War Thunder Image
Metascore
81

Generally favorable reviews - based on 8 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.6

Mixed or average reviews- based on 746 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: War Thunder is a next generation MMO combat game dedicated to World War II military aviation, armored vehicles, and fleets. You will take part in all of the major combat battles, fighting with real players all over the world.

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
World of Planes - Cuban Trailer
Autoplay On Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 8
  2. Negative: 0 out of 8
  1. Aug 14, 2014
    90
    Overall the War Thunder tank battles are great even at this early stage.
  2. Oct 17, 2013
    90
    Don’t be fooled: even if it's a free to play game, the qualities of War Thunder are so many that the game stands up as the new reference for flight and combat simulations.
  3. Game World Navigator Magazine
    Jan 25, 2017
    87
    One of the cornerstones of War Thunder is that player’s skill is more important than his wallet. Premium vehicles offer no combat advantages, there is no “microtransaction-only” ammo or consumables, so no amount of cash will buy you a spot on the top of the food chain. [Issue#216, p.56]
  4. Dec 11, 2013
    85
    It offers a lot of different play styles. Let's play in arcade mode or with more realism with g-forces and limited ammunition - or let's play in a more complex simulation mode.
  5. Aug 7, 2014
    78
    War Thunder rules the air but the lack of polish hurts, as does the dull ground warfare.
  6. Jan 13, 2017
    75
    The official launch of War Thunder reminded me why I like this game so much. It's adorably chaotic - in contrast to the reliably designed World of Tanks. That's why it can be really fun and frustrating at the same time. There's tons of great vehicles (and the planes are superb!) and a difficult simulation mode, but there are also balance and technical issues.
  7. Jun 20, 2014
    72
    With strong visuals and convincing audio backing it up, I thoroughly enjoyed the time I spent inside my P-36 Hawk, and its generous free-to-play model never got in the way.

See all 8 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 81 out of 219
  1. Aug 17, 2013
    10
    This is best simulation of World War II. Take your plane and prepare for best war simulator ever!yet better this game is simulator it MMo mode!!!!!!!!
  2. Aug 16, 2014
    10
    The best game i have ever play because it has got very good graphics and gameplay !I think that this is the best simulation game that itThe best game i have ever play because it has got very good graphics and gameplay !I think that this is the best simulation game that it discovered ! So try it and u will play lots of hours and u will catch yourself get stucked with it!Play for ever !Have fun ansd keep safe lalalalalalalalalalala!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    ps:Nick(in warthunder:nickolas.zaf)!ha
    Expand
  3. Apr 1, 2015
    9
    Игра на твёрдые 9 баллов ,удивляет проработка всех деталей игры ,начиная от кокпитов самолётов и до звуков выстрелов , всё сделано на высшемИгра на твёрдые 9 баллов ,удивляет проработка всех деталей игры ,начиная от кокпитов самолётов и до звуков выстрелов , всё сделано на высшем уровне ААА игр. Помимо хорошей графики и оптимизации большое разнообразие игровых режимов,удобное управление,много контента. Без сомнения игра уровня ААА проектов. 10 баллов не поставил только из за небольших шероховатостей физики в наземной составляющей игры. Expand
  4. Dec 14, 2013
    5
    I have been playing this game for a few days and have loved it... until now... When i wanted to play full real battles mode i started theI have been playing this game for a few days and have loved it... until now... When i wanted to play full real battles mode i started the tutorial to find that the tutorial is TERRIBLE... your taking off in a field and there are houses all over and it does a terrible job explaining what to do. And when you have to try and get off the ground which is a realer hard part, it doesn't say what to do, it only says "Time to get in the air!" I have been raging over this tutorial for like 20 minutes now, and i'm so close to quiting.. I seriously minimized the game, made an account here, and wrote this review because i'm so pissed. Get the game if you want, but be prepared to get extremely pissed off. Expand
  5. Jan 12, 2014
    3
    +physical model of flight and damages,
    +quite realistic airplanes performance [in realistic and historical mod] (specific for each plane, it
    +physical model of flight and damages,
    +quite realistic airplanes performance [in realistic and historical mod] (specific for each plane, it makes player closer to real, historical technical specification of each plane) - some mistakes are still there, but I hope they will be solved during game progress.
    +graphics/sound,

    - bad research model (after last patch),
    - bad economy model
    - it is still beta and it seems that it will stay like that for a long, long time...

