War Thunder PC

War Thunder Image
Metascore
82

Generally favorable reviews - based on 6 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.6

Mixed or average reviews- based on 672 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: War Thunder is a next generation MMO combat game dedicated to World War II military aviation, armored vehicles, and fleets. You will take part in all of the major combat battles, fighting with real players all over the world.

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 6
  2. Negative: 0 out of 6
  1. Oct 17, 2013
    90
    Don’t be fooled: even if it's a free to play game, the qualities of War Thunder are so many that the game stands up as the new reference for flight and combat simulations.
  2. Aug 14, 2014
    90
    Overall the War Thunder tank battles are great even at this early stage.
  3. Dec 9, 2013
    87
    War Thunder, is a little gem on its way to become a diamond. Any aviation or second world war fan should have War Thunder on his PC or PS4.
  4. Dec 11, 2013
    85
    It offers a lot of different play styles. Let's play in arcade mode or with more realism with g-forces and limited ammunition - or let's play in a more complex simulation mode.
  5. Aug 7, 2014
    78
    War Thunder rules the air but the lack of polish hurts, as does the dull ground warfare.
  6. Jun 20, 2014
    72
    With strong visuals and convincing audio backing it up, I thoroughly enjoyed the time I spent inside my P-36 Hawk, and its generous free-to-play model never got in the way.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 76 out of 205
  2. Negative: 91 out of 205
  1. Aug 17, 2013
    10
    This is best simulation of World War II. Take your plane and prepare for best war simulator ever!yet better this game is simulator it MMo mode!!!!!!!!
  2. Aug 16, 2014
    10
    The best game i have ever play because it has got very good graphics and gameplay !I think that this is the best simulation game that itThe best game i have ever play because it has got very good graphics and gameplay !I think that this is the best simulation game that it discovered ! So try it and u will play lots of hours and u will catch yourself get stucked with it!Play for ever !Have fun ansd keep safe lalalalalalalalalalala!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    ps:Nick(in warthunder:nickolas.zaf)!ha
    Expand
  3. Jun 27, 2015
    9
    What I am going to say here is strictly related to my opinion.

    What I like about this game: -Vehicles are built to the smallest detail and
    What I am going to say here is strictly related to my opinion.

    What I like about this game:
    -Vehicles are built to the smallest detail and everything looks historically correct;
    -Graphics and everything related about visuals of vehicles and maps;
    -The developers seems to work for their game and we often receive updates;
    -It is a good game for airplanes as well for tanks;
    -Gameplay;
    -Sound;
    -You can research vehicles pretty fast;
    -Tanks.I just started playing this game because I wished for a nice game with tanks.In my opinion is the best game with world war II-cold war tanks and airplanes at least on Steam and one of the best free to play games on Steam for sure.I like the thing that you can have a virtual collection of tanks in-game;

    What I don't like about this game:
    -Airplanes in tank battles arcade mode;
    -Sometimes I have a feeling that the teams are not balanced at all;
    -Maybe some vehicles are overpowered;

    As an overall I recommend this title.It is free to play and is surprisingly good for a free to play(you don't find often a good free to play game).If you like tanks or airplanes and look for a game related to this you should try War Thunder.(Score:85/100 for me)
    Expand
  4. Jun 10, 2014
    5
    Title: Free To Play as a Cannon Fodder

    I was hoping War Thunder doesn't fall down the same slippery slope pay-to-win game like World of
    Title: Free To Play as a Cannon Fodder

