Metascore
68

Mixed or average reviews - based on 9 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 714 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Set in the far reaches of outer space during a new Dark Age, WARFRAME introduces the Tenno, a race on the brink of extinction after being enslaved by the Grineer for centuries. Players enter WARFRAME on the cusp of the Grineer's victory over the Tenno until they begin to arm themselves withSet in the far reaches of outer space during a new Dark Age, WARFRAME introduces the Tenno, a race on the brink of extinction after being enslaved by the Grineer for centuries. Players enter WARFRAME on the cusp of the Grineer's victory over the Tenno until they begin to arm themselves with WARFRAMES - an ancient exo-skeletal technology only they can operate. Hidden within the Orokin Derelicts of a lost civilization, new WARFRAMES lie dormant and undiscovered. These artifacts are the Tenno's only hope for survival. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 9
  2. Negative: 0 out of 9
  1. Sep 11, 2014
    77
    The idea with the Tamagotchi-space-dogs is already absolutely amazing.
  2. With the lack of a Pay to Win system and easy engagement for new players, Warframe offers some quality time.
  3. Apr 3, 2013
    70
    Digital Extremes has created something that's often genuinely fun to play, and given the cost of entry, Warframe's well worth a try if you're in the mood for something different.
  4. Apr 12, 2013
    70
    Warframe isn't anything special. It's not revolutionary, exceptional or timeless. Still - every time I returned to the game, it kept playing for at least an hour (without regret). Digital Extremes has made an enjoyable, engrossing, spectacular game. Especially, when you find yourself a team or - even better - invite some friends. If you need a new opportunity to slaughter aliens, you should try Warframe.
  5. Jul 1, 2013
    70
    As a free-to-play game, Warframe is a nice surprise that sets the base for a promising future.
  6. May 6, 2013
    65
    Warframe is a good title if contextualized in the panorama of FreeToPlay, however the high level of competition on this front would make us hope for a more solid and strong product.
  7. Aug 2, 2013
    60
    Some problematic menus pale in comparison to Warframe's real problem: a pervasive tendency toward repetition.

See all 9 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 42 out of 247
  1. Nov 9, 2013
    10
    All I can really say about Warframe is that it is stupidly addictive fun. Any game that keeps me coming back for more than five hundred hoursAll I can really say about Warframe is that it is stupidly addictive fun. Any game that keeps me coming back for more than five hundred hours is well worth my money. I began my playtime with Warframe telling myself that I wouldn't spend any money due to the fact that ALL weapons and frames in the game can be acquired through in game currency and crafting, minus slightly up-scaled versions of a few starter weapons for people who help found the game. This philosophy lasted about fifty hours, until I realized that it was going to keep bringing me back. A hundred dollars later I don't regret a thing. Expand
  2. Feb 13, 2014
    10
    Normally I don't write reviews for F2P games but, this game is a really great game to play! The graphics are pretty good for a F2P game, thatNormally I don't write reviews for F2P games but, this game is a really great game to play! The graphics are pretty good for a F2P game, that I'll give it a 8/10. The gameplay is fast pace but, most levels are the same which I believe the reason is due to the enemy's "base" or "home planet" but, it does change once getting to the outer solar system and I'll give it a 7.5/10. I am glad that his game isn't just only a PvE only kinda game but, it also has a PvP which gets pretty fun. The best part of this game is that it gets updates almost every day which is really surprising and that I'll give a 10/10 on how active the developers are. The only thing missing is MUSIC! If the developers can just put must or battle music and even on boss battles it would be perfect!

    Over all I'll give Warframe a 10/10 and I recommend to play this game with friends.
    Expand
  3. Apr 2, 2013
    10
    Really great game. It has large updates that are put out each month. It keeps getting better. Very polished gameplay. One of the best freeReally great game. It has large updates that are put out each month. It keeps getting better. Very polished gameplay. One of the best free to play games I've played. I would highly recommend experiencing it with your friends as it was meant to be played cooperatively and it's a far more fun than when played solo. Expand
  4. Mar 13, 2014
    9
    The critics obviously don't know how to review games... or films. Either that or there is no pay for help advertise a free to play game? WhoThe critics obviously don't know how to review games... or films. Either that or there is no pay for help advertise a free to play game? Who knows.

    Warframe is:
    10/10 for a free to play game.
    8/10 for a normal release game in beta phase.
    Overall 9/10.

