User Score
8.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 177 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 9 out of 177

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Apr 27, 2011
    10
    Very Fun Game! The retro-esque gravity defying platformer VVVVVV takes one back to the days of better gaming -- where skill actually matters because the reward is worth it. You'll find the game-play difficult but not overly so and the payoff of finding new areas or making an "impossible" maneuver worthwhile. The music gives me goosebumps and fits in quite well with the game -- that of exploring space in an strange and unknown dimension to find your crew-mates. Precision platforming -- retro style -- at its best! 10/10 Expand
  2. Apz
    Jul 26, 2011
    9
    Tons of fun. Kept me completely entertained for the whole ~2 hours length, which is more than I can say for a few big releases out there currently. You'll set a world record for obscenities while playing. I still haven't collected all of the collectible energy trinkets, so I'll have to go back and finish that up.

    The room titled "Your Bitter Tears are Delicious" will leave you with a
    sour taste in your mouth. Expand
  3. Mar 31, 2011
    10
    In all the years I've spent as an inthusiest of the video game arts, I can only recall a handfull of games I've had legitamitly no criticism for; among these are masterpieces sutch as Portal, Shadow of the Collosus, Beyond Good and Evil, and Half-Life 2. Today, I am pleased to announce that VVVVVV stands proud among those titles as one of the the best games of 2010, and one of the most inovative inde games since Braid! VVVVVV is an inde 2D platformer developed by Terry Cavanagh with a retro 8-bit style, something shared by it's spiritual sister game Super Meat Boy, which I had not played at time of writing, but from what I understand is very well desighned as well, and definatly deserving of your time! Now, when 8-bit visuals show up, their buddy, brutal dificulty, shows up to the party as well, and I'll warn you, like another of my favorate games of 2010, Dead Rising 2, will lose points with some people crying about the dificulty. But you know what, the difficulty balences itself out, theres a check-point every screen and the gameplay is very rewarding, every screen is an accompishment in and of itself. the gameplay centers around your ability to shift your character's gravity from the floor to the cealing and vise versa, it really reminds me of old game on the NES called Metalstorm, which had a very simular mechanic, but it was a contra style side-scrolling shooter, this is a combat-free puzzle platformer. Now the developers clearly took a few pointers from Portal when making this game, IE: the idea of making the whole game eighty percent tutorial, becoase it's always introducing new play mechanics expanding apon the gravity manipulation concept, this ensures that the gameplay never gets old or overstays it's welcome. another thing it seems to have borrowed from portal is it's length, becoase it can easily finished in a couple hours if you try, but this is a five dollar steam game here, on a rediculusly tiny budget, so what do you expect? Anyway, this game has incredably modest eystem requirements, so if you can read this, chances are you can play VVVVVV, and I highly recomend you do, there's so much to like here, and also it stands to be mentioned that once you beat the game you can re-play with the entire world map fliped on it's head Castlevania: Symphony of the Night style, which is practacly like an entirely seperate game. But the two biggest reasons for buying this game are: 1- it's FIVE BLOODY DOLLARS, and 2- you can take relish in the idea that you have suported the independent developers, instead of put more money into the pockets of the AAA industy fat cats. I emplore you, DO NOT pass this one up! Expand
  4. Dec 17, 2011
    10
    Soundtrack. Soundtrack. Its amazing, the chiptune fits so well with the puzzling world of pixels and perplexion and FRUSTRATION!!!!
    Its a hard game, and honestly i would download it just for the pure fun it implies. Its a good timewaster and everything, and it really challenges you. You can actually unlock challanges and things, if you hate doing the story mode. Did i mention the soundtrack?
  5. Aug 5, 2011
    10
    Wow. When first starting the game, i thought "hmph, just another indie game". But oh how i was wrong. This puzzle platformer is incredibly fun and tricky. At one point, i even got light headed from this game, it was amazing hahaha.
  6. Nov 13, 2011
    10
    Its almost as tooth-and-nails hard as super meat boy, and incredibly addictive. While I wouldn't call it the best platformer of all time, its the most fun i've had playing a game in a long while.
  7. Apr 30, 2012
    9
    Don't have doubts about this game: BUY IT. Despite being short, VVVVVV is a valuable experience that's truly vital for any video-gamer who values a game devoid of vanity.
  8. Dec 27, 2012
    10
    Wonderfully innovative platformer with a twist. The gravity changing action button is really unique yet the whole game feels like the classics like megaman right down to the MIDI soundtrack. A Great story supports it. A very nice complete package. Love the creativity involved in the "monsters". Simple yet effective.
  9. Dec 1, 2011
    9
    This game can be VERY frustrating, but it feels so addicting at the same time for an unknown reason, its certainly very interesting, the music constantly gets stuck in my head, I like the idea of gravity that it applied to a 2d platformer rather than just jumping around like mario, I cant complain about the graphics because the game was made to look like the way it is.
  10. Dec 15, 2010
    9
    The difficulty for this game is cranked sky-high but with an abundance of cloning points, often multiple ones on the same screen, you don't feel cheated by the game at any point. Never before have I felt such a sense of accomplishment, than when I collected the trinket in "Doing things the hard way" (try looking it up on youtube! [Also know as Veni, Vidi, Vici]). It's brilliant fun and brings a lot of charm to what otherwise could have been more mundane, the challenges constantly change and you never feel that you're repeating yourself. Also, can't help but think my positivity is due to the character's big smile and ever-upbeat music! Expand
  11. Jan 9, 2011
    10
    Graphics of this game are simplistic but I felt same amount of joy while playing VVVVVV as I did when I played "Mirror's Edge" last year. Gameplay is fast and smooth, music awesome, and it reminded me on bunch of other 2D platformers I used to play while ago. Game is fairly short, took me about 2.5 hrs to finish it (so, it's around "Braid's" length). Additional few hours for time trials, and 20 trinkets across the map which you can try (or not) to collect. Regarding difficulty, some might say it's though, but it's passable. Nothing like "Super Meat Boy" for example, which I sadly say I'll never finish 100%. As for replay value, you won't play this game every day, but from time to time, surely. To sum up all at the end, if you liked other titles I mentioned here, you'll probably like VVVVVV too Expand
  12. Aug 17, 2011
    9
    It's true; this is a reflex-driven, muscle memory platformer with lots of save points. While the core mechanic of the game is "the flip", the game takes it to far enough for the levels to be surprising, and makes you want to not only finish the game (about 2.5 hours?), but explore further as well. When you're first in the game, and see the map there's a great, Metroid-ish sense of being lost.
    Finally, the game has a tremendous amount of charm and a bunch of fun tunes. I'll be going back just for the sad faces alone.
    Expand
  13. Oct 18, 2011
    10
    this review is based on what ive played, which is only about rescuing 4 weird people, but i havnt got it yet, so ill just get down to it.