    I was hoping War Thunder doesn't fall down the same slippery slope pay-to-win game like World of Tanks, but it seems like they are thinking about money more than gameplay.
    The game claims to be a "open beta" stage for quite a while now. If you'd do some research, you would find out that it's part of the money making scheme. Since being an open beta, while taking cash like a fully patched-finished platinum title encourages them to keep the game in a beta-stage and dodge complaints by claiming "hey, it's a beta"! "What did you expect?"
    I'm not a conspiracy theorist, but logically thinking- and just counting how some companies trying to find a way not go under funded and loose money, the logical answer why this game is still in beta stages is: Because it's profitable. If you haven't figured this out yet, maybe you will in a year or 2. You can carve it in stone so you will remember that I said it first.
    So, Back to this free-to-play game.
    The pluses I give to credit where credit is due is just the game engine, graphics, and finding the compromise between realism and playability, when it comes to controls. The planes feel real. Medium/heavy bombers feel heavy and cumbersome, fighters feel agile - according to their tech level and design. You'd expect a bi-plane to be highly manouverable, while you'd expect a mid-tier late '40s fighter to be fast and well armed. You'll find these in the game and it's done just as well as in many previous Russian-origin simulator titles, such as IL2-Sturmovik or the predecessor of WoT- Wings of Prey.
    The game can be quite addicting...for a while. The graphics, the sense of speed and satisfaction after a good bombing run or a well placed burst taking down an enemy bogey can make you want more.
    Unfortunately, my list of positives coming to an abrupt end, since the gameplay will get quite repetative, especially if you think, you can get away without paying for a premium account.
    Again, I'm not revewing this game as a typical game, which usually go for 40-50 dollars, but the free-to-play "beta" game.
    Let me state this: You won't get too far without a premium account. And if you won't believe me, ask others, who played it forever. Watch youtube videos, read the forums. You CANNOT progress too far without a premium account, unless you are ready for the punishment of grinding for quie a long time and being stuck in the same aircraft, that you "may" not like or end up facing superior - upper tier crafts, which will shred you to pieces within the first 30 seconds.
    For those who have no idea what I'm talking about.
    1. The game set up, so there are ties- depending on the aircrafts available for axis and allies. Starting with pre-war airplanes with similar capabilities put into categories, you can fly them (regardless of nationality or historical alliances) to do a team-battle against each other in arcade mode. (the simulator mode and historical modes are different, I'm writing about the arcade type of game, which is by far- the most popular part). After you return from the battlefield, you gain experience by shooting other planes or ground targets or completing game objectives (bomb the airfield, land and take the airfield etc). Once you gained some experienced, you have to "research" the next tier aircraft available and then buy it. After buying the next tier aircraft, you may be put into battles with planes with similar capabilities in the next tie.
    The problem is, that you may have worked on and spent and researched 1 aircraft, while you had 3 or 3 "free" tier 1 craft and now you got 4 aircraft , with one being tier 2, while the others are tier 1.
    And that will force you to either send your tier 2 craft to "holiday" - and keep fighting with your tier 1 planes against tier 1 planes and you won't be able to fly your new tier 2 plane. If you decide to step up, then you gonna have to face the reality, that you got 1 tier 2 plane and 3 or 4 tier 1 planes, which are far inferior to be played on the map- designed to be played by tier 2 planes. And planes go down fast, I mean, you want to stay in the game for at least 10 minutes, then you need at least 3-4 planes available for each battle. If you are stuck with only one capable craft and 3 low-level planes, then you gonna end up struggling until you earn enough credits to replace all 3 - tier 1 planes with something better. If you can think you can play anyway - be my guest- I have done it. I have gone the hard way to earn my tier 2 crafts and it took me forever, not mentioning that many times my gameplay on a battle was no longer than 2-3 minutes, due to my tier 1 craft being a target practice dummy for superior aircrafts on the map. Just think about it flying against BF109 or Spitfire with a bi-plane from the 30s. If that sounds hilarious, you're right. But this game will force you to do that, because - drumroll- you don't have a Premium Account to buy planes for real $$!
    Expand
  5. Dec 10, 2013
    3
    Some good elements but the fun ends quickly when you are constantly getting destroyed by your own team-mates or suddenly have your pilotSome good elements but the fun ends quickly when you are constantly getting destroyed by your own team-mates or suddenly have your pilot knocked out without any apparent reason. Needs a lot of polish to controls, menus, and general game play.. Too often will you rage quit this game because sudden death that occurs without explanation or without any apparent warning. Expand
  6. Jul 21, 2014
    1
    This the worst free2play game ever.

    I know a few people say that the game isn't pay to win and i was able to agree with that (last year).
    This the worst free2play game ever.

    I know a few people say that the game isn't pay to win and i was able to agree with that (last year).
    But now you can buy everything.
    You can buy Silver Lions, you can buy Premium Planes, you can buy XP boosts and you can buy all upgrades for the planes.

    So if you want to play this crap you should remember, if you don't pay you won't have fun play...
    Expand
  7. May 25, 2016
    0
    The match making its a joke, developers dont care about players, some premium vehicles are sort of pay to win, the game is full of hackers.The match making its a joke, developers dont care about players, some premium vehicles are sort of pay to win, the game is full of hackers.

    A really bad game dont recommend it.
    Expand

See all 205 User Reviews