Metascore
62

Mixed or average reviews - based on 17 Critics What's this?

User Score
3.4

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 186 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Warface gives you extensive and addictive multiplayer options. A vast and constantly updated PVE universe complete with dramatic co-op missions that reward teamwork and individual skill, and a full set of class-based PVP games for unmatched competitive play.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 17
  2. Negative: 0 out of 17
  1. Nov 1, 2013
    80
    Warface, the first experience of Crytek in the free-to-play field, is a very nice competitive online FPS, with a lot of well-known game modes and fast gameplay. The visuals are pure Crytek quality, and even if it’s not an original game, it surely deserves a deep look.
  2. Nov 6, 2013
    73
    Warface is a solid but pretty standard online first person shooter, packed with the usual range of game modes, classes and weapons. That said, it's also very nice looking and completely free to play.
  3. 70
    Warface succeeds in keeping the player immersed and on his toes, and it does that for free. It doesn’t feel that unique though, and the co-op mode can’t hold its own against the death matches.
  4. Nov 18, 2013
    64
    An uninspired coop-shooter, developed with a reduced cryengine 3. It’s ok for playing some matches with friends, but the game is missing longtime motivation. Unfortunately it is implemented in the very uncomfortable designed gaming-platform, named Gforce. At least, the game is free2play and offers some kind of entertainment.
  5. May 19, 2014
    60
    Warface isn't very well-balanced: players who've been playing for very long or are paying money for their items have a noticeable advantage. The structure gets on your nerves and is very de-motivating for new players.
  6. Oct 28, 2013
    60
    This is just another shooter, that won't give you anything you haven't seen before. Yes, it's free and it does have some entertainment, but there are plenty of better options out there.
  7. Dec 18, 2013
    50
    The action never inspires. [Issue#142, p.124]

See all 17 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 40
  2. Negative: 27 out of 40
  1. Oct 29, 2013
    9
    The best MMOFPS actually, good graphics, good gameplay, good game modes, etc. It's not the most original game ever, but it includes the best of another MMOFPS games. I also tried a lot of MMOFPS games and I can tell you that Warface is the best until now! Expand
  2. Jun 26, 2014
    8
    Apart from a few bug and glitch Warface can be very entertaining.The only bad thing is Crytek doesn't care too much about the game,but if they'd care about the game,it could be a perfect online FPS Collapse
  3. Nov 7, 2013
    6
    The game could be better, if there would be less donating. I understand, that game's developers have to gain money from something too, but it was a big mistake to make it free. The game is full of different problems, such as disbalanse and no subject at all. The only thing that saves it, is it's PvE missions, that are quite intersting. Expand
  4. Oct 27, 2013
    2
    An extremely generic and lifeless shooter. For anything good i can say about it I can say at least 3 bad things. There are unique things at work here like the ability to help you and a teammate mantle a wall that's too high for you to climb, slide under objects instead of crawling, and change gun attachments on the fly like crysis. It shows the devs were putting in at least a little creative thought. Other than that its, basic gun play, with basic guns, with basic shooter mechanics, on boring an unbalanced maps. Sliding is abused to become more of a problem than anything else, which takes away any benefit it would normally give in game. The class system hardly ever comes into play and is more based of what gun you want than anything as you will hardly ever use a classes ability. You move like your walking though water and combat is sluggish and feels too slow. The cash shop is all rentals with no permanent purchases, and In game currency is earned at an insanely slow rate (you'll play maybe 20 30 games to get anything good for maybe a weeks time). I wont say this game is pay to win, its just pay to grind less. But the fact that you will play this game for 4-6 hours and unlock ONE item for a weeks time might as well make it pay to win. Also make wearable items give you perks and people who pay have an insane advantage. Its not as bad as Blacklight, but it is noticeable. Overall this game isn't terrible, but it isn't good either. For a FTP there are much better games out there, including Blacklight (but not by much. I gave it a 5). But i cant recommend this game to anyone. Skip it please. Say what you want about CoD, at least it has the formula down, and i have a lot of fun playing it. This is no CoD. Expand
  5. Oct 27, 2013
    1
    Sadly this piece of software is a shameful ripoff of every other "Free-to-play" shooter, Crap attempts at money that give players chances at weapons early on. Graphically this game is a beauty but once you try and play PVP get ready to grab your ankles, bend over and welcome the hackers into your rear. This is sad being that this game barely just came out. Expand
  6. Mar 17, 2014
    0
    The game is literally DEAD. I only wanted to try it because I got a $50 game cred for free, but nope it's not even worth trying. I tried to do a co-op mission but there's either no one doing one or that the host is afk. In versus mode, there are around 6 servers only and I got killed by high level characters. There's no balance in PVP because no one plays this game and they need to round up all the players. Expand
  7. Jan 29, 2014
    0
    With pay-to-win equipment unlocks, infuriating regional restrictions and bland gameplay, Warface does an excellent job of reminding us why free-to-play games are rarely worth our time. Expand

See all 40 User Reviews