WAKFU PC

Metascore
76

Generally favorable reviews - based on 5 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 129 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: In WAKFU, players can use the skills of their characters to fight fierce fauna and flora using magic, martial arts or new technologies.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 5
  2. Negative: 0 out of 5
  1. 86
    For the time being, Wakfu holds great promise, and it's like nothing I've ever seen before. Fans of anime, MMOs, nature management, and even sociology will want to give Wakfu a try, if for no other reason than to see what happens when you let gamers run the world.
  2. Apr 16, 2012
    83
    Wakfu isn't for everyone, but it is right up your alley if you love a grid-based strategy RPG with the MMO elements we're all familiar with. It has enough charm to keep you in awe for days, and enough depth to keep you playing for weeks.
  3. Mar 14, 2012
    80
    Wakfu can be described as an experimental MMO "who has some", to say the least. It's a game for hardcore community gamers who are not afraid to spend hours wondering "how does it work? ", or "is it really working?". Two weeks after its release, the game still heats up, with some troubles (in economics for example), but it's worth it to participate in this adventure, wherever it leads you.
  4. Mar 23, 2012
    78
    If you're expecting epic quests, great loot, a compelling storyline and larger than life battles, then maybe Wakfu isn't the game for you. But if you're interested in exploring a drop-dead gorgeous world without getting aggro from every single mob you come across and being able to chat freely without restrictions to all the other players in the game, then you'll probably love this game.
  5. Apr 16, 2012
    58
    A beautiful alternative to the standard MMO, but unlikely to draw you away from more structured questing for long. [May 2012, p.88]
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 33 out of 80
  2. Negative: 45 out of 80
  1. Mar 4, 2012
    10
    With any user-driven metric you have to remember that it will probably skew negative from some minority with a frustrating issue (frustratingWith any user-driven metric you have to remember that it will probably skew negative from some minority with a frustrating issue (frustrating enough to drive them to rant). I'll try to be as unbiased as possible (My rating is positive but that's purely subjective imo)

    Pro's: - turn-based, strategic combat rare in MMO's (very well executed for group PvP too)
    - player driven economy (everything from mining to minting currency)
    - player driven ECOLOGY (kill off animals/plants, re-seed an area, mix and match to a degree so you can - farm what you need in as close a distance as possible -- there is player competition here obviously over WHAT should be planted). - nations, governments, elections, laws, etc to give players the tools to shape the world
    - free client, $6/mo subscription (extremely cheap imo)

    CONS: - memory leak issue (sometimes having to restart client after a few hours)
    - bug preventing subscribers from grouping with free-to-play players (unresolved as of one week)
    - server desync bug (Fairly rare occurrence which drops you out of combat and/or renders you unable to interact with the world, requires relogging)
    - inventory space is sorely lacking (and there's a storage tax to keep items in your "house" unless you run quite a distance)
    - miscellaneous/cosmetic bugs (for example one complaint is that the "gifts" for subscribing apply only to one character, fairly ridiculous concern imo)
    - item mall (the devs promise this won't impact pvp but I'm still skeptical, I would rather pay $12/mo and remove the item mall)
    Expand
  2. Jul 30, 2013
    10
    Wakfu is a unique turn-based strategic MMORPG that dosnt conform to your typical MMO. i've played dofus since i was 12 and Wakfu since closedWakfu is a unique turn-based strategic MMORPG that dosnt conform to your typical MMO. i've played dofus since i was 12 and Wakfu since closed Beta, it has a political system, Unique guild system including the creating and management of your own guild world, and an environmental and weather system. I've tryed to play other MMORPGS but nothing keeps me for longer than a few weeks, Wakfu is by far the greatest and unique MMORPG i've played and the only downside is the lack of population in the English Server "Remmington" which can easily be fixed if people stop rating it so low when in reality all these reviews where written in the games very early stages. the game is 3 years old next February and will be 2 years since its been open to the public, so please ignore all these negative reviews and take my advise and try it out for yourself. if you have any issues i'd be more than happy to help. My in game name is Loco Huge Wang, on the Server Remmington. Expand
  3. Aug 17, 2014
    9
    Reading soulsquest's review, can't help but disagree so thought I'd throw in my 2 cents. From the sounds of it he's either only played in theReading soulsquest's review, can't help but disagree so thought I'd throw in my 2 cents. From the sounds of it he's either only played in the beta years ago or just never got very far ingame.

    I own a couple endgame characters on the Wapac server my highest being level 156 (160 is the current cap) so could say I've experienced a lot of the game.

    First off wakfu is a very community oriented game, you won't progress very far on your own as most of the content was designed to be completed in groups, find a good guild and it'll be fine. (ie don't be a jerk. People will hunt you, stop trading and/or partying with you. Popcorn material.)

    The only item drop quests I can think of are the otomai hunter quests and respec quest (made to be hard, shouldn't easily respec your toons). Other quests revolve around minigames/puzzles/puzzlebosses? (See enurado/srambad/wild estate/wabbit questlines)

    Remington has been around for years so it'd be very hard to buy a guild havenworld on that server. Other servers should be a lot easier to find a free one (50kk havenworlds on wapac yes please). One person may have little impact but they're mostly community focus, organise events with the guild and can progress them quite fast.

