Metascore
83

Generally favorable reviews - based on 4 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.8

Mixed or average reviews- based on 398 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: War Thunder is a next generation MMO combat game dedicated to World War II military aviation, armored vehicles, and fleets. You will take part in all of the major combat battles, fighting with real players all over the world.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 4
  2. Negative: 0 out of 4
  1. Oct 17, 2013
    90
    Don’t be fooled: even if it's a free to play game, the qualities of War Thunder are so many that the game stands up as the new reference for flight and combat simulations.
  2. Dec 9, 2013
    87
    War Thunder, is a little gem on its way to become a diamond. Any aviation or second world war fan should have War Thunder on his PC or PS4.
  3. Dec 11, 2013
    85
    It offers a lot of different play styles. Let's play in arcade mode or with more realism with g-forces and limited ammunition - or let's play in a more complex simulation mode.
  4. Jun 20, 2014
    72
    With strong visuals and convincing audio backing it up, I thoroughly enjoyed the time I spent inside my P-36 Hawk, and its generous free-to-play model never got in the way.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 58 out of 111
  2. Negative: 38 out of 111
  1. Aug 17, 2013
    10
    This is best simulation of World War II. Take your plane and prepare for best war simulator ever!yet better this game is simulator it MMo mode!!!!!!!!
  2. Dec 20, 2013
    10
    Excellent game, that will include 3 forces: air, ground and naval, fighting with each other on one map. Great graphics, sound, gameplay. Have 3 levels of difficulty: from arcade to simulator. This amazing game already have air forces, but tanks will come out soon. Also this game is free to play. Expand
  3. Oct 21, 2013
    9
    For a F2P game, it excels in every aspect. The game is not pay2win like some others have stated and you don't need to pay anything to enjoy the game. Paying gives you exactly what you expect from a free2play model, faster progression. The game is a WWII simulator that has 3 different styles of accuracy. You get an Arcade system which is user friendly and easy to learn. Then there is a historical mode which makes it a bit harder but still forgiving. Then there is full real battle which sticks you in view with the need of a joystick (or mouse as joystick) and is much more simulation based but not as much as say the DCS series.

    The use of money allows you to get premium planes which are typically a bit better at their tier however with the way the game works where you can have multiple planes per game you can still excel. It is not hard to kill something 1, 2, 3, even 5 or more tiers higher than you once you get into the middle of the game. It does not work like World of Tanks where if you are 5 tiers lower you don't stand a chance in a 1v1, here you can still get your kill albeit tougher, you still have a chance.

    The plane costs are fair and most cost under $10 to buy, even higher tiers. Some are more expensive but if you buy the packs they offer you get more then your monies worth. Some people have complained about the time it takes to upgrade each plane/crew however this isn't that type of game. The game isn't about getting to the max level and tier as fast as possible as you should enjoy each tier thoroughly. Gaijin does this in a good way where you learn each plane, its advantages/disadvantages and thus making you a better pilot as you progress.

    I have 100+ hours in the game thus far and it has me coming back every day wanting more. I can tell you that I sucked hard for the first 10-15 hours of game play, then as you continue to play your skill increases drastically. The game is still in beta and each month, more and more content is released. They still have kinks to work out but for a F2P game you can't ask for much more. It's not like it will cost you anything to give it a chance, just don't expect to be an ace pilot without putting a solid amount of time into the game.
    Expand
  4. Mar 2, 2014
    7
    War Thunder is a great game solely for the fact that it is free to play. It is probably the best aerial World War 2 game out there. Realistic dog fights and fun to play for a time. Not a game you will see yourself playing for any more than a few months. Regardless, if you enjoy World War 2, or dog fighting games, this is definitely worth a try. Expand
  5. Nov 15, 2013
    5
    My only positive experiences of this game is the realism and the history, the game play is really fluid, however the balance of the different factions is really bad,

    If you play as the Japanese, your guns will be very limited until you upgrade them, which takes a long time. Other factions will have cannons that use 37 mm rounds, while you will be using 20 mm. Your heavy fighters are the only air crafts that supports 37 mm rounds early, sadly they maneuver really bad and if you meet fighters that has 37 mm cannons, you're usually dead the second they shoot at you.

