Metascore
76

Generally favorable reviews - based on 9 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 78 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Remember when games were tough? Return to the Golden Age of arcades with a hardcore action experience that pulls no punches. Volgarr the Viking features simple controls, high challenge, and meticulous design - combined with hand-made pixel animation, an epic soundtrack, and buckets of blood.Remember when games were tough? Return to the Golden Age of arcades with a hardcore action experience that pulls no punches. Volgarr the Viking features simple controls, high challenge, and meticulous design - combined with hand-made pixel animation, an epic soundtrack, and buckets of blood. Flex your gaming muscles and step into the arena with Volgarr the Viking. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 9
  2. Negative: 0 out of 9
  1. Sep 16, 2013
    80
    Despite the lack of leniency, this game is definitely worth losing your hair over. It’ll kick you in the ass several times, but that’s honestly the best part about it.
  2. Nov 25, 2013
    80
    If you miss those old-school games where beating just a stage was already an achievement, where you'll die if you don't pay all the attention it deserves, this is the experience you're looking for.
  3. Sep 19, 2013
    80
    Volgarr the Viking is a brutal throwback to classic game design. Those wanting a challenge and who don’t mind repetition should not miss this.
  4. Oct 22, 2013
    80
    Volgarr The Viking is a very difficult but enjoyable platform game. You have to try it if you have loved Rastan Saga or another platform arcade game from the eighties/nineties.
  5. Oct 28, 2013
    80
    Volgarr does difficulty really well - but there's nothing here for anyone who doesn't like the taste of their own tears. [Nov 2013, p.87]
  6. May 11, 2014
    77
    Völgarr the Viking is challenging, which is nice, but there are too few checkpoints. Repetition is never, ever fun. [Feb 2014]
  7. 60
    Brutal game that requires you to clench your teeth and dig in. If you do, you'll get a sense of achievement that is very rare nowadays. [Nov 2013]

See all 9 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 27
  2. Negative: 7 out of 27
  1. Sep 16, 2013
    10
    Wow This game is Ghosts'n Goblins of 21th century What else could I say Oh, yes imagine Dark souls in 2D...prepare to die, often andWow This game is Ghosts'n Goblins of 21th century What else could I say Oh, yes imagine Dark souls in 2D...prepare to die, often and without bonfires, but master your moves, time it right and you will be rewarded by great feeling of empowerment. Love it. Solid Ten, period. Expand
  2. Sep 14, 2013
    10
    This game is really cool, it is very similar to the ancient game Ghost'n Goblins, and I really love this game, and some people complain thatThis game is really cool, it is very similar to the ancient game Ghost'n Goblins, and I really love this game, and some people complain that the game is absent checkpoints, and what they eeto same HARDCORE!! Expand
  3. Sep 13, 2013
    10
    It does exactly what it's supposed to do!

    It's an homage to the difficult hardcore platformers of the 90's. If you aren't familiar with
    It does exactly what it's supposed to do!

    It's an homage to the difficult hardcore platformers of the 90's.
    If you aren't familiar with any snes or nes platformer, then you might as well give up before starting the game.
    The controls are reminiscent of the old Castlevania games.
    There's really not much else to say other than that it's well designed in an old-school kind of way.

    There are no instructions in the game other than an intro level that's a lot like Megaman X's intro level, so you're forced to learn all the mechanics while playing. This is not a bad thing at all and it just strengthens the old-school feel.

    So, to sum up gameplay: It's perfect.

    I wish the music was a little more energetic, though. I know what it's inspired by, but at times I feel it just doesn't fit what's going on in-game.

    The graphics are great, but seem a little muddy. Hopefully, they could add some kind of filter option to turn of that muddiness and keep the sprites pixelated.

    If you plan to buy this game; beware its insane difficulty. It honestly hurts my face.
    Collapse
  4. Sep 14, 2013
    9
    ODIN BE PRAISED! Volgarr the Viking is here, and it's place is already secure amongst the honored dead in Valhalla.

    I don't really even
    ODIN BE PRAISED! Volgarr the Viking is here, and it's place is already secure amongst the honored dead in Valhalla.

    I don't really even need to go into massive detail here. If you watch any gameplay trailer, Volgar the Viking speaks for itself. This game harkens back to old school arcade sidescrollers and beat-em-ups, while also introducing a lot of nice additions when it comes to platforming. The satisfying combat is just the icing on the cake.

    You WILL die here, a lot. Obviously the difficulty means this experience isn't for everybody, but then again that's very poor criteria to hold against it. What I will say is that Volgarr gives me an almost Demon's Souls or Dark Souls style of vibe from it.

    It's well worth your time, and it's sure as hel worth your money...so hop on your longboat, grab your sword and spear, and prepare you favorite heavy metal for some Viking savagery!
    Expand
  5. Oct 4, 2013
    7
    Volgarr is a game I'll be playing for quite a while. After 5 hours I've only gotten past 3 stages. It's good to finally have a real challenge.Volgarr is a game I'll be playing for quite a while. After 5 hours I've only gotten past 3 stages. It's good to finally have a real challenge. It's a shame Volgarr wasn't released in the SNES era or it would have been a classic. Expand
  6. Jul 6, 2014
    6
    The theme and graphic style drew me in. The music was suitable and I reminisced about my days on the SNES and Genesis. But several hours in,The theme and graphic style drew me in. The music was suitable and I reminisced about my days on the SNES and Genesis. But several hours in, and still on level 1 I realised something.

    The game is hard NOT because it's hard, but because the jumping is absolutely terrible. Having no control over your jump makes this game artificially hard as 9 times out of 10 it was jumping into a pit that killed me because for some reason, Volgarr can't jump vertically up and a bit forward to get on a platform, but instead has to do this aberration of a left then immediately right jump to get over walls he's next to.

    I can accept the save system, the very few hp Volgarr has, and the quick reflexes needed at various points, but the jumping ruins everything. I recommend this game but only in 10 minute bursts, any more and you might find your monitor outside your house out of unfair frustration.
    Expand
  7. Oct 23, 2013
    1
    If ripping off awful, outdated games is a good thing, well done Volgarr. The graphics are a mess, with no real style or consistency, theIf ripping off awful, outdated games is a good thing, well done Volgarr. The graphics are a mess, with no real style or consistency, the controls are not fit for purpose and as mentioned, perhaps the worst part is that it's just unoriginal.

    Retro gaming is about the best parts of gaming heritage, but Volgarr is just the worst. To be avoided.
    Expand

See all 27 User Reviews

Trailers