n crap... that review was also 2 years ago =

    Great game! and season 2 is just around the corner! :D
    Expand
  2. Apr 23, 2016
    10
    Vindictus is a game that gets no justice, A burden unsurprising for a character action game, which are infamous as a genre consistentlyVindictus is a game that gets no justice, A burden unsurprising for a character action game, which are infamous as a genre consistently failing to capture mainstream attention. People come to Vindictus expecting something it never claimed to be, and the feedback as a result is poor. These people seem to come to the game looking for a standard MMO experience (something never advertised or implied) and get upset when they do not receive it. If you want to spend hours crossing a vast wasteland full of aggressive monsters who can only hit you if they pass a random number check, do not play this game, and certainly do not review it when youre done and complain about things it never set out to do. Vindictus is an online character action game, you do not play classes, you play characters, you do not tab target, you aim, you do not use dps rotations, you adapt your attacks to the situation. If you like bayonetta, god of war, or devil may cry, do indeed try this game, but if you like WoW, Runescape, or Guild Wars, and you cannot accept a game doing something different, do not play this, and do not review this

    For those who do want an online character action experience, Youll find no better, often youll see people claiming the game has no variety, but an honest person could tell you that each area of the game takes up maybe an hour an hour or two of your time, before giving you a new place to play in. You do revisit older areas, but only in theme, For example, there are two areas to the ruins, one with 9 levels to complete (where you slowly progress through the ruins) and one, which comes later in the game, which has 8 levels. There is additional time you return to a similar area, but is not technically related, which holds another 9, in these cases, enemies are changed, traps are changed, new areas are added, and no boss is repeated. Even in the case of the first area of the game, when the area boss returns as a raid, he has a different moveset to freshen things up. Despite the seldom reuse of these areas in the game, people will tell you the game lacks variety, I have to wonder if those same people would spend the same three hours in another MMO's forest ruins environment, only instead of fighting new enemies in each level, they are just grinding the same things. Variety in Vindictus, like any other character action game, is less about visuals, and more about mechanics, People can complain all they want that gnolls, despite being in a war with you, show up too often at the start of the game, but only if the gnolls fail to ever shake things up, which they certainly do.

    Some people also claim the game is grindy, which is flat out untrue, The game is not designed for you to gain experience from killing mobs, it goes out of its way to encourage players to do quests for exp, but since again, these players are coming in expecting the typical MMO, they decide to grind instead, and dismiss the game as a result before going off to tell people who grindy it is. I have one of every single character released to date, which means Ive leveled 9 characters, so I feel its safe to trust me when I tell you that you can reach the soft level cap in a couple weeks of playing casually, level 30 (of 90) is achieved in just an hour or two for most people, and there are frequent contests with new characters to max out their level, which people complete in a matter of days.

    A final clarification I feel the need to make is on the idea of "pay to win", people have this reflexive (and unfounded) attitude that if any game is published by nexon, no matter what, its pay to win. This is baffling because as I recall there were only ever two games from them that had such problems, and those problems were eventually removed. In the case of vindictus, pay to win is impossible. The game is largely PvE, and only one of the 4 pvp modes could be affected by your gear, so the idea is silly to begin with. Anyone who claims the game is pay to win is simply ignorant, they do not understand how the pvp works, they do not understand how the pve works, they do not understand how stats work, and they do not understand how cash items work. Yes, you are able to buy costumes for 30 dollars a piece which will give you stats, but in addition to the stats being negligible, there are free sets for you to acquire, none of that really matters though because stats mean nothing in Vindictus and I prove that every day I play.
    Expand
  3. Nov 20, 2010
    10
    The graphics are simple gorgeous. The game play is very reminiscent of Guild Wars, which is not a bad thing. And while they are stillThe graphics are simple gorgeous. The game play is very reminiscent of Guild Wars, which is not a bad thing. And while they are still implementing all the class types and spells, its an excellent beginning and a real breath of fresh air. Why isn't the Source engine being used for more MMO games, because once you see this eye candy you will find it hard to put up with WOW or other pedestrian graphics.