    This is a rage game, unless you go with the unbalance and play as one of factions that utilize 37 mm cannons.
    Expand
  6. Jan 26, 2014
    2
    This is a game that makes me want to cry with frustration, because every fiber of my being WANTS to like this game. To get some perspective, I am a long term flight sim fan who has played everything from Air Warrior to Aces High to IL-2 Sturmovik to the old Jane's sims and more. I LOVE flight sims and at first glance this one looks to be everything I could ever want. Healthy stable of planes? Check. Wonderful physics and plane handling? With one or two low-tier examples, checkaroo. Well-detailed? Holy mother of heaven this makes IL-2 Sturmovik look like a mod of the original source engine and runs amazingly well. Mission structure? While I'm not a big fan of furballs, it does them well and I can respect how it has it set up, so call that a check. The levelling system, while in need of tweaking, is still a decent enough system that takes the general World of Tanks/Warplanes formula and makes it a little less unpleasant when an un-liked vehicle stands in the way. They had literally everything going for this game, but it slips up on one little detail but one so vital that they basically slipped and fell into a pit of poison tipped spikes: the camera.

    I am utterly convinced that deck chairs have gained some semblance of sentience, because sweet mother of Heaven, there is no other explanation for how atrocious the camera was designed here. See, the issue here is that the camera was designed for a mouse and keyboard interface, which is nice and all but you need to also have a system that functions for the joystick and game pad crowds--the former of which will be HUGE groups attracted to this. So why it is that they've been given the cold shoulder BAFFLES me. Your common flight sim uses a hat-switch-based system to turn your pilot's head in each of the forward directions with the forward hat button being for up and forward and another button to act as an upward modifier and--if you really want it--another for down. This is a simple system that covers all of the appropriate directions and gives you a perfect spherical view within your cockpit, barring any obstructions that the actual plane would have had. So instead what joystick users have is a bizarre thing that tries to make a hat switch mimic a mouse, removing the entire rear-right quarter of your view, a fair chunk of the left rear, severely limiting the up-left/right views, and most criminally of all, doesn't even have a forward-up view. I sat down and compared it to IL-2 Sturmovik's camera (which eschews the direct rear just to show that it's your character looking over the shoulder) and it is missing seven head directions! Seven!

    For those who are not privy to flight sims, this basically leaves you wildly open to enemy attack--you don't know where the enemy is coming from and as such can not react quickly enough when, say, an enemy is diving on you from an angle behind you. And these are COMMON situations. Hell, I have a hard time keeping track of planes that I'm chasing at times. As such, I am utterly incapable of effectively fighting because I'm always getting mulched by assorted pilots hitting me in one of my far too numerous blind spots.

    There are a few other little problems, such as the sort of 'advisor' in the radio chatter being a touch grating and some of the early biplanes being a bit heavier-feeling than they should be, but all that pales in comparison to the simple fact that this game should have been glorious, and instead found itself murdered by such an easy and proven portion. All they had to do is throw in a hat-based system alongside the mouse-based one, that's it! I have nothing against mouse pilots, there are some good ones and I respect anyone that can do it, but as a game designer you need to think of all the factors! I'm not about to relearn how to fly for one game and when the people playing tell me that that's the only way to properly experience the game, then my response is that I'll find somewhere else to fly.

    I hope to God that someone gets their brain in gear over at Gaijin Entertainment gets their brain in gear and fix this, but as of right now my only emotion around this game is pure exasperation and rage. This game should have been one of my favorites, instead one tiny aspect has shattered the whole thing. It is a very good thing that this game isn't a physical copy, otherwise I'd have to explain to my plumber why there's disk parts in my garbage disposal.
    Expand
  7. Jul 7, 2014
    0
    I tried to like this game. I really did. But there is so much rubbish you have to deal with, I have a hard time believing anyone can truly enjoy this game without spending a bucket-load of cash into it. Including investments for joysticks and a 3d visor to make the first person view have any viable elements of enjoyment.

