User Score
7.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 35 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 26 out of 35
  2. Negative: 3 out of 35

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Apr 7, 2012
    9
    A very good game and that is fascinating in the PC version!
  2. Oct 8, 2012
    7
    it's a good game but is too arcade. The graphics are good. the gameplay is a defect because the ball never go outside the court. the sound is regular. graphics: 8
    Gameplay: 6
    Sound:7

    Final note: 7
  3. Jan 15, 2013
    7
    Fun game as every Virtua Tennis, yet this one has one weird change, it's harder to return the ball when you are in a bad position or too far from the ball, as your player moves are slower. Now position is much more important which is a good point, but sometimes it's weird when you can't volley a ball that passes 3 cm from you cause it was a "bit too fast" and your player doesn't even react to block the ball. Expand
  4. Nov 24, 2012
    6
    A reasonable game overall. The exhibition mode is good however the World Tour gets monotonous towards the end. The career should have included the opportunity to play with the tennis stars over a calender year (or more) and making them win the tournaments. The drop shot is probably the worst thing in the game, getting a point with the drop shot is very difficult as a drop shot is performed with a lob as opposed to slice. Overall an enjoyable game if you want to play the exhibition mode but not for too long. Expand
  5. Mar 25, 2013
    6
    The game is truly disappointing. It's a miss when it comes both to the arcade and simulation. The "casual" difficulty is a joke. Mini games are boring. Controls are like for 5 year old you don't even have to be close to the ball to hit it. Career mode as a board game seems interesting at the beginning but turns out to be another joke (you'll understand when you'll miss two big events in a row). Music sux it's simply annoying (mostly). BTW: a new shirt costs more than hiring an agent for a week; your player ALWAYS makes the same moves entering the court, after the match (booring) etc. The only nice thing are game graphics and smooth gameplay. Unfortunately it all feels terribly empty. I'm going back to Hot Shots Tennis: Get a Grip on my PSP as it's way much entertaining and demanding than this. Expand
  6. Jul 31, 2013
    8
    Good work on graphics though game-play is quite poor. easy to finish.
    Better graphics than top spin. Player is quite sluggish at times, Expecting more next time.
  7. Dec 26, 2013
    8
    This game has great graphics but has some down falls, Lets start with Character Selection there is not many people in this game like Blake is missing few others. Also the game is missing a lot of mini games could be they need unlocking.Main menu is amazing graphics are amazing lets talk about online play, People are so desperate for a game online you get pros with F5 playing people with G1 even when you make a club house that says Beginners welcome. I can see modding coming in here to update the game and make the online experience better as p2p does lag, Also playing online games people tend to go corners and that's it leaving you in the dust since most cant play mini games or suck at them, Also anyone higher than G goes corners on them cause the G level people can run that fast online should have a limit and a rank/level block on club houses so only G1 can enter a G1 club house single player will be all for unless I play a friend I know and I know he is my level and its a fair game. With better online play we would rate this higher but for now we give this 8/10. Expand
  8. Feb 3, 2014
    8
    Virtua Tennis 4 is a great tennis simulator
    Is good optimised , has great graphics , the controls are nice mapped and in my opinion is one of the easiest tennis games
Metascore
66

Mixed or average reviews - based on 5 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 5
  2. Negative: 0 out of 5
  1. 50
    Virtua Tennis keeps its arcade style but unfortunately it soon turns into a spiritless stereotype play. [Issue#207]
  2. Aug 29, 2011
    70
    It's nothing close to a serious tennis simulator, but it's packed with so much fun that you simply don't care. [Sept 2011, p.91]
  3. Aug 14, 2011
    71
    SEGA could have used its money and influence to elevate Virtua Tennis to the level of EA's FIFA franchise, but, judging by the lack of tangible progress in this installment, I guess SEGA just doesn't care.