User Score
8.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 177 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 14 out of 177

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Feb 24, 2012
    9
    Wargame is like a mix between World in Conflict and the Total War series; there's no basebuilding or resourcegathering. You deploy your units at the start of battle and collect deployment points by destroying enemies and holding sectors. The deployment points can then be used to call in more reinforcements, so fans of the Men of War series will feel right at home as well. The maps, while gigantic (150km2) all look the same and reminds me of Denmark in terms of flatness and fields. They're not bad, but I would've hoped for some diversity. A couple of farmfield maps are fine, but I'd also like battles in environments like snow and cityscape.

    The unit pool is huge and historically accurate; there are over 350 units spread across 8 different nations: USA, France, UK and West Germany vs East Germany, Poland, Czech and the USSR. Each nation is specialised in a type of unit, so mixing them is a good idea. For multiplayer battles you create your own deck (either a Warsaw Pact or NATO deck) and choose which 25 units you want to be able to deploy in battles. This is a great system since it allows you to create your own unique playstyle. Units are unlocked by Command Stars which you earn from ranking up. Ranking up works like you'd expect in any multiplayer game - win enough battles.

    The unit types are infantry, vehicles, logistics, tanks, helis, recon and support. Unfortunately there are no planes in the game. Infantry are both the strongest and weakest unit in the game. They arrive and fight alongside fighting vehicles, are vulnerable to explosives and have very short range, though their numbers will easily overwhelm even the heaviest tanks.

    Logistics are your command vehicles which capture sectors, supply trucks and supply helicopters. Since units both run out of fuel and ammo in this game as well as requiring reparations, it's important to establish supply routes or your units will be cut off in no man's land. Tanks need no elaborate explanation - you can usually choose between massing an army of lighter tanks like the T-62 or keep fewer heavies such as the T-80. Helicopters have long range, excellent mobility and long range of vision which makes them ideal for scouting and quick support. Transport helicopters can move infantry units quickly around the field and attack helicopters can fly past enemy lines to take out artillery in their base. They are very vulnerable to both infantry and all kinds of anti-air, however. Scouting with recon in W:EE is just as important as scouting is in Starcraft 2. It allows you to find out where your enemies are coming from and improves the accuracy of your artillery. The recon vehicles come in pretty much all shapes: Jeeps, armoured vehicles, tanks, infantry and helicopters.

    The support group consists mainly of artillery and anti-air. A well-directed artillery strike is devastating and can turn the tide of battle, but batteries are expensive, eat through ammo very quickly and are vulnerable to ambushes.

    The graphics are great and the unit models historically accurate. You can zoom from satelite-view to following a tank with the camera on the ground. Infantry animations are stale and helicopters sometimes fly like they're drunk, but this is something you won't notice very well. There is however an ugly bloom/lens flare filter that sometimes makes foliage and explosions to look 2D. Overall it runs very well on max settings with a GTX 570/i5 2500k setup like you'd expect it to. It's clearly a well optimized PC game but the UI could use some work.

    There are some other flawed game mechanics that needs to be mentioned as well; anti-air missiles are way too accurate and anti-tank missiles way too inaccurate, an infantry can hurl a grenade over 200 meters (this is for balancing, but it still looks hilarious) and a 20mm autocannon can tear through any tank. Warsaw Pact is also way too overpowered at the moment in terms of artillery.

    As for the singleplayer, it's decent. Far below the level of World in Conflict but still worth a playthrough. It serves as a warmup and tutorial for the multiplayer, which is where the action's at.

    tl;dr: As an avid RTS gamer who has played everything from Blitzkrieg, Cossacks and Warcraft to Men of War, the Paradox series and Total War; I recommend this game.
    Expand
  2. Mar 26, 2012
    8
    If you tend to prefer faster paced RTS games such as Starcraft or Warhammer 40:000, then you might become disappointed by the slow pace and large scale of the game. There is bit of micro involved, but this has more to do with unit positioning during battles rather than using special power ups or bonuses. Also keep in mind that units will not move and respond as fast as they do in games such as Starcraft or Warhammer. Units in this game take a while to do what you want them to do such as moving to a different position or setting up weapons in order to fire them. If however, you've ever enjoyed slower paced larger environment RTS games such as Supreme Commander/Supreme Commander Forged Alliance, R.U.S.E or World in Conflict, then this game is for you. You'll enjoy rummaging through the various units's statistics in the game and analysing their unique features while comparing them to other units to find the best combination for you to take into battle. You'll also enjoy testing out different strategies and watching battles evolve slowly over time and you'll marvel at watching the battles unfold in a fiery chaos that represents a more accurate version of what war is really like - when you're watching it from the perspective of a god. Full review at pcgameology.net. Expand
  3. Feb 24, 2012
    10
    Suprisingly fun game. Much slower paced than a game like starcraft, the game engine is awesome, i never get tired of the zooming levels. Lots of units, lots of strategy and the slow pace means an online game is more based on your tactics and choice of units, than how many clicks you can do per minute. Highly rated!
  4. Feb 24, 2012
    10
    This is a very demanding game, complex, realistic, which will not please everyone due to its hard difficulty. But it's surely the most realistic strategy game ever made.
    Play opportunities seem endless (due to a huge number of units), with epic battles that will require a lot of concentration and mastery.
    Graphics are good, Maps are huge, and multiplayer is fantastic. I've not finished the
    campaign (I'm at mid-game), but it's quiet interresting.
    the only negative point: it is difficult to have a clear depth perception during battles, which is a crucial parameter to increase opportunities to beat opponents.
    It's currently the best strategy game released for a very long time.
    Expand
  5. Feb 24, 2012
    9
    I have tried them all - all of the RTS 's that is ... and this one is really .... hm-mm... easy, complex, large-scale, micro-management, macro-management and dare i say it ... realistic ! ... game i have ever had the privilege to try. The graphics is fast, and relative to battle-map size - very detailed.

    I lost the first battle... and the second battle ... won on the third approach. The
    greatest thing happened. When victorious the third time around, i had the feeling that i played the game like a tank-commander in the late 70 's would have - not a computer player with lots of RTS experience - that was a great feeling... and now i just want more of the same - can't wait to explore the game further ! Expand
  6. Feb 27, 2012
    10
    Im speaking about MP: The best strategy game i ever played. I know, there is some SC1/2 but!! there are just a games (really great games) but in this game you have really feelings of chess game - W:EE is hc game. If you dont know about basic war manouvers - you lost. There isnt something like this - swarm on enemy. If you will using terrain like your advice..you are one step to win. This game is about TEAMPLAY!!!! - with no teamplay is no chance. See you there generals! Expand
  7. Mar 23, 2012
    1
    Sorry but the game sucks. The interface is really really bad, with some terrible design. In multiplayer, the game has been taken over by 3 unstoppable rush strategies - so the game really is now rock/paper/scissor. In the rare games where you find players who do not rush, you will find that rockets are used - and these rockets are capable of killing top of the range tanks over a large area!

