Metascore
82

Generally favorable reviews - based on 6 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.7

Mixed or average reviews- based on 527 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: War Thunder is a next generation MMO combat game dedicated to World War II military aviation, armored vehicles, and fleets. You will take part in all of the major combat battles, fighting with real players all over the world.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 6
  2. Negative: 0 out of 6
  1. Oct 17, 2013
    90
    Don’t be fooled: even if it's a free to play game, the qualities of War Thunder are so many that the game stands up as the new reference for flight and combat simulations.
  2. Aug 14, 2014
    90
    Overall the War Thunder tank battles are great even at this early stage.
  3. Dec 9, 2013
    87
    War Thunder, is a little gem on its way to become a diamond. Any aviation or second world war fan should have War Thunder on his PC or PS4.
  4. Dec 11, 2013
    85
    It offers a lot of different play styles. Let's play in arcade mode or with more realism with g-forces and limited ammunition - or let's play in a more complex simulation mode.
  5. Aug 7, 2014
    78
    War Thunder rules the air but the lack of polish hurts, as does the dull ground warfare.
  6. Jun 20, 2014
    72
    With strong visuals and convincing audio backing it up, I thoroughly enjoyed the time I spent inside my P-36 Hawk, and its generous free-to-play model never got in the way.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 73 out of 154
  2. Negative: 62 out of 154
  1. Aug 17, 2013
    10
    This is best simulation of World War II. Take your plane and prepare for best war simulator ever!yet better this game is simulator it MMo mode!!!!!!!!
  2. Dec 20, 2013
    10
    The best session MMO and the easiest way to learn how to fly, with getting small history lesson. After WarThunder flying school, you would notThe best session MMO and the easiest way to learn how to fly, with getting small history lesson. After WarThunder flying school, you would not have any trouble with some hardcore sim, like BoS, or DCS. Expand
  3. Feb 12, 2014
    9
    An excellent FTP game, gameplay is superb. Like all FTP titles, the problems come with the in-game economy. Grind times are horrendous, evenAn excellent FTP game, gameplay is superb. Like all FTP titles, the problems come with the in-game economy. Grind times are horrendous, even if you choose to pay money for a "premium account", but the game is fun enough to start out, so that that isn't really a problem. The game does get boring after the first 400 or so hours, though. Expand
  4. Mar 17, 2014
    6
    Extremely cool game, but suffers from F2P money grabbing.

    I've played War Thunder for almost a year now. Mostly it has been great, solid
    Extremely cool game, but suffers from F2P money grabbing.

    I've played War Thunder for almost a year now. Mostly it has been great, solid gameplay nice variety, etc....up until they changed the research tree to slow down progress of players. Now, instead of choosing how research points are allocated, you choose a plane to begin researching, and even researching a tier 3 plane (out of 5 total tiers) takes nearly 100 battles to obtain, and because of game mechanics you'll want at least 3 of those planes researched. As battles can take 10-20 minutes each, the game expects you to play 50-100 hours just to go up ONE TIER IN ONE COUNTRY. Yet, it only costs $5 USD to research that same plane with "free" research points. They turned an excellent simulator into an obvious money grab, and it is unacceptable. Playing to unlock new planes is nearly pointless now.

    Gameplay would make this an 8 or a 9, but the money-grab tactics bring that down to a 6. Only get the game if you love pumping at least $100 into a game to make it playable.
    Expand
  5. Nov 27, 2014
    4
    After being away from gaming for a few yrs then reading war thunders' reviews and giving it a try, gotta say happy to have experienced theAfter being away from gaming for a few yrs then reading war thunders' reviews and giving it a try, gotta say happy to have experienced the game. Very smart business model but pretty primitive flight model!

    It's like flying any ww2 aircraft that you might pick up in early Battlefield series...

    There is only one game that can be all time online combat flight sim king. That game is IL2 Sturmovik 1946. Hyperlobby client + IL2 1946. I started playing IL2 ON MY TV SITTING ON THE COUCH back in the day when it was released in 04-05. Sort of ashamed to say I put in 1000's of hours over the years but unprepared for the old rush that came back from flying my trusty FW-190 A9. Jeez still see some of the same pilots from 8 yrs ago! Need fresh blood on hyperlobby. cmon people/ add to your flight skillz. play IL2. Buy on steam - play on hyperlobby.
    Expand
  6. Apr 14, 2015
    2
    I know alot of the game is great but what I find a letdown is this. in patch 1.47 (the current patch as of Feb 2015.) The Devs Just F**KED theI know alot of the game is great but what I find a letdown is this. in patch 1.47 (the current patch as of Feb 2015.) The Devs Just F**KED the game up. This lead to the anger of the community and the forum admins banning everyone making it worse. Many people have quit the game as a result of this. Expand
  7. Apr 14, 2015
    0
    There is no invert mouse when looking around only for controls.
    Unplayable.
    There is no invert mouse when looking around only for
    There is no invert mouse when looking around only for controls.
    Unplayable.

    There is no invert mouse when looking around only for controls.
    Unplayable.
    Expand

See all 154 User Reviews