Warframe Image
Metascore
69

Mixed or average reviews - based on 10 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1142 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Set in the far reaches of outer space during a new Dark Age, WARFRAME introduces the Tenno, a race on the brink of extinction after being enslaved by the Grineer for centuries. Players enter WARFRAME on the cusp of the Grineer's victory over the Tenno until they begin to arm themselves withSet in the far reaches of outer space during a new Dark Age, WARFRAME introduces the Tenno, a race on the brink of extinction after being enslaved by the Grineer for centuries. Players enter WARFRAME on the cusp of the Grineer's victory over the Tenno until they begin to arm themselves with WARFRAMES - an ancient exo-skeletal technology only they can operate. Hidden within the Orokin Derelicts of a lost civilization, new WARFRAMES lie dormant and undiscovered. These artifacts are the Tenno's only hope for survival. Expand

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Warframe - Archwing Update 15 Trailer
Autoplay On Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 10
  2. Negative: 0 out of 10
  1. 80
    Play Warframe. Play it for more than a few hours, preferably with friends, and keep an open mind into doing some third-party research to straighten out some of these systems. Warframe takes so much of what makes ARPG’s addictive, and rounds it out with more polish and depth than most its competitors on the current games market. If the hooks aren’t deeply embedded by then, maybe something this in-depth isn’t for you.
  2. Sep 11, 2014
    77
    The idea with the Tamagotchi-space-dogs is already absolutely amazing.
  3. With the lack of a Pay to Win system and easy engagement for new players, Warframe offers some quality time.
  4. Apr 3, 2013
    70
    Digital Extremes has created something that's often genuinely fun to play, and given the cost of entry, Warframe's well worth a try if you're in the mood for something different.
  5. Apr 12, 2013
    70
    Warframe isn't anything special. It's not revolutionary, exceptional or timeless. Still - every time I returned to the game, it kept playing for at least an hour (without regret). Digital Extremes has made an enjoyable, engrossing, spectacular game. Especially, when you find yourself a team or - even better - invite some friends. If you need a new opportunity to slaughter aliens, you should try Warframe.
  6. May 6, 2013
    65
    Warframe is a good title if contextualized in the panorama of FreeToPlay, however the high level of competition on this front would make us hope for a more solid and strong product.
  7. Aug 2, 2013
    60
    Some problematic menus pale in comparison to Warframe's real problem: a pervasive tendency toward repetition.

See all 10 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 50 out of 337
  1. Dec 23, 2017
    10
    nice game MORE THAN 400h in ..............................................
  2. Aug 29, 2014
    10
    I really admire this game because this is fun-to-play. It already lasted for 1 and a half years so it it a game where a lot of people playI really admire this game because this is fun-to-play. It already lasted for 1 and a half years so it it a game where a lot of people play plus the developers progresses with their game with new updates thus hard work. The warframes designs are good, the weapons are strong and balanced, melee still needs some changes and improvements but its a good start, and the enemies are well-made. But the repetitive gamplay is the problem for players who get tired easily, but this is still being developed so in the future, this game be a more fun for players and maybe they can get a higher rating compared to now. Expand
  3. Apr 2, 2013
    10
    Really great game. It has large updates that are put out each month. It keeps getting better. Very polished gameplay. One of the best freeReally great game. It has large updates that are put out each month. It keeps getting better. Very polished gameplay. One of the best free to play games I've played. I would highly recommend experiencing it with your friends as it was meant to be played cooperatively and it's a far more fun than when played solo. Expand
  4. Oct 21, 2013
    9
    Most likely the reviewers who give this game from 3 or lower obviously don't understand the concept of the game and don't play it as often.Most likely the reviewers who give this game from 3 or lower obviously don't understand the concept of the game and don't play it as often. The reason this game is good is because it has higher graphics than any MMO's games and it's not even P2P. People may say it's pay to play because they either suck at it or just too dumb to read the instructions. Saying this game is P2P is just the same as saying League of Legends is P2P. If you want to know it yourself try the game and don't give bad reviews unless you have the skills to play the game and the idea of the game. Also the fighting is simple, many would say you shoot and "tank" but in reality there is more than just shooting and slicing. I urge you to try the game for at least a week and check out it's mechanics before you criticize because many of the negatives are those who lacks the understanding of this game. Expand
  5. Feb 19, 2014
    8
    Never seen such an awesome game in quite a while. And it's free! I has a very fluent and forward gameplay, and I just love bashing out throughNever seen such an awesome game in quite a while. And it's free! I has a very fluent and forward gameplay, and I just love bashing out through the maps AoE'ing people with skills and doing parkour really fast.
    The history concept of the game is very well defined, as it resembles a war of races through the universe, having the planets as fighting pits.