    The player base is now tiny, less than a month after release - if you buy this game you will understand why. It seems rushed, and the scores on here are unbelievable and very suspicious. They don't have a demo for a reason!
    Expand
  8. Feb 26, 2012
    10
    If u want a great singleplayer and u dont want to stick with the mp....dont get this game!
    If u want to have the best rts mp experience this time, go and get this game!
  9. Feb 26, 2012
    9
    My preferred genre are strategy games and i have played all the usual suspects like sc2, total war, men of war etc etc. But in all my years of playing rts games this is one of the most unique games of the genre i have played. So what makes this game special. Is it the game's huge maps, 300 + units, great graphics and sound? These things are all in the game but if i am paying my money I expect them in game like this so these alone do not make the game special. To me what makes this game special is the games requires the highest order of strategy and tactics to succeed where due to the scoring mechanic you may have 100+ units on the map from a abrams tank to the lowest grunt and you truly feel it if either dies. The first word of the games title gives it away 'wargame' and this game like no other in a long time made me feel like a general. My preferred gameplay mode is multiplayer and boy do i suck. My win ratio at this moment in time is only 20%. But why do i keep coming back for more. Probably because this game has a rare ingredient that after every match you believe you know where you went wrong even if you win and want to prove to yourself and your opponent you are a better general than him or her. Take the plunge and buy this game hope to see you on the battleground. Expand
  10. Feb 27, 2012
    9
    A very good tactical game for all those who do not only want to build, rush kill, build rush kill... Finally a game where recon matters, positioning is important and you have a feeling that you are on the battlefield. A very good multiplayer helps to keep the game a alive. Multitude of units make it possible to create any army you feel like. The whole game is more real then any other RTS I played in a long time. One of the best RTS of the last years. Expand
  11. Feb 24, 2012
    8
    I have a fairly useless reputation in my own mind when it comes to RTS games, favouring the now rare Turn Based Strategy games. Saying that, I have most RTS games in my collection including the C+C games, Warhammer series, CoH series and Starcraft amongst others. In all of those games, I have had rare forays into multiplayer which I pretty much gave up on after a few embarrassing defeats. So, why did I but this game? ..................................................I did a fair bit of research into this game before its release. I didn't play the beta and took my opinions from the game's website. I still wasn't convinced until on the day it released I found a link on the Steam forums to an hour long video on Youtube (The devs ought to give this guy a free copy as I'm not alone in making my judgement off the back of this guy's half dozen videos). This showed me how simple but deep the game was. How easy it was to pick up and play, yet be interesting enough for both casual and hardcore players. Also pleasing was the inclusion of a fully fleshed out single player campaign, which I am working through right now and it is not only helping me learn how to play but is giving me unlocks which I can take online in multiplayer later.................................................Graphically the game is very nice. It is simple but well detailed and has a feel of realism when fully zoomed in. Saying that, zooming in and out is flawless for me with no stuttering which is suprising considering my rig is becoming ancient (Q6600@2.9ghz; 4GB DDR2 RAM; AMD6850; W7 64BIT), it plays on maxed out settings (low HDR) @ 1920x1200, and achieves a constant 60fps with VSync on......................................................In single player, you are able to save the game pretty much whenever you like which is another rare thing in RTS games, with most only saving after each campaign map is beat. Overall I think first impressions after around 5 hours of playing are that the game is not as difficult as it first seems. Give it a chance and a few maps and you will start to click with what needs doing to win. If you are an old fart like me, you will maybe enjoy the pace of the game, although I'm fairly certain that in multiplayer it will be a bit faster paced. 8/10. Expand
  12. Feb 27, 2012
    10
    I am loving this game. So much so, that it might just replace my favourite RTS of all time: Sudden Strike 2. As with SS2, there's no building of units. Units can be bought WiC style from a pool of Resource Points, which will replenish according to how many control points you hold on the map. The sheer amount of units to unlock is immense. Which can be daunting, but how could you possibly complain about being spoilt for choice? Any units unlocked in the SP campaign will carry over to the MP too, so there is definitely a good reason to sink some time into it. Graphics are fine, units are very detailed, terrain less so, but overall the style is meant to be functional rather than dazzling in order to not distract from the gameplay. And that is where the meat of this (MP) game is at. After positioning your initial troops in the starting zone, it's all about establishing a proper font line, use of scouts, cover and supply logistics and attacking your opponent's weakest point in their defense. As a good war game should be played. The learning curve for how to do all these things efficiently is certainly steeper than for most build and rush type games, but if you get it under control, the game is so much more satisfying than anything currently on the PC market. It might well be that there a still some balancing issues, but nothing that couldn't be fixed with a patch or two. Also I have not experienced any stability problems or crashes, and the connectivity in multiplayer games is mostly solid. If you are a fan of more realistic wargaming, do yourself a favour and give this game a shot. You won't regret it. A solid 10 from me. Expand
  13. Mar 1, 2012
    10
    Player of R.U.S.E, I was really worrying about the complexity of WEE, way before the release. The game is DOPE. A must-have for every STR player. I see that the main critic about the game is : too many units. Sure, this game isn't about getting a full knowledge of all the content in one hour. This is War. WAR, gentlemen. The game is all about a new experience of STR playing. One of the best STR since CoH. Expand
  14. Feb 25, 2012
    8
    This game is the successor to RUSE, which is quite noticeable because Eugen used Iriszoom again to create enormous battlefields. They have fixed some issues there were in RUSE, such as the placement before battle to avoid rushing. You could call the game the opposite of Starcraft: not a fast game on a small map, but a slow game on a large map, giving you a lot of time to think about your strategies. But you still need to react fast to enemy movements and these facts are making the game almost one-of-a-kind (WIC had much smaller battlefields.) The game is maybe quite hard to learn for people who are new or average at RTS games and the multiplayer matches may be slow at some times, but the simple-but-effective campaign and the creativity of Army Deck creation make this game a must-have for RTS fans. Expand
  15. Feb 24, 2012
    8
    Generally speaking this is a very good game. It seems very solid at the highest settings, is beautiful and functional. I think it is very challenging even on easy mode versus AI which is a pleasant change from the usual throw away titles being published for PC these days. The multiplayer is also difficult, exciting and fun... most importantly it works. You will get punished by experiences players at the start but that's hopefully part of the fun for you, if not I would look for a different game. Good work team! Expand
  16. Feb 25, 2012
    9
    If you like titles like C&C or are focused on single player or games with a good storyline, then i would recommend you to stay away from it, but if you liked world in Conflict, R.U.S.E., Men of Wars or anything like that, you should definitly give it a try. Multiplayer is just simply awesome (after you understood the game mechanics and probalby lost a couple of times ;) and way more strategic than anything i've played so far (and that includes a lot of games). Expand
  17. Feb 28, 2012
    8
    A very good game and quite a surprise. Yes there are a lot of units and it's a bit overwhelming at first, but if you play the single player campaign it will start you out smaller. It's not like your average RTS as there are no resources to gather nor buildings to construct. This game is all about strategy and especially recon; you MUST know what your opponent is doing and what units they have in play. There are a few minor issues (mainly with the interface) but they can easily be overlooked for the fun factor. Unlocking units is unusual for an RTS although I must say it's not a big deal here. The SP campaign will provide you "stars" to unlock units quickly, and the unlockable units are balanced by their command point cost to put into play. Yes a 175 point heli gunship will tear some stuff up, but if you overextend it and get caught in AA fire you just handed your opponent 175 points towards victory. Check this one out if you like strategy over clicks per minute games! Expand
  18. Hob
    Feb 29, 2012
    10
    Steel Panthers and Close Combat had a love child and it looks like this. Best strategy game to come out in a decade. Made all the better by the clueless magazine reviewers who can't make head nor tails out of this. Easy to learn, hard to master and so very, very much fun.
  19. Feb 25, 2012
    10
    First of all I won't talk about the Sp in this review its bad and really generic and seems out of place if id rate it on that base id give it a 3/10 but lets face it it is a MP game at that is where Wargame really shines it combines World in Conflict with R.U.S.E its way too much fun to play 2v2 3v3 or 4v4 with friends.
    There is no realy basebuilding in so it really focuses on the action,
    just like I love my MP games with friends no deep tactics or micromanagment just pure fun and destruction.
    Really enjoying it. with his huge maps and just masses of units to choose from
    Expand
  20. Feb 25, 2012
    9
    Pro's: Satisfying graphics, Addictive multiplayer and great build your own customized army concept. Cons: Occasional crash and for those new to strategy, a slightly steeper learning curve.

