Warhammer 40,000: Dawn of War II PC

  • Publisher: THQ
  • Release Date: Feb 18, 2009
User Score
8.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1453 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. AndrewM
    Jan 10, 2010
    4
    Good quality campaign mode, it was accurate to how space marines would do things, not giant assaults out of nowhere. However, I was appalled at the lack of detail in multiplayer and single player scenarios. All the races were almost exaclty the same as the ones next to it and the playstyle was far from how they are supposed to be played, orks dont use tactics, they rely on numbers as do Good quality campaign mode, it was accurate to how space marines would do things, not giant assaults out of nowhere. However, I was appalled at the lack of detail in multiplayer and single player scenarios. All the races were almost exaclty the same as the ones next to it and the playstyle was far from how they are supposed to be played, orks dont use tactics, they rely on numbers as do tyranids (although they probably use more than orks). Furthermore being forced to get a windows live account to play the game is a huge waste of time if you will almost never use it. Expand
  2. fdfsdadsad
    Mar 5, 2009
    1
    I was completly disapointed by DoW 2. If you loved DoW 1 you will be really disapointed by this second part. First thing, you don't even have a builder, you can't make any buildings, you just train squads to join the battle. Second thing, you can't micro at all, the only thing you can do is make your squad ''fall back'' an auto fast running that brings I was completly disapointed by DoW 2. If you loved DoW 1 you will be really disapointed by this second part. First thing, you don't even have a builder, you can't make any buildings, you just train squads to join the battle. Second thing, you can't micro at all, the only thing you can do is make your squad ''fall back'' an auto fast running that brings your squad back to your only building. Compare this to DoW 1 and its pure crap. The only good thing are the graphics. This game is not worth paying 50$ for, not at all. Expand
  3. Oct 18, 2011
    2
    This was no fun at all. except the missions where you defend against waves. INSANE repetition of maps, you will play the same map at least 3 times with similar objectives. Losing men is meaningless, you just retreat and recharge. EVERY situation can be dealt with the same way, lead the enemy to a bottleneck. The AI is non existent, units simply charge at you, or wait until you get in theirThis was no fun at all. except the missions where you defend against waves. INSANE repetition of maps, you will play the same map at least 3 times with similar objectives. Losing men is meaningless, you just retreat and recharge. EVERY situation can be dealt with the same way, lead the enemy to a bottleneck. The AI is non existent, units simply charge at you, or wait until you get in their viewing range.
    Massive step back in every respect except graphics.
    this is disappointing after the previous DOW games. No buildings just removes an element from the game without adding a thing. Except superior graphics and destructible environments, no advancements and all removals of features.
    Expand
  4. May 10, 2011
    4
    Don't get me wrong, the game has some things I like about it, specifically a unique blend of RPG and RTS, not to mention that it has the name of Warhammer 40,000. But like many of the other people who expressed frustration with this game, I felt like it just barely missed being exceptional with a few short-sighted mistakes (including lackluster AI, early-launch bugs, and unbalanced play).Don't get me wrong, the game has some things I like about it, specifically a unique blend of RPG and RTS, not to mention that it has the name of Warhammer 40,000. But like many of the other people who expressed frustration with this game, I felt like it just barely missed being exceptional with a few short-sighted mistakes (including lackluster AI, early-launch bugs, and unbalanced play). The fatal blow to the game in my mind was the repetition. Did they really launch a game with only a handful of maps (campaign) and then expect you to play each one until you can recreate it in your head down to the very last pixel? This is one of the few times that I've been very disappointed with the professional critics because I think they missed the mark in a major way. I understand that they want to support a company who tries something new (i.e. blend multiple genres), but the game simply doesn't rate as well as the critics claimed (which is evident in the fact that, for once, the professional critics have a higher rating than the users). Expand
  5. Dec 10, 2011
    0
    For completely unknown reasons there are game designers who think you can never have enough generic 'zerg the world' games: And it seems they all worked on DoW2.
    There is no strategy in this game; there are barely any tactics in this game; but if you're a 6 year old moron and can be entertained for hours on the strength of pretty colours and sparkly lights then you'll find plenty in DoW 2
    For completely unknown reasons there are game designers who think you can never have enough generic 'zerg the world' games: And it seems they all worked on DoW2.
    There is no strategy in this game; there are barely any tactics in this game; but if you're a 6 year old moron and can be entertained for hours on the strength of pretty colours and sparkly lights then you'll find plenty in DoW 2 to love.
    A massive step backwards for the franchise and seriously damaging to the entire GW brand.
    Expand
  6. Jun 16, 2012
    2
    Hugely dissapointed, They took away everything that was great about DOW1 and pretty much screwed it up. The battles aren't epic, the lack of base building isn't fun, and the races are all the same and boring. I had really high hopes for this game, I seriously wish I could return this.

