Metascore
92

Universal acclaim - based on 40 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 40 out of 40
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 40
  3. Negative: 0 out of 40
  1. 100
    This game is so much fun to play, and does everything so well that it is totally almost impossible to put it down... WarCraft III is the pinnacle of the recent Real Time Strategy Genre and sets the bar for how all RTS games should be developed.
  2. Regardless of whether or not you're a hardcore fan of strategy games, WarCraft III's compelling story and excellent balance makes it a must-own.
  3. The finest RTS game I have ever played.
  4. 100
    This makes for a massively exciting single player campaign not to mention some of the funnest multiplayer I have ever played on an RTS game in ages!
  5. 100
    WarCraft III doesn’t revolutionize the RTS genre, but a well-executed story, drum-tight gameplay and a long shelf life as a multi-player title make WarCraft III a must for and PC owning strategy fans.
  6. Completely reinvented in glorious 3-D, WCIII spruces up the age-old premise—organize armies and send them into battle against opposing forces—with much-improved graphics and a new pyrotechnic spell-casting system.
  7. Astounding pre-rendered cinematics and a tightly woven storyline are backed by a substantial and varied single-player campaign.
  8. 100
    The best Warcraft game, possibly the best strategy game, released yet.
  9. With Hollywood-level grandeur and an epic story line involving four races, the single-player game alone would earn a high grade. [2 Aug 2002, p.77]
  10. The Collectors Edition is the best buy. For several dollars more you will be able to get a soundtrack to the game, DVD of all the cinemas plus an inside look at the game, artwork of the game, four posters, and a really nice case to store all the extra items in.
  11. The robust gameplay and detailed graphics of their latest creation make playing this game over and over again a sheer delight.
  12. The yardstick that will be used to measure strategy games for some time to come.
  13. I myself would be prepared to kill a reasonably large number of people to get my hands on it, so if you do happen to own the collectors edition, do pop by with it...alone... and unarmed...
  14. One of those games that is so good, even the credits rock.
  15. The multiplayer is amazing (of course), and the world editor is impressive, but the single-player experience is a masterstroke. [Sept 2002, p.92]
  16. 95
    Role player, ex-Dungeons and Dragons addict, chainmail-wearing closet weirdo or not, you won't find a finer excuse to blow the week's wages this side of Amsterdam's red light district. [7 Aug 2002, p.1]
  17. With the engrossing single-player missions, stellar multiplayer, and the incredibly detailed world editor, WC3 is my early choice for PC Game of the Year.
  18. The game speaks for itself, in a loud, scary voice. It says, "I'm one of the greatest games ever. Add me to your collection and let me take over your pitiful life." I'd listen, if I were you.
  19. A brilliant game in every facet of its design and execution, with not a single dull moment in the lot. [August 2002, p.62]
  20. 93
    Everything in the box, from the game itself to the terrific manual that has tons of info plus loads of extra background story for each of the races, is top notch and adds to the overall luster of the game.
  21. As good of an offering in the genre as there's ever been, featuring a superb story, carefully refined gameplay, plenty of depth, the best online multiplayer mode in any real-time strategy game to date, and the excellent production values you'd expect from a Blizzard product.
  22. 92
    The real coup for diehard Warcraft players is a true map and mission editor that can be used to create scripted maps, custom heroes, voice and sound files, unit variations, as well as a completely new story.
  23. People who were expecting a revolution in strategy games should realize that Blizzard wasn't aiming at this. They simply made another solid game with their tried and true style of gameplay and some great visuals at the same time. They've delivered on that.
  24. Warcraft III has lived up to all its expectations, and has succeeded in restoring some of the life and charm that RTS games have lacked with its RPG elements.
  25. [The single player game is c]ertainly not comparable to the evolutionary changes we expected Blizzard to put it through.
  26. Prepare for many a sleepless night. Most importantly, it also has that most elusive quality, the fun factor, in spades.
  27. Enhanced gameplay combined with a great story and fantastic CG will give even the most peaceful elf a new reason to go to war.
  28. May very well be the most beloved PC game of the year.
  29. You can read as many reviews and features as you like but we can guarantee you that you shall not be disappointed with this one.
  30. The gripping story, the inventive mission design, the perfect pacing, the interesting races and the redolent atmosphere. [PC Gamer UK]
  31. Graphically, Warcraft III is breathtaking.
  32. Certainly WarCraft III has improved exponentially from its predecessor in the areas of story and character development, which in turn results in a game of massive size that, in terms of sheer gameplay hours, will prove as fulfilling as any RPG.
  33. But what Warcraft lacks in technology, it makes up for with the flair, imagination and careful attentiveness from its art designers.
  34. 80
    Not every new idea works, but it's refreshing to see a developer, especially one as conservative as Blizzard, branch out a little.
  35. Blizzard delivered as promised, and then some. But I wasn't floored. Not even close. [Sept 2002, p.70]
  36. 80
    An enjoyable game, to be sure, but it could have been so much more.
  37. As much as in the original WarCraft and all the Blizzard games that followed, the player is placed in the story with a perfect perspective on each different race’s dreads and hopes.
  38. A fantastic story and characters, loads of style, and top-notch production value. [Sept 2002, p.2002]
  39. 79
    There doesn't seem to be a huge gap in play balancing, but the fact that there are so many different factions to play as doesn't seem to bring too much to the table.
User Score
9.0

Universal acclaim- based on 617 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 84 out of 95
  2. Negative: 9 out of 95
  1. ERB
    Aug 3, 2013
    8
    This game is an highly excellent game.Story is good and even game play is good.So I finished the game in 30 hours and I know that It took me a long time to finish the game but It is worth the time playing.Game is highly good and maybe this game is one of the best the past decade.I'm telling you go play this game now and try to finish the game. Full Review »
  2. Jul 30, 2012
    10
    The SinglePlayer mode was great, and the story is very good aswell, it wants you play the game till the end! Cinematics are great aswell and the Multiplayer mode was just fantastic. And if you got bored of it, there were Tons of Mods that you could play that were entirely different then the actual game ( DOTA, Tower Defense, etc etc etc ) Full Review »
  3. May 29, 2012
    10
    This is by far my number one favorite game of all-time, it's more than 10 years old and i still play it every once in a while! Where do i begin? Well lets start with the campaign, probably one of the best stories i have ever seen in a video game. And the cinematics? They're more than ten years old and yet they still impress me every time. Most missions are awesome and those who aren't are still quite nice. The multiplayer is really great. Building up your army, researching new tech and leveling up your hero all while having to keep up your economy. No games a the same in Warcraft 3. And if you should ever get bored with the normal maps, you can just log on to Battlenet or Epicwar to check out the newest custom maps. One of the only games that i have been completely sure deserves a 10/10. Full Review »