    Opinion: Definantly buy Wargame: Eurpoean Escalation. I found myself playing for hours constantly trying to upgrade and build my army to get a leg up on online opponents. I am looking foward to future
    DLC and even more units to incorporate into my army. Great job! Expand
  21. Feb 25, 2012
    9
    Presentation - 9.0 While it's not a game you'd want to jump into without playing at least the first single-player mission, the concept is very easy to grasp. A sufficient yet not "in-your-face" UI occupies a small portion of the screen, and it's definitely one of those rare gems of a game that make you drool just a tad when you play it. Graphics - 8.7 There is some VERY intricate detail in this game, and it is undoubtedly gorgeous. The developers must have spent quite some time detailing from an immense aerial view of the map all the way down to the ground. However, while many units are detailed and everything appears vibrant from a certain distance, some models look very bland in comparison. Not a game-breaker, though.


    Sound - 8.0
    I'll have to mimic what I wrote for graphics here. Some sounds are full and realistic, while a few others lack the detail. Tanks occasionally sound like spud guns, but again, not a game-breaker. Various nations speak the language of their home country (i.e. German units speak German, Russian units speak Russian, etc), which definitely helps to add immersion.


    Gameplay - 9.5
    A very small learning curve (for veteran RTS players), and enough micro-management to keep your belly full but not so much that you feel nauseous from over-eating. The scope of the game is VERY huge, and maps are larger than I've ever played in a RTS, while being able to zoom in and out from almost a satellite view down to ground level. One thing I have not yet mentioned is how realistic the balance is. Others in the forums here make comments about how artillery or helicopter spamming are ruining games, but simply, it's about producing the strategic methods to get rid of the latter. In one game, I had another player sending at least 20 helos my way, but a few AA batteries took them out. As I tried shelling their units with my artillery, their tanks stormed in and obliterated them. I felt no imbalance; rather, simply reward for giving thought to what you do and how you do it.


    Lasting Appeal - 10.0
    I don't see this game having very much success with casual Starcraft-style RTS players, as the game certainly rewards tactically-minded people. Rushers won't get their way very often, if at all, which is a relief. As I've read on the forums here, I, too, see this game establishing a large player base, peaking, and then leveling off as the aforementioned Starcraft-types abandon the game and a mature and dedicated WEE community is established. The developers seem to take their players into account, and I foresee many great things coming out of both them and the community. This game will certainly be something played for a long time.



    Overall - 9.04 (out of 10)
    Expand
  22. Feb 25, 2012
    9
    If you're a Wargamer or just love RTSs, this one is going to keep you busy for a while. The single player game is a lot of fun and while it may not be the most challenging experience for some, it will keep many gamer's entertained. The MP game is completely captivating and will steal hours from your busy day.

    I highly recommend this game to anyone who is tired of the economy RTS games
    and wants a good slug-fest with their friends. Much like assault squad, World in Conflict, Company of Heroes, this game has something for everyone and addresses a genre that not many have explored, the 70's and 80's. Great game and fun for everyone. The learning curve can be a little steep, but once you get the hang of it, you'll be rewarded with great strategy and tactics and some fantastic eye candy.

    See you on the battlefield,

    Cheers
    Expand
  23. Mar 8, 2012
    10
    When you first start playing the game it is a bit confusing , and the learning curve takes a little while to get used to how the game works and the interface with all its complexities . However..... once you can get past that .. This game is Fantastic !!! The single player is alot of fun and challenging . The ability to zoom all the way out or in reminds me of Supreme Commander and I like that. The sheer number of units you can unlock insures that you will always have something to look forward to when playing this game. Me and my buddies love RTS gaming and we have been having fun with this ever since it came out. Whoever developed this game put alot of time and effort into it ... and it shows. Cheers thanks for a great game ! Expand
  24. Feb 29, 2012
    8
    It really comes into it's own for me at the third single player mission. Here you have all these toys of war to deploy, but on this mission you realize that they eat lots of resources. So the art of feeding your war machine really comes into play. I think the developers have really hit the nail on the head. This is no walk in the park, even on the easiest settings. And at the same time it isn't a twitchy clickfest of a game either.
    I do with you could pause the game AND look around the map. But that's only because I am not that good at the game yet. Had a couple bugs where unit labels and units were nowhere near each other, but I am sure they will fix that. All in all this is a game I would recommend to anyone who likes RTS games, but stays away from multiplayer because of all the spamming of units done to win the game.
    The more I play it the more I enjoy it.
    Expand
  25. Feb 28, 2012
    9
    This is a fine strategy game! it is not too fast paced and it is really important to have a healthy mix of forces. So you have to think even before beginning a match, because you create a deck with a force pool, from which you chose during the battle. And it is kind of realistic. E.g. you have to be careful, that the weak sides and the back of your tanks are protected. Supplies (Ammo, Fuel, Repairs) play a big role. Till now I had a lot of online multiplayer games and I never experienced some major all-defeating strategy. Teamwork is very important in the game, when you play with someone together. There are over 300 nicely modeled units and the graphics are decent. The solo part, especially the campaign, is very challenging, but the presentation of it isn't that exciting. I really can recommend this game to everyone who likes strategy. Hopefully the developer will implement some new features and maps in the future. P.s. sorry for my english, it isn't my mother tongue. See you on the battlefield! Expand
  26. Feb 29, 2012
    10
    Although it takes a little bit of time to adjust to the amount of units, as one person has said "TOO MANY UNITS!!!!@!!@ NO UNDERSTAND", Wargame: European Escalation is a fine example of a game and I definitely recommend picking it up.
  27. Feb 29, 2012
    3
    This game is inferior to R.U.S.E. and has too many units. It is a fun experience but as you continue to play it you will find it lacking. Team strategy feels a bit cheap and the natural imbalance of all of the units with the leveling system is not only broken but unfriendly to beginners. It is by far the worst real time tactical game I have played.
  28. Mar 7, 2012
    5
    Average game average score. Believe the rest saying that there are simply too many units and too few choices. Pick it up during a Steam sale or on the sly but whatever you do don't pay full price. *Especially not during the "Extended Beta". The units are poorly balanced and the major balance changes soon after release show the apple is far from polished. You'll find little in the way of strategy. It's fun for a little while until you realize the game is hard capped by supply at about 30-40 minutes LONG before you deploy half the possible units.

    The campaign is fine but don't expect it to blow you away. At least it's not going to drive you to mute the cinematics like RUSE did. Sadly the strategic depth RUSE offered through ruses is absent, leaving a game that would have been impressive five years ago. Average average average average average - wait until it's deeply discounted.
    Expand
  29. Mar 11, 2012
    10
    IGNORE THE BAD REVIEWS: They simply do not understand the beauty!

    This is, by far, the most tactical RTS created since the first Supreme Commander's initial release. It stands in the halls of RTS-Valhalla with classics such as Command and Conquer, Dune, Men of War, Star Craft, Total Annihilation, Total War. This game has had me addicted to the point where I bought it for three friends so
    they could play with me. I put at least 2-3 hours into it a day. It is addictingly good.

    To start with, the number one issue people seem to have is the sheer number of units. Worry not! There will be more added! Why? Because this game is set in the 1975-1985 cold war era. Armies did not have "one heavy, one medium, one light, one special" unit. They had dozens of units, from multiple nations, and variants there-of! This game is a near-simulator grade RTS. They add enough variety and "realism" to allow for you to enjoy intense multiplayer games, without it feeling to gamey.

    You will be spending your time managing tactics on a large scale, occasionally small scale. I apply Soviet Tank tactics to this game...RIGHT FROM THEIR BOOK. Literally, I play by the REAL WORLD book. How many RTS can you do that with? (Total War /TA/SupCom)

    It keeps just enough game elements in so you don't sit back bored with a wall of information you will never use...but enough simulator elements for battles to flow close-to-reality.

    Controls are smooth. Units are close-to-accurate. Graphics are amazing for an RTS of this scope. (during one stream someone asked if I was streaming ArmA2 when I was zoomed in to infantry level.) Lag is not horrible for a game that has hundreds of units on the field over dozens upon dozens of square miles.