    2 for graphics.
  7. Lizard
    Feb 18, 2009
    0
    I nearly bought this game today luckily I noticed just in time that the game is infected with steam crap , oh well at least I saved some money - any single player game that forces you to have an internet connection before you can even play the damn thing can go to hell, I got stung once with HL2, never again.
  8. JeremyJ
    Jan 12, 2010
    0
    Imtro video 10,game 0. It's a crap.The original Warhammer 40,000: Dawn of War is far better.
  9. TrevorCapp
    Apr 5, 2009
    3
    While the game is playable enjoyment is constantly ruined by broken down video display 75% of the time, whoever thought streaming this kind of game in a manor similar to everquest (even saved games have to be loaded from the net) should be castrated. since buying the game I have managed to play 3 small sessions the other times display breaks up to make it all but usless, I will not beWhile the game is playable enjoyment is constantly ruined by broken down video display 75% of the time, whoever thought streaming this kind of game in a manor similar to everquest (even saved games have to be loaded from the net) should be castrated. since buying the game I have managed to play 3 small sessions the other times display breaks up to make it all but usless, I will not be purchasing any other games using Steam hosting as a requirment. Expand
  10. JohnM
    Nov 3, 2009
    1
    Completely unplayable. Unless you have a powerful computer dont bother buying this game. Besides the extremely annoying and frequent hiccups and slowdowns (often resulting in a total system freeze) the multiplayer aspect of this game is a huge nightmare. First of all the lag from someone else's connection also affects your own experience, so 90% of the game result in an agonising Completely unplayable. Unless you have a powerful computer dont bother buying this game. Besides the extremely annoying and frequent hiccups and slowdowns (often resulting in a total system freeze) the multiplayer aspect of this game is a huge nightmare. First of all the lag from someone else's connection also affects your own experience, so 90% of the game result in an agonising slowmotion followed by a, "player has disconnected" message. Then there is the issue of game balance ... There is none at all ! Just pick the flavor of the month unit, spam it and obliterate your oponents. Completely lame and boring. Stay away from this game as if it were an infectuous disease !!!! Expand
  11. SeanB
    Oct 26, 2009
    4
    Cool graphics and the army painter is definitely much more capable of creating various armies, but many player favorite factions were left out which was an extreme dissapointment. Each mission was extremely repetative, and halfway through the game, I felt as though I had already beaten it. The same tactics can be used over and over again, and the only challenge the game brings is keeping Cool graphics and the army painter is definitely much more capable of creating various armies, but many player favorite factions were left out which was an extreme dissapointment. Each mission was extremely repetative, and halfway through the game, I felt as though I had already beaten it. The same tactics can be used over and over again, and the only challenge the game brings is keeping you interested in it. Expand
  12. AZ
    Feb 21, 2009
    4
    bleh, just bleh. HUGE fan of DoW1 & CoH, this is just bleh. Campaign got boring and repetitive fast, multiplayer same thing. Its just not that fun with such small armies that can be killed in seconds if you are not watching them the entire time. Very small amount of maps (7!!!!!) causes most games to be a repeat. I was very disappointed, I was sure this would be my next RTS, but no, seems bleh, just bleh. HUGE fan of DoW1 & CoH, this is just bleh. Campaign got boring and repetitive fast, multiplayer same thing. Its just not that fun with such small armies that can be killed in seconds if you are not watching them the entire time. Very small amount of maps (7!!!!!) causes most games to be a repeat. I was very disappointed, I was sure this would be my next RTS, but no, seems like im going back to CoH. Expand
  13. JasonK
    Feb 23, 2009
    0
    Problems 1. Had to join Stream and Windows Live. 2. No Buildings! What? So RTS with no base building? 3. Where are the multiplayer maps? 6 Maps? no 4v4? or 2v2? 4. Its nothing like DOW I and shame on me for asuming it was a sequal and not checking first before I payed 50 bucks for a game I am so bitterly dissapointed. If I wanted Warhammer 40k Real Time Role Playing Tactical Simulator I Problems 1. Had to join Stream and Windows Live. 2. No Buildings! What? So RTS with no base building? 3. Where are the multiplayer maps? 6 Maps? no 4v4? or 2v2? 4. Its nothing like DOW I and shame on me for asuming it was a sequal and not checking first before I payed 50 bucks for a game I am so bitterly dissapointed. If I wanted Warhammer 40k Real Time Role Playing Tactical Simulator I would have bought that. DOWII was supposed to be RTS. At least I thought it was. Guess Im the sucker. 5. I now have to listen to my 3 freinds who also are disappointed with the game whine constantly about it. I hope to god Starcraft 2 doesnt follow DOWIIs example. If I could return the game I would. But guess what? I can't! Ill think twice before I buy something from THQ again. Expand
  14. EddieS
    Feb 26, 2009
    3
    One word sums up how I feel about this game-disappointed. The first Dawn of War was incredible, and got better with each installment. After waiting so long, after all the hype...I wish I would have waited till this hit the bargain bin at walmart while I continued to play the original in the interim. The campaign was fun, a lot of the features are hard to use and not as effective as the One word sums up how I feel about this game-disappointed. The first Dawn of War was incredible, and got better with each installment. After waiting so long, after all the hype...I wish I would have waited till this hit the bargain bin at walmart while I continued to play the original in the interim. The campaign was fun, a lot of the features are hard to use and not as effective as the simpler ones (there's really no point in having cyrus other than to laugh at him during his holier than thou monologues between missions). All this talk about "you really have to use tactics" is nonsense. the controls are clumsy, and you're tactical options are pretty small. "Well...dropped all my bolter turrets, time to try to clumsily select cover that they'll just leave when i tell 'em to switch targets anyway, or will get blasted by a grenade, then i'll have to make all my boys run back to base to reinforce again." The running back to base or comm array or whatever to reinforce is lame. The only real strategic decisions you'll make are "flamers, bolters, or missile launchers for this one?" When you've got something that works, stick with it, improve it. There's a reason there's such a rabid fan base for the first one. By trying to reinvent the wheel they've really gimped their own franchise. Expand
  15. NathanielL
    Feb 27, 2009
    1
    The unforgiving nature of the single player campaign has been, and continues to be very frustrating. The inability to save has made me angry on more than one occasion. Further I feel the game would benefit if more of it were on an individual's computer, rather than through the internet.
  16. brookehillard
    Mar 19, 2009
    2
    great game upon intial look, but features such as waiting up to 20 min for a ranked match and once you get into a ranked match the teams being no where near equal destroy the game. If you are looking for a good multiplayer RTS wait for star craft this x-mas
  17. RichardSteele
    Apr 6, 2009
    0
    It completely fials in caturing the feel of warhammer 40K. Online multiplayer is a total failure, and skirmish is dull and totally uninteresting. Did I meantion it totally fails to capture the feel of warhammer 40K? It's just a lazy attempt to re-skin their WWII game. 4 man tactical squads? Has anyone at Relic even played 40K? Aparently not.
  18. MikeJones
    Feb 21, 2009
    3
    I don't know how many review sits THQ bought off but this game is a dumbed down console game. You also need to have Steam AND Games for Windoes Live installed and both running for the game to play.

