• Publisher: THQ
  • Release Date: Mar 4, 2008
User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 224 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 25 out of 224
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. MarkK.
    Mar 29, 2008
    10
    Its a great game and worth buying to me the multiplayer is fun to.
  2. Mar 10, 2012
    10
    Still playing this game on-line. Don't understand why i like it so much, i simply like it regardless of the balance and bugs of game.
  3. BradD.
    Oct 17, 2008
    9
    This would have to be the best RTS on the market. The option to select from 9 different races has never been seen before in a RTS. Not only is the attention to detail superb, but game play is seamless, and with the mix of 9 different races keeps you on your toes. I would recommend this game to anyone wanting to purchase a RTS.
  4. Mike
    Nov 30, 2009
    8
    Great game! The single player campain was kinda cool, but you really had to use your imagination, not a whole lot happens. Great new teams and great usual dow gameplay.
  5. PeterD
    Dec 9, 2009
    10
    While not a hugely groundbreaking expansion to the Dawn of War series, you can pick it up cheaply (especially as part of a package deal), it fixes a lot of bugs, balances things out nicely and adds in two more races - which, while not necessary, do add more depth to an already tactically "deep" game. Each race still manages to play differently, the Dark Eldar specialising in early vehicle While not a hugely groundbreaking expansion to the Dawn of War series, you can pick it up cheaply (especially as part of a package deal), it fixes a lot of bugs, balances things out nicely and adds in two more races - which, while not necessary, do add more depth to an already tactically "deep" game. Each race still manages to play differently, the Dark Eldar specialising in early vehicle rushes and mobile troops (in a very different way to the Eldar) and the Sisters of Battle specialising in... Largely inflexible infantry units. Both work surprisingly well, the addition of new maps works wonders, and all together it makes a very nice finale to the series. Dawn of War is probably my favourite RTS of all time because of the balance, the pace and the learning curve, and this does nothing to upset what is already a spectacular game. I would and do recommend this to anybody who hasn't got it, but suggest you look at picking up the earlier editions of the game at the same time (It is an expansion pack after all). Expand
  6. NateG
    May 5, 2009
    10
    I jumped right into the series with Soulstorm, and WOW! Its much different from Warcraft3 and Starcraft, so the learning curve was a bit high. But having such a large variety in races to choose from made it both interesting and fun to play for hours on end.
  7. Stephan
    Nov 2, 2008
    10
    This is an amazing expansion! I got all expansions and the original game and I have to say: that the game is finally nearly perfectly balanced, without too strong necrons and stuff like that. The campaign is great, there were a LOT of multiplayer-maps added. This is a multiplayer game, and one of the best ones! So much action, concentrated action due to the territory system (as in Company This is an amazing expansion! I got all expansions and the original game and I have to say: that the game is finally nearly perfectly balanced, without too strong necrons and stuff like that. The campaign is great, there were a LOT of multiplayer-maps added. This is a multiplayer game, and one of the best ones! So much action, concentrated action due to the territory system (as in Company of Heroes)! It is a must have for a RTS-Fan! Expand
  8. KameronR
    Sep 20, 2009
    10
    Dawn of war is and always will be one of the best games i have played in RTS. Was a nice addition to add flying units. Still this game is better than DoW2....
  9. Jan 14, 2014
    8
    This Game for me gets a 8
    Its based on this game as a stand alone and not comparing it to its previous dark crusade game.
    9 races to play with so u got alot of time to discover and try new tactics. The pros: Number of races, game play The cons: Some people complained about loading times. The game is Buggy so u have to get the 1.2 patch. The AI sucks sometimes, especially your allies
    This Game for me gets a 8
    Its based on this game as a stand alone and not comparing it to its previous dark crusade game.

    9 races to play with so u got alot of time to discover and try new tactics.
    The pros: Number of races, game play
    The cons: Some people complained about loading times. The game is Buggy so u have to get the 1.2 patch. The AI sucks sometimes, especially your allies when you are being eaten alive by the enemy they sit with their relic unit at some point and dont do a thing. Sometimes the games are good. not EPIC. U can only find epic online with good players.