    ...
    ...
    ..
    .
    ..
    ...
    ...
    ...
    ....

    IT IS ABSOLUTLY AMAZING!!!!!! ]


    AND 4-5 QUID....


    WOW.


    Wow...

    wow.

    wo-


    Get it then, tbh

    97%
  14. Sep 9, 2011
    9
    It's amazing how game developers can keep thinking up of unique ideas. I really enjoy that factor. Switching gravity instead of jumping in a platformer? Fun! The gameplay mechanics were intelligently placed into the map, to make the game 'that much' harder. The graphics are well done (they are meant to look bad), and the music improved the standard of the game a lot more. The difficulty in the game was perfect, and the checkpoints were well placed to make this game not-as-frustrating. The reason, though, I didn't give this a ten out of ten was because it was: 1. too short, 2. 'the hub' (is what I like to call it) was too big, and it was easy to both get lost and not know where to go next. I wouldn't say this game is non-linear, but you can do challenges in different orders. This was the main problem. Even with the map, the hub was very hard to navigate through. Otherwise, this game is very good (though I wouldn't say it is worth $5 - I've seen cheaper games with a lot more content.) Expand
  15. Jan 14, 2012
    10
    First of all this game has THE BEST SOUNDTRACK in a video game ever! So add the sounds with fitting graphics, great gameplay and BOOM!!!! You got VVVVVV
  16. Jun 26, 2013
    9
    I was very impressed with this game. The main game is low-medium difficulty and the extra medals are medium-hard so you can go as hardcore as you want to. When I was near-finished I thought the game felt a tad short but I think it was more that I just wanted to keep playing which is obviously a good thing. At the end with 100% completion I had racked up 6 hours of game time, which I'd think is fairly average for the price. Expand
  17. Jul 21, 2012
    9
    This game deserves more than your passing attention. It's challenging, fun and concise like few other games I've played. There is a challenge for every minute of the three hours a playthrough takes. Yes, it's short, but intense. One can think of it as compact gaming, you get ten hours of gameplay compressed into three or four intense hours. The soundtrack is excellent and almost iconic. The few frustrating bits took some of my enthusiasm away, as well as the fact the the story is minimal and it's essentially another (revolutionary) platformer. You can tell it was made by a gaming-expert without any big organization with shareholders to satisfy. A personal and intense product. Expand
  18. Dec 10, 2012
    9
    This charming little indie game takes your C64 nostalgia and adds its own unique twist. The music alone makes VVVVVV a necessity in any indie gamer's collection.
  19. Apr 26, 2012
    9
    Very nice game with nice graphics in 2d and great music. Good story in the background and excellent gameplay make it difficult to break away from her.
  20. Jun 2, 2012
    10
    A short but unforgettable retro platformer adventure. Although it is short, this game was the only 8-bit style game to actually touch me emotionally. It wasn't the story that did it, it was the music. Sometimes i argue that this game is actually 3D, for the music adds the third dimension. It is the best chiptune music i have ever heard, and it is what motivates you to keep playing onward no matter how difficult the situation. Best platformer ive played in years. Expand
  21. Jun 18, 2013
    10
    Terry has created an awesome challenging innovative indie game.
    Souleye has created the best music ever heard in a video game.
    10/10, and I bought this game four times.
  22. Jul 26, 2014
    9
    One of my most favourite platformer game with original idea. However, the controls could be more accurate, I think. Retro graphic and sounds are awesome.
Metascore
81

Generally favorable reviews - based on 15 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 15
  2. Negative: 0 out of 15
  1. Sep 12, 2011
    68
    Nothing VVVVVV does is actually new or different. [May 2010, p.91]
  2. Sep 12, 2011
    70
    Sporadic difficulty notwithstanding, it's certainly a credit to Mr. Cavanagh that a project with VVVVVV's basic graphics and simple controls can feel so completely energetic and entertaining. Much more than it initially appears, I was quite glad to have spent time with the title, and eagerly look forward to what Terry will be cooking up next.
  3. Sep 12, 2011
    75
    It's easy to recommend VVVVVV to fans of the "retro revival" games that seem to be gaining in popularity; but it has more in common with artsy, competent and contemporary titles like N+ and Braid than it does with, say, Konami's Rebirth series on WiiWare, Mega Man 9 or Retro Game Challenge.