    I have literally 27 armies I have built to use in my games. NATO and Warsaw Pact. Everything from an all-black-hawk mounted American AirCav, to a soviet tank force numbering into 80+ tanks at times. You have variety to do what you want. Real world army builds or 'your' builds.

    While Multiplayer is where it excels, single player is enjoyable. It is not the 'best' SP ever, but the missions are for the most part fun to play. A few times I went in expecting a mission to be easy, only to have been out maneuvered and ambushed... Everything you unlock in SP though, is available for MP use.

    Developers have mentioned possibly adding in air support, a online war campaign, and more. They have CONSTANTLY been adding new patches every single week. Fixing bugs, cheats, and errors.

    If you truely wish to enjoy this game...go in with a thinking mine, not a Michael Bay "i wanna see things go boom!" mind like we see with more recent games (CnC4, Starcraft 2...)

    If Starcraft is 0, and real war is 10 on a scale of "real tactics and play" - this game would be an 8. With Total War being a 9 and World in Conflict being a 6.

    This game is the perfect balance between simulator and fun....but you must get it for the MP. SP is not, alone, good enough to enjoy.

    By far, this is one of the most enjoyable games I have played in the past 8 years. I recommend this. With this game, even you can be a tactical genius.
    Expand
  30. Mar 20, 2012
    3
    Horrifically bad interface makes me wonder how this ever got the scores it did here. The real challenge of game is trying to control your units, assuming you have the labyrinth of different units memorized already, strategy goes right out the window in favor of trying to work the frustratingly bad game interface. The game had potential but falls flat.
  31. Dec 22, 2012
    2
    Wargame is not a strategy game for strategy fans. It is a kind action/RTS which isn't requiring true strategic skills. Rush/blobs/artillery camping are the main tactics used by the Top100. Playing something else requires a lot more skill than your opponents. It is sad. The game owns a kind of unseen charm with its lots of units and the graphic engine. But the game modes are a massive incentive to blob, rush and artillery camping. If you like games with deep strategy thinking looks for something else.The same if you like simulation. the game isn't a simulation at all. Expand
  32. Mar 7, 2012
    3
    nice game Bud it looks more like a unbalanced version of world in conflict game in my opinion Ty make the same big mistake as world in conflict no resources no base building and way to fast game ply its more stress then fun u have simply no time to think and that's bad for a rts i like to think when i ply to use some tactics Bud this game is more like the faster u go the better totally unbalanced on top of that it have a ferry week campaign only 1 map i like Bud for the rest it was even more bad then w.i.c Bud still it have great potential much have to be don lets hope for some good Dlc the rest it have steam that's cool bud even that it coasted more on the steam shop then retail so that was bad Anny way i ply a few weeks beta as well and i must say i am looking for some otter rts games and pass this game sorry to say... the graphics = OK

    the sound = averaged

    steam = OK

    campaign = bad

    online game play = averaged server settings = bad

    cost = bad
    Expand
  33. Mar 28, 2012
    10
    Wargame is by far the best Real Time Strategy game I have ever played. The creators have clearly scarified a degree of accessibility that many other new games strive for in order to bring the players a deeper experience. There is a daunting number of units, and it takes a few hours of playing games in multiplayer to start getting good at the game, but most importantly, despite the challenges the game presents, it is a lot of fun. Many many issues have been raised in the reviews here and in the forums regarding the use of artillery and various types of rushes. It can seem very difficult to counter these things, but the game is actually very well balanced. Its one of the few strategy games I have seen where the units don't have so much of a rock/paper/scissors relationship, but instead the importance of Armour/damage/weapon type/fire rate and several other stats are what come into play on each unit. According to my rating in the ranked play of the game, I'm in the A league and I have found that using a balanced force of recon vehicles, infantry, tanks, and other vehicles will always beat someone using just tanks, just helicopters or just infantry. This is also the first time in a strategy game where I felt like I could just jump in because the relationships between the different units makes sense. Tanks can't kill everything, Infantry have a variety of different and powerful weapons, and you can't see very much of the map without effective reconnaissance. If you prefer base building, or simpler mechanics like in Red Alert games, then this game might not appeal to you, but if you enjoy a slower more thought out game, then Wargame can be a lot of fun. Expand
  34. Apr 10, 2012
    10
    The game is awesome! Fantastic gameplay, huge number of different units, very large maps. I have loved the campaign and have great pleasure playing MP. Buy this game if you want a strategy fix!
  35. Mar 11, 2013
    10
    Totally worth the money, a lot of strategic thinking is required, spamming will not let you win like other games, it's the first game where I do not have to go on the forum to cry about unit imbalance!
  36. Mar 13, 2012
    10
    A really fun game! There's deep strategy involved, and this game is unlike any other I've played. The goal is to not lose expensive units. Even pushing an enemy all the way back to their base may result in a multiplayer loss, if you lose more command points than the enemy. This results in some matches, where the battle is still raging while the game is won by one team or the other.
  37. Oct 14, 2012
    6
    Game is confusing and unintuitive. All in all meh would be the word I would use to describe it, This game is a far cry from micro and tactics of games like starcraft, company of heroes, command and conquer, or end of nations. I guess if your a ruse or men of honor man this might appeal to you but I would rather play just about anything else.
  38. Apr 15, 2012
    10
    This is the single most fun wargame i have played since the times of peoples general. Wargame EUA manages to bring the scale of old school hex strategy into play in a real time environment.
    The strategic implications of the terrain will haunt your nightmares, the detailed units will give you wet dreams (if you're into military hardware, that is). The game looks and FEELS fantastic, when
    full on combat gets going, you will see and hear WAR raging. I first thought this to ruse in cold war skin, but no, eugen systems really sat down on this one and made it a unique experience. The campaigns are challenging and teach you the gameplay, then multiplayer awaits, and a veritable host of humans to challenge your skill against. This is not starcraft, apm and split second decisions do not win you a cup here. This is about strategy. Expand
  39. Mar 13, 2012
    10
    Best PC Strategy game in the last 2 years. This game is a gem and is pretty easy to pick up. It has great depth and is not more complicated than it needs to be. Gamers who like ARMA II, Hearts of Iron III, World in Conflict, etc. will enjoy this game. At $39.99US it is a lot cheaper than the $59.99 games and is excellent value for the money. The AI is as good as it needs to be. I have put about 15 hours in to the game so far. I will definitely be playing this game for at least the next 6 months. Anyways, there are some good tutorials on Youtube. You might want to view them to get a general idea how the game works as there doesn't seem to be a lot of in game help.

