Wargame: Red Dragon PC

Wargame: Red Dragon Image
Metascore
78

Generally favorable reviews - based on 19 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 165 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The Wargame series returns to duty, larger, richer and more spectacular than ever before. In Wargame Red Dragon, you are engaged in a large-scale conflict where Western forces clash against the Communist bloc.

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 19
  2. Negative: 1 out of 19
  1. CD-Action
    Jul 23, 2014
    90
    Red Dragon should open the wish list of every gamer who shares the view that RTS games should promote strategic thinking, not fast clicking. [06/2014, p.66]
  2. Apr 28, 2014
    85
    It’s more of the same, but better, which was to be expected, and I have enjoyed playing it a lot.
  3. Apr 25, 2014
    80
    Everything that is important for the Wargame series has been improved or expanded in Red Dragon. The developer has introduced naval battles, but unfortunately this novelty looks quite poor - which is a shame, because it was supposed to be the biggest new feature. Still, the game itself is miles above mediocrity and keeps on providing lots of fun for wannabe generals.
  4. LEVEL (Czech Republic)
    Jun 5, 2014
    80
    New units, a little bit of polish and that’s about it. But it stills works like a charm! [Issue#242]
  5. Apr 28, 2014
    79
    Probably the best Wargame title yet, but with weaknesses regarding innovation and balance.
  6. Apr 30, 2014
    75
    Eugen System again delivers a really good product: a gorgeous-looking simulative strategic game that embodies the cold war perfectly. The only downside is that it doesn't deliver enough new things for what you pay. Avoid it if you're a newcomer.
  7. Apr 23, 2014
    40
    Ships that trip over each other and bumble around islands and pivot in the water and soak up an indeterminate amount of damage and, worst of all, relate poorly to the rest of the game. This is not the naval counterpart to Eugen’s smart implementation of air power. Why couldn’t they come up with a similarly graceful way to head out to sea? Why is Wargame: Red Dragon yet another RTS added to the wet heap of naval systems worth ignoring?

See all 19 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 27 out of 42
  2. Negative: 10 out of 42
  1. Oct 22, 2014
    10
    Red Dragon is my first purchase in the wargame series. The scale, relative realism, camera freedom, level of detail and graphics are amazingRed Dragon is my first purchase in the wargame series. The scale, relative realism, camera freedom, level of detail and graphics are amazing compared to other RTS games. Company of Heroes is the next closest thing but even then units can't hide in the jungle and the zoom is limited. Being able to seamlessly go from the entire map view to zooming in to see infantry crawling through the jungle is awesome .

    Moreover the deck system, logistics system and resource system in WG:RD is superior to the arbitrary and nonsensical resource mining, tech trees, base building and off-map support of run-of-the-mill RTS games. Never have I heard of a military that produces all its equipment on-site by mining resources, it is an absurd premise born because of technological limitations of the time. This basic formula however has little evolved. Wargame however is the next evolutionary step in RTS gaming. In wargame you select units for your army then draw upon this pool of units as reinforcements after choosing a starting lineup. When you run out of a type of unit you can't call anymore for the rest of the battle, like a real army. Vehicles also run out of fuel and ammunition so logistics and supply lines are well simulated compared to other RTS games. Careless players can get stuck without fuel and ammunition behind enemy lines leaving even the most powerful and expensive units useless and easily destroyed. Logistics also heal/repair your units and can be attacked to reduce the opponent's endurance.

    I could say much more about this game but long story short it is a fantastic piece of work and worth purchasing for anyone who's a strat gamer or interested in cold war era military.
    Expand
  2. Apr 26, 2014
    10
    I have never been playing Wargame before but after I Played this,, I was amaze by Its tactical and combat system, the graphics is also good,I have never been playing Wargame before but after I Played this,, I was amaze by Its tactical and combat system, the graphics is also good, and The Missions are also very Challengeable . I totally love this game .

    It is the best one for me :D
    Expand
  3. Apr 17, 2014
    10
    This game is incredible. The graphics have been enhanced immensely and the game looks incredible. The new units and the ships are very fun toThis game is incredible. The graphics have been enhanced immensely and the game looks incredible. The new units and the ships are very fun to play and add a new dimension to the game.

    The old spam tactics from Airland battle are completely gone now due to the many new changes to the units, the mechanics, and the balance.

    The game is even more tactical and the large maps add a whole new strategic dimension to the game.

    The new factions are all unique in their own way and add alot of character to the game.

    The best strategy game without any doubt since both multiplayer and single player are now extremely fun and provide many many hours of gameplay.

    The best RTS on the market!
    Expand
  4. Apr 20, 2014
    9
    Love this game, Love this series, Keep the train roll !!!

    I very like the direction they went, focusing on the campaign - as this makes
    Love this game, Love this series, Keep the train roll !!!

    I very like the direction they went, focusing on the campaign - as this makes battles much more interesting and with some contexts ... cant wait for next iteration .... please please make it Middle east.

    The only Con i currently see & i hope wi;; get better is some performance issues - as game slight choppy at times (i have strong Machine with CrossFire)
    Expand
  5. Jun 9, 2016
    8
    A decent RTS in a modern scenario.

    With more than 1000 different units, you can set up a lot of individual decks to play with. The game is
    A decent RTS in a modern scenario.

    With more than 1000 different units, you can set up a lot of individual decks to play with.
    The game is really fun, if you are into RTS.

    Multiplayer, especially the tactical multiplayer maps with low income are really fun.
    I just wished, there were more maps that people would play with low income...
    Expand
  6. Jun 17, 2016
    5
    Hmm, how to start? Maybe with my prevous experience with RTS games. I played CoH and CoH2, the Stronghold series, AoE2 and a few other ones.Hmm, how to start? Maybe with my prevous experience with RTS games. I played CoH and CoH2, the Stronghold series, AoE2 and a few other ones. And this game is also a RTS. And probalby it's just my preference, but the lack of things liek "building up your base" or atleast beeing able to continue building units really turns me off. And I actually like the actual gameplay: Having to use a logistics unit to hold a specific territory, refuling and repairing and ammunition restocking are good meachanics IMO and I can't begin to tell how much I love the unit set editor, God I wish more games had something like it. But as said before, the lemit of how often you can call in a specific unit per match (why not a limit of how many can be on the field at once?) and the very RNG heavy nature of missiles kinda destroys it for me. Expand
  7. Jun 21, 2014
    0
    I was addicted to this game. Can't control myself. In the end, the game banned me for complaining the units on the forums. That's good becauseI was addicted to this game. Can't control myself. In the end, the game banned me for complaining the units on the forums. That's good because I can finally stop playing.

    If you want to play this game, have good self-discipline or otherwise, you will end up like me. Annoying the forums for better units. What was I thinking? Same as to you when you are mad at the unbalanced units.

    Hope you find this review useful. All in all, the game is outstanding but lethal.
    Expand

See all 42 User Reviews