    I'm giving low rate only because of research/economy model which is very annoying now.
    Anyway, it is F2P game so all of us can check it and decide if it is worth of playing and paying for premium content or not - that is positive side I guess.

    Thank you for attention
    Expand
  6. Jan 5, 2015
    1
    This game got nothing going for it atm, except the graphics that are good.

    The driving, damage and flight modules are a joke, if they are
    This game got nothing going for it atm, except the graphics that are good.

    The driving, damage and flight modules are a joke, if they are broke the will not fix it unless it is a Russian tank or plane under performing, then they will turn it into the beast asap. meanwhile a really bad design decision on the tiger tank had to wait 4 months to be fixed, i mean it only toke the dev 2 days to screw it up in the first place but fixing it was something that had to be done by expert. yes historically all Tigers fought with headlights on comrade, completely historically accurate, infact all german tanks came with builtin headlight anti-gun depression.... Oh this Sherman tank do not have this thick armor here it has to be fixed... wait we did something wrong, read wrong paper comrade we will fix it eventually... The Tiger and the armor "fix" on the captured German Sherman was just two example of one of the biggest problem with Gaijin and is the next point in this review.

    Extremely Russian bias, yaks, yaks, laggs and more lagg every patch. for other nations they will release one plane and then you have "modules" for it so can only fly it out once. but for russian the will make exceptions and will seperate it into different planes even thou it is the same plane except a gun change... just look at all those yaks and you get it. the German will have one plane with "modules" instead.

    The community is a joke with abusive moderators and a community manager that would have been fired if it would have been any other company. just look at the German tanks snafu, where the community manager called the community a bunch of whining *****. for being right, yes the community was right Gaijin had to revert their change eventually or trademarked soon. side note apparently the Russian forum section is ok with none abusive moderators but do not know if that is true so no plus for that.

    Nope that is not your kill. kill stealing is something you will find in all games but in this game it is amazingly bad. a player can take out basically everything on the opponents plane or tank and you can just roll in put a few round in the enemy and get a free kill. I have it done to me and have it done to other people, it is just that the system for kill counting is so bad you just abuse it to the max.

    Production server is beta server, beta server is basically alpha testserver, yes they are not runing a finished game on the, infact atm they are running a paywall "closed beta" on the production server. yes you to pay to get access to all the American tanks in an effort to "test" tanks before they are released in the public every other few day, ehh no weeks, no wait what did we promised them new tanks every other few days. hahahah stupid community shut your mouths we do not care what we promised you, we decide what you get so **** you. yhea that is the response from Gaijin when people ask what happen to the American tanks that is behind a paywall.

    Basically this game was ok back in the days like way back, but with every patch they just add more frustration and fix less and now im not supporting them anymore. im gonna wait for my premium to run out and then bye bye gaijin.
    Expand
  7. Dec 30, 2017
    0
    This game is one of the worst games I've ever played, definitely not fun to play. Not recommended for anybody.
    You are good in this game?
    This game is one of the worst games I've ever played, definitely not fun to play. Not recommended for anybody.
    You are good in this game? Well, **** you, have some unbalanced matchmaking where you will be destroyed by good teams or on the other hand, destroy because the enemy team have afk players.

    Okay, we are losing, go to the point and capture... Boom! one-shooted to death by a premium account sniper with OP high tier vehicle and you can't do nothing because they have an armored tank which you can't penetrate with normal bullets.
    But wait, there is more, you can get two-shooted, they shoot at your driver, you can't scape :). They shoot at your gunner, you can't even defend yourself :) and at that moment you just have to accept your death.
    This game could be the wet dream of a Call of Duty camper, but it's not, because is bad.

    You want another OP high tier vehicle for yourself in order to win matches easily without paying money? Well, **** you, play and grind for one hundred years to achieve it.

    Gaijin thinks that we are slaves of Research Points or what?
    If you don't have any boost on your account you will gain 700RP per match at max (if you are one of the best of your team)

    This game is also VEEERY boring and slow.

    Campaigns are the worst joke: cutscene, go to a place, cutscene, shoot some planes, cutscene, go back and land the plane. THANK GOD YOU CAN SKIP CUTSCENES.

    In conclusion, this game shouldn't be free to play, they should pay us for playing.
    Expand

See all 219 User Reviews