Metascore
82

Generally favorable reviews - based on 6 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.6

Mixed or average reviews- based on 492 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: War Thunder is a next generation MMO combat game dedicated to World War II military aviation, armored vehicles, and fleets. You will take part in all of the major combat battles, fighting with real players all over the world.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 6
  2. Negative: 0 out of 6
  1. Oct 17, 2013
    90
    Don’t be fooled: even if it's a free to play game, the qualities of War Thunder are so many that the game stands up as the new reference for flight and combat simulations.
  2. Aug 14, 2014
    90
    Overall the War Thunder tank battles are great even at this early stage.
  3. Dec 9, 2013
    87
    War Thunder, is a little gem on its way to become a diamond. Any aviation or second world war fan should have War Thunder on his PC or PS4.
  4. Dec 11, 2013
    85
    It offers a lot of different play styles. Let's play in arcade mode or with more realism with g-forces and limited ammunition - or let's play in a more complex simulation mode.
  5. Aug 7, 2014
    78
    War Thunder rules the air but the lack of polish hurts, as does the dull ground warfare.
  6. Jun 20, 2014
    72
    With strong visuals and convincing audio backing it up, I thoroughly enjoyed the time I spent inside my P-36 Hawk, and its generous free-to-play model never got in the way.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 67 out of 141
  2. Negative: 57 out of 141
  1. Aug 17, 2013
    10
    This is best simulation of World War II. Take your plane and prepare for best war simulator ever!yet better this game is simulator it MMo mode!!!!!!!!
  2. Dec 20, 2013
    10
    The best session MMO and the easiest way to learn how to fly, with getting small history lesson. After WarThunder flying school, you would notThe best session MMO and the easiest way to learn how to fly, with getting small history lesson. After WarThunder flying school, you would not have any trouble with some hardcore sim, like BoS, or DCS. Expand
  3. Feb 12, 2014
    9
    An excellent FTP game, gameplay is superb. Like all FTP titles, the problems come with the in-game economy. Grind times are horrendous, evenAn excellent FTP game, gameplay is superb. Like all FTP titles, the problems come with the in-game economy. Grind times are horrendous, even if you choose to pay money for a "premium account", but the game is fun enough to start out, so that that isn't really a problem. The game does get boring after the first 400 or so hours, though. Expand
  4. Jul 2, 2014
    6
    I initially heard about War Thunder from my adult son who plays it on PS4. I have found the PC version very enthralling. The graphics areI initially heard about War Thunder from my adult son who plays it on PS4. I have found the PC version very enthralling. The graphics are amazing, and as I am not a very skilled gamer ( I mean, I can't even successfully complete the take off tutorial. I can only imagine how much I would suck at the landing one), I found the arcade realm to my liking.

    Parts of the game play are entertaining for me as a mature game player. I enjoy bombing, but unfortunately, chose the Germans, and find that I continually get shot down. It's to the point that I basically just want to crash my plane if someone attacks me as there is no way I can shake off any plane that starts shooting at me. So much for my "ace" gunners. Sometimes it's fun to see how long I can last being chased and shot at, but at other times it's very frustrating.

    Each game starts with me having to wait to get into an arcade game. The waits are generally less than a minute. No complaints in that respect. Once the scenario is presented, I choose the plane I want to use. Then I take a break. I go get a refreshment or go to the bathroom, check my email, etc. The plane flies on its own, basically on auto pilot. After a while, I check back in, aim my plane for a target, and hope I get a chance to unload my bombs before the advanced players on my side have already eliminated the target or that someone on the opposing team decides to attack me.

    One thing I find frustrating in the arcade play is that there is no teamwork. Everyone does their own thing. There is a chat feature that is useless as I have no idea who the other players are. There's always some bossy player telling the team to "Shoot down so and so" which is totally meaningless as I have no idea where that player is in the environment, nor do I have the ability to shoot them down. It would be nice as a bomber in the game to have an fighter escort, but that will never happen. I just do my own thing and assume that everyone else does the same. If you're looking for team player interaction, then this game isn't for you. There is something about squads, but that must been in the other game types. As for me, I'm OK with that. I just want to bomb targets. I don't want to have to answer to the clan.