    DRM gone wild..

    Steer clear the game is a bad version of Warcraft 3
  19. MaxSmith
    Feb 21, 2009
    3
    First off you have to install and have Steam and GFWL running in the background even to play this game at all single or multiplayer. DRM gone overboard.

    The game itself has been simplified from RTS to just plain boring garbage squad based boredom. Loot drops, RPG elements, boss fights and oh my Heros. Dawn of loot drops by races that don't even use that loot. Its silly really,
    First off you have to install and have Steam and GFWL running in the background even to play this game at all single or multiplayer. DRM gone overboard.

    The game itself has been simplified from RTS to just plain boring garbage squad based boredom. Loot drops, RPG elements, boss fights and oh my Heros. Dawn of loot drops by races that don't even use that loot. Its silly really, insted of building cool bases you just get unlimited units by moving them close to a "beacon" then they pop out of nowhere..MEh just don't buy it trust me.

    The DRM is the worst part of this mess
    Expand
  20. SteveM.
    Feb 21, 2009
    1
    This game may look like dawn of war or a rts game. The reviewers may also made it seem so. But who are you kidding? This a joke of a game.
  21. AleksK
    Mar 6, 2009
    0
    This game is full piece of shit.No building , campaign on can be done as Space Marines , also campaign is bull**** , because you will need to play a lot of maps again , again , again , again , again , again...And this game costs 50 buck , huhh , this should be free like Battlefield Heroes
  22. TimD
    Apr 5, 2009
    0
    I agree with Jim P. If it played I might even be able to score it. Contact about a non playing game with THQ has been fruitless. Yes I have the latest drivers, and yes it would have been nice if I could have read the fine print about Steam on the back of the box but I had forgotten my magnifying glass (not joking). What a Huge Waste.
  23. Feb 3, 2011
    0
    I've seen PopCap browser games with more depth than Dawn of War 2. Not Strategic thinking needed here - this is pure point-and-shoot action with the added "Spice" if hitting your special abilities whenever the cooldown is up. Moving your units is not smooth, either, given that they attempt to stick to cover regardless of where you want them to go. Boring, insipid, and an insult to fans ofI've seen PopCap browser games with more depth than Dawn of War 2. Not Strategic thinking needed here - this is pure point-and-shoot action with the added "Spice" if hitting your special abilities whenever the cooldown is up. Moving your units is not smooth, either, given that they attempt to stick to cover regardless of where you want them to go. Boring, insipid, and an insult to fans of the original who opened their wallets for three expansions while waiting on this game. Collapse
  24. Feb 24, 2011
    1
    I know I'm a little late coming, but I had to add my two cents. This game ruined the DoW franchise for me. The fact that I *HAVE* to be connected to steam(resource hog) and Microcrap live angers me. I'm a die hard skirmish map player, and the skirmish maps in this game are impossible. The population cap is ridiculous, leaving the player with too few troops to defend the strategic points.I know I'm a little late coming, but I had to add my two cents. This game ruined the DoW franchise for me. The fact that I *HAVE* to be connected to steam(resource hog) and Microcrap live angers me. I'm a die hard skirmish map player, and the skirmish maps in this game are impossible. The population cap is ridiculous, leaving the player with too few troops to defend the strategic points. The bases are TOO heavily armored and take years to destroy. Even in the Retribution Beta it took 4 leman russ tanks, 1 manticore, and 1 baneblade nearly 15 minutes to destroy the base. The campaign mode is..just anti-climatic, there's little or no strategy involved. What is the point of gathering up all this war gear if you just lose it at the end of the game? Why not have it unlock the gear for skirmishes? Of course that would require the skirmishes to actually be playable.
    I don't know HOW this game scored so highly, it's the worst version of the DoW franchise to date. I'll stick with Dark Crusade thanks. At least till they fix this pathetic game.
    About the only good thing I can say about this game is the graphics are decent..when they aren't too busy bogging down the computer.

