Metascore
76

Generally favorable reviews - based on 5 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.2

Mixed or average reviews- based on 120 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: In WAKFU, players can use the skills of their characters to fight fierce fauna and flora using magic, martial arts or new technologies.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 5
  2. Negative: 0 out of 5
  1. 86
    For the time being, Wakfu holds great promise, and it's like nothing I've ever seen before. Fans of anime, MMOs, nature management, and even sociology will want to give Wakfu a try, if for no other reason than to see what happens when you let gamers run the world.
  2. Apr 16, 2012
    83
    Wakfu isn't for everyone, but it is right up your alley if you love a grid-based strategy RPG with the MMO elements we're all familiar with. It has enough charm to keep you in awe for days, and enough depth to keep you playing for weeks.
  3. Mar 14, 2012
    80
    Wakfu can be described as an experimental MMO "who has some", to say the least. It's a game for hardcore community gamers who are not afraid to spend hours wondering "how does it work? ", or "is it really working?". Two weeks after its release, the game still heats up, with some troubles (in economics for example), but it's worth it to participate in this adventure, wherever it leads you.
  4. Mar 23, 2012
    78
    If you're expecting epic quests, great loot, a compelling storyline and larger than life battles, then maybe Wakfu isn't the game for you. But if you're interested in exploring a drop-dead gorgeous world without getting aggro from every single mob you come across and being able to chat freely without restrictions to all the other players in the game, then you'll probably love this game.
  5. Apr 16, 2012
    58
    A beautiful alternative to the standard MMO, but unlikely to draw you away from more structured questing for long. [May 2012, p.88]
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 32 out of 79
  2. Negative: 45 out of 79
  1. Mar 4, 2012
    10
    With any user-driven metric you have to remember that it will probably skew negative from some minority with a frustrating issue (frustrating enough to drive them to rant). I'll try to be as unbiased as possible (My rating is positive but that's purely subjective imo)

    Pro's: - turn-based, strategic combat rare in MMO's (very well executed for group PvP too)
    - player driven economy (everything from mining to minting currency)
    - player driven ECOLOGY (kill off animals/plants, re-seed an area, mix and match to a degree so you can - farm what you need in as close a distance as possible -- there is player competition here obviously over WHAT should be planted). - nations, governments, elections, laws, etc to give players the tools to shape the world
    - free client, $6/mo subscription (extremely cheap imo)

    CONS: - memory leak issue (sometimes having to restart client after a few hours)
    - bug preventing subscribers from grouping with free-to-play players (unresolved as of one week)
    - server desync bug (Fairly rare occurrence which drops you out of combat and/or renders you unable to interact with the world, requires relogging)
    - inventory space is sorely lacking (and there's a storage tax to keep items in your "house" unless you run quite a distance)
    - miscellaneous/cosmetic bugs (for example one complaint is that the "gifts" for subscribing apply only to one character, fairly ridiculous concern imo)
    - item mall (the devs promise this won't impact pvp but I'm still skeptical, I would rather pay $12/mo and remove the item mall)
    Expand
  2. Jul 30, 2013
    10
    Wakfu is a unique turn-based strategic MMORPG that dosnt conform to your typical MMO. i've played dofus since i was 12 and Wakfu since closed Beta, it has a political system, Unique guild system including the creating and management of your own guild world, and an environmental and weather system. I've tryed to play other MMORPGS but nothing keeps me for longer than a few weeks, Wakfu is by far the greatest and unique MMORPG i've played and the only downside is the lack of population in the English Server "Remmington" which can easily be fixed if people stop rating it so low when in reality all these reviews where written in the games very early stages. the game is 3 years old next February and will be 2 years since its been open to the public, so please ignore all these negative reviews and take my advise and try it out for yourself. if you have any issues i'd be more than happy to help. My in game name is Loco Huge Wang, on the Server Remmington. Expand
  3. Mar 3, 2012
    8
    God art, music, sound effects. I love the battle system, and the individual/unique mechanics that each character has. There are some bugs with characters that I hope get worked out soon, and they need to increase the character limit to at least 12 to match how many characters they have. Hope to see more content soon! Expand
  4. Oct 10, 2012
    3
    ANkama its the worst enemy of his Own Game....looks like they actually dont know what to do with it..... I played like 2 months and they change my char 3 times make it unable to acomplishe his original propose... ALso the comunity its full of rud players who will troll u and atack u (in game and forums) if u sumit any complain. Expand
  5. Jul 1, 2013
    0
    Nothing to do but grind and grind and.... grind. Seriously this game is absolutely awful, that is if you can get on their horribly made website and actually create an account. It took multiple tries on their buggy site, somehow they even managed to up and make doing the captcha a grind, before i could make an account then i finally managed to get in and play and found that it is sincerely not fun at all. Expand
  6. Mar 27, 2012
    0
    Bad suport, not informing player from changes before they are maded, bugs "fixed" that really aren't. Forun admin calling you xenofobic and racist. Not recomended. Expand
  7. Mar 2, 2012
    0
    Wakfu has nice art, music, and the occasional person willing to chat. Unfortunately, other then that all it has is grind. Wakfu had it's chance at potential, but the f2p cannot trade, nor can they drop items, or do any of the crafting professions. Since f2p cannot trade nor partake in the crafting professions, what little gathering f2p can do is useless. The resources gathered could not be crafted into items by subscribers if the f2p gather the resources. The f2p element is a very limited trial because of that; their social element is essentially just stand around, sit on a bench, and talk to other players. This game has been in Closed Beta for a few years, at least 3 or more, then they rushed into Open Beta near the beginning of February, and at the end of February they went into Live. The crafting system is all the same, click something, wait while a bar fills, move to the next resource and repeat. This may seem like complaining, but I did play in the Closed Beta. I know what it's like to spend 6 hours just gathering resources so I could craft 100 bread that nobody wanted to buy. The in game currency is made purely by the players. Players must gather a ton of ore to make a few of the game currency. All the in game currency is used for is transportation and unlocking new areas to explore. After a nation unlocks the area, all the currency is useful for is transportation, and that currency is lost in the game. SO, players are essentially making currency for it to disappear if anyone uses the transportation. If you like blatant in your face grind, play Wakfu, just make sure you subscribe or else you can only participate in a little portion of the overall grinding in this "game" Wakfu. With all of the boring in your face grind, Wakfu feels like a job and not a game in which you might have fun in. Expand

See all 79 User Reviews