User Score
8.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 193 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 15 out of 193

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Feb 24, 2012
    9
    Wargame is like a mix between World in Conflict and the Total War series; there's no basebuilding or resourcegathering. You deploy your units at the start of battle and collect deployment points by destroying enemies and holding sectors. The deployment points can then be used to call in more reinforcements, so fans of the Men of War series will feel right at home as well. The maps, while gigantic (150km2) all look the same and reminds me of Denmark in terms of flatness and fields. They're not bad, but I would've hoped for some diversity. A couple of farmfield maps are fine, but I'd also like battles in environments like snow and cityscape.

    The unit pool is huge and historically accurate; there are over 350 units spread across 8 different nations: USA, France, UK and West Germany vs East Germany, Poland, Czech and the USSR. Each nation is specialised in a type of unit, so mixing them is a good idea. For multiplayer battles you create your own deck (either a Warsaw Pact or NATO deck) and choose which 25 units you want to be able to deploy in battles. This is a great system since it allows you to create your own unique playstyle. Units are unlocked by Command Stars which you earn from ranking up. Ranking up works like you'd expect in any multiplayer game - win enough battles.

    The unit types are infantry, vehicles, logistics, tanks, helis, recon and support. Unfortunately there are no planes in the game. Infantry are both the strongest and weakest unit in the game. They arrive and fight alongside fighting vehicles, are vulnerable to explosives and have very short range, though their numbers will easily overwhelm even the heaviest tanks.

    Logistics are your command vehicles which capture sectors, supply trucks and supply helicopters. Since units both run out of fuel and ammo in this game as well as requiring reparations, it's important to establish supply routes or your units will be cut off in no man's land. Tanks need no elaborate explanation - you can usually choose between massing an army of lighter tanks like the T-62 or keep fewer heavies such as the T-80. Helicopters have long range, excellent mobility and long range of vision which makes them ideal for scouting and quick support. Transport helicopters can move infantry units quickly around the field and attack helicopters can fly past enemy lines to take out artillery in their base. They are very vulnerable to both infantry and all kinds of anti-air, however. Scouting with recon in W:EE is just as important as scouting is in Starcraft 2. It allows you to find out where your enemies are coming from and improves the accuracy of your artillery. The recon vehicles come in pretty much all shapes: Jeeps, armoured vehicles, tanks, infantry and helicopters.

    The support group consists mainly of artillery and anti-air. A well-directed artillery strike is devastating and can turn the tide of battle, but batteries are expensive, eat through ammo very quickly and are vulnerable to ambushes.

    The graphics are great and the unit models historically accurate. You can zoom from satelite-view to following a tank with the camera on the ground. Infantry animations are stale and helicopters sometimes fly like they're drunk, but this is something you won't notice very well. There is however an ugly bloom/lens flare filter that sometimes makes foliage and explosions to look 2D. Overall it runs very well on max settings with a GTX 570/i5 2500k setup like you'd expect it to. It's clearly a well optimized PC game but the UI could use some work.

    There are some other flawed game mechanics that needs to be mentioned as well; anti-air missiles are way too accurate and anti-tank missiles way too inaccurate, an infantry can hurl a grenade over 200 meters (this is for balancing, but it still looks hilarious) and a 20mm autocannon can tear through any tank. Warsaw Pact is also way too overpowered at the moment in terms of artillery.

    As for the singleplayer, it's decent. Far below the level of World in Conflict but still worth a playthrough. It serves as a warmup and tutorial for the multiplayer, which is where the action's at.