    This is not RTS. It does not 're-define' the RTS genre because it's not RTS. It may as well be turn-based. I think the only other time I've been SO disappointed in a game sequel was the pathetic excuse for a sequel to Deus Ex. Now THERE was a genre-bending, innovative game. But, like this game, the sequel was a pale shade of the original game. Don't pay more than $10 for anything involved with this game. It's worth ten bucks. Maybe...
    Expand
  25. Jul 9, 2011
    1
    I believe Warhammer is a game loved by people who play the fantasy version. Though the graphics are simply awesome, the game leaves a lot to be desired from the strategy side of things. Folks, strategy implies that there are choices you can make that change the way the game unfolds--there is no such thing here. This game is boring after the video "awesomeness" wears out (and thatI believe Warhammer is a game loved by people who play the fantasy version. Though the graphics are simply awesome, the game leaves a lot to be desired from the strategy side of things. Folks, strategy implies that there are choices you can make that change the way the game unfolds--there is no such thing here. This game is boring after the video "awesomeness" wears out (and that doesn't take long). Expand
  26. Jul 13, 2011
    3
    I was a big fan of the original Dawn of War, so I was pretty excited when Dawn of War 2 came out. This game is probably the most disappointing sequel I have ever purchased! I understand them tweaking the gameplay a little, the first game just had large armies colliding into each other on the battlefield, which isn't very realistic or tactical. BUT I was rarely ever bored with the firstI was a big fan of the original Dawn of War, so I was pretty excited when Dawn of War 2 came out. This game is probably the most disappointing sequel I have ever purchased! I understand them tweaking the gameplay a little, the first game just had large armies colliding into each other on the battlefield, which isn't very realistic or tactical. BUT I was rarely ever bored with the first game, unlike it's sequel which I often found myself only mildly amused. Units don't feel powerful anymore, especially the commander units (except for vehicles), and everything just seems tame compared to the first game. Expand
  27. Jul 17, 2011
    2
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. 10â Expand
  28. Dec 18, 2011
    0
    I played half of this poorly produced RTS and had so many issues with it, I decided to uninstall it 50 hours in. I normally beat games, but this travesty was so horribly produced it had almost no RTS value at all. Strategy is non-existent in this 'real time' piece of junk. I'd just like to iterate that i've never played a game with such a horrible saving system, unrealistic fightingI played half of this poorly produced RTS and had so many issues with it, I decided to uninstall it 50 hours in. I normally beat games, but this travesty was so horribly produced it had almost no RTS value at all. Strategy is non-existent in this 'real time' piece of junk. I'd just like to iterate that i've never played a game with such a horrible saving system, unrealistic fighting scenarios, or horrible jerky controls (That you CANNOT reprogram, by the way). Slamming the escape button does nothing, and hitting ctrl alt del will do nothing but save the game. I uninstalled this after trying to give it a shot, but it was just so horribly made I couldn't continue any further. Real Warhammer doesn't consist of 4 heroes and 4 squad-mates taking on entire battalions of Orks. This is a flaming pile of **** Pirate it if you truly want to play it. Expand
  29. Nov 12, 2011
    4
    After playing this game for an hour, i thought to myself, 'why don't I like it?'
    Even though the physics and graphics on this game are good, the multiplayer is awful, the game shouldn't even be a Dawn of war. Compare this to DOW Soulstorm and you'll see a massive difference in gameplay (and graphics).
    If you are a fan of the 40k universe, then play this.
    If your knew to it, buy the previous games
  30. Dec 28, 2011
    4
    I was severely underwhelmed and disappointed by this game. Whereas DoW was a true RTS, DoW2 was pushed more in the direction of a hybrid of RTS and ARPG. The single player campaign was very disappointing as you control four of six marine squads going through the same exact handful of maps with the only difference being the loot you pickup and the boss at the end. A complete lack ofI was severely underwhelmed and disappointed by this game. Whereas DoW was a true RTS, DoW2 was pushed more in the direction of a hybrid of RTS and ARPG. The single player campaign was very disappointing as you control four of six marine squads going through the same exact handful of maps with the only difference being the loot you pickup and the boss at the end. A complete lack of creativity in mission structure and goals. You're either going through the map destroying everything or defending your position against several waves of enemies. It quickly becomes stale, boring, and repetitive with the only reason to continue on being what new abilities your squads get and new gear they come across.

