Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 52 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 42 out of 52
  2. Negative: 0 out of 52
  1. Apr 11, 2011
    92
    It's nothing revolutionary as far as Dawn of War II goes, but six excellent campaigns and great gameplay make this a must for both Warhammer 40K and RTS fans.
  2. 90
    An example of an add-on the way it should be, Retribution is even more engaging than the original game. [May 2011, p.97]
  3. Mar 9, 2011
    90
    It may be based on a two-year-old game, but Retribution looks, sounds, and plays brilliantly and is virtually impossible not to recommend.
  4. 90
    Thankfully, all the fundamentals are sound: From the well-designed campaign, to the fast-paced multiplayer, to the graphics, to the sound, this is a solid, well-constructed title that's sure to be worth your money.
  5. Apr 1, 2011
    88
    If you're still playing Dawn of War II, or if you're a fan of the Imperial Guard, Retribution is practically a no-brainer. If you're a fan of Warhammer 40,000 or the real-time strategy genre, now's a great time to get started, since Retribution is a standalone game with access to everything from the first two Dawn of War II games, save for their campaigns. Either way, it's a return for one of real time strategy's great names, and certainly worth your time and dollar if you've got any interest in following more of the story of Subsector Aurelia.
  6. Mar 1, 2011
    88
    Exactly what Dawn of War 2 needed: a generous dose of variety, options, and vicious silliness. play through it at least twice.
  7. Mar 11, 2011
    87
    Mixes up the series' gameplay fundamentals in interesting ways without fouling up what makes it unique, reinvigorating the multiplayer game in process. It's a remarkably ambitious standalone expansion, and at a mere $30, it's a great introduction to those who've yet to take up arms.
  8. Mar 1, 2011
    87
    A new fraction, fresh units, additional multiplayer maps and an extensive single-player campaign with a high replayability factor- to describe Retribution only as a simple extension verges on insult.
User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 213 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 41 out of 55
  2. Negative: 8 out of 55
  1. Mar 1, 2011
    10
    Unlike a RTS such as Starcraft, Dawn of war is better because of it is affordable for it's content ($30 USD and $35-ish in Canadian in storesUnlike a RTS such as Starcraft, Dawn of war is better because of it is affordable for it's content ($30 USD and $35-ish in Canadian in stores I believe). It has a great re-playable campaign with six different races (Imperial Guard, Blood Ravens, Tyranids, Orks, Eldar and Chaos). So far I have only played Imperial Guard and Eldar campaigns and have finished neither in the time I have had to play it. The DLC Last Stand adds a unique twist the multiplayer making you manipulate your individual heroes rather then small armies and using teamwork to achieve victory. The micromanagement of your armies is way more challenging than RTS involving mass-Spam/Suicide *Cough Cough* Starcraft 2. If you're new to the game series you will have to get used to things like Unit facing, the easy to use cover system, and the tech-up system. Another more important thing is the immense strategy involved, if you have a sniper and they have a lot of infantry it willl help you win fights, However if they have armoured vehicles and you do not you are most likely finished. If you are finishing off the series like I am and all three, one of the most notable differences is the generals added into multiplayer game play that and not more windows live (The loss of xbox achievements makes me a bit sad). If you are still reluctant to get it, I think you will be missing out. Relic took a new approach on this game in hopes of picking up first time buyers and I hope more people will be willing to play this great RTS. Note: Please first time buyers do not get this mistaken as a spin of starcraft, The 40K had the concept of space marines way before starcraft was even created. Overall I think this RTS deserves a 10/10 for affordiblity, graphics and gameplay. Full Review »
  2. Oct 8, 2011
    9
    Retribution adds a lot to the already exisiting multiplayer in the form of a new faction, new units and overall improved balance. On the costRetribution adds a lot to the already exisiting multiplayer in the form of a new faction, new units and overall improved balance. On the cost of this, the single player takes a large hit and is reduced from a story driven tale of heroics, down to simple cookie cutter maps with loot, where the story is just down right bad. But, this is okay. The game instead turns the focus to multiplayer (and the developers are currently busy balancing and tweaking further to make the game better), where Starcraft 2 revolves around a lot of macro-management, Retribution takes that entire part away and fully embraces a focus on micro-management, where you use few units to accomplish great tasks. I won't lie, from a difficulty point of view, this game is a lot easier than other RTS' in multiplayer as soon as you get used to it. However, up until then, you will be punished a lot for mistakes. Overall: Great multiplayer game, great soundtrack, good graphics and well made. + the developers are still working to make it better, which is always a plus. Full Review »
  3. Mar 2, 2011
    9
    Excellent game! It is a stand alone, so you do not need the original or chaos rising to play. I haven't tried the multi-player, and I don'tExcellent game! It is a stand alone, so you do not need the original or chaos rising to play. I haven't tried the multi-player, and I don't intend to, so my rating isn't based on any part of that. You get to play the campaign with any of the races, which is excellent. That is one of the things I didn't like about the prior games. There is also a new system for recruiting troops while on the battle field. Similar to playing a single player, non-campaign game. You no longer have to collect war supplies, or health supplies or any of that. All of these items use the squad/hero's energy instead. The supplies in the crates are replaced by requisition and energy, which you use to recruit troops or upgrade heroes. The only thing I really hit it on, is that the campaign is a little short. Not a big deal, as there are five of them, I just sorta wanted to play the Space Marines a little bit longer. Great game! Ignore the 60 over there on Critic reviews. I have no idea what GamePro is thinking. Full Review »