Metascore
68

Mixed or average reviews - based on 9 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 772 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Set in the far reaches of outer space during a new Dark Age, WARFRAME introduces the Tenno, a race on the brink of extinction after being enslaved by the Grineer for centuries. Players enter WARFRAME on the cusp of the Grineer's victory over the Tenno until they begin to arm themselves withSet in the far reaches of outer space during a new Dark Age, WARFRAME introduces the Tenno, a race on the brink of extinction after being enslaved by the Grineer for centuries. Players enter WARFRAME on the cusp of the Grineer's victory over the Tenno until they begin to arm themselves with WARFRAMES - an ancient exo-skeletal technology only they can operate. Hidden within the Orokin Derelicts of a lost civilization, new WARFRAMES lie dormant and undiscovered. These artifacts are the Tenno's only hope for survival. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 9
  2. Negative: 0 out of 9
  1. Sep 11, 2014
    77
    The idea with the Tamagotchi-space-dogs is already absolutely amazing.
  2. With the lack of a Pay to Win system and easy engagement for new players, Warframe offers some quality time.
  3. Apr 3, 2013
    70
    Digital Extremes has created something that's often genuinely fun to play, and given the cost of entry, Warframe's well worth a try if you're in the mood for something different.
  4. Apr 12, 2013
    70
    Warframe isn't anything special. It's not revolutionary, exceptional or timeless. Still - every time I returned to the game, it kept playing for at least an hour (without regret). Digital Extremes has made an enjoyable, engrossing, spectacular game. Especially, when you find yourself a team or - even better - invite some friends. If you need a new opportunity to slaughter aliens, you should try Warframe.
  5. Jul 1, 2013
    70
    As a free-to-play game, Warframe is a nice surprise that sets the base for a promising future.
  6. May 6, 2013
    65
    Warframe is a good title if contextualized in the panorama of FreeToPlay, however the high level of competition on this front would make us hope for a more solid and strong product.
  7. Aug 2, 2013
    60
    Some problematic menus pale in comparison to Warframe's real problem: a pervasive tendency toward repetition.

