Metascore
82

Generally favorable reviews - based on 6 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.7

Mixed or average reviews- based on 429 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: War Thunder is a next generation MMO combat game dedicated to World War II military aviation, armored vehicles, and fleets. You will take part in all of the major combat battles, fighting with real players all over the world.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 6
  2. Negative: 0 out of 6
  1. Oct 17, 2013
    90
    Don’t be fooled: even if it's a free to play game, the qualities of War Thunder are so many that the game stands up as the new reference for flight and combat simulations.
  2. Aug 14, 2014
    90
    Overall the War Thunder tank battles are great even at this early stage.
  3. Dec 9, 2013
    87
    War Thunder, is a little gem on its way to become a diamond. Any aviation or second world war fan should have War Thunder on his PC or PS4.
  4. Dec 11, 2013
    85
    It offers a lot of different play styles. Let's play in arcade mode or with more realism with g-forces and limited ammunition - or let's play in a more complex simulation mode.
  5. Aug 7, 2014
    78
    War Thunder rules the air but the lack of polish hurts, as does the dull ground warfare.
  6. Jun 20, 2014
    72
    With strong visuals and convincing audio backing it up, I thoroughly enjoyed the time I spent inside my P-36 Hawk, and its generous free-to-play model never got in the way.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 64 out of 124
  2. Negative: 45 out of 124
  1. Aug 17, 2013
    10
    This is best simulation of World War II. Take your plane and prepare for best war simulator ever!yet better this game is simulator it MMo mode!!!!!!!!
  2. Dec 29, 2013
    10
    Hello, I have seen a lot of negative reviews. In my understanding it was due: - Old reviews (before game was polished) - WWII freaks complaining about plane X was designed to work against plane Y and it doesn't work in the same way in the game.
    - People complaining about this is a pay to win videogame Absolutely false! These people are suc*kers. I can guarantee I have finished first or second a lot of times and I have not spent a single euro.

    Now... What we have in War Thunder:

    - Impressive graphics (And I don't have NASA computer).
    - Best dogfighting EVER and with that I mean memorable and sometimes absolutely epic fights between other players
    - Plane parts enhancements
    - Crew enhancements (G-force tolerance, vitality, visibility, etc...)
    - A ton of planes
    - Best mouse aim system in years
    - Even in "arcade" mode, quite realistic behavior

    Closure comments: Plz, give it a try. I cannot say about realistic and simulation modes (joystick needed) coz I haven't played them but the "arcade" mode is THE FUNNIEST THING IN AGES!

    MUST PLAY! IT'S FREE! GIVE IT A TRY!
    Expand
  3. Jun 24, 2014
    9
    One of the best Airplane FPS shooters I have ever seen. Offers different view modes and a variety of different planes. Ground Forces (Tanks) is now in OBT (Open Beta Testing) and has a few bugs but is not bad. Naval Forces are coming soon. Expand
  4. Jul 22, 2014
    7
    Pros:
    Beautiful graphics
    Relatively accurate historical combat
    Fun to play, very satisfying when you win
    Lots of aircraft/tanks to chose
    from and they are always adding more
    Teaches you about history

    Cons:
    Extremely steep learning curve - When you start out, you are thrown into combat against everyone - pilots with 1,000 hours under their belts and pilots who don't know the controls yet. Seeing as how you'll start as the second type, you will be slaughtered for the first 20 hours of gameplay unless you are experienced at flight sims already. If you want to be good, you've gotta learn a lot of maneuvers, energy retention, different aircraft types, etc.
    - Reasonably priced for the most part. You get a fair bit for your money, unlike Wargaming's model where each premium vehicle can cost $30-$50. If you wait for sales, you can get a good premium plane for $5. Free players aren't penalized in the actual game, they just earn less money for victories and unlock new planes more slowly.

    Although my review seems pretty critical, I should emphasize that this is probably still the best WW2 combat simulator out there, and it's the most fun I've had playing a flight sim of any sort since Star Wars: Tie Fighter.
    Expand
  5. Jun 10, 2014
    5
    Title: Free To Play as a Cannon Fodder