    However, it's kind of difficult to become really strong because of it's highcost micro-economy. Without some platinum, you harshly can get new weapons and/or characters, as well as a lot of customization. So in that way, it gets limited.

    But hey, it's free. Has mindblowing graphics. And we can't get everything can we?
    Expand
  6. Jul 29, 2013
    7
    I played the game because I was seeking a Co-op experience with friends, and I'll admit I got quite a few hours put into it. After playing it,I played the game because I was seeking a Co-op experience with friends, and I'll admit I got quite a few hours put into it. After playing it, I wanted to create a review. I was really sick of seeing these polarized reviews of 10's or 0's because apparently giving a review is too difficult for some and would rather voice their bias to an extreme.

    The graphics is one of the biggest pulling/attraction for Warframe and for good reason! Considering it was a F2P game as well, the graphics were on the high end. However, this can also be a con because not everyone has a great GFX. However, the graphics are only as good as what they put it on. Which goes to one of the biggest flaws of Warframe which is the lack of variety.

    The game play of Warframe is fun for a while. You get a sword, four abilities, a gun and it is smooth for the most part. There are a few bugs, and there is a lack of sword combat (only a couple of moves). Until you get a new warframe "class", you'll be stuck with the same 4 abilities which does get boring. BUT, You get to parkour and be a ninja acrobat in space. It reminds me a lot of GunZ with all the free range of moving. Eventually you'll be using the exact same movements to get around and it'll just start feeling like a chore.

    Warframe lacks in story and plot. It doesn't set in stone the lore through game play, it doesn't seem to reinforce much with the missions they do have, and it isn't very enthralling. You don't feel as epic as you should, and it creates this disinterest in the missions you're doing, which is already worse with their lack of variety(explained in the next paragraph). It is a weak plot which creates a lack of game missions to base off.

    Warframe lacks in variety of maps and enemies. There are 3 types of enemies (Corpus/Robots, Infested/Aliens, and Grineer/Armored Aliens/Humanoids) and they only have about 5~ of each throughout the game. You see the exact same enemies throughout the game, with the same tactics but just stronger as you progress. The maps of the 3 types change a little which got me immersed in the first place. You get to see the 3 different environment types in the first couple of planets/missions. However, they didn't create anything more different in the later planets. They mix and match a little, however you'll start feeling you're seeing the exact same environment and it gets really repetitive of going through the same map over and over with just stronger/different enemies. There are 10 mission modes. The game types are very lack luster, you can go check the wiki or just play it. Either way, once you play the game modes once they're essentially always the EXACT SAME just on a different map (of the ones you played on already) with the other 2 enemy types. It get's repetitive and tedious. However, it's still a time sink like that and for me, I was able to play through multiple planets/lots of hours before I actually did get bored of it. On the other hand, there was a lack of strategy in the missions and they rarely changed within their missions, it was always the same kind of mission with no variety within itself.

    One thing I was really excited for in this "Co-Op" game was the Boss fights. I loved games with boss fights like WoW Raids, BL2, etc. However, in Warframe, the Boss fights were EXTREMELY lackluster. You could practically just shoot and run in circles, and it would die. No strategy, hell you wouldn't even need to use your abilities.

    Moving on to Warframe's customization. It is a long grind to get the "better" weapons and Warframes. I understand that from a F2P perspective, it was a "good" way, however the dev's did feel like kicking F2P on acquiring Warframes. You need to farm a boss for multiple pieces(hoping it'll drop) and have all the materials to create a warframe. However, the Devs I felt did a good job on the weapon aspect. The higher end better weapons of the game require actually farming/making the item, like the Flux Rifle which you CANNOT purchase. However, they are lacking in the variety of guns/weapons and they aren't totally different from each other. Some are just plain worse than others, which I would hope the devs will fix/improve later on.

    I really enjoy their mod system, which you collect mods from random drops that can improve/change your weapons to make them better versus the enemies you encounter. It gives a lot of leeway to customization and the "best" mods require luck/grind which you CANNOT purchase. I think the unavailability of trading in Warframe is a good and bad, but I understand why it was not implemented. It would make grinding/farming for mods, materials, blueprints a lot less appealing and would get people to just buy them off each other which I would believe, ruin the game create a drop of play. However, you'll eventually realize what is the "best" mods agreed upon later on, but who cares (it goes for most games).

    The game still does need polish, but it's a decent F2P but not worth spending
    Expand
  7. Aug 16, 2016
    0
    Sent mail to support asking for help.
    Waited 2 months and the reply I got was a canned completely irrelevant one to what I asked giving no
    Sent mail to support asking for help.
    Waited 2 months and the reply I got was a canned completely irrelevant one to what I asked giving no solution, threatening me that if I called them again they'd permaban me.

    10/10 quality
    Expand

See all 337 User Reviews