    tl;dr: As an avid RTS gamer who has played everything from Blitzkrieg, Cossacks and Warcraft to Men of War, the Paradox series and Total War; I recommend this game.
    Expand
  2. Mar 26, 2012
    8
    If you tend to prefer faster paced RTS games such as Starcraft or Warhammer 40:000, then you might become disappointed by the slow pace and large scale of the game. There is bit of micro involved, but this has more to do with unit positioning during battles rather than using special power ups or bonuses. Also keep in mind that units will not move and respond as fast as they do in games such as Starcraft or Warhammer. Units in this game take a while to do what you want them to do such as moving to a different position or setting up weapons in order to fire them. If however, you've ever enjoyed slower paced larger environment RTS games such as Supreme Commander/Supreme Commander Forged Alliance, R.U.S.E or World in Conflict, then this game is for you. You'll enjoy rummaging through the various units's statistics in the game and analysing their unique features while comparing them to other units to find the best combination for you to take into battle. You'll also enjoy testing out different strategies and watching battles evolve slowly over time and you'll marvel at watching the battles unfold in a fiery chaos that represents a more accurate version of what war is really like - when you're watching it from the perspective of a god. Full review at pcgameology.net. Expand
  3. Feb 24, 2012
    10
    Suprisingly fun game. Much slower paced than a game like starcraft, the game engine is awesome, i never get tired of the zooming levels. Lots of units, lots of strategy and the slow pace means an online game is more based on your tactics and choice of units, than how many clicks you can do per minute. Highly rated!
  4. Feb 24, 2012
    10
    This is a very demanding game, complex, realistic, which will not please everyone due to its hard difficulty. But it's surely the most realistic strategy game ever made.
    Play opportunities seem endless (due to a huge number of units), with epic battles that will require a lot of concentration and mastery.
    Graphics are good, Maps are huge, and multiplayer is fantastic. I've not finished the
    campaign (I'm at mid-game), but it's quiet interresting.
    the only negative point: it is difficult to have a clear depth perception during battles, which is a crucial parameter to increase opportunities to beat opponents.
    It's currently the best strategy game released for a very long time.
    Expand
  5. Mar 23, 2012
    1
    Sorry but the game sucks. The interface is really really bad, with some terrible design. In multiplayer, the game has been taken over by 3 unstoppable rush strategies - so the game really is now rock/paper/scissor. In the rare games where you find players who do not rush, you will find that rockets are used - and these rockets are capable of killing top of the range tanks over a large area!

    The player base is now tiny, less than a month after release - if you buy this game you will understand why. It seems rushed, and the scores on here are unbelievable and very suspicious. They don't have a demo for a reason!
    Expand
  6. Feb 24, 2012
    9
    I have tried them all - all of the RTS 's that is ... and this one is really .... hm-mm... easy, complex, large-scale, micro-management, macro-management and dare i say it ... realistic ! ... game i have ever had the privilege to try. The graphics is fast, and relative to battle-map size - very detailed.