See all 9 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 45 out of 265
  1. Apr 30, 2015
    10
    Don't listen to the negatives, you don't need to be rich to have fun.
    The graphics in Warframe are absolutely stunning for a F2P game, even
    Don't listen to the negatives, you don't need to be rich to have fun.
    The graphics in Warframe are absolutely stunning for a F2P game, even if it would be a Pay2Play game, it would still be jaw-dropping. However, in Warframe, you could play on med-high setting and still get 60+fps while getting an amazing experience making you feel as if you're going at max speed on a rollercoaster, completely dazed
    In this game, the tedious amount of farming required to earn an item you really want to craft is just unbelievable! Although I didn't mind farming the other 50+ hours for some little things, I was completely enraged when I realized I spent around 10 hours trying to get a single blueprint part for a warframe ( a full warframe is made of: systems blueprint, a helmet blueprint, chassis blueprint, warframe blueprint and a random material). But in the end I did find the part that I needed, however I gave up trying once I traded for another part and couldn't find any more parts.
    In Warframe, there's two currencies, Credits and Platinum. You can get credits for just playing the game, but can also get platinum as a daily reward (around 20). Every player starts with 50 plat. You could pay for nearly anything in the game using platinum, including more slots for warframes or weapons, speeding up items that are being built, and use it to trade. A daily reward is also a coupon that can even give you -75% the normal price of platinum, so you could buy the most amount of platinum (3000 if I remember correctly) for only around 100 of whatever currency you use (WAY less than half price!). So you can go the easy route and pay your way to the games core, or just get free stuff as you go along, which is one of the best things I've ever seen in a game!
    Expand
  2. Jan 17, 2014
    10
    One of the best MMOs I've ever played. The graphics are really beautiful, it gets lots of updates and it's free to play. There is aOne of the best MMOs I've ever played. The graphics are really beautiful, it gets lots of updates and it's free to play. There is a marketplace where you can buy stuff with real money, but it's not really necessary. after playing for almost 100 hours, the only thing I bought was a color pack for my warframes.
    The best and the most important part of this game in my opinion is farming. You'll need to farm to build yourself new frames and weapons. The farming in this game is fun, you can always choose which type of mission suites you best.
    Expand
  3. Apr 2, 2013
    10
    Really great game. It has large updates that are put out each month. It keeps getting better. Very polished gameplay. One of the best freeReally great game. It has large updates that are put out each month. It keeps getting better. Very polished gameplay. One of the best free to play games I've played. I would highly recommend experiencing it with your friends as it was meant to be played cooperatively and it's a far more fun than when played solo. Expand
  4. Jan 10, 2014
    9
    Warframe is a game I've been playing for quite a while now, and have spent them amount of time necessary to get into it. It does take quite aWarframe is a game I've been playing for quite a while now, and have spent them amount of time necessary to get into it. It does take quite a while, but it's worth it over time. The game has a growing number of missions and environments to explore, and well-rounded equipment to choose from to match your playstyle. This game is NOT Pay-To-Win, as most items in the game can be acquired easily with a small amount of time spent. The game encourages you to level up your gear and experiment with each kind, as this will give you Experience if you do, and halt your experience if you do not. Surprisingly, this is actually a good thing and actually enhances your experience. I have nothing against Multiplayer games, but....
    This game's community, it saddens me.
    Upon entering online mode you'll be greeting by about 300 people with differing opinions on how YOU should play. The thing is, just go with your instincts, they will not help you.
    Playing actual missions in-game while online can either be fun or annoying,as occasionally you will be paired with an entire team with highly upgraded gear, that kills every enemy in sight before you can even catch up to them.
    The crafting system is one of the only ones I've seen that doesn't anger me, and is easy to use and gather materials. (Also, as I've said, this game is NOOOT Pay-To-Win.)
    It's good, there's a ton of moves and acrobatics you can perform. (Unless you're on multiplayer, where you will never use them.)
    Over all, it's a great combat game, and one you should try out.
    Expand
  5. Dec 1, 2014
    8
    Warframe is a nicely done sci-fi hack-and slash third-person shooter with lots of customization options and replayability.
    Each Warframe has
    Warframe is a nicely done sci-fi hack-and slash third-person shooter with lots of customization options and replayability.
    Each Warframe has 4 abilities and can be equipped with lots of passive upgrades, called mods, which drop randomly from enemies.
    Everything in this game can be bought with ingame money, as well as real money.
    The level-design remembers me somehow of Lego, as there are finished rooms which are put together randomly every level to make every level unique.
    The AI is pretty good, too. Enemies are trying to take cover most of the time and barely stand out in the open.
    It actually has no story yet, but that doesnt really matter, as it is still a lot of fun, specially with friends, to slice/shoot your way through hordes of enemies.
    it gets pretty boring after a while though.
    Expand
  6. Apr 12, 2013
    7
    I am going to say this once and only once, there are limits to a F2P game. If you think the game is polished,
    I say Enemy hitboxes are big,
    I am going to say this once and only once, there are limits to a F2P game. If you think the game is polished,
    I say Enemy hitboxes are big, giving dafaq moments here and there. Also, clearly the single player or Digital Extreme's "Solo" is not so fun. Constant surges of higher leveled enemies on various other levels.
    Like MANY F2P, they shine for the first couple of hours or so. After that, you realize that nothing in the game is expectional, mediocre at the max. Though despite some bad things, it can be enjoyable from randomly generated maps that sadly are limited to same textures and cutting one thing there to here.
    Expand
  7. May 23, 2015
    0
    This game is AWFUL.

    Stealth mechanics with no challenge (EVERY enemy has tunnel vision and apparently no **** neck, cameras where there
    This game is AWFUL.

    Stealth mechanics with no challenge (EVERY enemy has tunnel vision and apparently no **** neck, cameras where there should be)
    RETARDED ASS PLANETS (I HIGHLY doubt this is our solar system)

    and just so much more ****
    that I could go on for years
    but i'd rather not waste my time
    with stupid ****
    Expand

See all 265 User Reviews