    Mulitiplayer isn't bad, but nothing to write home about either. Last Stand is the most popular mode where you control a single hero unit and go up against increasing waves of enemies and try to last as long as possible.
    Expand
  31. May 30, 2013
    1
    Big disappointment after Warhammmer 40k dawn of war Why remove base building just why... Played the game for 4-6 hours and got bored if you want a good RTS just buy dawn of war 1
  32. MattH
    Mar 22, 2009
    4
    A very good game if it were a prelude to Dawn of War [1]. Unfortunately the repetitive nature of singleplayer grinds you down the second play through. Multiplayer is good for 2-3 games but then becomes very predictable and boring. Very few unit choices, very little strategy involved, direful selection of maps (only 7 maps supplied), unit pathing is very poor, cover system and your A very good game if it were a prelude to Dawn of War [1]. Unfortunately the repetitive nature of singleplayer grinds you down the second play through. Multiplayer is good for 2-3 games but then becomes very predictable and boring. Very few unit choices, very little strategy involved, direful selection of maps (only 7 maps supplied), unit pathing is very poor, cover system and your unit's overriding AI spoils micromanagement. Expand
  33. OttoLo
    Apr 15, 2009
    3
    I spent hours and hours playing DOW1. I was looking forward to this seguel but when I after the first minute playing it...I was horrified. Skirmish sucks...You are not allowed to really build anything, which makes it more easier. And capturing the strategic points ain't fun. The story mode was ok, but I didn't like that they give you so many "heroes" to play. I'd prefer one I spent hours and hours playing DOW1. I was looking forward to this seguel but when I after the first minute playing it...I was horrified. Skirmish sucks...You are not allowed to really build anything, which makes it more easier. And capturing the strategic points ain't fun. The story mode was ok, but I didn't like that they give you so many "heroes" to play. I'd prefer one stronger hero and lots of weaker soldiers. And your only tactic in the game is that you make your way using covers. That is not really tactic. It's all just the same. "Forward, cover, kill. Forward, cover, kill." Of course there is chance of going multiple ways in the map, but it cannot cover all the mistakes. At least skirmish's unit types were acceptable. Graphics are over hyped. From long distance, they look mediocre, but from close they are ugly as dog's ass. Relic really f*cked up with this. No real strategy, mediocre graphics, voice acting from hell and on the top of a cake, NOT REAL SEGUEL, ONLY PILE OF SH*T COSTING 50$. F you Relic, you dissapointed me. Expand
  34. ChristemoA
    May 10, 2009
    0
    this game sucks balls compared to Dark Crusade and Soulstorm. Relic have taken their best franchise and killed it. there nothing to this game. its extremely bad and nothing else. if they had made this game properly, like the 3rd and 4th game, it would be 50
  35. WillL
    May 22, 2009
    2
    Just no, I waited for so long to upgrade my pc to play this game and all that relic have done is created a pc rts that looks and handles like a damn console rts. I know they told us that base building was going to be gone but unti l played the game i didnt realise quite how bad this would be, waiting to gather up enough resources to buy stuff in multiplayer takes far to long, then once Just no, I waited for so long to upgrade my pc to play this game and all that relic have done is created a pc rts that looks and handles like a damn console rts. I know they told us that base building was going to be gone but unti l played the game i didnt realise quite how bad this would be, waiting to gather up enough resources to buy stuff in multiplayer takes far to long, then once you've built your 3 or 4 squads you have a lot of 'fun' slowly moving them towards critical locations where chances are they will either all get killed by weapon emplacements or suffer a couple of losses so your forced to fall back and lose all your progress. Where is the fun in this! Couple this with matchmaking that takes longer than halo 3 and a ranked system that seems to delight in placing low level players against high level players and we I'm left wondering what the hell I just wasted my money on, Campaign is all that even makes it worth a 2 in my books as the storyline is good and once you've leveled up enough commanding is moderately fun untill you play on insane difficulty which somehow makes your supposed superhuman soldiers completely pathetic when facing anything larger than a tyranid gaunt. Oh and boss fights suck. Expand
  36. FrisodeJ
    Jun 1, 2009
    1
    This game is 1 gigantic anticlimax... No basebuilding, well okay. But not like this. It's like joining and waiting, waiting, waiting and when something seems to be happening it turns out to be stupid. I played it for 2 days begging it was just a slow beginning, but still, nothing... Good things: Great graphics and a good story, but nothing more than that. Overall: VERY bad...
  37. JasonD
    Jun 5, 2009
    1
    i have played all of the games and was so looking forward to this one, the graphics are great and the story is brilliant but its nothing like the other games, no base building is a big mistake and game play is so slow. I have given it 4 weeks of trying to get into this game but have now given up and gone back to the originals. Shame as it was full of so much promise :(
  38. Habuki
    Dec 30, 2009
    0
    CD keys provided from manufacturer don't even work on live. Some kinda voodoo trick to get the game to work. So far, looks nice as a huge screensaver. No product support from relic, steam, microsoft, or THQ. Their suggested fix "buy another game"
  39. MatthewC.
    Feb 21, 2009
    4
    too many of the great things from the original DOW have been removed that made this series a good name. It is no longer a RTS but a tactics game like full spectrum warrior. Original games fans will hate this.
  40. AndrewP
    Feb 22, 2009
    4
    More like Dawn of War light than version 2. Only one style of play (attack). Seems focussed on short on-line multiplayer battles. The single player campaign isn't an RTS, more a half-hearted RPG. Without base building, and a poor selection of skirmish game options, this isn't the sequel I was hoping for. And why do I need to log into live to play offline? Why?
  41. JoelJ
    Feb 25, 2009
    4
    Was massively disappointed by this game. I had such high hopes for the sequel to one of my favourite games every. Simply put it's boring, the gameplay is slow, repetitive and small scale. The battles need to be scaled up to at least 4 times the size, there are major balance issues and building needs to be re-introduced. We wanted a sequel to a massive RTS classic, and we got a cheap Was massively disappointed by this game. I had such high hopes for the sequel to one of my favourite games every. Simply put it's boring, the gameplay is slow, repetitive and small scale. The battles need to be scaled up to at least 4 times the size, there are major balance issues and building needs to be re-introduced. We wanted a sequel to a massive RTS classic, and we got a cheap Company of Heroes knock-off. Not happy! Expand
  42. Andrewk
    Feb 26, 2009
    4
    Even though I am a hard-core warhammer 40k fan, I cannot, in good conscience, recommend this to any warhammer 40k lovers. It does not quite measure up to the last Dawn of War game. I do appreciate how they tried to make their game different from other RTS's by removing basebuilding to focus more on fighting but i still hate it. in short: dont get it.
  43. [Anonymous]
    Mar 15, 2009
    0
    Storyline is on par with others but way to short,(completed in less then 10hours. no option to play other races stuck with marines.Big - As basicly cut out on playing the campain again. Multiplayer as gottenrid of the fun aspects of the game for me no base or building stuff no planning. Fun with another race added but why get rid of those allready presented! another big- Woulndt call it Storyline is on par with others but way to short,(completed in less then 10hours. no option to play other races stuck with marines.Big - As basicly cut out on playing the campain again. Multiplayer as gottenrid of the fun aspects of the game for me no base or building stuff no planning. Fun with another race added but why get rid of those allready presented! another big- Woulndt call it realtime strategy anymore as its basicly a race to nodes and to lvl 3 base..then Zerg. where is the fun that has been in the other games. sure there are some fun scrims on the wayto it but nothing even close to enough. from what i can understand they wanted a fast game that doesnt take long. Expand
  44. timo
    Mar 23, 2009
    4