    I lost the first battle... and the second battle ... won on the third approach. The
    greatest thing happened. When victorious the third time around, i had the feeling that i played the game like a tank-commander in the late 70 's would have - not a computer player with lots of RTS experience - that was a great feeling... and now i just want more of the same - can't wait to explore the game further ! Expand
  7. Feb 27, 2012
    10
    Im speaking about MP: The best strategy game i ever played. I know, there is some SC1/2 but!! there are just a games (really great games) but in this game you have really feelings of chess game - W:EE is hc game. If you dont know about basic war manouvers - you lost. There isnt something like this - swarm on enemy. If you will using terrain like your advice..you are one step to win. This game is about TEAMPLAY!!!! - with no teamplay is no chance. See you there generals! Expand
  8. Feb 26, 2012
    10
    If u want a great singleplayer and u dont want to stick with the mp....dont get this game!
    If u want to have the best rts mp experience this time, go and get this game!
  9. Feb 26, 2012
    9
    My preferred genre are strategy games and i have played all the usual suspects like sc2, total war, men of war etc etc. But in all my years of playing rts games this is one of the most unique games of the genre i have played. So what makes this game special. Is it the game's huge maps, 300 + units, great graphics and sound? These things are all in the game but if i am paying my money I expect them in game like this so these alone do not make the game special. To me what makes this game special is the games requires the highest order of strategy and tactics to succeed where due to the scoring mechanic you may have 100+ units on the map from a abrams tank to the lowest grunt and you truly feel it if either dies. The first word of the games title gives it away 'wargame' and this game like no other in a long time made me feel like a general. My preferred gameplay mode is multiplayer and boy do i suck. My win ratio at this moment in time is only 20%. But why do i keep coming back for more. Probably because this game has a rare ingredient that after every match you believe you know where you went wrong even if you win and want to prove to yourself and your opponent you are a better general than him or her. Take the plunge and buy this game hope to see you on the battleground. Collapse
  10. Feb 27, 2012
    9
    A very good tactical game for all those who do not only want to build, rush kill, build rush kill... Finally a game where recon matters, positioning is important and you have a feeling that you are on the battlefield. A very good multiplayer helps to keep the game a alive. Multitude of units make it possible to create any army you feel like. The whole game is more real then any other RTS I played in a long time. One of the best RTS of the last years. Expand
  11. Feb 24, 2012
    8
    I have a fairly useless reputation in my own mind when it comes to RTS games, favouring the now rare Turn Based Strategy games. Saying that, I have most RTS games in my collection including the C+C games, Warhammer series, CoH series and Starcraft amongst others. In all of those games, I have had rare forays into multiplayer which I pretty much gave up on after a few embarrassing defeats. So, why did I but this game? ..................................................I did a fair bit of research into this game before its release. I didn't play the beta and took my opinions from the game's website. I still wasn't convinced until on the day it released I found a link on the Steam forums to an hour long video on Youtube (The devs ought to give this guy a free copy as I'm not alone in making my judgement off the back of this guy's half dozen videos). This showed me how simple but deep the game was. How easy it was to pick up and play, yet be interesting enough for both casual and hardcore players. Also pleasing was the inclusion of a fully fleshed out single player campaign, which I am working through right now and it is not only helping me learn how to play but is giving me unlocks which I can take online in multiplayer later.................................................Graphically the game is very nice. It is simple but well detailed and has a feel of realism when fully zoomed in. Saying that, zooming in and out is flawless for me with no stuttering which is suprising considering my rig is becoming ancient (Q6600@2.9ghz; 4GB DDR2 RAM; AMD6850; W7 64BIT), it plays on maxed out settings (low HDR) @ 1920x1200, and achieves a constant 60fps with VSync on......................................................In single player, you are able to save the game pretty much whenever you like which is another rare thing in RTS games, with most only saving after each campaign map is beat. Overall I think first impressions after around 5 hours of playing are that the game is not as difficult as it first seems. Give it a chance and a few maps and you will start to click with what needs doing to win. If you are an old fart like me, you will maybe enjoy the pace of the game, although I'm fairly certain that in multiplayer it will be a bit faster paced. 8/10. Expand
  12. Feb 27, 2012
    10