    Ecosystems can go extinct, happens all the time. Without a good government in place more often than not. From what I hear there was an incident a year ago where a guild went and harvested all the resources in one of the nations gg.

    Governments ingame are a lot like they are in real life. Most do nothing but sit on their arses (suprise). The good ones however organise events for the community and maintain the ecosystems so we don't have to. The bad ones outlaw breathing. Take it how you want. pay to play voting is only to mitigate f2p vote rigging. Still happens, but if someone pays $100+ just to get a virtual government seat I'd say let them.

    Soulsquest's claim on localisation is false the majority of the game is translated bar the occassional item or two.

    Soulquest - "You will end up pressing 1-5; because focusing on anything but one element will gimp you to the point of uselessness. In order to level a spell up; you will be casting it over and over again; thousands of times. There is no class variety; people just play the least (or most) broken one."

    Quite the opposite, most experienced players would recommend against going mono element. In most but not all cases mono element limits your options, especially when a monster has high resists to that element or requires you to use a different fighting approach. Dual and tri element builds give a larger number of spells to use, better resists and
    are better supported by gear.
    Classes are quite specialised in their roles and they have varying degrees of usefulness in endgame dungeons. They will only become more specialised after the second round of class revamps.

    Below are a list classes and possible builds
    iops - Close combat damage dealers / stun tanks.
    Rogues - ranged damaged / close combat / bomb users.
    Cras - Ranged archer. (kite city!!!)
    Pandas - Drunken brawler / map manip tank / ranged aoe
    Sacriers - Meat tanks / map manip damage dealers / Berserker damage dealer.
    Fecas - Support tank / pure tank / glyph damager
    Osamodas - Dragon mode / Summoners / Combat summoners (fight alongside your summons, rare build)
    Masqueraider - Combo fighter / ranged damage + heals/ berserk AoE.
    Sadida - Doll user / poisoner / aoe / offensive heals.
    Foggernaut - Armor piercing / tank+aoe hybrid / aoe. wp theft
    Xelor - teleporter / squishy glass cannon.
    Enutrof - Item hunter / tactical aoe / mobility crowd control / Extreme mobile brawler+badgermole.
    Sram - (very weak atm, big buff in a month). Invisible Assassins / Trap user / dopplegangers.
    Eniripsa - Healer / Debuffer / Magic marks.
    Ecaflips - Gamblers / Cat fighter.

    Customer support comes fast on wapac servers, active moderating team with weekly community events.

    Overall a pretty good game.
    Expand
  4. Apr 17, 2012
    3
    As a big fan of Final Fantasy Tactics I was initially skeptical of this game. Although the cartoon type style bothered me a little bit, myAs a big fan of Final Fantasy Tactics I was initially skeptical of this game. Although the cartoon type style bothered me a little bit, my original thought was it was more for a younger crowd, I decided to try it anyway. I was pleasantly surprised at the CONCEPT of the game being an MMO. The way the game is presented on a functional level is pretty solid. I never tried Dofus, so being unfamiliar with the world some things were confusing, including the types of monsters, they just seemed odd. As many others have mentioned class balance seems to be an issue, I also did not see much in the form of a community. I found mostly people running around just soloing. Since I was under the assumption this was free to play, it wasn't until I read the forums that there is a huge disconnect between paying players and free players, mostly because of the games design flaws. The other frustrating piece was the fact that very early on you get quests that you cannot complete because you need to pay to be able to use or do certain abilities or skills to complete even the earliest of quests. Overall, I do wish for the success of Wakfu only so that I can hope someday they will do a Final Fantasy Tactics online with that universe and job system, as the core concepts would be easily able to be transferred over. Unfortunately, because of the limited things you can do as a free subscriber, the game turns in to just an exp grind very early on making one lose their interest very quickly. Expand
  5. Dec 30, 2013
    1
    Nice art, lots of potential. NONEXISTENT CUSTOMER SERVICE; if something happens on their behalf youre screwed. AWFUL UNJUST MODERATORS,Nice art, lots of potential. NONEXISTENT CUSTOMER SERVICE; if something happens on their behalf youre screwed. AWFUL UNJUST MODERATORS, horrible economy, horrible management, grind fest on a turn base mmo, less tactical and more time consuming than anything. Horrible game, do not be fooled by how pretty it is. Expand
  6. Jul 1, 2013
    0
    Nothing to do but grind and grind and.... grind. Seriously this game is absolutely awful, that is if you can get on their horribly madeNothing to do but grind and grind and.... grind. Seriously this game is absolutely awful, that is if you can get on their horribly made website and actually create an account. It took multiple tries on their buggy site, somehow they even managed to up and make doing the captcha a grind, before i could make an account then i finally managed to get in and play and found that it is sincerely not fun at all. Expand
  7. Mar 27, 2012
    0
    The game is in beta test yet even its released , its full of bugs , client crashes , unbalanced classes and more , isn't worth paying for, iThe game is in beta test yet even its released , its full of bugs , client crashes , unbalanced classes and more , isn't worth paying for, i recommend stay away from it for another year or so. Expand

See all 80 User Reviews