Warframe PC

Warframe Image
Metascore
68

Mixed or average reviews - based on 9 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1062 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Set in the far reaches of outer space during a new Dark Age, WARFRAME introduces the Tenno, a race on the brink of extinction after being enslaved by the Grineer for centuries. Players enter WARFRAME on the cusp of the Grineer's victory over the Tenno until they begin to arm themselves withSet in the far reaches of outer space during a new Dark Age, WARFRAME introduces the Tenno, a race on the brink of extinction after being enslaved by the Grineer for centuries. Players enter WARFRAME on the cusp of the Grineer's victory over the Tenno until they begin to arm themselves with WARFRAMES - an ancient exo-skeletal technology only they can operate. Hidden within the Orokin Derelicts of a lost civilization, new WARFRAMES lie dormant and undiscovered. These artifacts are the Tenno's only hope for survival. Expand

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Warframe - Profile: Limbo
Autoplay On Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 9
  2. Negative: 0 out of 9
  1. Sep 11, 2014
    77
    The idea with the Tamagotchi-space-dogs is already absolutely amazing.
  2. With the lack of a Pay to Win system and easy engagement for new players, Warframe offers some quality time.
  3. Apr 3, 2013
    70
    Digital Extremes has created something that's often genuinely fun to play, and given the cost of entry, Warframe's well worth a try if you're in the mood for something different.
  4. Apr 12, 2013
    70
    Warframe isn't anything special. It's not revolutionary, exceptional or timeless. Still - every time I returned to the game, it kept playing for at least an hour (without regret). Digital Extremes has made an enjoyable, engrossing, spectacular game. Especially, when you find yourself a team or - even better - invite some friends. If you need a new opportunity to slaughter aliens, you should try Warframe.
  5. Jul 1, 2013
    70
    As a free-to-play game, Warframe is a nice surprise that sets the base for a promising future.
  6. May 6, 2013
    65
    Warframe is a good title if contextualized in the panorama of FreeToPlay, however the high level of competition on this front would make us hope for a more solid and strong product.
  7. Aug 2, 2013
    60
    Some problematic menus pale in comparison to Warframe's real problem: a pervasive tendency toward repetition.

See all 9 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 49 out of 316
  1. Dec 21, 2016
    10
    Gotta love the HUGE disparity between user review score and critic review score.

    In general, I hate first-person shooters. I love
    Gotta love the HUGE disparity between user review score and critic review score.

    In general, I hate first-person shooters. I love Warframe, and it keeps getting better and better because it's a constant work in progress. A lot of the original complaints about the game -- repetition, relatively few levels, uninspired bosses, etc. are being addressed and disappearing. Many of the bosses are incredibly unique and require some creativity, not just having maximum levels and equipment and aiming skills, in order to beat them.
    Think Halo meets Ninja Gaiden.

    What I love about Warframe that sets it so far apart from other shooters is the mobility the Tenno have (bullet jump, double jump, run along and up walls with no limits, gliding descent) combined with the strong diversity of strategies. You have your heavy armor Tenno who can power through a bullet blizzard while mowing down hordes of hideous Grineer with a giant axe, you have the master of deception that can get them all shooting at the wrong target while picking baddies off by the dozen with a modded sniper, a Tenno who can unleash an ability that makes all the baddies shoot at each other, and many, many others, all of whom are roughly equally viable when you get the strategy right.

    Graphics are really freaking good for a free-to-play game. Great use of my graphics card. Looks like it actually belongs on PS4/XB1 instead of being simplistic crap you usually get with F2P.

    And it's not "pay to win" because you can't buy levels, can't buy experience, and can't buy your way into the next areas. Everything that's available to buy can also be farmed, with the exception of decorations. It's "pay to skip farming," which can get repetitive if you're trying to build up to make something specific. But I guess that's what keeps you playing -- that there's more to keep getting. Also, increasing Mastery Rank requires building up affinity with many different pieces of equipment, so not only are you rewarded for trying out multiple different loadouts and strategies, you *have to* try out different loadouts and strategies if you want to progress further in the game. You won't like every single loadout, but it turns out it's really more a matter of style and which enemies you're facing than it is a matter of "there are only a few good weapons and Tenno."