    Anyways, an serious PC Strategy Gamer needs to pick this game up.
    Expand
  40. Apr 12, 2012
    10
    This is the perfect game for strategy fans who prefer a slightly slower pace and more tactical strategy rather than base building. It is the best RTS I've played in a very long time.
  41. Mar 13, 2012
    9
    A good title with quite a bit of depth...so many units! If rts's are a favorite genre of yours, then this is worth a look for sure. And a no-brainer with anyone that has any cold war interest. It is not overly simple, so if your looking for build your base and some orc's, then this may not be for you. No bases, just kicking ass from the muzzle of a T-72!
  42. Feb 26, 2012
    6
    Far far far too many units, for a start. When you hover your mouse over you get an alphnumeric codename that will leave you scratching your head, so it's very hard to remember what you're up against. Something like over 300 unit types to get your head around - I'm all for diversity but this is insane! Singe-player missions are tactical, but having limitations to the number of units you can have per game is really unfair. You get points and then you can spend them, let's say on a bunch of tanks. Now imagine they all get creamed in some well-oiled computer ambush, then tough luck you can't buy them back, you have to use some other unit type. Makes me miss the old base-building malarkey of C&C and SC2 somewhat. I also, personally don't like how you can't see any enemy units on the battlefield at all until they are in firing range. At least with RUSE you could see where the units were, even if you didn't know what they represented. So, what this means is that you have to keep sending out recon units everywhere, and of course as soon as they see a tank or something equally dangerous, it gets blown up. So effectively you mass your army and send them out completely blind 90% of the time. Ok, now for the maps - they are ok, but far too samey, I guess I would have liked to have seen more diversity. On the plus side the game runs really smoothly, and despite my criticisms it is fun to play. It's a hardcore realistic military-RTS that delivers some interesting tactical situations you wouldn't normally find elsewhere. However, I have to say that having units that run out of gas/petrol, although ultra-realistic, is just darn annoying. Expand
  43. Mar 17, 2012
    8
    Wargame should come with a disclaimer that says, "WARNING: NOT FOR GIRLIE MEN." This is a real time strategy game that isn't afraid to throw you to the wolves and whose missing tutorial is made up for only by a skimpy game manual and a few text pop-ups during the singleplayer missions. Early on you're given a few tanks and recon vehicles and expected to maneuver and fight your way to victory, using trees as cover and attacking the enemy with vehicles that have better range. The first few times you'll probably completely bomb and feel embarrassed, but the more you play, the more things will "click" and the better you'll feel about yourself and the game. There are many unique elements at play here. This isn't just another "Amass army of tanks -- Send them forwards -- Win" strategy game. Every unit has essential roles on the battlefield. Battle tanks are excellent versus small armored vehicles but hopeless versus attack helicopters. Recon units can spot enemies from great distances but often lack firepower and therefore require you to send in "attack dog" units to flush out and crush the revealed enemies. Infantry are excellent at performing forest ambushes and even demolishing tanks if they catch them by surprise, but out in the open they're mostly cannon fodder. To make things more interesting, units also have their own limited supplies like gasoline and ammunition. If you've never played a real time strategy game in which vehicles run out of gas and ammo, you're in for a surprise. The counter for this problem comes in the way of supply vehicles like trucks and even helicopters. If you hadn't already guessed, though, even those units have limited supplies and must resupply at forward bases. There is a lot at work in Wargame and you'll always have your hands full managing your units both in and out of combat. Like R.U.S.E. and World in Conflict before it, Wargame also throws base building and resource gathering mechanics out the window in favor of spending points earned during matches to purchase new units. Reinforcements arrive in specially designated areas of the map that are captured by sending in lone "command" units. If you want them to arrive without having to drive across Wargame's huge maps, you'll need to send a command unit to capture a zone relatively close to the major combat areas. I could go on and on about why Wargame is so captivating and unique but like most strategy games, it isn't perfect. The user interface is one of the clunkiest I've ever used and its poor designs plague even the game's numerous menus. Overall, if you're a war gamer seeking a challenge and anticipating battles consisting of hundreds of infantry, tanks, helicopters, and more across gorgeous, gigantic landscapes, Wargame: European Escalation is one that's more than worth checking out and potentially the most underrated modern war real time strategy game in a long, long time. Expand
  44. Mar 9, 2012
    9
    A very good RTS. It is not a simulation. It is an RTS. There is two camps. for what i can say they are balanced. Some people find the game slow. I do not really understand. A game well handled last 20 or 25 minutes at most. However the scale of the game is impressive. The level of details too. You can zoom from a *kind of* satellite view to the wheat in the fields. and it is fluid: just impressive. The solo capaign is made in three pahses. The first campaign is a tutorial, the second put you in practice for real. The third.... begans to be challenging and it is the prelude to the fourth which is a nightmare. Do a lot with a few units. And in each campaign you must spare your units or will do without definitely. Quite challenging. In the spirit of Panzer Korps.
    The multi is more or less basic for actual standards. A ranked MP mode and a free matches mode. Each victory allows you to unlock new units. but, be sure of it, an expensive unit is powerful but need a lot more care. As an extension the basic starting decks are enough powerful to counter a high level units deck. Only the skill will differentiate players.
    Oh!yes the deck. There is a payload of units. But you can't bring all of them in a game. just 25 mother units and their variants. It will considerably impact your gameplay. if you play woth 5 kind of helicopters you will ahave to use less tanks. 25 isn't a lot to be polyvalent.

    A game is all about getting and keeping sectors with specials and expensive units. You win by ahving the highest score decided for the match or at the end of the timer. The maps are varied (12 maps) and can be played either in 1v1 or 4v4. Their constitution affect greatly the gameplay as you can hide units in hedgerows and forets. Hills break your lines of sight/fire. Wargame is a very good game. Very tactical, and strategical (your deck and the terrain will affect it). However it is surely one the better games I ever seen since Dune2. It is innovative: lots of units, lots of nuances, lots of way to handle a map... Your strategy is the way to win, your tactics on the battleground are the way to win. But it is a game for gamers. Not really for casuals. The multi is quite competitive but the basic of the game are quite easy to get even if it is complex and rich.

    This game is a "must have". And a very good one.
    Expand
  45. Mar 17, 2012
    1
    A waste of money

    This game just sucks at what it is trying to be â
  46. Mar 20, 2012
    8
    This game is pretty cool if you like strategy games especially if they are set in modern times. There are a few things that I personally have issues with that I wanted to address to maybe help a few people decide if they want the game or not though. Firstly, I find it hard to counter units effectively without loosing a lot of units in the process. I find myself moving forward with scouts and finding them destroyed by the tanks that they detected before my tanks can move up to destroy them. Other times my tanks would travel with the scouts and then both would be destroyed when they stumbled across an anti-tank unit. Its almost easier just to put as many unique units together as you can and rush as a mob and hope that the right units counter each other than it is to try to make a good strategy out of it.

