Warframe Image
Metascore
69

Mixed or average reviews - based on 10 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1189 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Set in the far reaches of outer space during a new Dark Age, WARFRAME introduces the Tenno, a race on the brink of extinction after being enslaved by the Grineer for centuries. Players enter WARFRAME on the cusp of the Grineer's victory over the Tenno until they begin to arm themselves withSet in the far reaches of outer space during a new Dark Age, WARFRAME introduces the Tenno, a race on the brink of extinction after being enslaved by the Grineer for centuries. Players enter WARFRAME on the cusp of the Grineer's victory over the Tenno until they begin to arm themselves with WARFRAMES - an ancient exo-skeletal technology only they can operate. Hidden within the Orokin Derelicts of a lost civilization, new WARFRAMES lie dormant and undiscovered. These artifacts are the Tenno's only hope for survival. Expand

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Warframe - Archwing Update 15 Trailer
Autoplay On Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 10
  2. Negative: 0 out of 10
  1. 80
    Play Warframe. Play it for more than a few hours, preferably with friends, and keep an open mind into doing some third-party research to straighten out some of these systems. Warframe takes so much of what makes ARPG’s addictive, and rounds it out with more polish and depth than most its competitors on the current games market. If the hooks aren’t deeply embedded by then, maybe something this in-depth isn’t for you.
  2. Sep 11, 2014
    77
    The idea with the Tamagotchi-space-dogs is already absolutely amazing.
  3. With the lack of a Pay to Win system and easy engagement for new players, Warframe offers some quality time.
  4. Apr 3, 2013
    70
    Digital Extremes has created something that's often genuinely fun to play, and given the cost of entry, Warframe's well worth a try if you're in the mood for something different.
  5. Apr 12, 2013
    70
    Warframe isn't anything special. It's not revolutionary, exceptional or timeless. Still - every time I returned to the game, it kept playing for at least an hour (without regret). Digital Extremes has made an enjoyable, engrossing, spectacular game. Especially, when you find yourself a team or - even better - invite some friends. If you need a new opportunity to slaughter aliens, you should try Warframe.
  6. May 6, 2013
    65
    Warframe is a good title if contextualized in the panorama of FreeToPlay, however the high level of competition on this front would make us hope for a more solid and strong product.
  7. Aug 2, 2013
    60
    Some problematic menus pale in comparison to Warframe's real problem: a pervasive tendency toward repetition.

See all 10 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 50 out of 348
  1. May 3, 2018
    10
    THE gold standard for free to play looter-shooters that defined its own genre itself with free content updates and no loot boxes. MicroTHE gold standard for free to play looter-shooters that defined its own genre itself with free content updates and no loot boxes. Micro transactions are mostly aesthetic based and premium currency can be earned in game through its own trading system. Community is mostly friendly and approachable, I recommend joining a clan as soon as you start the game so they can show you the ropes, the ins and outs and make friends to play with because the tutorial is bare bones. Expand
  2. Nov 3, 2017
    10
    Played all the missions and they were good, first 5 were grinding, but they help you get to know the game. Most of the players will leavePlayed all the missions and they were good, first 5 were grinding, but they help you get to know the game. Most of the players will leave because of that. When plains of Edilon was announced I tried again and passed the grained mark and I met "The second dream" where I have never ever even imagine that it could turn something so huge . All in all it blowned my mined and after I played "The war within" I said: "No way, not even that you showed me something awesome, but you even let me use it."
    But it has it's fall back, and that means a lot of bugs. Especiallythe Leviatantus that had inspired someone saying : "even I will close my weak points if I saw my brothers die." and after that I understand him, its not his fault, it is ours ;( .
    Expand
  3. Apr 2, 2013
    10
    Really great game. It has large updates that are put out each month. It keeps getting better. Very polished gameplay. One of the best freeReally great game. It has large updates that are put out each month. It keeps getting better. Very polished gameplay. One of the best free to play games I've played. I would highly recommend experiencing it with your friends as it was meant to be played cooperatively and it's a far more fun than when played solo. Expand
  4. Nov 14, 2013
    9
    Overall review:9.0 I'm playing very happily, and I've spent $8 total.

    1. Game is cheaper than reviews here state. Well, they might be
    Overall review:9.0 I'm playing very happily, and I've spent $8 total.

    1. Game is cheaper than reviews here state. Well, they might be accurate if you expected to walk into the game and have a completed gear set immediately. /roll-eyes I'm not a grinder, but I'm doing just fine and having a blast actually acquiring new fun tools and warframes.
    2. I dropped this game twice before I figured out how much depth was actually in it. Initial enemies do get repetitive, but they ramp up and get nasty fast. There's clan and player created housing (dojos) where you (and your clan) can research new toys. Secret areas and ways to crank up the difficulty on older missions.
    3. The area's are gorgeous, if a little repetitive, but procedurally generated games will generally be that way until you go to voxels. And those just can't have this level of detail.
    4. There's new content rolling out here all the time!
    5. Community seems pretty good, not too many trolls so far.
    6. Great googly-moogly this thing needs a better tutorial for all the depth in this game,
    Give it a chance, see if it takes.
    Expand
  5. Feb 20, 2014
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. There is only one thing you need to know about Warframe: It's free.