    Warframe is Space Ninjas at their best, with action packed maneuovers, wall running and climbing, melee and ranged combat, special skills, character customisation to some level, lots of grind-like based PvE fun, and content that keeps adding more and more to the game.

    With dynamic events and operations that allow all players to change the outcome of entire planets and sections, a variety of 11 mission types and something like 7+ different tileset/maps that are also fixed somewhat to a random-map method, along with visuals and polishes being constantly made, Warframe is by far the BEST PvE free to play game out there, let alone the best Space Ninja game as it is pretty much the only space ninja game made.

    This is how Free to Play games should be made.

    The funny thing with this is, that although it has a grinding character, and a somewhat repeating nature to the things you do, it so much damn fun that you completely lose hours on end building characters and weapons and hacking and slashing your way through piles and piles of enemies.

    Still in beta phase, I foresee the end result being a 9 out of 10 when compared normal release AAA titles, if not perhaps even 10/10 (depends on how much more they add, they truly are constantly expanding the game more and more), bumping up my overall score of 9/10 to 9.5 or 10/10.

    Amazing. A must play game for 3rd person action shooter fans that love sci-fi and ninja themes. Don't take my word for it, try it out yourself. It is completely free!
    Expand
  5. Dec 1, 2014
    8
    Warframe is a nicely done sci-fi hack-and slash third-person shooter with lots of customization options and replayability.
    Each Warframe has
    Warframe is a nicely done sci-fi hack-and slash third-person shooter with lots of customization options and replayability.
    Each Warframe has 4 abilities and can be equipped with lots of passive upgrades, called mods, which drop randomly from enemies.
    Everything in this game can be bought with ingame money, as well as real money.
    The level-design remembers me somehow of Lego, as there are finished rooms which are put together randomly every level to make every level unique.
    The AI is pretty good, too. Enemies are trying to take cover most of the time and barely stand out in the open.
    It actually has no story yet, but that doesnt really matter, as it is still a lot of fun, specially with friends, to slice/shoot your way through hordes of enemies.
    it gets pretty boring after a while though.
    Expand
  6. Apr 28, 2013
    7
    Nice game. Very fun gameplay, but there are not enough level differences. In that aspect it gets a bit boring sometimes.
    The game gets
    Nice game. Very fun gameplay, but there are not enough level differences. In that aspect it gets a bit boring sometimes.
    The game gets regular updates and is still being improved.

    I think its worth a try. And the best of all, its free to play.
    Expand
  7. Nov 2, 2014
    0
    The worst game I've every played - yet the most played game in my life.

    Warframe has no future. Digital has very few creativ heads it
    The worst game I've every played - yet the most played game in my life.

    Warframe has no future. Digital has very few creativ heads it seems. Every Update the same mistakes. They never listen to the playerbase. Its more repetetiv than any other game ever! With 3 enemies and 5 tilesets. Like 3 game modes and horrible gunplay. The gfx is okay, but the engine is weak, the higher enemy lvl becomes/the longer you play 1 game, the more lag until you have 1 fps. Every Update brings more bugs, less fixes. It will be the next Dark Sector. Yeah, what is Dark Sector?

    I finally found a comment on the forums which expressed what this game is all about.
    This led me to uninstall it completly after 1000 hours.

    The problem here is that for new players, it functions fine. They have a ton of content, and they'll get reputation with the syndicates over time as they're unlocking other things. For veteran players who have done just about everything and unlocked just about everything, this pretty much means all there is to do is grind endless defenses/interceptions/survivals. It's the same crap we've been doing for ages, the same crap we're tired of doing, the same crap being called 'end-game'.

    This is not xX420_noscopekillahXx that you can confuse by crouchjumping a bit. It's a bot that knows your exact location the moment it spawn and shoots you before you even know it.

    Being sniped by hitscan aimbots was never a challenge.

    Grind=/=difficulty

    Now im free, I hope people see this and don't close their eyes like I did. Its grinding in its worst possible way.
    You will loose everything. Their f2p model is a joke. Oh, and the thing you do most - gaining experience - If you leveld up your most favourite weapon and take into a mission and kill stuff, you will gain 0!! experience. Its totally insane, no idea why most people dont even see that. And to gain lvl you need farm farm farm, build it, take the crap weapon with you, use it, have no fun with it, do this over and over again so you maxed it and sell it and never look at it again. Thats it. Not even a Joke. Haha
    Expand

See all 247 User Reviews

Trailers