Metascore
66

Mixed or average reviews - based on 8 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 629 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Set in the far reaches of outer space during a new Dark Age, WARFRAME introduces the Tenno, a race on the brink of extinction after being enslaved by the Grineer for centuries. Players enter WARFRAME on the cusp of the Grineer's victory over the Tenno until they begin to arm themselves with WARFRAMES - an ancient exo-skeletal technology only they can operate. Hidden within the Orokin Derelicts of a lost civilization, new WARFRAMES lie dormant and undiscovered. These artifacts are the Tenno's only hope for survival. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 8
  2. Negative: 0 out of 8
  1. With the lack of a Pay to Win system and easy engagement for new players, Warframe offers some quality time.
  2. Apr 26, 2013
    70
    An interesting free to play game with some potential to expand in future updates.
  3. Apr 3, 2013
    70
    Digital Extremes has created something that's often genuinely fun to play, and given the cost of entry, Warframe's well worth a try if you're in the mood for something different.
  4. Jul 1, 2013
    70
    As a free-to-play game, Warframe is a nice surprise that sets the base for a promising future.
  5. May 6, 2013
    65
    Warframe is a good title if contextualized in the panorama of FreeToPlay, however the high level of competition on this front would make us hope for a more solid and strong product.
  6. Aug 2, 2013
    60
    Some problematic menus pale in comparison to Warframe's real problem: a pervasive tendency toward repetition.
  7. Feb 27, 2014
    60
    One year and twelve updates in, Warframe appears to be a solid action game leveraging really excellent technology to create a fun and engaging experience. There are still some rough edges and many opportunities to amp up the variety of content, but with a compelling world and addictive, twitchy action, Warframe has a lot to offer.

See all 8 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 37 out of 216
  1. Feb 7, 2014
    10
    Good game.Good game.Good game.Good game.Good game.Good game.Good game.Good game.Good game.Good game.Good game.Good game.Good game.Good game.Good game.Good game.Good game.Good game.Good game.Good game.Good game.Good game.Good game.Good game.Good game.Good game.Good game.Good game.Good game.Good game.Good game.Good game.Good game.Good game.Good game.Good game.Good game.Good game.Good game.Good game.Good game.Good game.Good game.Good game.Good game.Good game.Good game.Good game.Good game.Good game.Good game.Good game.Good game.Good game.Good game.Good game.Good game.Good game.Good game.Good game.Good game.Good game.Good game.Good game.Good game.Good game.Good game.Good game.Good game.Good game.Good game.Good game.Good game.Good game.Good game. Expand
  2. Jul 15, 2013
    10
    This game is simply amazing. And free to play too!
    The basic gameplay is free

    It's amaizing i recomand for all who wanth play fps game.


    ----------------------
    Expand
  3. Apr 2, 2013
    10
    Really great game. It has large updates that are put out each month. It keeps getting better. Very polished gameplay. One of the best free to play games I've played. I would highly recommend experiencing it with your friends as it was meant to be played cooperatively and it's a far more fun than when played solo. Expand
  4. Oct 9, 2013
    9
    Started playing it ages ago when it was very new. Wasn't that good and all the levels were literally EXACTLY THE SAME (except for the maps). The game is extremely fun but found it hard for people who had played the game tons in early, early beta (like me), because you had worked really hard to earn all this stuff, and then you can just unlock it easily in the early levels. Found it stupendously difficult to play if you don't spend any real money on the game. You can barely unlock any good weapons let alone play properly. I still definitely enjoyed the gameplay, especially the infection levels. I did like the extremely hard levels, but wouldn't recommend this game to a newbie or younger gamer. Expand
  5. Jan 6, 2014
    8
    I have over 200 hours in this game, and I'm giving it an 8. The game is far from perfect, but I've been playing it since beta and it has come a LONG way.