    After some time playing this game, the issues are so glaring i can't really give it any more effort. glaring glaring bugs, bad pathing, problematic maps, Lack of maps, steam AND gfwl combined, cheating/exploiting ruining the ladder. yah the grafix are pretty and stuff, but there are so many problems, wait at least 6 months if you plan to buy it. it should be in the bargain bin, and After some time playing this game, the issues are so glaring i can't really give it any more effort. glaring glaring bugs, bad pathing, problematic maps, Lack of maps, steam AND gfwl combined, cheating/exploiting ruining the ladder. yah the grafix are pretty and stuff, but there are so many problems, wait at least 6 months if you plan to buy it. it should be in the bargain bin, and hopefully reric will have fixed some of the 10000000 bugs by then. but as with most of relics history, their probably already working on the expansion, bugfixes be dammed. Expand
  45. MikeM
    Mar 3, 2009
    2
    Campaign was the first thing I tried, and I loved it... untill I learned that you can only play as the Space Marines. Then after struggling through the limited menu, I finally found something that looked like a skirmish mode... I almost cried when I couldn't locate my builder unit. No Tau, no Imperial guard? $50 down the drain.
  46. AndreasA
    Mar 6, 2009
    1
    Another game I would have bought. But as I dont agree with all this DRM-crap, I won't. And what is the sense of all the DRM an copy protection? There are allready pirated copies. And: installing the legal bought version needs a steam-account, a windows-live-account and you have to be online. cracked version does not need that. -> disadvantages for customers... THQ -> FAILED! I Another game I would have bought. But as I dont agree with all this DRM-crap, I won't. And what is the sense of all the DRM an copy protection? There are allready pirated copies. And: installing the legal bought version needs a steam-account, a windows-live-account and you have to be online. cracked version does not need that. -> disadvantages for customers... THQ -> FAILED! I won't use thm either, but it shows, that all this drm-crap is only to prevent the people from selling the game again. Expand
  47. MatthewT
    Mar 9, 2009
    0
    Cannot get this to run after 3 days. Between Steam, Games for Windows Live, THQ, Relic all trying to go through some arcane system to get this to start up, it simply won't work on my computer which exceeds all the minimum specifications. Technical support for the game if it doesn't run is less that zero consisting of misinformation and pointing to the other parties. Be aware Cannot get this to run after 3 days. Between Steam, Games for Windows Live, THQ, Relic all trying to go through some arcane system to get this to start up, it simply won't work on my computer which exceeds all the minimum specifications. Technical support for the game if it doesn't run is less that zero consisting of misinformation and pointing to the other parties. Be aware this is a way to just lose $50. Expand
  48. PaoloT
    Apr 12, 2009
    3
    i hate this stupid game, the first DoW is my favourite RTS ever (after Starcraft): this sequel is horrible, slow, with 5 types of unit...the graphic isn't so cool, too...give me the real sequel!!
  49. SamB
    Apr 6, 2009
    1
    This Game Is Terrible. Only good thing is addition of Tyranids (which doesn't even matter in the long run because the game play has been shot point blank in the head) and Improved Graphics. I was hoping to buy this game and have it be somewhat similar to DoW1, yet i was greatly disappointed. The only similar thing is the fact that its in the Warhammer Universe. Took me to long to get This Game Is Terrible. Only good thing is addition of Tyranids (which doesn't even matter in the long run because the game play has been shot point blank in the head) and Improved Graphics. I was hoping to buy this game and have it be somewhat similar to DoW1, yet i was greatly disappointed. The only similar thing is the fact that its in the Warhammer Universe. Took me to long to get everything up and ready, I got bored with the lame campaign in less than 2 missions, and multiplayer was a letdown having few maps, boring battles, and not being everything hoped it would be. Please save yourself $50 and don't buy this game, but by now you've probably already bought it so i feel sorry for you. Expand
  50. NopeDenied
    Apr 9, 2009
    2
    Would be a decent game, except its horribly unbalanced, crashes all the time, and if one person in a game has a 486 everyone gets to lag along with them (great design). You also have to be connected to both steam and ms live to play, so if either is down you can't. No patches for a month after release, relic clearly doesn't give a shit about this game. I would highly suggest not Would be a decent game, except its horribly unbalanced, crashes all the time, and if one person in a game has a 486 everyone gets to lag along with them (great design). You also have to be connected to both steam and ms live to play, so if either is down you can't. No patches for a month after release, relic clearly doesn't give a shit about this game. I would highly suggest not going near it. Expand
  51. alantrowbridge
    Sep 12, 2009
    0
    wow i waisted my money. The game requires you to sign up for too many things for starters. As well, one of those programs you have to have running keeps a popup with your cd key right over top of unit and unit information. If your looking for what you saw in the original dawn of wars, quick fun, lots of choices in races for campains, and the such, do not buy this game. As well, youwow i waisted my money. The game requires you to sign up for too many things for starters. As well, one of those programs you have to have running keeps a popup with your cd key right over top of unit and unit information. If your looking for what you saw in the original dawn of wars, quick fun, lots of choices in races for campains, and the such, do not buy this game. As well, you have to be logged in while playing it. no more offline campaining. The campain part of this game really is disapointing, and im very pissed by it. Expand
  52. RupertL
    Nov 21, 2009
    2
    Good Graphics, useless game play. Seemed like a last minute effort to copy the CoH squad system, which failed miserably. Particularly annoying since the first was so good.
  53. BrianN
    Nov 29, 2009
    2
    While the game seems awsome in its look and delivers in content, it has so many bugs and crashes that its not really worth buying because you cant really play it without constant crash interruptions.
  54. SteveD
    Feb 19, 2009
    4
    Very pretty, but this is not the Dawn of War franchise I've come to love. Seems to require a powerhouse of a computer to run it even on low settings. Maps seem pretty simple, and the single base building you get is practically indestructable. You're also able to produce a very limited amount of units on the map at one time. It doesn't feel so much like "War", as it does Very pretty, but this is not the Dawn of War franchise I've come to love. Seems to require a powerhouse of a computer to run it even on low settings. Maps seem pretty simple, and the single base building you get is practically indestructable. You're also able to produce a very limited amount of units on the map at one time. It doesn't feel so much like "War", as it does "Small Engagement". Expand
  55. davem.
    Feb 21, 2009
    2
    bland sever lack of complexity. It seems like chasing after resource points with limited skrimishes. No epic battle not enough units to secure the field. takes out all the good parts of an RTS and RPG to mix as an uninteresting game.
  56. PB
    Mar 22, 2009
    3
    I'm really disappointed with this game. I was expecting it to be more along the lines of the previous DoW games but more polished. Aside from the improved graphics and having to use cover Relic to a HUGE step back. The squads are smaller, having to build a base to crank out units is completely gone (I found to be one of the great things about all the previous games), the tech tree I'm really disappointed with this game. I was expecting it to be more along the lines of the previous DoW games but more polished. Aside from the improved graphics and having to use cover Relic to a HUGE step back. The squads are smaller, having to build a base to crank out units is completely gone (I found to be one of the great things about all the previous games), the tech tree really limits the player on what he or she can do, with one building and a few units to crank out - it's really not fun. Forget trying to defend points you captured with gun emplacements you now have to leave units scattered around the map or you have to run back and forth trying protect your interests, the population cap is another thing that needs to be looked at. Just - overall disappointing, if I could I would take the game back and ask for a refund. Don't buy it. It's nothing like CoH or any previous DoW. It seems the developers focused more on short movie clips in the game and tried to make the units look more realistic - all at the cost of gameplay. Expand
  57. DavidP
    Mar 24, 2009
    0
    No, Relic , what have you done ?

