VVVVVV PC

VVVVVV Image
Metascore
81

Generally favorable reviews - based on 15 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 214 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: VVVVVV is a retro styled 2D platformer by Terry Cavanagh, creator of dozens of free games. You play as the fearless leader of a team of dimension exploring scientists who inadvertently crash, and are separated. The game involves exploring the strange world you've found yourself in, andVVVVVV is a retro styled 2D platformer by Terry Cavanagh, creator of dozens of free games. You play as the fearless leader of a team of dimension exploring scientists who inadvertently crash, and are separated. The game involves exploring the strange world you've found yourself in, and reuniting your friends.

    VVVVVV explores one simple game mechanic: you cannot jump - instead, you reverse your own gravity at the press of a button. The game focuses on playing with this mechanic in a variety of interesting ways.

    The game is designed not to artificially gate your progress. In VVVVVV there are no locks, no power-ups, no switches, nothing to stop you progressing except the challenges themselves.
    Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 15
  2. Negative: 0 out of 15
  1. Sep 12, 2011
    100
    It's just too bad VVVVVV didn't come out 25 years ago.
  2. Sep 12, 2011
    100
    It's Terry Cavanagh's best game to date, and one of the best platformers I've ever played. If you have any interest in challenging platformers whatsoever, you'd be doing yourself a disservice not to pick up VVVVVV.
  3. Total PC Gaming
    Sep 12, 2011
    90
    A game that expertly treads the thin line between frustration and satisfaction. [Issue#31, p.52]
  4. LEVEL (Czech Republic)
    Sep 12, 2011
    80
    It's as if a time machine puts you in the year 1984. Stylish retro platformer offers fast and variable playability, especially for all speed runners who like to push the limits. [Feb 2010]
  5. Sep 12, 2011
    80
    Look past its lo-fi style and you'll realise its production values are hardly stingy, with unlockable time trials and other Easter-egg modes, and generally slick presentation. More to the point, it's excellent for its entire length. How many big-budget developments can say that?
  6. Sep 12, 2011
    80
    VVVVVV offers clever platforming, a superb soundtrack, and challenging gameplay. But it's extremely short, and the $15 price tag is asking a bit too much.
  7. PC Zone UK
    Sep 12, 2011
    68
    Nothing VVVVVV does is actually new or different. [May 2010, p.91]

See all 15 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 42 out of 62
  2. Negative: 7 out of 62
  1. Apr 27, 2011
    10
    Very Fun Game! The retro-esque gravity defying platformer VVVVVV takes one back to the days of better gaming -- where skill actually mattersVery Fun Game! The retro-esque gravity defying platformer VVVVVV takes one back to the days of better gaming -- where skill actually matters because the reward is worth it. You'll find the game-play difficult but not overly so and the payoff of finding new areas or making an "impossible" maneuver worthwhile. The music gives me goosebumps and fits in quite well with the game -- that of exploring space in an strange and unknown dimension to find your crew-mates. Precision platforming -- retro style -- at its best! 10/10 Expand
  2. Jun 18, 2013
    10
    Terry has created an awesome challenging innovative indie game.
    Souleye has created the best music ever heard in a video game.
    10/10, and I
    Terry has created an awesome challenging innovative indie game.
    Souleye has created the best music ever heard in a video game.
    10/10, and I bought this game four times.
    Expand
  3. Jan 17, 2015
    9
    I give this game the award for Best Game Title. Trying to say it sounds like a 1950s busted alien spaceship trying to take off.

    VVVVVV is
    I give this game the award for Best Game Title. Trying to say it sounds like a 1950s busted alien spaceship trying to take off.

    VVVVVV is actually a really fun ultra-retro style puzzle platformer. With its unassuming story and gameplay, it turned into quite the challenge.

    In essence, you are Captain Viridian, who is lost in an alternate dimension aboard his spaceship, and is trying to locate the other members of his crew (all with names starting with V. There you go). Instead of jumping around, you can control the direction of gravity. This presents some interesting and unique gameplay when trying to traverse this basic, fluoro, and incredibly dangerous landscape.

    The music is entirely chiptune, to fit in with the retro style, and is extremely funky and addictive.

    Grab this one. It's great fun, even if for a short while.
    Expand
  4. Dec 9, 2011
    8
    Brilliant concept to base an entire platformer around. I love the difficulty of this game, it's very balanced. Not too frustratingly hard, butBrilliant concept to base an entire platformer around. I love the difficulty of this game, it's very balanced. Not too frustratingly hard, but it's certainly not easy. All of the levels in this game are interesting. I can't say it more simply than that. I love every bit of gameplay that this game has to offer. I am a big fan of 2D style graphics and the music... THE MUSIC. If you like chiptunes / 8bit style music, you will be blown away by this game's soundtrack. Expand
  5. Mar 14, 2016
    8
    I spent 4 hours one morning trying to complete one platforming puzzle in VVVVV. After hours of frustration I finally completed the game 100%I spent 4 hours one morning trying to complete one platforming puzzle in VVVVV. After hours of frustration I finally completed the game 100% and was left with a feeling of satisfaction few games manage to evoke in the player these days. Excellent game, could have done with a stronger storyline. Expand
  6. Jun 24, 2014
    7
    Number of deaths: 1.098.908.756 ! VVVVVV is a very challenging platform game. Sometimes it is actually too difficult. But in the end a blastNumber of deaths: 1.098.908.756 ! VVVVVV is a very challenging platform game. Sometimes it is actually too difficult. But in the end a blast of a ride! Expand
  7. Jun 1, 2013
    0
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I don't know why i can't save!?? This game makes my steam window shaking all the time!!! And when i'm using T-Chinese input method the captain becomes crazy!!! That small man can't stop going left!!! Yes the plot is great but it should be able to be played. Expand

See all 62 User Reviews