Metascore
76

Generally favorable reviews - based on 5 Critics What's this?

User Score
4.8

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 101 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: In WAKFU, players can use the skills of their characters to fight fierce fauna and flora using magic, martial arts or new technologies.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 5
  2. Negative: 0 out of 5
  1. 86
    For the time being, Wakfu holds great promise, and it's like nothing I've ever seen before. Fans of anime, MMOs, nature management, and even sociology will want to give Wakfu a try, if for no other reason than to see what happens when you let gamers run the world.
  2. Apr 16, 2012
    83
    Wakfu isn't for everyone, but it is right up your alley if you love a grid-based strategy RPG with the MMO elements we're all familiar with. It has enough charm to keep you in awe for days, and enough depth to keep you playing for weeks.
  3. Mar 14, 2012
    80
    Wakfu can be described as an experimental MMO "who has some", to say the least. It's a game for hardcore community gamers who are not afraid to spend hours wondering "how does it work? ", or "is it really working?". Two weeks after its release, the game still heats up, with some troubles (in economics for example), but it's worth it to participate in this adventure, wherever it leads you.
  4. Mar 23, 2012
    78
    If you're expecting epic quests, great loot, a compelling storyline and larger than life battles, then maybe Wakfu isn't the game for you. But if you're interested in exploring a drop-dead gorgeous world without getting aggro from every single mob you come across and being able to chat freely without restrictions to all the other players in the game, then you'll probably love this game.
  5. Apr 16, 2012
    58
    A beautiful alternative to the standard MMO, but unlikely to draw you away from more structured questing for long. [May 2012, p.88]
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 26 out of 69
  2. Negative: 41 out of 69
  1. Mar 4, 2012
    10
    With any user-driven metric you have to remember that it will probably skew negative from some minority with a frustrating issue (frustrating enough to drive them to rant). I'll try to be as unbiased as possible (My rating is positive but that's purely subjective imo)

    Pro's: - turn-based, strategic combat rare in MMO's (very well executed for group PvP too)
    - player driven economy (everything from mining to minting currency)
    - player driven ECOLOGY (kill off animals/plants, re-seed an area, mix and match to a degree so you can - farm what you need in as close a distance as possible -- there is player competition here obviously over WHAT should be planted). - nations, governments, elections, laws, etc to give players the tools to shape the world
    - free client, $6/mo subscription (extremely cheap imo)

    CONS: - memory leak issue (sometimes having to restart client after a few hours)
    - bug preventing subscribers from grouping with free-to-play players (unresolved as of one week)
    - server desync bug (Fairly rare occurrence which drops you out of combat and/or renders you unable to interact with the world, requires relogging)
    - inventory space is sorely lacking (and there's a storage tax to keep items in your "house" unless you run quite a distance)
    - miscellaneous/cosmetic bugs (for example one complaint is that the "gifts" for subscribing apply only to one character, fairly ridiculous concern imo)
    - item mall (the devs promise this won't impact pvp but I'm still skeptical, I would rather pay $12/mo and remove the item mall)
    Expand
  2. Aug 31, 2013
    10
    A isometric turn-based strategy game (like Ogre Battle and FF: Tactics) with a very awesome art, 100% controlled by players (there are no NPCs in game). All the market, government (yes, there's a governor with Soldiers, Treasures, Ecologists...) is controlled by the own players! The ecology itself is also controlled by players: you may extinct a family of monsters or a type of tree, or plant/cultivation if you don't "replant" them! There's a VERY exciting system of GvG and territory conquests. LOTS of dungeons with all sort of mechanics. The PvP is very well balanced, one of the bests I've ever played, compared to games like Ultima Online and DotA!
    The guild system is unique. There's daily "guild quests" to help your guild get points and invest them on their own City! Called "Heaven Worlds" its an amazing construction system where you can build your own city, with money, resources and points! You can build portal, resurrection statues, roads, houses, monsters fields, plant/tree fields and even dungeons!!
    The updates are constantly and every month there's something totally new coming to the game!
    Expand
  3. Mar 26, 2012
    8
    Looking for a game which requires a little brain activity when running dungeons and battling monsters? The kind you cannot get from extreme tanking MMO like World of Warcraft and Runecape, you know the ones where you all basically surround one enemy and hit until it's dead? Then Wakfu is your game.

    Battle dozens of monsters in a beautifully constructed environment, each dungeons is a work of art and the rest of the game follows suite. Head off with your guildies and actually work as a team to take down monsters and master you abilities.

    Heavy grinding? Not at all, if you learn your surroundings and the environment leveling can be fast and fun, the only place I see grinding is withing professions. Spend longer then a few days on the game and you will know all the best spots.

    Why 8/10 if I love the game so much? Well, because I believe Wakfu has even more potential and how could I ever vote it higher without giving it an 8 at the moment?

    Come to Wakfu and fall in love.
    Expand
  4. Jun 27, 2013
    3
    Wakfu has nice art, creative and unique turn based game play, as well as a fun social dynamic. Wakfu also has an animated series and you can find my creatures, villains, and landscaping from the anime in the actual game. Unfortunately there are still a lot of bugs, even though it has been out for over a year. New content has been released at incredible speed. However, the new content lacks depth and usually brings with it a new round of bugs and glitches. Character balancing has been slanted more towards PvP instead of geared towards PvE when the game is not designed for PvP. Customer service is nearly non-existent. If you have a bug you might as well quit playing because it won't be fixed. Which is rather frustrating after you have given them money and they still won't resolve let alone knowledge your issue.
    Overall while I do love playing the game and there is huge potential the flaws make it nearly unplayable. Ankama needs to slow down and focus on what really matters. The quality, not quantity.
    Expand
  5. Jul 1, 2013
    0
    Nothing to do but grind and grind and.... grind. Seriously this game is absolutely awful, that is if you can get on their horribly made website and actually create an account. It took multiple tries on their buggy site, somehow they even managed to up and make doing the captcha a grind, before i could make an account then i finally managed to get in and play and found that it is sincerely not fun at all. Expand
  6. Mar 27, 2012
    0
    Bad suport, not informing player from changes before they are maded, bugs "fixed" that really aren't. Forun admin calling you xenofobic and racist. Not recomended. Expand
  7. Mar 1, 2012
    0
    Potential is the only thing this game has ever had. It has been in development since 2007. Paying for the game was impossible for some reason due to a buggy payment system. First it kept me cycling between the same pages and when I finally got to a payment page it gave me an error upon payment. It's a good thing it didn't work. The cash shop is pay to win after SquareEnix told us it would be purely cosmetic. Later we found out items were over 3 times more expensive in the NA region. The free to play doesn't let you get very far and you can't trade, join parties or really anything that makes an MMORPG and MMORPG. The only thing you can do is kill cutesy birds and flowers. Alone. No one could access the server after release was announced for half the day. There was already a duplication glitch announced yesterday and no news of rollbacks or compensation for yesterday being a mess. There is no release patch notes about what changed from beta. We didn't get lot of the equipment we were promised from contests and other beta events. I'm sure they'll resolve these issues at some point in time but I have better things to do. They're still technically cleaning up XIV that was released in 2010. I don't know what square is thinking. Expand

See all 69 User Reviews