    Worthy of the download.
    Expand
  4. Jun 3, 2011
    8
    I've played quite a few MMORPGs, some paid but mostly free-to-play ones. This is the best free MMORPG I have played, and seems to be betterI've played quite a few MMORPGs, some paid but mostly free-to-play ones. This is the best free MMORPG I have played, and seems to be better than most subscription based ones. The learning curve is quick, the graphics are very impressive, and the combat system is actually fun. There's not too much to do besides run instances to complete quests, but in a way, that makes it great. The gear is all crafted, so no need to worry about fighting over drops while in an instance.

    One thing I REALLY love: each instance is short, under 15 minutes usually. Some can be ran in 5 minutes or so.

    The only flaws I've noticed is the fact that you have to run one quest over and over about 4 times until you can access the next quest in the series. This doesn't happen too often, but certainly can be annoying. I think many of the bosses are too easy, also. But then again, I'm only level 30 :P
    Expand
  5. Aug 19, 2013
    7
    The game is awesome, but the coding is far less awesome. I just tried to play it and the first thing was a resolution error that crashed theThe game is awesome, but the coding is far less awesome. I just tried to play it and the first thing was a resolution error that crashed the game before I got it. I managed to fix the resolution and then Microsoft Security Essentials went nuts and crashed the game then froze my entire PC. Restarted and ran the game and it froze my entire PC again when it got to the loading bar screen.

    No game should be that difficult to play.
    Expand
  6. Mar 31, 2013
    3
    There is no challenge in this game. Mobs die quickly and easily across the board. This makes gear, crafting, levelling (except to unlockThere is no challenge in this game. Mobs die quickly and easily across the board. This makes gear, crafting, levelling (except to unlock content) and grouping pointless and irrelevant in one fell swoop. Because of this, the game has no driving force to keep you playing. Poor game design to the point of being moronic. Expand
  7. Mar 13, 2016
    0
    At first glance it seems like a good game, and for a while it's newish and fun; but then you find out you've wasted a lot of time on a gameAt first glance it seems like a good game, and for a while it's newish and fun; but then you find out you've wasted a lot of time on a game that tries to be interesting long enough for you to feel you've put to much time into it to quit. I played the game long enough to get to level 76 and still can't say there was ever a time I felt good about playing.

    All the dungeons are copy/paste, the skills are all the same, the characters are shallow, the story line is boring, the game is glitchy, the breakable environment tends to fall on you stunning you so a boss can one shot you, if you try to use a health potion it instantly puts the boss in aggro mode on you and he stops you (unless you pay real $ for special potions), if you try to revive someone the boss will instantly aggro you and stop you (unless you pay real $ for special revives), the crafting system is only a money drain and you will never get as much out of it as you put into it, the way to improve items is only possible for bots (unless you pay real $ to get special runes to take the risk away you'll only need about 12 at $5 per), drops in the game are rare even for commons making this the perfect game for bots which now outnumber people, the graphics are nice but glitch out with a lot of different effects (sticking you in walls, jerking you around, putting everything in slow motion, freezing you in place, pausing you while all the enemies glitch to you and hit you at the same time, and many many more), and despite this being a long list it doesn't even scratch to surface of all that is wrong with this game.

    O and a thing you should Always do before starting a game is go to their forum page and see how easy it is to talk to a moderator or tech. In this game the forum has appointed "volunteers" which is 100% idiots dumb enough to work for free to be the buffer so no one who receives a paycheck ever has to deal with any customers. They are nothing more than handlers with no ability to fix or do anything. They just close threads and try to wast your time till you lose interest.

    Bottom line, it's a game designed to look good long enough to get you to pay money then be so bad you give up playing to make server space for the next batch of chumps willing to pay. All you will ever find is a group of die hard lvl 90'S and newbs. The game is not worth even a minute of time.
    Expand

See all 52 User Reviews