    Secondly, some of the engagement ranges, even early in the game seem way unbalanced. For instance I was playing mission 3 and was pretty far along without losing many units, when all of the sudden my tanks and AA units came under fire from ranges so far that my units couldn't see what it was. Turned out to be a single transport helicopter that had rockets. This simple transport destroyed 4 AA units and 12 tanks including all of my most veteran units before I could do anything about it. I couldn't have them fall back because the fire kept coming and moving forward just had them come under fire from other units. Thirdly, I like the whole keeping units alive keeps them earning experience but it is just so easy to lose units. I wish survivability was a little better. It seems a little off that a platoon of 4 fully upgraded tanks that are all like a level 5 veterans being destroyed by 1 anti-tank gun that is a level 1 veteran even though they are hiding in an ambush position. Those are my negative issues. Now that I've gotten those out of the way let me say that most things about this game are really cool. I like the level of detail the graphics give and the ability to zoom out to see the whole field of battle is very handy. I really like watching the battles play out when I have set up a good ambush on a few occasions. Nothing is as satisfying as watching a platoon of enemy tanks move into a kill zone and being blown apart by my tanks while not even landing any return fire. Helicopters were included almost seamlessly into the game although I think their range and power need to be adjusted a little bit. They are instrumental in scouting the battlefield and bringing death down on unsuspecting enemies. For those just thinking they will spam the best equipment they can at the enemy until they win I just want to warn you this does not work. When you start a mission you get a limited number of supplies to build with. This number regenerates, however you are only allowed a certain number of each unit in the game. For instance you may only be allowed to call on up to 8 of a specific tank for the entire mission. So you will want to try your best to keep them alive or you will run out of them before the battle is over and be forced to use less powerful equipment. Scouting is IMPORTANT!!! If you just send in even the best tanks you will lose them before you even see some of the enemies. It is important to learn what counters what the best or you will lose lots of units without scoring any kills yourself.
    Expand
  47. Mar 21, 2012
    8
    I liked this game alot. cant give it a 9 or 10 because it has a few flaws but very enjoyable. First the single player campaign is very hard. as for having a lot of units, at least for me it doesnt matter as much. there will be too much going on to focus deeply on every little thing. ex, you deal with tanks the same way regardless what model number they are. im a big fan of wargames. perhaps thats why i like this. brings some of the joy of table top into a video game without the limitations of turn based. also you dont need a degree from MIT to understand the rules. dont get me wrong though, if you want a deeper experience feel free to analise the unit stats which are all listed. i've been waiting for a game like this to come along. enjoyed and hope you do to. Expand
  48. Mar 26, 2012
    1
    Graphics are good and has some good ideas, but implementation is really bad. It seems like a rushed game and there isn't a whole lot of strategy. Was fun killing noobs with my clan - rockets - tank spam - rinse repeat. But it gets old very quick, and is not worth $39.99 because of it's many flaws.
  49. Apr 1, 2012
    10
    This is a fantastic RTS. Its the first games in years that feels like it has enough tactical depth to keep you coming back again and again. Comebacks in are very possible and intelligent tactics and flexibility can carry the day even if you have been losing earlier in the game. This coupled with the fact that many games that were losses have been as exciting and enjoyable as wins means is something atypical for most RTS games where you or opponent reaches a critical mass of units or technological progression and the game is a foregone conclusion. Don't be put off by a rather steep learning curve in multiplayer, you'll quickly find a fascinating game. If you are struggling with the mechanics play the single player to understand the basics. Also, remember to watch replays from your opponents perspective, there is always something to learn. Enjoy! Expand
  50. Apr 6, 2012
    9
    I found this games to be quite hard for a casual RTS gamer such as myself, it at least took me 2 tries to get past the very first level and at least another 4 to get past just the second. I soon ended up saving at least every 3-4 mins in campaign, even at some points I came simply to the point of rage quitting, but for some reason i found the sensational urge to pick up again as if I was the equivalent of an abused spouse coming back for more. the I realized what this game was for me The Dark Souls of RTSs where the achievement of overcoming and solving some of the hardest challenges I've personally faced in this game gave me more satisfaction than most other games I've tried in the last 5 years. If you don't not have this game already I suggest picking it up on steam for the modest price of $40. Expand
  51. Apr 12, 2012
    10
    Fast, mean, unforgiving, put your tactical brains on overdrive and go to it. For me this is one game that delivers. Forget massing units and just pummelling a weaker foe. Try that approach and the AI will spank you severely on easy setting as well. I've always been a casual player of wargames so multi player has never really interested me, this game fills that hole up. The AI likes to surprise you and wont come at you in vast armadas of tanks. But if your daft enough not to use your recon units it'll teach you a lesson in pain. Expand
  52. Apr 12, 2012
    10
    One of the best strategy games I have played since the original Command & Conquer. The gameplay requires one to think ahead and plan a detailed strategy. Unlike other so called RTS games, this really does require one to think strategically as opposed to tactically. I know i am going to be playing this game for years to come :P
  53. Apr 14, 2012
    10
    People who complain about having too many units (realistic and gives room for great customization), or a unit cap (disallow over spamming, and also is realistic, considering the units are actual reinforcement, and reinforcement is limited), or the need for recon to actually spot your enemy (what, you can spot and identify enemy units from 50km away? Again, it adds to realism and shows how crucial recon is in warfare)... You people are absolutely incapable to understand and appreciate strategy games. Wargame EE is a different class of games than others, like Starcraft, Age of Empires, or Command and Conquer. These games focus mainly on micromanagement and knowledge of units to create counters to known enemy tactics. Wargame EE is a true STRATEGY game. It focuses on true military tactics and strategies. In Wargame, like in real warfare, a 10 point rifleman with a LAW can destroy a heavy 130 point tank with one good rear armor hit, if lucky. Tanks and other vehicles don't "slip" on the ground. They roll. That means you have to think about what kind of terrain you're going on. It also means you have movement inertia to account. If you run in a barrage of artillery, don't expect to just stop and roll back instantly. It takes time.

    Of course, like any strategy game, there are balance issues, but the developer is extremely attentive to player comments, and they do fix those issues rather well.

    Finally, Wargame EE is certainly the most realistic and complete strategy game I have ever played. It's not perfect, but it is damn good!
    Expand
  54. Apr 14, 2012
    10
    This game is easily thr best strategy I've ever played, it blends realism and gameplay to a perfect degree, and I think it is ahead of its time, the only thing it could need is a realism slider or two forms of gameplay, the standard RTS/arcaade and a more advanced sort of simulator with all of the ranges scaled correctly and the supply system re-worked. The game plays extremely well, and ranked is a blat. The fact that each side doesnt have an automatic counter to the other is perfect, and realistic, it forces players to think. The only hinderance to the game is players who incessantly rush using roads into the other side's HQ objective. However thee is a counter for pretty much everything, the only thing is it does take some time. The campaign missions are very fun, they pit you as various forces against a wide variety of foes. All in all this is easily my favorite game, even better than Supreme Commander. Expand
  55. Jun 16, 2012
    10
    This game is everything that an RTS should be. They have done an amazing job with this game, and sadly I don't feel it has gotten attention it deserves. This game will NOT hold your hand and baby you! There is no tutorial really, and the only way to become good is to play. You will be average after about 150 hours of gameplay, this game is chess not checkers. I've played other games by them and to me it seems like they finally made the game they wanted to make all along. I don't really know what changed but THANK YOU for making this game. If you were like me as a kid and used to stage elaborate battles with green plastic army men then this game is definitely for you. The better you get at this game the more enjoyable it becomes, but you have to learn the units (there are a lot of them) and you quickly find out which are most important. Just like chess, certain units can only do certain things, and if you make a mistake or do not catch something your opponent is doing, you will pay dearly. The guys who made this game are apparently french and it totally makes sense, the menus outside of gameplay can be confusing at first, but you get used to it. The multiplayer is cool, but the game would be MUCH easier to play if it supported voice communication, (i need teamspeak/vent) but I think it might have been out of their budget so maybe next time or in a later update.
    Overall, I love this game, GO BUY IT!, give these guys your money so they will make more cool games. I have to say they nailed the RTS genre on the head with this release. This is my first review ever, that's how much I want to show support for this game. If only Microsoft would let them make AGE of EMPIRES IV, that would be awesome. BUY BUY BUY
    Expand
  56. Jul 4, 2012
    9
    What a sleeper hit! If you enjoy wargames at all, you will love this RTS. The best comparison I can make is that its like Steel Panthers: Main Battle Tank (SPMBT) but in real time, with 2012 graphics and UI, but a more limited set of units. Still, its over 300 units. You buy units, like in SPMBT, deploy them, and then fight. The tactical and strategic depth is immense, building decks from which to buy units is itself a strategic minigame, and trying to coordinate with teammates in multiplayer is the ultimate challenge. The single player is so-so (extremely challenging) but the multiplayer is TONS of fun. I only wish more people were playing. Expand
  57. Mar 6, 2013
    9
    You are here because you saw this game on Steam and you're not sure whether or not to buy it. Buy it. It's a fantastic game. Why this game isn't talked about more is beyond me. If you love strategy games, you will love this game. If you liked World in Conflict, it's like that...except 100 times better. It basically takes games like that and other great strategy games, and puts them all together to make a near perfect strategy game. While I think the graphics and number of units is great, they could be better. Not really a complaint, just the reason why I gave this a 9 instead of a 10. Also, it would be cool if future Wargame sequels included naval units. I'd basically never leave my computer if they added that. So, buy the game, enjoy it, tell everybody how much you enjoyed it, and then tell them to buy it, because Wargamers like myself need more people to play against on multiplayer (which is awesome, too). You won't regret your purchase. Expand
  58. Apr 17, 2012
    10
    Great strategy game, very underrated. I have not played with other people yet but fighting with your friends against the computer or fighting against your friends is awesome. After I level up a little more I'm definitely giving ranked games a try. Also single player, though not very long is quite fun.
  59. Jul 6, 2013
    10
    How hard it is to forget all strategy games you ever played? It's generally really not easy, until you spot this Wargame. Then you forget every other game during first few minutes, and you will refuse to play anything else for weeks.

