Warhammer 40,000: Dawn of War II PC

  • Publisher: THQ
  • Release Date: Feb 18, 2009
User Score
8.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1505 Ratings

User score distribution:
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. JosephL
    May 12, 2009
    9
    Why it gets a 9 because, though it could use improvement in alot of areas, they do not shine how simply awesome the game itself is. Honestly, color me optimistic, but Relic is the best video game developer since Dynamix.
  2. a.long
    May 13, 2009
    8
    Really disappointed with the new take on multiplayer (taking points and not building bases), and why such a small ammount of maps?! Seriously, I think you may have ruined this game franchise by doing this! I do think the rest of the game is alot better than dow1, so hoping that the expansion packs will make it even better (this was the case with dow1). many thanks to thq and relic but Really disappointed with the new take on multiplayer (taking points and not building bases), and why such a small ammount of maps?! Seriously, I think you may have ruined this game franchise by doing this! I do think the rest of the game is alot better than dow1, so hoping that the expansion packs will make it even better (this was the case with dow1). many thanks to thq and relic but sort multiplayer out with expansion packs PLEASE! jOcKaDoOm. Expand
  3. TeroSalonen
    May 19, 2009
    10
    at the age i currently am having lived before the www and http i find this game so far the utmost peak of rts with all in cluded both faults and the <3 and the game lore also supports this type of a game aswell this game itself so 10/10 from me
  4. PhilipK
    May 23, 2009
    8
    This is my first time playing Warhammer 40K, and the first impression is pretty good. You start with an introduction of the game, and there is valuable information throughout the campaign. The game needs improvement in campaign length, its simply too short for me The missions also get too much the same, and the game gets boring quite fast.
  5. BB
    May 24, 2009
    9
    Fantastic new direction from a genre filled with cookie cutter games. less emphasis on building means more emphasis on fighting. The only thing it seems to be lacking is alien campaigns.
  6. ChrisK
    Jun 19, 2009
    10
    I have always enjoyed the dawn of war series and this is the best yet.i have also played the modeling game and enjoyed that as well giving me a new respect for the amount of work put into the game because the game is based off the models and as i am a modeler i must say that all those who rate this game low must not have the respect for it and do not read the books play its other games or I have always enjoyed the dawn of war series and this is the best yet.i have also played the modeling game and enjoyed that as well giving me a new respect for the amount of work put into the game because the game is based off the models and as i am a modeler i must say that all those who rate this game low must not have the respect for it and do not read the books play its other games or even attempt to play the modeling game.as a rule of thumb please for all those who rate this game low i must encourage you with the utmost respect to try out the models or read a few of the books as they will give you a completely different perspective. Expand
  7. ChrisT.
    Aug 14, 2009
    9
    I downloaded this game off a torrent site and I completely loved every minute of it. The mix of RPG and RTS is so addicting--all I could think about for 2 weeks was leveling my characters and getting them the best items (especially the coveted terminator armor which, unfortunately, they only got to use for about 2 days). I can only speak for the campaign since I don't have a CD key I downloaded this game off a torrent site and I completely loved every minute of it. The mix of RPG and RTS is so addicting--all I could think about for 2 weeks was leveling my characters and getting them the best items (especially the coveted terminator armor which, unfortunately, they only got to use for about 2 days). I can only speak for the campaign since I don't have a CD key to play online, but I'm almost tempted to purchase one to play online. I only played the normal difficulty thus far and it was challenging enough but I'm considering replaying on the hardest difficulty now that I have a better understanding of the strategy needed for this type of RTS (small # of units, no base, exploiting cover, etc.). If you played Warcraft and Starcraft, this is a breath of fresh air. Not all people will like this, mostly hardcore base building fanatics, but it's definitely worth playing for free. On top of the great gameplay, there is stunning graphic and battle effects and honestly, some of the best mini-movies I've seen in games in awhile. 9/10 from this satisfied gamer. Give it a try--you might find yourself up until 'dawn' playing this game more than once. Expand
  8. Artery22
    Nov 28, 2009
    8
    Very good game! The campaign grants many action, but the after some time, the story gone away! And the final Mission isn't very special... The multiplyerpart is good, you can play every 4 races! No base-building only action, thats what i want. And with the last update, there is a new Gamemode "The Last Stand", I played it many hours and I continue to play it many hours =)! It's Very good game! The campaign grants many action, but the after some time, the story gone away! And the final Mission isn't very special... The multiplyerpart is good, you can play every 4 races! No base-building only action, thats what i want. And with the last update, there is a new Gamemode "The Last Stand", I played it many hours and I continue to play it many hours =)! It's a big fun, but some items are unusefull and dump! Expand
  9. RamJam
    Feb 21, 2009
    10
    This game brings the best of the tabletop warhammer 40,000 fighting....the original awesome game, and puts it into a gruesome and beautifuly done RTS. I you have any taste for blood beyond teching up like a wussy, then you want this game. If you like to chase resources.....go work in a mine.