    The best Free to Play game available on any platform. 100% recommend.
    Expand
  2. May 30, 2013
    10
    I've been playing it for a few months and I love it. The combat is smooth and fast paced and it can easily be single player or co-op. PeopleI've been playing it for a few months and I love it. The combat is smooth and fast paced and it can easily be single player or co-op. People only dislike it because it repeats the maps but with different doors. With fast paced action and ninja like moves(wall runs, wall slide, wall climb, etc) and a wide selection of craftable weapons, Warframe is a must have Expand
  3. Apr 2, 2013
    10
    Really great game. It has large updates that are put out each month. It keeps getting better. Very polished gameplay. One of the best freeReally great game. It has large updates that are put out each month. It keeps getting better. Very polished gameplay. One of the best free to play games I've played. I would highly recommend experiencing it with your friends as it was meant to be played cooperatively and it's a far more fun than when played solo. Expand
  4. Aug 22, 2015
    9
    I followed the evolution of this game since the beta, it was a game score 5 at the beginning, but still had a visible potential. The teamI followed the evolution of this game since the beta, it was a game score 5 at the beginning, but still had a visible potential. The team behind the development is to be congratulated, met expectations with praise.
    Today is the best free game of this style, with an excellent gameplay, a greatfull cooperative and now with PVP which unfortunately have not had the opportunity to play.
    You must spend at least U$ 5.00 for a complete enjoyment of the game, a simple price for guaranteed hours of fun, I recommend to all who like third-person shooter game.
    Expand
  5. Jul 26, 2016
    8
    Warframe gets by on style alone. Keep that in mind when you fight a boss or clear a mission 20 times in a row to get that one weapon partWarframe gets by on style alone. Keep that in mind when you fight a boss or clear a mission 20 times in a row to get that one weapon part that won't show it's face. This game is grindy and tedious and repetitive and even a bit glitchy at times. But why do I, as well as millions of other people enjoy playing it so much? Style. Any other game would pull the aforementioned grind off horribly. It takes a team like the one at Digital Extremes, the developers of Unreal Tournament, to make this work. Warframe is one of the only games where you can front flip forward and land on your sword lodged in a space nazi and pump his buddies full of shotgun shells that explode. The combat is fast fluid and fun. The graphics are marvelous even on the lowest settings possible, and it's free to play. The words Free To Play usually has a stigma behind it, as it usually can mean, "Pay-To-Win". Warframe is more along the lines of "Pay-To-Win-Faster", as nearly everything in the game can be acquired without spending real money. Sure, you can buy one of the best guns in the game, but then you still have to level it up, fit it with the appropriate mods, level up the mods, and learn how to use it to the best of your ability.

    So in conclusion, This game barely get by with an 8, only because it has had enough content and fun and style to keep me on it for nearly 1000 hours now.
    Expand
  6. Apr 12, 2013
    7
    I am going to say this once and only once, there are limits to a F2P game. If you think the game is polished,
    I say Enemy hitboxes are big,
    I am going to say this once and only once, there are limits to a F2P game. If you think the game is polished,
    I say Enemy hitboxes are big, giving dafaq moments here and there. Also, clearly the single player or Digital Extreme's "Solo" is not so fun. Constant surges of higher leveled enemies on various other levels.
    Like MANY F2P, they shine for the first couple of hours or so. After that, you realize that nothing in the game is expectional, mediocre at the max. Though despite some bad things, it can be enjoyable from randomly generated maps that sadly are limited to same textures and cutting one thing there to here.
    Expand
  7. Aug 16, 2016
    0
    Sent mail to support asking for help.
    Waited 2 months and the reply I got was a canned completely irrelevant one to what I asked giving no
    Sent mail to support asking for help.
    Waited 2 months and the reply I got was a canned completely irrelevant one to what I asked giving no solution, threatening me that if I called them again they'd permaban me.

    10/10 quality
    Expand

See all 316 User Reviews