    This review doesnt take into consideration this was a rushed game and disappointed its fans.
    Expand
  10. Sep 24, 2011
    8
    I had a lot of fun with this game, doesn't get old too fast for me which is surprising because there really isn't much diversity in the game, there's only so much you can do each round so that is why the game gets old, not enough customization. It is too close to starcraft (except starcraft actually has a better progressive system for it's units with the technology system, but I also don'tI had a lot of fun with this game, doesn't get old too fast for me which is surprising because there really isn't much diversity in the game, there's only so much you can do each round so that is why the game gets old, not enough customization. It is too close to starcraft (except starcraft actually has a better progressive system for it's units with the technology system, but I also don't like starcraft as much) and I think it should add in elements of the total war RTS system, kind of mix them, and make it one of a kind. Expand
  11. JonathanW.
    Mar 10, 2008
    8
    The base DoW game is a fantastic one, but to have to pay for only 2 more factions, some minor tweaks and a handful of new maps?? I'm not complaining too loudly though because the game is rock solid and still totally enjoyable, despite the cost.
  12. SamT
    Jul 30, 2008
    9
    This game is heaven for all gamers, including strategy, role-playing and action. The graphics are not the best but meet the mark for what is required in a good game. The attention to detail is quite unique, espcially in battles, and the viewing camera's ability to zoom right in to battles makes this game perfect for most gamers.
  13. [Anonymous]
    Mar 10, 2008
    8
    An exciting fast paced game as ever but with some noticeable bugs.
  14. MarcoR.
    Mar 8, 2008
    9
    Splendid RFS gaming! I recommend this game to anybody that loved Starcraft and Warcraft as much as I do!
  15. RupertC.
    Mar 10, 2008
    9
    Pros: Great new unique races, inventive new campaign, new strategies to incorporate flying units, multi player awards, great soundtrack/ voice acting and hardcore combat/ deaths Cons: old engine
  16. JamesS
    Mar 16, 2008
    10
    Great both for Dawn of War fans and fresh players. Great gameplay, interesting and well planned commander upgrades, fortress battles far more challenging than in Dark Crusade. Enemies seem smarter, or at least more effective. Graphics are on a good level, some things seem to have improved. Doesn't look like Crysis but it's far more interesting than that playable benchmark. Too Great both for Dawn of War fans and fresh players. Great gameplay, interesting and well planned commander upgrades, fortress battles far more challenging than in Dark Crusade. Enemies seem smarter, or at least more effective. Graphics are on a good level, some things seem to have improved. Doesn't look like Crysis but it's far more interesting than that playable benchmark. Too bad there are some bugs, but i hope next patch will fix them all. Expand
  17. UnknownCritic
    Mar 16, 2008
    9
    Whilst keeping it's normal Rts gameplay SoulStorm may seem like another expansion. But new races, a new unit, and some new maps, pretells a day of fun for any Rts fan. A new race to battle against will hold some challenging combat, for me I just can't wait to see how the SoB stand up to my mighty Basilisk. =] Also adding a little Dark Eldar as a twist.
  18. blahblah
    Mar 17, 2008
    9
    Awesome balance and much better gameplay than Dark Crusade, but still has a lot of bugs. Patch will solve that hopefully, though.
  19. JoshL.
    Mar 5, 2008
    9
    The two new races are amazing, and the campaign is very engrossing. Excellent gameplay and incredible factions.
  20. CmronB.
    Mar 6, 2008
    10
    Another great expansion.
  21. CalleF.
    Feb 27, 2008
    9
    Wicked game, loved all the others in the series.
  22. Jon
    Mar 15, 2008
    8
    Soulstorm delivers the same sort of blood-and-guts RTS experience that makes its predecessors so engaging. The big draw is the two new factions, both of which are well balanced and convey the gothic darkness appropriate to their tabletop equivalents. The sisters of battle are superficially similar to the space marines, particularly when it comes to teching up, but their reliance on Soulstorm delivers the same sort of blood-and-guts RTS experience that makes its predecessors so engaging. The big draw is the two new factions, both of which are well balanced and convey the gothic darkness appropriate to their tabletop equivalents. The sisters of battle are superficially similar to the space marines, particularly when it comes to teching up, but their reliance on commander units and strategic emphasis on breaking morale give them flavors of imperial guard and chaos marines. As if that weren't enough, they have a building-based vulnerability similar to the orks. The dark eldar emphasize speed and striking power. Toward this end, they have quite a number of vehicles available and can even have infantry squads fire from their transports. The downside is their fragility, which renders them probably the purest glass-cannon army in the game. The campaign mode is a small step above Dark Crusade's. The principles are the same, but splitting the provinces between planets reduces clutter and confusion. The decision to make special planet-level powers faction specific is a good one; it gives each faction's campaign a unique strategic tempo and incentivizes capturing faction strongholds. The trade-off is that we lose out on the special missions to capture those powers that we had in Dark Crusade. The campaign also shares many of the weaknesses of the previous outing's; namely, there's no plot to speak of, lackluster enemy a.i. and a bit of tedium in fighting over and over again on certain maps. Soulstorm feels rushed in a few areas. Foremost, the added air units don't do anything that Starcraft's didn't do ten years ago, and they even do less in some cases. (Pathing is an issue.) There are two game-breaking issues relating to multiplayer for the new factions: an infinite resource trick for the sisters and observers being able to control the dark eldar's soul powers. Add in strangely long loading times and a frustrating squad-cap issue hitting sisters armies from time to time, and there's enough lack of polish to take the shine off the game. For those players looking for more Dawn of War action and more of the tabletop galaxy, Soulstorm does the job; those who want something radically different will be disappointed. Expand
  23. Nitro
    Mar 16, 2008
    8
    It's nice add-on to the real big multiplayer game. But anything like SoB bug just can't happen ... especially with SC2 on it's way ...
  24. Alex
    Mar 22, 2008
    9
    I give this a nine because it really helps bring the computer game closer to the table-top, it also balances out the gameplay more but unfortunately still has bugs, and a severe cse of "no tyranids" for now
  25. MangoP.
    Mar 26, 2008
    10
    Starcraft? What's that? Dawn of War Soulstorm is where the real action is. THIS, by nature, is the definition of what a GAME truly is. This is an exceptional game and it keeps on giving. Its a french kiss from kate beckinsale, in a box full of flaming swords and holy fire. It's the one $40 purchase which you can make that will outlast just about any other game available Starcraft? What's that? Dawn of War Soulstorm is where the real action is. THIS, by nature, is the definition of what a GAME truly is. This is an exceptional game and it keeps on giving. Its a french kiss from kate beckinsale, in a box full of flaming swords and holy fire. It's the one $40 purchase which you can make that will outlast just about any other game available anywhere. Worth buying just to play as the Badass Holy Seraphim Sisters of Battle, but you get 9 races total and more weapons than I could count. This is the judgment of the righteous. Stop reading and Buy this game. Right now. Expand
  26. AdamD
    May 25, 2008
    9
    Since when is "only 2 new races" a negative for an rts? If what 1up says about all the races being like a taco bell menu is true, then I dare you to play online (or on hard mode) as a race your not familiar with. You will be destroyed. Now to wait for Starcraft 2's recycled gameplay to get a 10/10.
  27. Jun 19, 2014
    9
    Play It Now Because IT'S a Kickass Strategy Game And if You Don't You're A Tool Kbye
    -NOOOOOO , wait , PLAY THE DOW 2 - its even better and more fans online!
  28. Nov 18, 2014
    9
    I play the table top version as well, but love these DOW games! Love making a huge Waaaagh! Of Orks. This game lets you fulfill that vision of the Green Tide taking over!
    Graphics appear to be the same, which is good since they looked stunning since the game was first introduced. You still see certain models do super kills and special kills(Bloodthirster I think it is with the giant
    I play the table top version as well, but love these DOW games! Love making a huge Waaaagh! Of Orks. This game lets you fulfill that vision of the Green Tide taking over!
    Graphics appear to be the same, which is good since they looked stunning since the game was first introduced. You still see certain models do super kills and special kills(Bloodthirster I think it is with the giant axe, picking some one up, and smacking them like a baseball)
    Gameplay, totally recycled from Dark Crusade, which is a good thing! If it isn't broken, don't fix it.(Unlike DOW2 which sucks cause you can't build huge armies any more)
    Storyline, as much as there was in DC, which for this style works. It isn't about Group A vs Group B, it is about Group A taking over every thing.

