Metascore
  1. First Review
  2. Second Review
  3. Third Review
  4. Fourth Review

No score yet - based on 3 Critics Awaiting 1 more review What's this?

User Score
6.8

Mixed or average reviews- based on 330 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: War Thunder is a next generation MMO combat game dedicated to World War II military aviation, armored vehicles, and fleets. You will take part in all of the major combat battles, fighting with real players all over the world.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 3
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 3
  3. Negative: 0 out of 3
  1. Oct 17, 2013
    90
    Don’t be fooled: even if it's a free to play game, the qualities of War Thunder are so many that the game stands up as the new reference for flight and combat simulations.
  2. Dec 9, 2013
    87
    War Thunder, is a little gem on its way to become a diamond. Any aviation or second world war fan should have War Thunder on his PC or PS4.
  3. Dec 11, 2013
    85
    Quotation forthcoming.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 51 out of 88
  2. Negative: 25 out of 88
  1. Aug 17, 2013
    10
    This is best simulation of World War II. Take your plane and prepare for best war simulator ever!yet better this game is simulator it MMo mode!!!!!!!!
  2. Dec 14, 2013
    10
    A great product that does not have today in the marketplace, which could provide comparable quality, relevance and optimization of the game engine. Keep it up. Expand
  3. Sep 18, 2013
    9
    This is what a great F2P game should be. Plenty to do, all of it free, with the people who pay only saving time and not getting an unfair advantage.

    Graphically, the game is beautiful, and the engine feels very well optimized. Playing with a steady 50-60FPS, even on the high settings is no problem, and overall the experience is smooth. Terrain in the distance looks particularly good, and gives a good sense of immersion.

    In terms of gameplay, it plays exactly how you would want an a flight sim to play. Obviously, every match has you trying to shoot down the other players, but there are always other objectives as well (arcade), or full on battle reproductions (historical). No matter what your favorite plane type is, there will be something for you to do.

    The game features good progression AS you play you level up both your player, and your respective Air Force rank. As you rank up, new and more challenging planes become available to purchase. Each plane has its own progression, improving its performance overall, and allowing you to vary your loadout (to a degree.. you cannot change the guns, but you can change what they shoot, and if you carry bombs, what bombs you have).

    Admittedly, it can be hard to see in match, but they also offer a wealth of customization, in both skins and decals. While some will complain, most of these are not free; but lets be honest here, they have to make money somehow, right? For me, i would rather that they charge for vanity items, than make the game pay to win.

    The game as of this date is still in beta, and there are hickups here and there. But as it stands, compared to other "launched" games like MechWarrior Onliine, this game could officially launch and be successful. Hopefully, it retains a strong user base, and keeps going well.
    Expand
  4. Feb 4, 2014
    8
    For all the people giving negative reviews because they "randomly die instantly", i had the same problem. Except, i Googled it. Instead of doing nothing and running out of ideas. Turns out you just increase the pilots vitality, and/or get a covered cabin and it's solved.
    Awesome game, i don't think it's really PTW because, it really does reward Human player skill level. And being a well seasoned gamer on all genres & platforms, i know my way around a game. This is what i Love about it, if you are actually good at aiming a mouse and tracking people, then you hit and kill regardless of the other guy spending $1000 bucks. With the exception of fully upgraded AI guns on Bombers, which are tough.
    I give an 8 for the Beta bugs and very complicated (but eventually understandable) menus.
    Expand
  5. Nov 12, 2013
    6
    The graphics lack. The simulation is not bad, but not innovative, exciting, or exhilarating. The game does not appeal to me at all, the enjoyment when playing the game, and the looking forward to playing with friends online, on a Friday night, is non-existent. These are the key areas that battlefield strives in. Honestly, not worth the play, however is still in Beta. Give it a try when the Beta's closed, things might get a bit more exciting. Expand
  6. Sep 12, 2013
    3
    I was mislead in thinking that this game was a simulation when I read it won a 'simulation of the year' award. So I gave these people a good chunk of money thinking that it is a good simulation. It is not. It is a terrible simulation and a poor game.
    There is nothing historical about it as they claim you end up in a battle with a Spitfire MkI in the Korean war fighting Russian pilots and planes.
    If you like to play with a joystick don't get this game. You are outmatched by their mouse aim system, that is accurate but wobbles all over if played in Historical Battles.
    I asked the developers when they are finished with the beta and was told that War Thunder is a perpetual beta.
    The Gaijin company is a very poor company with a bad attitude towards its customers. They are rude and dictatorial. They censor the forums heavily.
    This game has or had potential. It is about 33% of what I would like to see. I therefore give it a solid 3 out of ten and the graphics are very nice. Otherwise I would give it a zero.
    Expand
  7. Feb 14, 2014
    0
    This game will forever be in "beta". Developer Gaijin relies on funding by an impossible grind where you are forced to fly certain planes in an esoteric order, and to do that you will either be stomped a lot or pay. The more they patch it, the more bugs get introduced, could have been a good game. Get Wings of Prey instead. Expand

See all 88 User Reviews