Volgarr the Viking Image
Metascore
76

Generally favorable reviews - based on 9 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 92 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Remember when games were tough? Return to the Golden Age of arcades with a hardcore action experience that pulls no punches. Volgarr the Viking features simple controls, high challenge, and meticulous design - combined with hand-made pixel animation, an epic soundtrack, and buckets of blood.Remember when games were tough? Return to the Golden Age of arcades with a hardcore action experience that pulls no punches. Volgarr the Viking features simple controls, high challenge, and meticulous design - combined with hand-made pixel animation, an epic soundtrack, and buckets of blood. Flex your gaming muscles and step into the arena with Volgarr the Viking. Expand

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Volgarr the Viking - Gameplay Trailer
Autoplay On Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 9
  2. Negative: 0 out of 9
  1. Sep 16, 2013
    80
    Despite the lack of leniency, this game is definitely worth losing your hair over. It’ll kick you in the ass several times, but that’s honestly the best part about it.
  2. Nov 25, 2013
    80
    If you miss those old-school games where beating just a stage was already an achievement, where you'll die if you don't pay all the attention it deserves, this is the experience you're looking for.
  3. Sep 19, 2013
    80
    Volgarr the Viking is a brutal throwback to classic game design. Those wanting a challenge and who don’t mind repetition should not miss this.
  4. Oct 22, 2013
    80
    Volgarr The Viking is a very difficult but enjoyable platform game. You have to try it if you have loved Rastan Saga or another platform arcade game from the eighties/nineties.
  5. PC PowerPlay
    Oct 28, 2013
    80
    Volgarr does difficulty really well - but there's nothing here for anyone who doesn't like the taste of their own tears. [Nov 2013, p.87]
  6. Pelit (Finland)
    May 11, 2014
    77
    Völgarr the Viking is challenging, which is nice, but there are too few checkpoints. Repetition is never, ever fun. [Feb 2014]
  7. LEVEL (Czech Republic)
    Oct 24, 2013
    60
    Brutal game that requires you to clench your teeth and dig in. If you do, you'll get a sense of achievement that is very rare nowadays. [Nov 2013]

See all 9 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 29
  2. Negative: 6 out of 29
  1. Sep 16, 2013
    10
    Wow This game is Ghosts'n Goblins of 21th century What else could I say Oh, yes imagine Dark souls in 2D...prepare to die, often andWow This game is Ghosts'n Goblins of 21th century What else could I say Oh, yes imagine Dark souls in 2D...prepare to die, often and without bonfires, but master your moves, time it right and you will be rewarded by great feeling of empowerment. Love it. Solid Ten, period. Expand
  2. Sep 22, 2013
    10
    First of all, this game is not for everyone. It's for real gamers,the ones from the the old-school era of gaming, back in the 80s and 90s.First of all, this game is not for everyone. It's for real gamers,the ones from the the old-school era of gaming, back in the 80s and 90s. Volgarr the Viking is a (very) hardcore action platformer game, and the only "saving" option here is the ability and skill you get each time you play the game. Every time you play it again you will go further, because you are learning how to play it. This game mechanics is hardly seen nowadays unfortunately, it reminds me of many games, like: Ghost n Goblins, Castlevania and even a bit of Zelda II Adventure of Link. The game has 3 different endings, each one harder to get than the other; leaderboards to compare your score with all players in the world, and trust me, a lot a fun packed. Volgarr is the kind of game that if you dedicate yourself to master it, it will reward you with many satisfying moments. Go for it if you like a good challenge! For the kind of game that Volgarr the viking is, and the kind of game that Volgarr the Viking clearly always intended to be, it deserves a 10 out of 10. Expand
  3. Sep 13, 2013
    10
    It does exactly what it's supposed to do!

    It's an homage to the difficult hardcore platformers of the 90's. If you aren't familiar with
    It does exactly what it's supposed to do!

    It's an homage to the difficult hardcore platformers of the 90's.
    If you aren't familiar with any snes or nes platformer, then you might as well give up before starting the game.
    The controls are reminiscent of the old Castlevania games.
    There's really not much else to say other than that it's well designed in an old-school kind of way.

    There are no instructions in the game other than an intro level that's a lot like Megaman X's intro level, so you're forced to learn all the mechanics while playing. This is not a bad thing at all and it just strengthens the old-school feel.

    So, to sum up gameplay: It's perfect.

    I wish the music was a little more energetic, though. I know what it's inspired by, but at times I feel it just doesn't fit what's going on in-game.

    The graphics are great, but seem a little muddy. Hopefully, they could add some kind of filter option to turn of that muddiness and keep the sprites pixelated.

    If you plan to buy this game; beware its insane difficulty. It honestly hurts my face.
    Collapse
  4. Sep 14, 2013
    9
    ODIN BE PRAISED! Volgarr the Viking is here, and it's place is already secure amongst the honored dead in Valhalla.

    I don't really even
    ODIN BE PRAISED! Volgarr the Viking is here, and it's place is already secure amongst the honored dead in Valhalla.

    I don't really even need to go into massive detail here. If you watch any gameplay trailer, Volgar the Viking speaks for itself. This game harkens back to old school arcade sidescrollers and beat-em-ups, while also introducing a lot of nice additions when it comes to platforming. The satisfying combat is just the icing on the cake.

    You WILL die here, a lot. Obviously the difficulty means this experience isn't for everybody, but then again that's very poor criteria to hold against it. What I will say is that Volgarr gives me an almost Demon's Souls or Dark Souls style of vibe from it.

    It's well worth your time, and it's sure as hel worth your money...so hop on your longboat, grab your sword and spear, and prepare you favorite heavy metal for some Viking savagery!
    Expand
  5. Aug 15, 2017
    7
    Nice graphics, sound and gameplay. Stylish.
    However, I quit at the boss of world 2. Having to memorize each and every move of a boss so far
    Nice graphics, sound and gameplay. Stylish.
    However, I quit at the boss of world 2. Having to memorize each and every move of a boss so far away from the last checkpoint is not my idea of entertainment. Learning each next move with each death... sorry, as I am approaching 40 I can't afford to waste my time like this.

    Then I played some more and killed the mofo. And the next one. Maybe it's not that bad :)
    Expand
  6. Sep 14, 2013
    6
    A Rastan clone and just as hard. In fact this would have been a perfect game for gaming today if the devs were a little more forgiving withA Rastan clone and just as hard. In fact this would have been a perfect game for gaming today if the devs were a little more forgiving with placing more check points and at the very least showing you how much health you have left. As it is you have no idea how low you are in health and if you have been sweating through a long level and die, be prepared to start all over again. Again and again and again aka Mega Man style. Those who love a challenge will love it everyone else be aware before plunking down your money on this as it will test your patience. Either way be prepared for repetition and frustration. Expand
  7. Oct 23, 2013
    1
    If ripping off awful, outdated games is a good thing, well done Volgarr. The graphics are a mess, with no real style or consistency, theIf ripping off awful, outdated games is a good thing, well done Volgarr. The graphics are a mess, with no real style or consistency, the controls are not fit for purpose and as mentioned, perhaps the worst part is that it's just unoriginal.

    Retro gaming is about the best parts of gaming heritage, but Volgarr is just the worst. To be avoided.
    Expand

See all 29 User Reviews

Trailers