War Thunder PC

War Thunder Image
Metascore
81

Generally favorable reviews - based on 8 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.6

Mixed or average reviews- based on 724 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: War Thunder is a next generation MMO combat game dedicated to World War II military aviation, armored vehicles, and fleets. You will take part in all of the major combat battles, fighting with real players all over the world.

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
World of Planes - Cuban Trailer
Autoplay On Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 8
  2. Negative: 0 out of 8
  1. Aug 14, 2014
    90
    Overall the War Thunder tank battles are great even at this early stage.
  2. Oct 17, 2013
    90
    Don’t be fooled: even if it's a free to play game, the qualities of War Thunder are so many that the game stands up as the new reference for flight and combat simulations.
  3. Game World Navigator Magazine
    Jan 25, 2017
    87
    One of the cornerstones of War Thunder is that player’s skill is more important than his wallet. Premium vehicles offer no combat advantages, there is no “microtransaction-only” ammo or consumables, so no amount of cash will buy you a spot on the top of the food chain. [Issue#216, p.56]
  4. Dec 11, 2013
    85
    It offers a lot of different play styles. Let's play in arcade mode or with more realism with g-forces and limited ammunition - or let's play in a more complex simulation mode.
  5. Aug 7, 2014
    78
    War Thunder rules the air but the lack of polish hurts, as does the dull ground warfare.
  6. Jan 13, 2017
    75
    The official launch of War Thunder reminded me why I like this game so much. It's adorably chaotic - in contrast to the reliably designed World of Tanks. That's why it can be really fun and frustrating at the same time. There's tons of great vehicles (and the planes are superb!) and a difficult simulation mode, but there are also balance and technical issues.
  7. Jun 20, 2014
    72
    With strong visuals and convincing audio backing it up, I thoroughly enjoyed the time I spent inside my P-36 Hawk, and its generous free-to-play model never got in the way.

See all 8 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 78 out of 212
  2. Negative: 96 out of 212
  1. Aug 17, 2013
    10
    This is best simulation of World War II. Take your plane and prepare for best war simulator ever!yet better this game is simulator it MMo mode!!!!!!!!
  2. Mar 16, 2015
    10
    People complained about the cut scenes in the campaign, this is an easy fix. Don't play campaign. If you don't like the cut scenes then justPeople complained about the cut scenes in the campaign, this is an easy fix. Don't play campaign. If you don't like the cut scenes then just play multiplier, at first your going to find everything difficult, trust me with practice and a little effort, you can fly these planes like a champ. I found War thunder to my funnest personal retreat from my insulting "friends" and obnoxious habits. Expand
  3. Feb 17, 2015
    9
    best f2p game ive ever played, i managed to get to t4 in all nations before the grinding started feeling pointless.
    and i have never
    best f2p game ive ever played, i managed to get to t4 in all nations before the grinding started feeling pointless.
    and i have never encountered a paywall in this game

    realistic is where its at, you can watch ww2 tank och plane documentaries and learn strength and weaknesses in yours and your enemies tanks and planes, and with the amount of vehicles already in the game and more being added almost every patch there are thousands of hours to be played in this game.

    after i bought 1 years premium my only real grind is for silver lions (ingame currency) for late tier tanks and planes, they can be bought but are expensive and seldom worth it.
    but with console players on the same servers as pc players you are guaranteed some easy kills and there are other methods of farming as well.

    i recomend this game to players that likes plane games, even though you are new to flying games arcade mode is a good place to start, with high number of players in a small map with multiple objectives and multiple spawns with your different crews and planes.

    gaijin also holds golden eagle event where you can get a few hundred golden eagle (the real money ingame currency) so you can get premium days for free.
    Expand
  4. Nov 18, 2013
    5
    It's okay, I can play for about 30-60 minutes at a time before getting bored. The community is a lot of angry children with neckbeards "omgIt's okay, I can play for about 30-60 minutes at a time before getting bored. The community is a lot of angry children with neckbeards "omg my team sux!" kind of comments. The planes are diverse, lots of customization can be done, guns, paint, upgrades, ammo, etc. Can play as bomber or fighter or both in the same round. World of Tanks is more thrilling gameplay for me. Expand
  5. Dec 10, 2013
    3
    Some good elements but the fun ends quickly when you are constantly getting destroyed by your own team-mates or suddenly have your pilotSome good elements but the fun ends quickly when you are constantly getting destroyed by your own team-mates or suddenly have your pilot knocked out without any apparent reason. Needs a lot of polish to controls, menus, and general game play.. Too often will you rage quit this game because sudden death that occurs without explanation or without any apparent warning. Expand
  6. Nov 29, 2014
    1
    It's got pretty graphics. That is literally the only good thing I can say about this game. Flight models are completely broken for mostIt's got pretty graphics. That is literally the only good thing I can say about this game. Flight models are completely broken for most planes, damage models for both planes and tanks are completely fubar....constant stealth nerfing of match rewards to slow progress to a crawl thus forcing people to pay to progress at a reasonable rate....no. This game WAS good back at patch 1.26 and 1.27...but here at patch 1.43 it's utter feces. Would not recommend to my worst enemy. Expand
  7. Jan 5, 2016
    0
    well today i was banned from Warthunder for talking about the american elections no abuse just a friendly talk on who might win it was onlywell today i was banned from Warthunder for talking about the american elections no abuse just a friendly talk on who might win it was only about 3 to 5 lines of text. Well bam 2 day chat ban for talking about unrelated topic in Warthunder and a 1 day game ban based on "political spam" o.0 so cant play warthunder for 1 day and a 2 day chat banned well now we know what GAIJIN is truely like just a warning to anyone. And before you say it that i shouldnt talk about political topics in a game well i do have the right to freedom of speech and so does everybody else for that matter Expand

See all 212 User Reviews