    I am loving this game. So much so, that it might just replace my favourite RTS of all time: Sudden Strike 2. As with SS2, there's no building of units. Units can be bought WiC style from a pool of Resource Points, which will replenish according to how many control points you hold on the map. The sheer amount of units to unlock is immense. Which can be daunting, but how could you possibly complain about being spoilt for choice? Any units unlocked in the SP campaign will carry over to the MP too, so there is definitely a good reason to sink some time into it. Graphics are fine, units are very detailed, terrain less so, but overall the style is meant to be functional rather than dazzling in order to not distract from the gameplay. And that is where the meat of this (MP) game is at. After positioning your initial troops in the starting zone, it's all about establishing a proper font line, use of scouts, cover and supply logistics and attacking your opponent's weakest point in their defense. As a good war game should be played. The learning curve for how to do all these things efficiently is certainly steeper than for most build and rush type games, but if you get it under control, the game is so much more satisfying than anything currently on the PC market. It might well be that there a still some balancing issues, but nothing that couldn't be fixed with a patch or two. Also I have not experienced any stability problems or crashes, and the connectivity in multiplayer games is mostly solid. If you are a fan of more realistic wargaming, do yourself a favour and give this game a shot. You won't regret it. A solid 10 from me. Expand
  13. Mar 1, 2012
    10
    Player of R.U.S.E, I was really worrying about the complexity of WEE, way before the release. The game is DOPE. A must-have for every STR player. I see that the main critic about the game is : too many units. Sure, this game isn't about getting a full knowledge of all the content in one hour. This is War. WAR, gentlemen. The game is all about a new experience of STR playing. One of the best STR since CoH. Expand
  14. Feb 25, 2012
    8
    This game is the successor to RUSE, which is quite noticeable because Eugen used Iriszoom again to create enormous battlefields. They have fixed some issues there were in RUSE, such as the placement before battle to avoid rushing. You could call the game the opposite of Starcraft: not a fast game on a small map, but a slow game on a large map, giving you a lot of time to think about your strategies. But you still need to react fast to enemy movements and these facts are making the game almost one-of-a-kind (WIC had much smaller battlefields.) The game is maybe quite hard to learn for people who are new or average at RTS games and the multiplayer matches may be slow at some times, but the simple-but-effective campaign and the creativity of Army Deck creation make this game a must-have for RTS fans. Expand
  15. Feb 24, 2012
    8
    Generally speaking this is a very good game. It seems very solid at the highest settings, is beautiful and functional. I think it is very challenging even on easy mode versus AI which is a pleasant change from the usual throw away titles being published for PC these days. The multiplayer is also difficult, exciting and fun... most importantly it works. You will get punished by experiences players at the start but that's hopefully part of the fun for you, if not I would look for a different game. Good work team! Expand
  16. Feb 25, 2012
    9
    If you like titles like C&C or are focused on single player or games with a good storyline, then i would recommend you to stay away from it, but if you liked world in Conflict, R.U.S.E., Men of Wars or anything like that, you should definitly give it a try. Multiplayer is just simply awesome (after you understood the game mechanics and probalby lost a couple of times ;) and way more strategic than anything i've played so far (and that includes a lot of games). Expand
  17. Feb 28, 2012
    8
    A very good game and quite a surprise. Yes there are a lot of units and it's a bit overwhelming at first, but if you play the single player campaign it will start you out smaller. It's not like your average RTS as there are no resources to gather nor buildings to construct. This game is all about strategy and especially recon; you MUST know what your opponent is doing and what units they have in play. There are a few minor issues (mainly with the interface) but they can easily be overlooked for the fun factor. Unlocking units is unusual for an RTS although I must say it's not a big deal here. The SP campaign will provide you "stars" to unlock units quickly, and the unlockable units are balanced by their command point cost to put into play. Yes a 175 point heli gunship will tear some stuff up, but if you overextend it and get caught in AA fire you just handed your opponent 175 points towards victory. Check this one out if you like strategy over clicks per minute games! Expand
  18. Hob
    Feb 29, 2012
    10
    Steel Panthers and Close Combat had a love child and it looks like this. Best strategy game to come out in a decade. Made all the better by the clueless magazine reviewers who can't make head nor tails out of this. Easy to learn, hard to master and so very, very much fun.
  19. Feb 25, 2012
    10
    First of all I won't talk about the Sp in this review its bad and really generic and seems out of place if id rate it on that base id give it a 3/10 but lets face it it is a MP game at that is where Wargame really shines it combines World in Conflict with R.U.S.E its way too much fun to play 2v2 3v3 or 4v4 with friends.
    There is no realy basebuilding in so it really focuses on the action,
    just like I love my MP games with friends no deep tactics or micromanagment just pure fun and destruction.
    Really enjoying it. with his huge maps and just masses of units to choose from
    Expand
  20. Feb 25, 2012
    9
    Pro's: Satisfying graphics, Addictive multiplayer and great build your own customized army concept. Cons: Occasional crash and for those new to strategy, a slightly steeper learning curve.