    Alot of people, including my roomates bought DoW2 thinking it was a continuation of DoW 1 gameplay with updated graphic and story, improved hero and CoH supply line style. But NO you tryed and reinvented the wheel by throwing the DoW concept ou of the window and begin an all new concept....again, our only hope now is a DoW:DC MOD in DoW 2
    No, Relic , what have you done ?

    Alot of people, including my roomates bought DoW2 thinking it was a continuation of DoW 1 gameplay with updated graphic and story, improved hero and CoH supply line style. But NO you tryed and reinvented the wheel by throwing the DoW concept ou of the window and begin an all new concept....again, our only hope now is a DoW:DC MOD in DoW 2 engine......I'm a really dissapointed.
    Expand
  58. Dariune
    May 14, 2009
    3
    This is a dreadful return of a very well made game. Take a mix of DOW and COH and strip them both down to their bare bones. Add absolutely nothing and sell it for full price, calling the dumbed down game with less content DOW2. Save your pennies people, this game is a chore not entertainment.
  59. MatthewC
    May 15, 2009
    0
    This game is horrendous. The whole idea of the game is to copy Warhammer: Mark of Chaos, and slap "Dawn of War" on the title. They make it as little fun as Warhammer: Mark of Chaos was! They make you throw out the skills from DoW 1, and then they vomit on the coding and sell it. Do NOT buy under ANY circumstances.
  60. thedrizzle
    Nov 11, 2009
    3
    Online play is pathetic- matchups include obvious laggers and cheaters when all they have to do is filter by ping- but you will consistently get people that lag like hell - sometimes an entire team of laggers- the people that programmed this are morons- its so simple to calculate whether a game will lag before it starts.. but they don't bother to let you filter by ping.
  61. PratoeM
    Dec 11, 2009
    4
    Horrible multiplayer quality- the stupid thing continually puts you together with people that lag so bad it's ridiculous and who can't play worth a CRAP. Whoever programmed the multiplayer should be SHOT DEAD. It's so pathetic I feel like punching a wall and then killing large numbers of black people.
  62. Kilchain616
    Dec 21, 2009
    2
    Wtf is wrong with relic?i tried to like this game but i'm very fed up with a number of issues, mainly the lag and multiplayer auto match.no matter what setting i had i was getting lag and stuck with players with ts 1 (like a dumbass i played this pile of shit til i got to ts 55) the screwed the tyranids so hard that i couldnt win a single match after the so called balancing update.i Wtf is wrong with relic?i tried to like this game but i'm very fed up with a number of issues, mainly the lag and multiplayer auto match.no matter what setting i had i was getting lag and stuck with players with ts 1 (like a dumbass i played this pile of shit til i got to ts 55) the screwed the tyranids so hard that i couldnt win a single match after the so called balancing update.i guarantee if you were to go online now ppl are playing last stand and not the multiplayer side.the game has army preferences like sm over all the others and then the eldar come and blast everything and dont get me started on the warlock.i preferred the game play of soulstorm and dark crusade over this joke.Pratoe M instead of punching a wall and killing large numbers of black ppl you should punch the white designers of this game and knock off their staff.until they fix this crap they can keep it. a big fuck you to relic. Expand
  63. Feb 3, 2013
    3
    I loved the first game in the series, the base building, while less than most other RTS games, was still solid, and balanced with the game play. It was, it's own game. I LOVED it.

    Then this game came out. Absolutely HATED it, they took everything I loved from 40k, and just threw it right out the window. Lets take out all the base building, most of the vehicles, and EVERY single
    I loved the first game in the series, the base building, while less than most other RTS games, was still solid, and balanced with the game play. It was, it's own game. I LOVED it.

    Then this game came out. Absolutely HATED it, they took everything I loved from 40k, and just threw it right out the window. Lets take out all the base building, most of the vehicles, and EVERY single element that could even be close to macro-managing in favor of uselessly elongated matches.

    And the campaign...they decided they'd make a bunch of 1v1 maps, then just port them all into the campaign. Want interesting match-ups? Too bad. Wanted to do a space marine rush/push? Too bad, because you have to work with 4 squads of 3, which entails sitting around for a long time waiting for them to kill massive spam of enemies.