    That is, if you are a person who likes strategic thinking.
    Do I have to say more?
  60. Jul 14, 2012
    9
    Amazing RTS, very realistic and full of details, the graphic engine is pretty amazing lets you zoom in and out of combat and see the details on the terrain that's amazing

    on the other hand it can be confusing at the beginning but you learn to play in the 1st 2 missions, game needs a tutorial though.

    I recommend this game to anyone who enjoys RTS, specially realistic RTS.
  61. Apr 18, 2012
    9
    As someone who comes from RTS games like World in Conflict, Supreme Commander, Total War and so on, my initial impressions of the trailer built up high hopes in me for this game. I am more than pleased to tell you that this game not only met my expectations, but it exceeded them. This game takes great strides to try and achieve the most detailed and realistic representation of modern warfare in an RTS game, one could say that this game is to the RTS genre as Arma is to the FPS genre. Huge 150 kilometre maps, an extensive variety of equipment to put to use in battle, units that actually don't have an infinite amount of ammo and fuel, a large focus on statistical accuracy of weapons such as range, calibre, accuracy etc makes it fair to say that you could argue that this game could even contend for armas seat at the top of the military simulation genre of gaming

    Many features are present in this game which I simply haven't seen before in any other RTS, for example the deck system that allows you to customize the army you can deploy in multiplayer battles, which allows you to pick and choose from the military forces of 4 nations for each side (NATO & Warsaw pact nations) to perfectly suit your playstyle. Personally I like to make fast infantry manoeuvres supported by heavy tanks with elite units being dropped in deep behind enemy lines via transport helicopters, so I have made a deck that is comprised mostly of British forces, the modern British army has been built up around these kind of tactics, with quick troop transport vehicles like the spartan, world class tanks like the challenger, and fast helicopter transports like the Lynx it allows me do all that I need to cut off the enemy supplies with elite units and hold a firm grip on the frontlines with my tanks. Although in some cases, I need to call to the aid of other NATO forces, like the american AH-64 Apache to give me a lethal tool that allows me to support my forces all over the battlefield, a very welcome ally when faced with a column of approaching tanks.

    What also seems quite new to me is the supply system, as previously stated none of your units have an infinite amount of ammo or fuel, they all need to be restocked every time they deplete their ammo capacity. There are 3 ways to go about resupplying your forces, one would be to go to the reinforcement menu and call in supply trucks to come in off-map, but with the maps being so large it does take time depending on how far your forces are from the nearest reinforcement zone (an area of the map that you can capture to allow your reinforcements to enter the map from a new angle). This adds a new element to the gameplay, now you're not just buying as many units as possible and rushing them against enemy forces, but it becomes very beneficial to have units behind enemy frontlines pestering the supply lines of your enemies. Do this enough then perhaps eventually you can cut them off completely and leave the frontline units of your enemies out of fuel and out of ammo, making them easy pickings for any of your combat ready units. Another option would be to call in supply helicopters like the chinook to ferry supplies to your front lines from the forward operating base, which brings us to the third option. You could just send your units riiiight back to your forward operating base, all the way back to where you started on the map, meaning any ground you have captured is likely to be seized not long after your units leave to get resupplied with ammo, which is another reason why having a safe supply line is important.

    Another thing that strikes me in this game is the importance of using your reconnaissance wisely. The cost of not knowing what you're running into often far outweighs the cost of sending in a cheap helicopter scout to scope out the areas around your forces. There are so many things in this game that could be hiding in that forest or town that you might as well shell your own units if you want to walk into it blindly.

    Artillery is also a tremendously impressive spectacle to behold, often determining where the enemy wants to go and where he doesn't. A rocket barrage can make an enemy evacuate all his forces from an entire town into open fields for your tanks and helicopters to catch them on the run, making the enemy go where you want them to go.

    To summarize the game without making this review and in depth view of every single feature and innovation this game has (trust me, there's a LOT), there's plenty on offer here to keep you playing for hours. The graphics are stunning in my opinion, the scale is like nothing else I've seen in a modern warfare RTS game like it, the music is subtle and nowhere near as obnoxious as most other games out there, and it all comes together to be one of the most complex and fun RTS games I've ever played. I hope that this review will draw you to this game, as I could only feel sorry for you if you missed out on this gem.
    Expand
  62. Dec 26, 2012
    9
    Wargame: European Escalation is a very, very good RTS. It may even be the most 'realistic' one on the market, as apart from real-world units, you have to monitor things like fuel usage, ammunition, and morale. Instead of basebuilding you open and secure supply lines, and instead of harvesting resources you have to outplay your opponent. Tactics are paramount; if you don't thoroughly recon a sector, an enemy hidden in the forest will eat your carefully upgraded troops for lunch. The devs have also been continually supporting the game with free DLC. Really the only things that prevent me from awarding a 10 is the overabundance of farmland maps, and a lack of air support (you have helicopters, but no jets). Expand
  63. Feb 11, 2013
    5
    No a horrible game, but I couldn't really get into it. It was very slow and had little player control. I can control where the units went, but they would just derp about and get sniped by enemy tanks in bushes. I wasn't a fan of the call off map units with some points I earned.. I'm more into the traditional RTS.. Wasn't my kind of game.
  64. Jun 19, 2013
    9
    my first online rts game,it is very hard to start,have a tough start,a very important reason i like it so much is it update,fix and improve even 1 year after,fix the atgm,and make tank stronger,make it playable,now only a few game can do that,COD is a counterexample,few months,then just leave it behind,make me never buy any of it for sure.this make wee has more competitive power,for now i know only valve and Tripwire Interactive can do so well.
    people like kick low levels,but after i play better,deep into it,i understand why,it depend too much on experience,sometimes i dont want see too low levels too,sometimes i would rather teach them,but not just win,everyone has a start,respect the new players,u was like that too,but some people like kick for no reason,these just no manner people live just to make other sick.
    another big problem is some people like escape ,when think may lose,then leave,make the whole team suffer,hope system can give these players a punish,at least a small one,the other player can make them can not connect to their game,so u will not lose anything,but can aviod them.
    Expand
  65. Jan 18, 2013
    7
    I haven't played this game much i wish i could but text is to small its good RTS game alot of fun with friends No real bad points but does take a while to understand and master but well worth the time investment if your into RTS games
  66. Oct 20, 2012
    10
    Very difficult solo missions, just the way you feel fully satisfied when you accomplish it. Choosing how to spent the stars you earn in the previous mission to unlock new weapons (vehicles/tanks/infantry...) could be tricky because you can't undo it and have to live with it once you made a choice.
    Nice graphics if you choose to go down from the eagle view where you spend most of your
    time.
    Didn't try multiplayer yet, but with solo I have had much fun.
    Expand
  67. May 20, 2013
    10
    I have to say Wargame is the BEST RTS game ever made in game history. Even better than COH2/SC2:
    Wargame has:
    -Better graphics
    -Better handing/battle feel
    -Realistic/large scale (Just think about the firing range in COH/COH2 are too short and unrealistic)
    -More units
  68. Apr 19, 2012
    7
    Its a great game but its way to hard for avarage gamers, also the hardware you need to play it is just insane. It reminds me of an awesome game world inconflict.
  69. Apr 20, 2012
    9
    I made an account on here just for this underplayed game. This game is not fast, it unforgiving. The realism is something i have waited for at length. "People just tank spam" use some strategy man! Sneak around! Set up an ambush! Recon for heavens sake. This game is not about necessary holding positions. "Artillery spam wins every time" If you clump all your units and do not flank their artillery, then yes, it will destroy you. This game is a GREAT RTS, and needs much more love than it has been given. I have won and lost matches but I am never bitter, all I can tell myself is "Wow, I should have had a recon on that hill and i would have seen that coming" People are so brainwashed with the current style of RTS. Look I have defeated all strats and lost to them. YOU need to learn to adjust to the situation. This is a balanced game, because it is NOT about trading shots. It is about position and timing. If you can not handle the heat get out of the tank. Expand
  70. Apr 23, 2012
    5
    A potentially great game that, while fun in Custom Matches, becomes tedious and boring in Ranked Play. As someone who came from Company of Heroes, which has many of the same percentage shot and penetration mechanics as WG:EE, I was appalled at the lack of testosterone in Ranked Play. 4/5 of your games, which could be over in 15 minutes, will be drawn out into extended camp fests. Win a battle or two and your opponent will thumb his nose at you by parking his but in a massive forest for the next 30 minutes, requiring you to summon massive amounts of arty to dislodge him (BORING). Expand
  71. Apr 23, 2012
    10
    Loved this game, may be the best RTS I have ever played, like others have stated if you want fast paced matches this may not be the game for you but the detail and options at your disposal for each map is incredible.
  72. Feb 19, 2013
    6
    Thing that ruined the game for me was the online experience. Invested over 50 hours in this game before coming to this conclusion. Online hardly requires tactics or team work. Players simply unit spam or arty spam and camp. No cap on artillery units either. Nearly every game i played was just a mass spam of one unit. Another thing that bothers me is the vast size of the unit tree, half the units are so alike there is no need to add so many different variants. So complicated at times that it would confuse some of the most hardened RTS players. Maybe grab this during a Steam sale.. Collapse
  73. Jul 10, 2012
    9
    WEE is an extremely good, detailed RTS war game that takes place in the 70's in a "what if" conflict between NATO and the Warsaw Pact. The game is very deep with hundreds of individual units from the period. You unlock these units through points you earn in the campaign and in multiplayer matches. You have to think when you advance you forces in WEE as one small mistake can result in half of your units begin destroyed in seconds (just like modern warfare between superpowers should be!). The campaign game is VERY challenging almost to the point that some campaign missions are just too hard. The first few missions aren't too bad but I got stuck about 1/3rd of the way through the campaign. There's no difficulty setting so , if you can't get past one mission, then your campaign is essentially over. I like the challenge and will keep pounding away trying to finish the campaign. Difficulty levels would have been nice. Multi player has you going up against other players around the world. It's easy to find a non ranked pick up game but ranked matches take some patience to find another opponent. Expand
  74. Aug 10, 2012
    10
    I'm going to be short: it's a stunning, amazing game. An RTS on its own, although well comparable to R.U.S.E. and World in Conflict.
    .
    Learning curve tends to be steep, the ensuing multiplayer game is amply rewarding. Considering the rather small player base I'd say Wargame is a real gem.
  75. Sep 1, 2012
    9
    This is not an action oriented RTS game like Starcraft or Command & Conquer. Instead, it focuses more on the strategy elements. It has lots of units (really lots of units) and a deep strategic and tactical focus.
  76. Apr 5, 2013
    10
    One of the best RTS games of the past few years, no doubt about that. Set in a relatively modern era, W:EE offers a plethora of units to choose from, and while the game itself may seem daunting at first, any RTS fan will settle in no time. PROS: - Wide range of units. - Very nice graphics for a game of it's scale. - Strategy is actually needed, an actual surprise for RTS games nowadays.
    - Multiplayer system is good, if you have people to play with.
    - A lengthy campaign and skirmish mode will help you learn the mechanics of the game.