    Opinion: Definantly buy Wargame: Eurpoean Escalation. I found myself playing for hours constantly trying to upgrade and build my army to get a leg up on online opponents. I am looking foward to future
    DLC and even more units to incorporate into my army. Great job! Expand
  21. Feb 25, 2012
    9
    Presentation - 9.0 While it's not a game you'd want to jump into without playing at least the first single-player mission, the concept is very easy to grasp. A sufficient yet not "in-your-face" UI occupies a small portion of the screen, and it's definitely one of those rare gems of a game that make you drool just a tad when you play it. Graphics - 8.7 There is some VERY intricate detail in this game, and it is undoubtedly gorgeous. The developers must have spent quite some time detailing from an immense aerial view of the map all the way down to the ground. However, while many units are detailed and everything appears vibrant from a certain distance, some models look very bland in comparison. Not a game-breaker, though.


    Sound - 8.0
    I'll have to mimic what I wrote for graphics here. Some sounds are full and realistic, while a few others lack the detail. Tanks occasionally sound like spud guns, but again, not a game-breaker. Various nations speak the language of their home country (i.e. German units speak German, Russian units speak Russian, etc), which definitely helps to add immersion.


    Gameplay - 9.5
    A very small learning curve (for veteran RTS players), and enough micro-management to keep your belly full but not so much that you feel nauseous from over-eating. The scope of the game is VERY huge, and maps are larger than I've ever played in a RTS, while being able to zoom in and out from almost a satellite view down to ground level. One thing I have not yet mentioned is how realistic the balance is. Others in the forums here make comments about how artillery or helicopter spamming are ruining games, but simply, it's about producing the strategic methods to get rid of the latter. In one game, I had another player sending at least 20 helos my way, but a few AA batteries took them out. As I tried shelling their units with my artillery, their tanks stormed in and obliterated them. I felt no imbalance; rather, simply reward for giving thought to what you do and how you do it.


    Lasting Appeal - 10.0
    I don't see this game having very much success with casual Starcraft-style RTS players, as the game certainly rewards tactically-minded people. Rushers won't get their way very often, if at all, which is a relief. As I've read on the forums here, I, too, see this game establishing a large player base, peaking, and then leveling off as the aforementioned Starcraft-types abandon the game and a mature and dedicated WEE community is established. The developers seem to take their players into account, and I foresee many great things coming out of both them and the community. This game will certainly be something played for a long time.



    Overall - 9.04 (out of 10)
    Expand
  22. Feb 25, 2012
    9
    If you're a Wargamer or just love RTSs, this one is going to keep you busy for a while. The single player game is a lot of fun and while it may not be the most challenging experience for some, it will keep many gamer's entertained. The MP game is completely captivating and will steal hours from your busy day.

    I highly recommend this game to anyone who is tired of the economy RTS games
    and wants a good slug-fest with their friends. Much like assault squad, World in Conflict, Company of Heroes, this game has something for everyone and addresses a genre that not many have explored, the 70's and 80's. Great game and fun for everyone. The learning curve can be a little steep, but once you get the hang of it, you'll be rewarded with great strategy and tactics and some fantastic eye candy.

    See you on the battlefield,

    Cheers
    Expand
  23. Mar 7, 2012
    5
    Average game average score. Believe the rest saying that there are simply too many units and too few choices. Pick it up during a Steam sale or on the sly but whatever you do don't pay full price. *Especially not during the "Extended Beta". The units are poorly balanced and the major balance changes soon after release show the apple is far from polished. You'll find little in the way of strategy. It's fun for a little while until you realize the game is hard capped by supply at about 30-40 minutes LONG before you deploy half the possible units.