    I just want to start off with something that every negative review has done to mislead you, this game's reviews are shallow and misleading. Buying items straight up in this game is expensive yes, but here is what no one has told you. 1) you get store discounts as DAILY REWARDS that range from 20% 75% off all real money purchases. These are rewards that increase in value for each consecutive day you log in. 2) There is NO I repeat NO in-game item that can't be obtained through crafting (which requires no real money). You will get everything you need just by playing the game, you can simply buy the blueprints in the shop for in-game credits. I have almost every warframe in the game and over half the weapons (including the clan tech ones that can't be bought, only built in the clan dojo) in the game. I also have all of the sentinels. I didn't pay for ANYTHING. I paid $15 for a $30 platinum pack when I got a 50% discount, and I used that to get a bunch of color packs, upgrades, and everything else I needed. So basically, I paid $15 for 200 hours of playing. That's a damn fine deal if you ask me.

    All the issues the game had in beta with bad menus and glitches and lag are pretty much non-existent now. They finally got the level system evened out, so that difficult enemies are more common. The defense and survival missions are more difficult, and are a lot of fun to do with friends as these missions only end when you decide it's too difficult to continue. They give you the option to risk everything for 5 more minutes of rewards, or take what you've earned and leave. The combat is fun, and changes drastically with each new weapon or warframe you unlock. Updates have all come with big changes and lots of content. All the missions that aren't survival, boss, or defense feel very samey, but you don't have to do those missions for anything other than map progression. There's also special maps that you unlock through keys you find. All the bosses that are left over from beta (about half of them) are totally boring and uninteresting bullet sponges. The other half are challenging, cinematic, and for the most part, epic. Getting all of the mods and unlocks to maximize your weapon's potential require you to explore orokin derelict, nightmare missions, alert missions, and the void. The mission variety is actually impressive, it's the lack of enemy variety that hides it. Clans are now accessible and dojos can be built by anyone. I started a clan with just a few friends and our dojo is huge, and it adds some personality to the game. They've added some pvp, there are special events nearly every weekend, and the number of mods in the game has increased greatly. Damage 2.0 added another level of strategy to weapon builds, as now each different damage type has unique on-hit effects (stuns, bleeds, AOE's, debuffs, etc) and you can even combine mods for hybrid damage types. They added a huge amount of lore to the game, and reward you for scanning enemies by giving you bonus exp and telling you what damage types each enemy is weakest to and even telling you what their drop table is, enabling you to hunt for mods with more efficiency.

    The movement and graphics in the game are awesome. It's well-optimized for low-end machines as well (I can run it on medium settings with just my APU). The enemies in the game all offer samey challenges, it gets grindy for sure, but it's all for unlocking new weapons and warframes. Every item unlock you get breathes freshness into the game as there is such a great variety of functionality. Therefore unlocking new items is the driving force of the game. It's tantalizing when your friend unlocks some new weapon that looks amazing and now you have to get it for yourself!

    Lastly, I did not put 200 hours into this game in one sitting. This is a great game that you can play for a bit, get into other stuff, and then come back later to find new events and items and content waiting to be unlocked. The developers have been very dedicated to adding content throughout the entire project and I think their work deserves more credit.

    So yes, there is a lot of grinding ahead, and there are serious balance issues that you won't notice because it's almost entirely coop. Lastly the great mission variety is obscured by a lack of enemy variety. Those are really the only things that keep this from being a 10, but the game's issues have been over-represented in most of the reviews. For the cost of entry, you don't have the excuse as a gamer to not check this out and decide for yourself.
    Expand
  6. Apr 6, 2013
    6
    The graphics are nice and they fit the mood, the overall style is pretty cool! The gunplay with ranged weapons is satisfying but could still be better. Overall it has nice and smooth animations, still there could be more of them.. The melee combat bugs me, it could be alot better in any way.. This game has alot more room for changes/optimizations, it also performs pretty bad on good systems... But so far, pretty nice! Give it a try! It only has 1,6 GB... I leave with a 6/10, to be changed in the future...

    For now it is only "above average", nothing more, nothing less..
    Expand
  7. Jul 4, 2014
    0
    Starts off great then within hours becomes so unbearably repetitive you just want to blow up your puter!!! Terrible customer service too!!! They tend to not want to hear about problems from players or do anything to correct said problems, all you get is lame excusses. Expand

See all 216 User Reviews