    CONS:
    - A small community, although the game is good, their are few players left, averaging around a few thousand as a peak each day. However, the sequel to the game, Wargame: AirLand Battle is releasing soon, which should attract a bigger fanbase.
    - Although spamming generally doesn't work, it can still happen. It is often easy to combat, but since some of the units are extremely cheap to produce, new players may feel overwhelmed when trying to combat a spam.
    - The multiplayer and skirmish mode requires players to unlock units themselves. While this can be done through completing the campaign, it is a very slow process. Multiplayer is more rewarding regarding unlocks, but again, new players may feel overwhelmed when going against players who have some of the best units in the game.

    Overall, W:EE is a brilliant game. With the upcoming release of AirLand Battle, we can only hope Eugen Systems continues the formula which made this game great.
    Expand
  77. Oct 22, 2013
    8
    It's an awesome game. I had a lot of fun playing it. Amazing graphics, and they did an incredible job with the mechanics. The only reason why I don't give it a 10/10, is because it doesn't have a tutorial and I had to view video-tutorials on youtube. That's 2 points off.
  78. Jan 3, 2013
    5
    Wargame has a base for greatness, but cant really get around some of the flaws in the game, the interface arent that great, the lack of teaming units like eg. in starcraft or almost any other game is really frustrating.
    The developers also seemed to be hooked on missions that is with a time limit in singleplayer, wich for me is a big turnoff. If you expect a game where you can drink your
    coffee, and watch a movie while you play then you will stop playing 1/3 way throug the singleplayer missions. I am glad i bought it on sale, not full prize. Would i buy it again? I am not sure, even on sale. Expand
  79. Dec 28, 2012
    9
    I thought this game was a more realistic tank warefare / army game that takes you through the history of modern warfare. Its very chess like. No its not like starcraft. StarCraft is good too! but for different reasons. Wargame is a more chess style, well thought out strategy game based on realistic terran and unit types.

    buy it if you like starcraft... but keep and open mind that this
    game isn't "build 500 hydra's and attack" type game. P.S SAVE AS OFTEN AS YOU CAN Expand
  80. May 15, 2013
    10
    Tactics and strategy. Calm and rage. NATO and PACT.The game is gorgeous.The downside is Ingame menu. Awkward interface to search for partners. You can not view someone else's stats.You can not create your own maps and modes can not be used.In general, the game play more than 700 hours.
  81. Feb 20, 2013
    4
    A game ruined by terrible mission design and a silly ultrahigh speed rate of play which makes mousing around the map more important than strategy. Terrible unit AI in a game which pretends to be realistic. Units stand in the open getting blasted unless you manually tell them to move. Game speed is absurd. If units moved as depicted, tanks would be doing 200mph. Complex array of units and logistics, with a user interface which would struggle with anything more complex than monopoly. I've tried to like this game, put in hours to master the learning, but the reality is, it's badly flawed. Expand
  82. Mar 13, 2013
    10
    A true RTS game based within the last 30 years. Modern day units have been lacking in all rts games since C&C Generals. Though C&C is coming back they went with a cartoon looking futuristic approach. Leaving Wargame EE to take the place as the only Modern Day RTS game. And wow dos it do a perfect job. This game is not only a modern day RTS but its a Simulation RTS. It's hard to put down and a great online community. Expand
  83. Oct 22, 2013
    8
    Grande gioco, ma veramente difficile!
    Questo non uno strategico per tutti...

    Interfaccia non molto "user friendly", ma per il resto accurato e divertente.
  84. Jun 2, 2013
    7
    It's a very meticulous, detailed game but the difficulty level sucks a lot of the fun out of it. The challenge level is punishing with no way to change to a easier setting. As a result it lacks the appeal of classic FPS games like Company of Heroes and the Command and Conquer franchises.
  85. Feb 19, 2013
    0
    Thing that ruined the game for me was the online experience. Invested over 50 hours in this game before coming to this conclusion. Online hardly requires tactics or team work. Players simply unit spam or arty spam and camp. No cap on artillery units either. Nearly every game i played was just a mass spam of one unit. Another thing that bothers me is the vast size of the unit tree, half the units are so alike there is no need to add so many different variants. So complicated at times that it would confuse some of the most hardened RTS players. Maybe grab this during a Steam sale.. Collapse
Metascore
81

Generally favorable reviews - based on 28 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 23 out of 28
  2. Negative: 0 out of 28
  1. May 20, 2012
    70
    A solid tactical simulation of armored warfare 1975-1985 whose real value is in the multiplayer mode.
  2. May 11, 2012
    84
    Eugen Systems put the "real" back into RTS. The result is spacious, subtle, deeply satisfying tactical gaming. [June 2012, p.84]
  3. 60
    Over-complicated tactical-strategic RPG is way too fast and complicated for the beginner while unsatisfactory for any advanced gamer. [Apr 2012]