    I think I will enjoy the game as something I can do once in a while. I made the mistake of investing about $250 into the game...I know...I'm stupid. I put the money into upgrading my planes and crews...and It turns out it was all pointless. It was totally compulsive purchasing. Please don't tell my wife. I just justify it as part of my "entertainment budget". I think though, that I will have to lock my credit card away whenever I play because it is just so tempting to want to spend some gold to unlock the next wonder plane rather than wait for it.

    In reading the reviews, I didn't realize the bias towards Russian planes. I was getting suspicious about this as I could not believe how many times I've had one of my wings blown off by a single shot. Or as I mentioned, how crappy my German planes seem to perform compared to lower level Russian and American aircraft. It's all starting to sink in now, though.

    I have nothing to comment on about the customer service or forums as I haven't had any involvement in those aspects of the game. I don't get why people would complain about an F2P game in the first place. If you don't like it, find a different game to play. Gaijin isn't obligated to make your free gaming dreams come true. There is no F2P player rights manifesto or good practice guide. Play any game at your own risk.

    Overall, I think I will continue to play from time to time, but I definitely won't be spending any more money. on it. I can see how duped I was to lay that kind of cash down on a game that will be perpetually Beta. I don't think it is fair to call the game P2W, as investing money doesn't seem to guarantee that you will be any more skilled at playing or any more likely to win. I am living proof of that.

    I think people have to realize that there is no truly F2P online games. Gaming companies have to make money, and in-app purchases are part of the business. Obviously, the better companies are skilled at getting players motivated to buy features or gold or whatever. Take Candy Crush for example. So, I think Gaijin offers enough F2P gameplay in War Thunder. I don't think that my investment did any more for my in game advantage other than giving me the feeling that I had suped up my planes and my crews. I've played other games where P2W is a definite factor.

    Regarding game performance, I have not encountered any bugs that others have mentioned. The game runs smoothly. It hasn't crashed yet. I still enjoy the challenges of playing and when I get frustrated by constantly being shot down, I exit, remembering that it's just a game.

    So, my advice is play for free. Enjoy it for what it is Don't expect to have an elite gaming experience. Don't spend money on it ever. It's a total waste
    Expand
  5. Nov 27, 2014
    4
    After being away from gaming for a few yrs then reading war thunders' reviews and giving it a try, gotta say happy to have experienced theAfter being away from gaming for a few yrs then reading war thunders' reviews and giving it a try, gotta say happy to have experienced the game. Very smart business model but pretty primitive flight model!

    It's like flying any ww2 aircraft that you might pick up in early Battlefield series...

    There is only one game that can be all time online combat flight sim king. That game is IL2 Sturmovik 1946. Hyperlobby client + IL2 1946. I started playing IL2 ON MY TV SITTING ON THE COUCH back in the day when it was released in 04-05. Sort of ashamed to say I put in 1000's of hours over the years but unprepared for the old rush that came back from flying my trusty FW-190 A9. Jeez still see some of the same pilots from 8 yrs ago! Need fresh blood on hyperlobby. cmon people/ add to your flight skillz. play IL2. Buy on steam - play on hyperlobby.
    Expand
  6. Nov 30, 2013
    1
    i have spent 25 minutes, just trying to get into the game. 13 minutes went to waiting for the stupid thing to download the patch. 10 minutesi have spent 25 minutes, just trying to get into the game. 13 minutes went to waiting for the stupid thing to download the patch. 10 minutes went to some stupid thing called an outdated video driver. 2 minutes went to being speechless. Expand
  7. Jan 12, 2015
    0
    An extremely frustrating game with a large number of pay to win features. Fun to play for free for a few hours, but definitely not worthAn extremely frustrating game with a large number of pay to win features. Fun to play for free for a few hours, but definitely not worth wasting any money on. Expand

See all 141 User Reviews