  10. JoeC
    Feb 21, 2009
    9
    Awesome game....you guys have say OMG no base building, its all attack, its not war! Well I hate to break it to you but this is semi-like table top, you get a limited number of units, some counter others, and if you are setting up bolters and suppressing an enemy and they run into instead of teleporting or bringing out mechs...your playing the wrong people. This game is everything an Awesome game....you guys have say OMG no base building, its all attack, its not war! Well I hate to break it to you but this is semi-like table top, you get a limited number of units, some counter others, and if you are setting up bolters and suppressing an enemy and they run into instead of teleporting or bringing out mechs...your playing the wrong people. This game is everything an action RTS should be. The only thing I didn't like is they did not include chaos, but I think they will shortly. The multiplayer is very fun, and I love the versatility of the commander unit. It does have lots of hard counters, and you have to know what your doing, but its a blast! If you liked CoH you should like this, if you liked to play defensive on DOW1, you won't like this, I loved DOW1 and this is a step in the RIGHT direction for this franchise, I can't wait for the expanisons. Only complaint is the single player gets pretty repetitive, and the map selection is limited, however in DOW you only played on 2-3 maps anyway so.... Basically you do have to understand this is not aTotal War, or a Supreme commander, lets zerg 100's untis at the enemy, this is more like spearheads attacking each other, elite units clashing. The graphics are great, sound is good, while I miss some of the one liners from DOW1 there is still some gems in this one. The gameplay is fast and furious, and there is not much defenseive play, though you COULD encorparate it into your tactics, if you wanted, there is no base sitting, though so if thats your thing...you won't like this game. I played Chaos in DOW1 an attack heavy army so this fits my playstyle perfect, but I know not everyone likes that..but adapt and you will have fun with this. Expand
  11. JurshB
    Feb 21, 2009
    10
    Dis Game ROKS WAAAUGGGH Seriously.. anyone who thinks this is lacking because of base/build order hasn't really played the game enough. It is completely replaced with TACTICS... you really spend your time on the field in intense fights and your build order is on your actual troops instead of a bunch of static buildings. This is the second coming (CoH being the first) of a different Dis Game ROKS WAAAUGGGH Seriously.. anyone who thinks this is lacking because of base/build order hasn't really played the game enough. It is completely replaced with TACTICS... you really spend your time on the field in intense fights and your build order is on your actual troops instead of a bunch of static buildings. This is the second coming (CoH being the first) of a different RTS genre... more of a RTTS (real time tactical strategy) Expand
  12. [RH]Merc_lexUnkowen
    Feb 22, 2009
    10
    This is truelly an epic game. I came from the ESL of DoW SS, so i loved online play and couldn't imagine how boring offline play is, till i found this game. The offline game is truelly amazing, better then the First DoW (Which was also about blood ravens and was the only good campaign compared to all of it's expansions) In this game the offline play is truelly spectacular and This is truelly an epic game. I came from the ESL of DoW SS, so i loved online play and couldn't imagine how boring offline play is, till i found this game. The offline game is truelly amazing, better then the First DoW (Which was also about blood ravens and was the only good campaign compared to all of it's expansions) In this game the offline play is truelly spectacular and gets u hooked. New ways to paint ur armies must be mentioned since it really is handy and nice. Some glossy colours, and just overall gameplay is great. Only possible negative thing to say is mybe some minor balance issues, but they should be fixed very soion, and the game is still worth playing... Even if u dont have internet and can't play multiplayer, i suggest gettting this game because of its offline play, it really is amazing, im gonna go play it right now! Expand
  13. DaveC.
    Feb 22, 2009
    8
    If i could give an 8.5 i would. I played the beta and got the game. Its a fun game, and thats what really matters if you ask me. Is the game Fun yes. If you want to have fun get this game. If you dont like Realtime Tactics then not so much.