    I was hoping War Thunder doesn't fall down the same slippery slope pay-to-win game like World of
    Tanks, but it seems like they are thinking about money more than gameplay.
    The game claims to be a "open beta" stage for quite a while now. If you'd do some research, you would find out that it's part of the money making scheme. Since being an open beta, while taking cash like a fully patched-finished platinum title encourages them to keep the game in a beta-stage and dodge complaints by claiming "hey, it's a beta"! "What did you expect?"
    I'm not a conspiracy theorist, but logically thinking- and just counting how some companies trying to find a way not go under funded and loose money, the logical answer why this game is still in beta stages is: Because it's profitable. If you haven't figured this out yet, maybe you will in a year or 2. You can carve it in stone so you will remember that I said it first.
    So, Back to this free-to-play game.
    The pluses I give to credit where credit is due is just the game engine, graphics, and finding the compromise between realism and playability, when it comes to controls. The planes feel real. Medium/heavy bombers feel heavy and cumbersome, fighters feel agile - according to their tech level and design. You'd expect a bi-plane to be highly manouverable, while you'd expect a mid-tier late '40s fighter to be fast and well armed. You'll find these in the game and it's done just as well as in many previous Russian-origin simulator titles, such as IL2-Sturmovik or the predecessor of WoT- Wings of Prey.
    The game can be quite addicting...for a while. The graphics, the sense of speed and satisfaction after a good bombing run or a well placed burst taking down an enemy bogey can make you want more.
    Unfortunately, my list of positives coming to an abrupt end, since the gameplay will get quite repetative, especially if you think, you can get away without paying for a premium account.
    Again, I'm not revewing this game as a typical game, which usually go for 40-50 dollars, but the free-to-play "beta" game.
    Let me state this: You won't get too far without a premium account. And if you won't believe me, ask others, who played it forever. Watch youtube videos, read the forums. You CANNOT progress too far without a premium account, unless you are ready for the punishment of grinding for quie a long time and being stuck in the same aircraft, that you "may" not like or end up facing superior - upper tier crafts, which will shred you to pieces within the first 30 seconds.
    For those who have no idea what I'm talking about.
    1. The game set up, so there are ties- depending on the aircrafts available for axis and allies. Starting with pre-war airplanes with similar capabilities put into categories, you can fly them (regardless of nationality or historical alliances) to do a team-battle against each other in arcade mode. (the simulator mode and historical modes are different, I'm writing about the arcade type of game, which is by far- the most popular part). After you return from the battlefield, you gain experience by shooting other planes or ground targets or completing game objectives (bomb the airfield, land and take the airfield etc). Once you gained some experienced, you have to "research" the next tier aircraft available and then buy it. After buying the next tier aircraft, you may be put into battles with planes with similar capabilities in the next tie.
    The problem is, that you may have worked on and spent and researched 1 aircraft, while you had 3 or 3 "free" tier 1 craft and now you got 4 aircraft , with one being tier 2, while the others are tier 1.
    And that will force you to either send your tier 2 craft to "holiday" - and keep fighting with your tier 1 planes against tier 1 planes and you won't be able to fly your new tier 2 plane. If you decide to step up, then you gonna have to face the reality, that you got 1 tier 2 plane and 3 or 4 tier 1 planes, which are far inferior to be played on the map- designed to be played by tier 2 planes. And planes go down fast, I mean, you want to stay in the game for at least 10 minutes, then you need at least 3-4 planes available for each battle. If you are stuck with only one capable craft and 3 low-level planes, then you gonna end up struggling until you earn enough credits to replace all 3 - tier 1 planes with something better. If you can think you can play anyway - be my guest- I have done it. I have gone the hard way to earn my tier 2 crafts and it took me forever, not mentioning that many times my gameplay on a battle was no longer than 2-3 minutes, due to my tier 1 craft being a target practice dummy for superior aircrafts on the map. Just think about it flying against BF109 or Spitfire with a bi-plane from the 30s. If that sounds hilarious, you're right. But this game will force you to do that, because - drumroll- you don't have a Premium Account to buy planes for real $$!
    Expand
  6. Jul 14, 2014
    2
    Only OK as a casual game. It is BETA (yet people still spend money). They tank portion is not too bad. The flight portion leaves much to be desired. It should only be marketed as an arcade level game. There is absolutely nothing "realistic" or "simulator" about the game. The physics are completely made up. They use a plug and play model to set aircraft capabilities. There is nothing in the game that even remotely resembles a flight model, or physics engine. Could be worse, but definitely not anything like they try to claim. Expand
  7. Aug 26, 2014
    0
    Makes no sense. Tells you to land for ammo and what have you if you land its a automatic crash and fail... No tutorial of any kind? Completely confused in this entire monstrosity of a **** things on the ground in the air nobody knows whos shooting what. It's a globby mess... I would advise something more organised. Expand

See all 124 User Reviews