    Oh, maybe I didn't make myself clear enough. When I say that Warframe is free, I mean, literally speaking, it is free. Still not clear enough? Alright, I'll elaborate. Apart from two different types of items - appearance items (such as skins and coloring pallets) and weapon/Warframe slots - it is possible for all players to access almost all types of in game items and entities (apart from a few that are no longer available to everyone). In this manner, it is possible for you to obtain every Warframes (characters or so to speak), every weapons, every non-visual-based items and the likes. Of course, there are conditions to fulfill, and obtaining everything will most likely take up a good portion of your time (isn't this what you are looking for?), but the point is, it is perfectly possible to play Warframe in the long run without paying a single cent. It's your choice.

    So, what is Warframe? In this game, you are basically a character known as "Tenno" who fights battles within a futuristic solar system. You will be teaming up with 3 other Tennos (this is a 4 player co-op game) to complete missions laid out by Lotus, a female commander issuing you orders. Nah, she is nicer than your ex-girlfriend, so don't worry about that.

    You will basically be facing three separate forces, Grineer, Corpus and the Infestation (think of the three races in Starcraft if you want to get a better idea). There are different types of missions, ranging from elimination, rescue, spy, to defense and rescue. As for weapons, basically you get to equip a primary weapon (rifle, shotgun, sniper and many others that are hard to categorize), a secondary weapon (categorization is hard for this as well) and a melee weapon (sword, mace, fist... you know the deal). As for your character, you will be using one out of the somewhat 10-ish (slightly less than 20, though the number is gradually increasing as more update comes by) Warframes. Each Warframe comes with different stats, such as self-repairing shields, like those in halo, health, energy (mana) and speed. Still, more importantly, each Warframe has its own unique set of 4 skills. These skills are great assets for the players as most of the times they will come in handy. One thing to note is that gender is preset, so those transsexuals don't have to fake their gender anymore, which is, well ... you decide if it's good or not. There are also mods (modifications) that you can insert into your weapons and Warframes to make them much stronger than they originally are.

    Oh and there are parkour. Learn how to press "WASD" + "LShift" + "LCtrl" + "Space" in fluid coordination. It will be helpful and painful, but you will definitely need them.

    Simple?

    Unlike many co-op shooters, Warframe definitely has its merits. One of the most apparent distinction of the game is that it has a leveling system that can be found in most MMOs. You can level up both your weapons and Warframes to a maximum rank of 30. Moreover, you can rank up your mods as well to make them more powerful. In this way, Warframe won't be a simple "run-shoot-kill see-score go-sleep" type of game. Never. There are things more important than that.

    Another merit of Warframe is that there are frequent updates. When I say frequent, I mean FREQUENT, as in one big update per month or so. There will be new game modes, Warframes, weapons, mods ... etc. I mean, come on, who thinks that L4D2 came too fast after L4D1 is released? I do. Who is still waiting for L4D3 after all these years? I am. Who thinks that Gabe Newell should fulfill the unsaid promise of completing the trilogies of Valve games? I do. Come on, we have been waiting for L4D3 and Portal 3 and HL3, and we are sick and tired of being sick and tired of waiting. This won't happen for Warframe though. The game has a gradual and comfortable pace of updating. You get new contents every now and then, and they usually blends well with the game. Usually.

    Still, like most games, there are pros and cons of Warframe and I have to sincerely admit that there are shortcomings with this game when compared to other games. One major shortcoming (I won't say flaw) of this game is that it lacks a concrete story line. Apart from some trivial storytelling, there really aren't much of a tale going on. There are stories told, I'm not saying there aren't, but they are rather weak. I know, that is not their aim, and that is not really the point of Warframe, but compared to the rich (though monotonous) storyline of L4D and Portal, Warframe needs to good a better job here.

    Also, the game can be rather repetitive. You know, this applies for most Coop shooters, so there really isn't much to say about this. Yeah, repetitive.

    So, in general, try Warframe. It's free. If you don't like it, drop it. Simple as that.
    Expand
  6. Apr 28, 2013
    7
    Nice game. Very fun gameplay, but there are not enough level differences. In that aspect it gets a bit boring sometimes.
    The game gets
    Nice game. Very fun gameplay, but there are not enough level differences. In that aspect it gets a bit boring sometimes.
    The game gets regular updates and is still being improved.

    I think its worth a try. And the best of all, its free to play.
    Expand
  7. Aug 16, 2016
    0
    Sent mail to support asking for help.
    Waited 2 months and the reply I got was a canned completely irrelevant one to what I asked giving no
    Sent mail to support asking for help.
    Waited 2 months and the reply I got was a canned completely irrelevant one to what I asked giving no solution, threatening me that if I called them again they'd permaban me.

    10/10 quality
    Expand

See all 348 User Reviews