    The campaign is fine but don't expect it to blow you away. At least it's not going to drive you to mute the cinematics like RUSE did. Sadly the strategic depth RUSE offered through ruses is absent, leaving a game that would have been impressive five years ago. Average average average average average - wait until it's deeply discounted.
    Expand
  24. Mar 8, 2012
    10
    When you first start playing the game it is a bit confusing , and the learning curve takes a little while to get used to how the game works and the interface with all its complexities . However..... once you can get past that .. This game is Fantastic !!! The single player is alot of fun and challenging . The ability to zoom all the way out or in reminds me of Supreme Commander and I like that. The sheer number of units you can unlock insures that you will always have something to look forward to when playing this game. Me and my buddies love RTS gaming and we have been having fun with this ever since it came out. Whoever developed this game put alot of time and effort into it ... and it shows. Cheers thanks for a great game ! Expand
  25. Feb 29, 2012
    8
    It really comes into it's own for me at the third single player mission. Here you have all these toys of war to deploy, but on this mission you realize that they eat lots of resources. So the art of feeding your war machine really comes into play. I think the developers have really hit the nail on the head. This is no walk in the park, even on the easiest settings. And at the same time it isn't a twitchy clickfest of a game either.
    I do with you could pause the game AND look around the map. But that's only because I am not that good at the game yet. Had a couple bugs where unit labels and units were nowhere near each other, but I am sure they will fix that. All in all this is a game I would recommend to anyone who likes RTS games, but stays away from multiplayer because of all the spamming of units done to win the game.
    The more I play it the more I enjoy it.
    Expand
  26. Feb 28, 2012
    9
    This is a fine strategy game! it is not too fast paced and it is really important to have a healthy mix of forces. So you have to think even before beginning a match, because you create a deck with a force pool, from which you chose during the battle. And it is kind of realistic. E.g. you have to be careful, that the weak sides and the back of your tanks are protected. Supplies (Ammo, Fuel, Repairs) play a big role. Till now I had a lot of online multiplayer games and I never experienced some major all-defeating strategy. Teamwork is very important in the game, when you play with someone together. There are over 300 nicely modeled units and the graphics are decent. The solo part, especially the campaign, is very challenging, but the presentation of it isn't that exciting. I really can recommend this game to everyone who likes strategy. Hopefully the developer will implement some new features and maps in the future. P.s. sorry for my english, it isn't my mother tongue. See you on the battlefield! Expand
  27. Feb 29, 2012
    10
    Although it takes a little bit of time to adjust to the amount of units, as one person has said "TOO MANY UNITS!!!!@!!@ NO UNDERSTAND", Wargame: European Escalation is a fine example of a game and I definitely recommend picking it up.
  28. Feb 29, 2012
    3
    This game is inferior to R.U.S.E. and has too many units. It is a fun experience but as you continue to play it you will find it lacking. Team strategy feels a bit cheap and the natural imbalance of all of the units with the leveling system is not only broken but unfriendly to beginners. It is by far the worst real time tactical game I have played.
  29. Mar 7, 2012
    3
    nice game Bud it looks more like a unbalanced version of world in conflict game in my opinion Ty make the same big mistake as world in conflict no resources no base building and way to fast game ply its more stress then fun u have simply no time to think and that's bad for a rts i like to think when i ply to use some tactics Bud this game is more like the faster u go the better totally unbalanced on top of that it have a ferry week campaign only 1 map i like Bud for the rest it was even more bad then w.i.c Bud still it have great potential much have to be don lets hope for some good Dlc the rest it have steam that's cool bud even that it coasted more on the steam shop then retail so that was bad Anny way i ply a few weeks beta as well and i must say i am looking for some otter rts games and pass this game sorry to say... the graphics = OK

    the sound = averaged

    steam = OK

    campaign = bad

    online game play = averaged server settings = bad

    cost = bad
    Expand
  30. Mar 11, 2012
    10
    IGNORE THE BAD REVIEWS: They simply do not understand the beauty!

    This is, by far, the most tactical RTS created since the first Supreme Commander's initial release. It stands in the halls of RTS-Valhalla with classics such as Command and Conquer, Dune, Men of War, Star Craft, Total Annihilation, Total War. This game has had me addicted to the point where I bought it for three friends so
    they could play with me. I put at least 2-3 hours into it a day. It is addictingly good.

