Metascore
82

Generally favorable reviews - based on 6 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.7

Mixed or average reviews- based on 557 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: War Thunder is a next generation MMO combat game dedicated to World War II military aviation, armored vehicles, and fleets. You will take part in all of the major combat battles, fighting with real players all over the world.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 6
  2. Negative: 0 out of 6
  1. Oct 17, 2013
    90
    Don’t be fooled: even if it's a free to play game, the qualities of War Thunder are so many that the game stands up as the new reference for flight and combat simulations.
  2. Aug 14, 2014
    90
    Overall the War Thunder tank battles are great even at this early stage.
  3. Dec 9, 2013
    87
    War Thunder, is a little gem on its way to become a diamond. Any aviation or second world war fan should have War Thunder on his PC or PS4.
  4. Dec 11, 2013
    85
    It offers a lot of different play styles. Let's play in arcade mode or with more realism with g-forces and limited ammunition - or let's play in a more complex simulation mode.
  5. Aug 7, 2014
    78
    War Thunder rules the air but the lack of polish hurts, as does the dull ground warfare.
  6. Jun 20, 2014
    72
    With strong visuals and convincing audio backing it up, I thoroughly enjoyed the time I spent inside my P-36 Hawk, and its generous free-to-play model never got in the way.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 75 out of 162
  2. Negative: 67 out of 162
  1. Aug 17, 2013
    10
    This is best simulation of World War II. Take your plane and prepare for best war simulator ever!yet better this game is simulator it MMo mode!!!!!!!!
  2. Dec 20, 2013
    10
    The best session MMO and the easiest way to learn how to fly, with getting small history lesson. After WarThunder flying school, you would notThe best session MMO and the easiest way to learn how to fly, with getting small history lesson. After WarThunder flying school, you would not have any trouble with some hardcore sim, like BoS, or DCS. Expand
  3. Feb 12, 2014
    9
    An excellent FTP game, gameplay is superb. Like all FTP titles, the problems come with the in-game economy. Grind times are horrendous, evenAn excellent FTP game, gameplay is superb. Like all FTP titles, the problems come with the in-game economy. Grind times are horrendous, even if you choose to pay money for a "premium account", but the game is fun enough to start out, so that that isn't really a problem. The game does get boring after the first 400 or so hours, though. Expand
  4. Nov 12, 2013
    6
    The graphics lack. The simulation is not bad, but not innovative, exciting, or exhilarating. The game does not appeal to me at all, theThe graphics lack. The simulation is not bad, but not innovative, exciting, or exhilarating. The game does not appeal to me at all, the enjoyment when playing the game, and the looking forward to playing with friends online, on a Friday night, is non-existent. These are the key areas that battlefield strives in. Honestly, not worth the play, however is still in Beta. Give it a try when the Beta's closed, things might get a bit more exciting. Expand
  5. Apr 18, 2015
    4
    This opinion pertains to the arcade tank mode only.
    The game is great, it really is. The tanks feel great and battles can be intensive and
    This opinion pertains to the arcade tank mode only.
    The game is great, it really is. The tanks feel great and battles can be intensive and exciting. The tank,s oh, the tanks are just awesome: the damage model works perfectly and forces you to know and exploit the various tanks' weaknesses. So, why do I give the game a 4? The experience is underwhelming. Ignoring the fact that people who play this game just can't seem to comprehend the importance of capturing the points, the matchmaking system in the pure f2p mode is just awful. So, now I have 4 tanks with the following ratings: 5.7, 5.3, 5.0, 4.7. As the game considers only the highest rating and looks for player with a +/- 1 rating, well, I get obliterated all the time by 6.0 to 6.7 tanks. Add to that the enormous maps (whose design is great, by the way) and realistic speeds of tank and what I get is the following experience: it takes 2-3 minutes to get to the action with the super-heavy IS-1. And then you get blasted to smithereens by a 6.7 Tiger. Then you can respawn and take another 2 minutes drive to get blasted again. Sounds like fun. It would be okay if prices of new tanks (that is, the research price) wouldn't; be that high. It appears that I reached the limit of playing for free. My next tanks costs 100000 research point. Considering all the negativities I described above, this means in the best case scenario 50 boring, useless battles. This is very disappointing, the fact that such a great game got ruined.
    Expand
  6. Dec 2, 2013
    1
    Fun game, nice graphics, well optimized but let down by expensive pay to win content (crew training, qualifications) which are a must-have inFun game, nice graphics, well optimized but let down by expensive pay to win content (crew training, qualifications) which are a must-have in higher tier games. Good for maybe 20-50 hours, any more and you will need to choose between paying or losing. Pretty abusive community/staff too. Expand
  7. Apr 28, 2015
    0
    awful game..... seriously....
    promotes itself as a 'simulator' yet pits light tanks from the early 1930's with late WW2 tanks. played this
    awful game..... seriously....
    promotes itself as a 'simulator' yet pits light tanks from the early 1930's with late WW2 tanks. played this game for a few hours, maneuvered carefully around the battlefield, flanked the enemy.. aaaaaand sat there firing away at an invincible tank only to have it turn around and fire 2 shots at me to kill me.. in 6 games my shots 'hit' approximately 50times.... and didnt score a single point.... because you start the game with a tank that belongs in WW1 era against tiger 1's and 2's...
    disgusted....
    Expand

See all 162 User Reviews