    Worst RTS I've ever played, by far.
    Expand
  64. Nov 18, 2013
    1
    Absolute and utter crap. It seems like fun the first couple of missions, and a steady stream of gear and loot. However suddenly it turn into an absolute crapfest. You think you've got better and better gear, however for some reason the enemy gets just 10x faster upgrades or something. At midgame, my entire team got entirely wiped out from a single attack by a boss. It makes you angryAbsolute and utter crap. It seems like fun the first couple of missions, and a steady stream of gear and loot. However suddenly it turn into an absolute crapfest. You think you've got better and better gear, however for some reason the enemy gets just 10x faster upgrades or something. At midgame, my entire team got entirely wiped out from a single attack by a boss. It makes you angry because it's no strategy or tactics involved whatsoever. Feels like a cheap and crappy android pay-to-win game. As a former Warhammer player, I am sad to say this game has wasted 5-6 hours of my life. Do not buy. Expand
  65. Apr 6, 2015
    3
    I will start with this; I was disappointed. I have played the Dawn of War series since the first part. For those who have played the first part, think about what you had to do. You had to build a base, manage resources, and place defenses to protect you from the enemy. Dawn of War 2 takes that, and throws it out the window. In the multiplayer mode (I'll get onto the rest later), all youI will start with this; I was disappointed. I have played the Dawn of War series since the first part. For those who have played the first part, think about what you had to do. You had to build a base, manage resources, and place defenses to protect you from the enemy. Dawn of War 2 takes that, and throws it out the window. In the multiplayer mode (I'll get onto the rest later), all you have is one building and two turrets. All the units are available in this one building, and there is only one unit that can place turrets. The strategic points, crit points and slag deposits are gone, and in their places are power and requisition resource points. I understand that some people will say that it focuses more on the tactics, but in the 1st game you had to plan out not only where to go but how to manage your resources. The games that I've played, both with bots and other players, were horrendously short compared to the first. None of that artillery and heavy vehicles also, apart from two or three tanks. I also have to point out the absurdness of the DLC's. The Chaos Space Marines (!) are locked off, and instead we get a Zerg-like alien race. I judge the game by what the base game is, and not by what the DLC's add in. What is even more annoying is that the game even allows you to play against them, the game shows you the race, waves it in front of your face, then snatches it away and asks for another 10 Euros. At least in the first game the races just did not show up if you didn't own them. In conclusion, the multiplayer mode is an offense to the first game. If you want the multiplayer, get Dawn of War 1 with the Dark Crusade DLC. It will be cheaper and more fun than the Second game with the Dark Crusade DLC (I heard that the Retribution is actually decent)
    Moving on to the single-player. The story follows a newly-appointed Force Commander of the space marines - whose name we choose - and his squad. I won't say any more to avoid spoilers. The story is very good. I really like that the squad leaders have names: Tarkus - the leader of the tactical marines, Cyrus, the leader of the Scouts, and more. The voice acting is good and the different teams have lots of diversity. One thing that has been mucked up in the story is the acquiring of Wargear (I'm not even going to mention the tons of Wargear DLC). Wargear is... wait for it... dropped! The whole sense of achievement and customization is gone and replaced with crates that drop the wargear. The rest, though is fairly good.
    Now we come on to the Last Stand mode (By the way, there's a DLC that allows you to play the Last Stand mode! What's the difference? You don't have to open Dawn of War 2! Let me ask you. Is this worth 7 Euros?), and while the mode is fun. It is quite repetitive and unless you want to pay 10 Euros for the Chaos rising DLC, this time two races are locked off! By this rate in the next dawn of war you will have to buy a DLC to play as the Space Marines. This time we are deprived of the Tyranids - the alien race, which would be very useful for this mode. Basically we are thrown into an arena with two other players and we have to survive as long as we can (sound familiar?)In this mode, the random wargear drops make more sense, but what's the point if you can just buy the DLC and get it right away?
    And here I come to the biggest problem with the game. The DLC's. There are 22 of them! Literally, I checked on Steam. This includes: the last standalone- The Last Stand in a Standalone client version(7 Euros). Wagear Packs (7 packs 1 euro a piece) The Ultramarines pack - a replacer for the marines (7 Euros). Keep in mind that all the above mentioned are DLC's that only work if you get retribution.(15 Euros). There are DLC's for DLC's in this game! But I'm not done. There are also Wargears for Last Standlaone, and skin pack that cost 7 Euros. The Grand Master Edition of this game( All DLC's) costs 58 euros! For around that cost that cost you could get the first game with the Dark Crusade addon for you and two friends (It would cost approx 60 Euros). The amount of DLC's is shocking. This puts Call of Duty to shame.
    If you value your money, wait for a sale. Alternatively, get the First game, buy the Dark Crusade DLC and install a graphics mod. It's cheaper. I have to give credit to the voice actors and to the team behind the graphics. As to the rest, a poor effort. For a few steps forward and many leaps back, I give this game a 3 out of 10.
    Expand
  66. Sep 21, 2014
    4
    dumbed down version of the originals and the expansions are poor as well hopefully dawn of war 3 will go back to its roots..........................................................
  67. Jan 18, 2015
    0
    Very bad game, I do not recommend. My score is 0, sorry only that he can not below 0, the game is boring as all the strategies, the only thing that coh 2 game worse than this
  68. Aug 31, 2015
    4
    I tried so hard to like this game but I just can't get over how simplistic it is, even on harder difficulties. Any unit works against any enemy and the lack of strategy is boring to the point of being painful. Yes the graphics are great, but that doesn't excuse or make up for how much they've cut away from the original franchise.
  69. Feb 3, 2011
    0
    I've seen PopCap browser games with more depth than Dawn of War 2. Not Strategic thinking needed here - this is pure point-and-shoot action with the added "Spice" if hitting your special abilities whenever the cooldown is up. Moving your units is not smooth, either, given that they attempt to stick to cover regardless of where you want them to go. Boring, insipid, and an insult to fans ofI've seen PopCap browser games with more depth than Dawn of War 2. Not Strategic thinking needed here - this is pure point-and-shoot action with the added "Spice" if hitting your special abilities whenever the cooldown is up. Moving your units is not smooth, either, given that they attempt to stick to cover regardless of where you want them to go. Boring, insipid, and an insult to fans of the original who opened their wallets for three expansions while waiting on this game. Collapse
Metascore
85

Generally favorable reviews - based on 67 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 64 out of 67
  2. Negative: 0 out of 67
  1. 85
    The single-player mash-up of RTS and RPG elements works really well, and the multiplayer is fast and exciting. Relic's reinvention of the Dawn of War brand is a breath of fresh (or possibly fetid, Tyranid infested) air.
  2. Dawn of War II is a highly innovative twist on the usual RTS formula that dares to think outside the box while staying true to the WH40k source material. Campaign co-op play is a great addition to the already superb single player game but the head-to-head multiplayer skirmish is a bit of a disappointment.
  3. Dawn of War was a finely tuned game with huge battles and many disposable troops. Dawn of War II is faster, lighter, smaller, in some ways more interesting and in other ways somewhat lacking in its execution. But taken as a whole it’s impossible to not recommend the game to 40K fans and to those who are willing to accept that this is not a linear sequel to an aging franchise.