    To start with, the number one issue people seem to have is the sheer number of units. Worry not! There will be more added! Why? Because this game is set in the 1975-1985 cold war era. Armies did not have "one heavy, one medium, one light, one special" unit. They had dozens of units, from multiple nations, and variants there-of! This game is a near-simulator grade RTS. They add enough variety and "realism" to allow for you to enjoy intense multiplayer games, without it feeling to gamey.

    You will be spending your time managing tactics on a large scale, occasionally small scale. I apply Soviet Tank tactics to this game...RIGHT FROM THEIR BOOK. Literally, I play by the REAL WORLD book. How many RTS can you do that with? (Total War /TA/SupCom)

    It keeps just enough game elements in so you don't sit back bored with a wall of information you will never use...but enough simulator elements for battles to flow close-to-reality.

    Controls are smooth. Units are close-to-accurate. Graphics are amazing for an RTS of this scope. (during one stream someone asked if I was streaming ArmA2 when I was zoomed in to infantry level.) Lag is not horrible for a game that has hundreds of units on the field over dozens upon dozens of square miles.

    I have literally 27 armies I have built to use in my games. NATO and Warsaw Pact. Everything from an all-black-hawk mounted American AirCav, to a soviet tank force numbering into 80+ tanks at times. You have variety to do what you want. Real world army builds or 'your' builds.

    While Multiplayer is where it excels, single player is enjoyable. It is not the 'best' SP ever, but the missions are for the most part fun to play. A few times I went in expecting a mission to be easy, only to have been out maneuvered and ambushed... Everything you unlock in SP though, is available for MP use.

    Developers have mentioned possibly adding in air support, a online war campaign, and more. They have CONSTANTLY been adding new patches every single week. Fixing bugs, cheats, and errors.

    If you truely wish to enjoy this game...go in with a thinking mine, not a Michael Bay "i wanna see things go boom!" mind like we see with more recent games (CnC4, Starcraft 2...)

    If Starcraft is 0, and real war is 10 on a scale of "real tactics and play" - this game would be an 8. With Total War being a 9 and World in Conflict being a 6.

    This game is the perfect balance between simulator and fun....but you must get it for the MP. SP is not, alone, good enough to enjoy.

    By far, this is one of the most enjoyable games I have played in the past 8 years. I recommend this. With this game, even you can be a tactical genius.
    Expand
  31. Feb 26, 2012
    0
    My preferred genre are strategy games and i have played all the usual suspects like sc2, total war, men of war etc etc. But in all my years of playing rts games this is one of the most unique games of the genre i have played. So what makes this game special. Is it the game's huge maps, 300 + units, great graphics and sound? These things are all in the game but if i am paying my money I expect them in game like this so these alone do not make the game special. To me what makes this game special is the games requires the highest order of strategy and tactics to succeed where due to the scoring mechanic you may have 100+ units on the map from a abrams tank to the lowest grunt and you truly feel it if either dies. The first word of the games title gives it away 'wargame' and this game like no other in a long time made me feel like a general. My preferred gameplay mode is multiplayer and boy do i suck. My win ratio at this moment in time is only 20%. But why do i keep coming back for more. Probably because this game has a rare ingredient that after every match you believe you know where you went wrong even if you win and want to prove to yourself and your opponent you are a better general than him or her. Take the plunge and buy this game hope to see you on the battleground. Collapse
Metascore
81

Generally favorable reviews - based on 28 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 23 out of 28
  2. Negative: 0 out of 28
  1. May 20, 2012
    70
    A solid tactical simulation of armored warfare 1975-1985 whose real value is in the multiplayer mode.
  2. May 11, 2012
    84
    Eugen Systems put the "real" back into RTS. The result is spacious, subtle, deeply satisfying tactical gaming. [June 2012, p.84]
  3. 60
    Over-complicated tactical-strategic RPG is way too fast and complicated for the beginner while unsatisfactory for any advanced gamer. [Apr 2012]