    To begin with, the matchmaking. You level up a certain faction and the higher rank you get, the more planes you unlock. And on these ranks they have built the MM to be 2 ranks each tree. As in, 1-2, 3-4, 5-6, 7-8 and so on. Sure, it may be a bit of a pisser to know heads on that you are gonna meet people that are one higher rank than you.. But the kicker here is you have a possibility to meet people from other ranks as well. Including a tier above you. Say, you're level 7. That makes you eligable to meet planes in the ranks of 9-10. And the same goes for lower planes at 5-6 being able to meet you. It would be an acceptable pool bendage if this game had some problems with the MM waiting time.. But it doesn't. The longest I have EVER waited is about 35 seconds which begs the question as to just why they allow imbalancement like this to exist when It is very clearly not necessary?

    The second disappointment is the balance. There are several factions/teams that are essentially just different countries which you gain rank in by participating in battles and gaining XP to unlock planes and for some reason, there are these huge gaping areas of designment neglect. Just an quick example would be the fact that the faction Japan got about 20-25 planes whereas Germany has about 50-70. This creates some pretty big gaps on how faction players in Germany have to pout out 5 times the amount of cash of constantly buying new planes in order to reach the ones they want whereas Japan's player hoard so much money, they can't possibly spend it all unless they jump to another faction. The overall stat balance of all the planes is down the toilet too.

    At most early stages of the game, England has an absurd amount of more superior planes in terms of everything be it manouverability/turntime, firepower/mass per second or raw speed/max rise and nowhere does this grow more apparent when the waiting time for US is 4 seconds, and the wait for England pushes at 35+ seconds around the ranks of 2-7. It has been like this for months and I fail to see any design philosophy that justifies it. Especially now since these problems have persisted through-out the beta and onto the official release.

    Third fault that personally lets me down the most is the neglect of Bomber planes. They are huge, clumsy, downright impossible to do ANY kind of dogfighting in (Manouver to hit enemies with the front guns of your plane) and they are designed to do one thing and one thing only. Go from A to B and drop bombs. Why is this a let-down to me?

    Because the developers figured a couple of months ago to majorly nerf not only the explosion radius of your bombs (rendering any load below 500lbs to be extremely unreliable/requiring needle-precision or close-range dive drops) but also neglect their overall ability to function by nerfing their gunners (Guys sitting in the back fending off planes on your tail). They are now almost completely useless except against straight-flying very light enemy planes that are almost at blank range behind you. The decision to seal the crate shut, effectively burying bomber planes when they were already at an underwhelming position with massive outcries by the community in protest will be a developer standpoint I'll never be able to understand.

    But the nerf wasn't just global. There are several specific plane models have been made incredibly vulnerable, like, take 5 shots to your tail (the most attacked direction from behind) and you will crash & instant die from not being able to steer, leaving the rest of the plane useless.

    Another example of this pure neglect would be how one of the game tips at the loading screen prompts bombers to fly high (achieve great height) to avoid enemy planes. Great philosophy. .Just one problem. A rank 7 bomber can have a maximum height of 8500 meters. Pretty impressive, right? Wrong. There are level 1 fighter planes that can reach up to 9000 meters and 5-6 rank fighters that go above 12000 meters. Once you take a stern look at the situation bombers are in and people that spent so much to try to be helpful to their team get smacked across the face so hard, It's enough to make you depressed.

    Fourth and last. (Yeah, I can keep going but the character limit prevents me from doing so.) Manouverability in this game. Even the most nimblest of planes utterly STRUGGLE to shake off very clumsy enemy planes off their six and nowhere does this get more annoying when you are playing with a couple of beginners, leaving any situation where someone fires at you from behind a death sentence due to teamwork neglect (no wingman) because of all the new players Steam are pulling in.

    RIP War Thunder
    Expand

See all 111 User Reviews