War Thunder PC

War Thunder Image
Metascore
82

Generally favorable reviews - based on 6 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.7

Mixed or average reviews- based on 635 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: War Thunder is a next generation MMO combat game dedicated to World War II military aviation, armored vehicles, and fleets. You will take part in all of the major combat battles, fighting with real players all over the world.

Trailer

Autoplay: On | Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 6
  2. Negative: 0 out of 6
  1. Oct 17, 2013
    90
    Don’t be fooled: even if it's a free to play game, the qualities of War Thunder are so many that the game stands up as the new reference for flight and combat simulations.
  2. Aug 14, 2014
    90
    Overall the War Thunder tank battles are great even at this early stage.
  3. Dec 9, 2013
    87
    War Thunder, is a little gem on its way to become a diamond. Any aviation or second world war fan should have War Thunder on his PC or PS4.
  4. Dec 11, 2013
    85
    It offers a lot of different play styles. Let's play in arcade mode or with more realism with g-forces and limited ammunition - or let's play in a more complex simulation mode.
  5. Aug 7, 2014
    78
    War Thunder rules the air but the lack of polish hurts, as does the dull ground warfare.
  6. Jun 20, 2014
    72
    With strong visuals and convincing audio backing it up, I thoroughly enjoyed the time I spent inside my P-36 Hawk, and its generous free-to-play model never got in the way.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 74 out of 193
  2. Negative: 84 out of 193
  1. Aug 17, 2013
    10
    This is best simulation of World War II. Take your plane and prepare for best war simulator ever!yet better this game is simulator it MMo mode!!!!!!!!
  2. Mar 16, 2015
    10
    People complained about the cut scenes in the campaign, this is an easy fix. Don't play campaign. If you don't like the cut scenes then justPeople complained about the cut scenes in the campaign, this is an easy fix. Don't play campaign. If you don't like the cut scenes then just play multiplier, at first your going to find everything difficult, trust me with practice and a little effort, you can fly these planes like a champ. I found War thunder to my funnest personal retreat from my insulting "friends" and obnoxious habits. Expand
  3. Aug 1, 2015
    9
    Great game, much better than anything war gaming can produce. Air battles are great, especially with a joystick. Ground Forces is a littleGreat game, much better than anything war gaming can produce. Air battles are great, especially with a joystick. Ground Forces is a little shaky but is still pretty good. Overall great game. I also tested closed beta Expand
  4. Jan 27, 2014
    5
    Used to be good, but now the research trees have been **** royally.
    Unlocking anything beyond Tier 2 is tiresome and time consuming, trying
    Used to be good, but now the research trees have been **** royally.
    Unlocking anything beyond Tier 2 is tiresome and time consuming, trying to fly a stock plane against fully upgraded ones, which you have to do all the time, is painful and brings you to the brink of just uninstalling.'
    Going from Tier 1 to Tier 2, or Tier 2 to Tier 3, is going to give you a kick in the teeth, as your amazing planes, fully upgraded, from the last Tier, are now useless, and you also have a just as useless new, higher tier plane.

    This game used to be fun (still is fun at most times) and something I'd love to sink some time into, even on my own. But nowadays.. Eh, not really. The balancing is horrible, the progression is horrible, and if you want to be in a good plane, you have to play Russians.

    P.S: All of this is in regard to Arcade battles, not Realistic or Simulator.
    Expand
  5. Sep 12, 2013
    3
    I was mislead in thinking that this game was a simulation when I read it won a 'simulation of the year' award. So I gave these people a goodI was mislead in thinking that this game was a simulation when I read it won a 'simulation of the year' award. So I gave these people a good chunk of money thinking that it is a good simulation. It is not. It is a terrible simulation and a poor game.
    There is nothing historical about it as they claim you end up in a battle with a Spitfire MkI in the Korean war fighting Russian pilots and planes.
    If you like to play with a joystick don't get this game. You are outmatched by their mouse aim system, that is accurate but wobbles all over if played in Historical Battles.
    I asked the developers when they are finished with the beta and was told that War Thunder is a perpetual beta.
    The Gaijin company is a very poor company with a bad attitude towards its customers. They are rude and dictatorial. They censor the forums heavily.
    This game has or had potential. It is about 33% of what I would like to see. I therefore give it a solid 3 out of ten and the graphics are very nice. Otherwise I would give it a zero.
    Expand
  6. Dec 25, 2013
    1
    patch 1.37 destroyed a good game.

    It cost over 500% more to get a new plane. It takes over 200% more time for a new plane i had a lot of
    patch 1.37 destroyed a good game.

    It cost over 500% more to get a new plane. It takes over 200% more time for a new plane

    i had a lot of fun in the game and i paid premium account, but now they are like day time robbery
    Expand
  7. Jan 5, 2016
    0
    well today i was banned from Warthunder for talking about the american elections no abuse just a friendly talk on who might win it was onlywell today i was banned from Warthunder for talking about the american elections no abuse just a friendly talk on who might win it was only about 3 to 5 lines of text. Well bam 2 day chat ban for talking about unrelated topic in Warthunder and a 1 day game ban based on "political spam" o.0 so cant play warthunder for 1 day and a 2 day chat banned well now we know what GAIJIN is truely like just a warning to anyone. And before you say it that i shouldnt talk about political topics in a game well i do have the right to freedom of speech and so does everybody else for that matter Expand

See all 193 User Reviews