User Score
9.1

Universal acclaim- based on 989 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 23 out of 989
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. SHODAN
    Nov 10, 2007
    4
    Redundant and uninspired. Warcraft 2 and, particularly, StarCraft are far more competent games.
  2. GaryH.
    Jan 4, 2007
    4
    Just the same old, dull, stupid formula rehashed, with ugly 3D graphics. If you've played WC2 all the way to the end, there's no real reason to bother with this one.
  3. CodyK.
    Jul 15, 2005
    4
    I loved Warcraft II, but couldn
  4. TedW.
    Jul 17, 2002
    1
    This game is flat out bad. Multiplayer is the same rushing sh*t from StarCraft only with out the zerglings. The supposed 'balance' is simply a glorified version of rock, paper, scissors. The single player while having a decent story line is a drawn out, pain in the ass. Do not buy this game. Buying it tells Blizzard that they can make money by producing inferior games.
  5. WeaponBoy
    Jul 8, 2002
    3
    It's a pretty weak game. The AI is terrible and is obviously breaking the rules. Plus it's not much fun when the computer gets four fully built bases while you get one base which is horribly placed.
  6. JonH.
    Apr 9, 2003
    4
    I dislike this game because there is no vaerity in the teams&units, and there is only one difficuty of AI and the campaign didnt go on for very long:( yet the graphics and mutliplayer are good and fast. still at times the graphics can be confusing in combat.
  7. MichaelU.
    Feb 14, 2008
    2
    At first i thought this game was cool, because it was about warcraft. I played world of warcraft before it, so i wanted to play this. What a big mistake that was. The characters look completely cartoonish and can be compared to fisher price people. The idea of upgrading your buildings and troops seems cool at first, but it later gets annoying and you keep forgetting about it. On most maps At first i thought this game was cool, because it was about warcraft. I played world of warcraft before it, so i wanted to play this. What a big mistake that was. The characters look completely cartoonish and can be compared to fisher price people. The idea of upgrading your buildings and troops seems cool at first, but it later gets annoying and you keep forgetting about it. On most maps you start off with about 10 people while the enemy has about 4 bases. The biggest armies consist of 16 people, making it feel more like a scouting party than an army. At first i liked the idea of heroes, but after a while you seem to use them for everything because they are way too powerful. They are basically the equvillant of 15 people, so you can defend your whole base with him and 5 people. The idea of needing air units to attack air units is also dumb. The average building can produce 1 or 2 types of troops, so you have to keep switching between buildings to produce different types of troops. Altogether it feels like 100 pots boiling at the same time. The only good part is the story. Its hard to make a strategy game that has bad graphics, gameplay, objectives, army sizes, and unbalanced characters all at once, but warcraft 3 rises to the challenge. Expand
  8. Dahman
    Nov 12, 2006
    4
    It seemed repetative and boring, the only good thing about this warcraft compaired to the earlier 2 are the graphics, which aren't even stunning.
  9. Nov 13, 2015
    4
    The aim of this review is to help you reader decide whether you should still get this game in 2015 or later or not. I refer to the price of 20 euros.

    This game is a dead legend. I definitely enjoyed this game past days, but today it has some significant flaws and problems that might make this game not worth buying anymore in 2015. So as you can see I rate this game from a modern point
    The aim of this review is to help you reader decide whether you should still get this game in 2015 or later or not. I refer to the price of 20 euros.

    This game is a dead legend. I definitely enjoyed this game past days, but today it has some significant flaws and problems that might make this game not worth buying anymore in 2015. So as you can see I rate this game from a modern point of view.

    Its story is quite okay and the campaign is something worth playing I would say, but the multiplayer of this game became non-existent because of several reasons - especially caused by the company and the community: Hosting-bots made custom created games unfindable, means that you will have big troubles finding people playing with you certain maps. You might only find empty rooms that suppress the rooms with people waiting for other users to join.

    The maps offered to play never really changed since a long time, the rotation just stagnated. Same goes for the patch and the strategies you will encounter, it is like playing the same strategies over and over again. Not just this but you will encounter a high ping, making this game over the "Battle.net" not a very fun experience.

    It was a good game, but it has fallen apart.
    Expand
Metascore
92

Universal acclaim - based on 40 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 40 out of 40
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 40
  3. Negative: 0 out of 40
  1. Graphically, Warcraft III is breathtaking.
  2. Completely reinvented in glorious 3-D, WCIII spruces up the age-old premise—organize armies and send them into battle against opposing forces—with much-improved graphics and a new pyrotechnic spell-casting system.
  3. May very well be the most beloved PC game of the year.