    The only reason I give it a 9/10 and not 10/10 is because... NO TYRANIDS! How do the Sisters get in but not Tyranids?!?!?!?!?! AAAAAA!!!!!

    Anyways, great game if you like RTS games. Better than Starcraft in my opinion because of the more graphic fighting/kills and less crystal mining and more killing!
    Expand
  29. Jun 15, 2014
    10
    This game is more fun than having sex with my pets. aaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaa
  30. Dec 13, 2015
    10
    Best game i have ever played, fantastic multiplayer and campaign game , soo god damn good game at all best strategy game ever i have ever player and this is my favorite game
  31. Mar 24, 2015
    9
    Several years later, it's still one of my most cherished RTS games.
    This is the most complete videogame based on the warhammer 40k setting to date.
    While I would have prefered it to have a campaign similar to Winter Assault, it is nevertheless an exceptional single-player experience.
Metascore
73

Mixed or average reviews - based on 37 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 37
  2. Negative: 0 out of 37
  1. In adding to the weight of maps and playable factions, as a collection, Dawn of War with Soulstorm alongside it sets itself apart from a lot of the more youthful games out there. [Apr 2008, p.66]
  2. Soulstorm, like its predecessors, does a great job of providing an intense, war-torn, battlefield for you to play with. But the most important thing is that the game is great fun, and will surely touch the soul of every RTS geek who's ever dreamt of being a Space Marine.
  3. Despite providing the thrilling and series-established RTS gameplay, Soulstorm seems recycled and worn out. Dawn of War fans or RTS players will feel deja vu when playing this game the first time.