  14. ShawnS
    Feb 24, 2009
    9
    First time I played it I didnt know what to think of DoW2, but after playing a handful of battles I am prepared to say that this totally game rocks, they got rid of RTS conventions that made RTS games feel unrealistic and made it so you have to send your troops out and get stuff done before its too late. Every strategic point on the map feels important,as does every one of your units on First time I played it I didnt know what to think of DoW2, but after playing a handful of battles I am prepared to say that this totally game rocks, they got rid of RTS conventions that made RTS games feel unrealistic and made it so you have to send your troops out and get stuff done before its too late. Every strategic point on the map feels important,as does every one of your units on the field, and the game doesn't give you time to bumble around and make mistakes. This game would have gotten a higher rating from me but only 4 armies and only so many maps bring the score down for me (because relic is gunna dig into my wallet yet again when the expansions come out for this)...otherwise they updated graphics nicely, and threw a ton of tired old RTS cliches out the window to make a game that feels really fresh and new. Lets face it, the people that don't like this game were expecting to sleepwalk through battles doing the same exact thing they have been doing in RTS games for over 10 years..... instead they got OWNED by the CPU on "easy". Awesome! Expand
  15. RobD
    Feb 24, 2009
    9
    Great game - very tactical and micro oriented rather than focusing on base building/build orders and spam. Requires constant real time adapting to what is going on on the battlefield rather than relying on high APM memorized build orders. In short, it's a different kind of RTS and it does what it set out to accomplish very well. If you thought RTS was getting stale and stagnant, you Great game - very tactical and micro oriented rather than focusing on base building/build orders and spam. Requires constant real time adapting to what is going on on the battlefield rather than relying on high APM memorized build orders. In short, it's a different kind of RTS and it does what it set out to accomplish very well. If you thought RTS was getting stale and stagnant, you need to check this out. A few bugs and hiccups have shown up in the first week but they are being stamped out very quickly, Expand
  16. GeneU.
    Feb 24, 2009
    9
    I'm expecting real war RTS like Dawn of War at first, the first touch into the game brings me some disappointment. But soon, I realise this game is not about building massive amount of units and overrun opponent's bases typically. Its all about strategies and tactics. Really cool new age RTS and I actually spend time reading up on all units and discuss strategies with friends. I'm expecting real war RTS like Dawn of War at first, the first touch into the game brings me some disappointment. But soon, I realise this game is not about building massive amount of units and overrun opponent's bases typically. Its all about strategies and tactics. Really cool new age RTS and I actually spend time reading up on all units and discuss strategies with friends. With a real good plan, you can take out opponents with double your unit amount! Tat's what I call using your brains to fight! Give it a 9! Expand
  17. DonovanC
    Feb 26, 2009
    10
    The amount of effort that has gone in to the great sequel to the Dawn of War series is amazing. The graphic content is superb. Gameplay reminds me a lot of the Warhammer 40,000 tabletop style. The campaign is interesting and still quite role-play focused. I hope that new campaigns for the other races or space marine chapters are released in future. In short...if you enjoyed Dawn of War The amount of effort that has gone in to the great sequel to the Dawn of War series is amazing. The graphic content is superb. Gameplay reminds me a lot of the Warhammer 40,000 tabletop style. The campaign is interesting and still quite role-play focused. I hope that new campaigns for the other races or space marine chapters are released in future. In short...if you enjoyed Dawn of War then you'll love this!!! Expand
  18. SteveP
    Feb 26, 2009
    8
    Fantastic game. a few annoying bugs that im confident will be ironed out in the near future but overall very exciting and multiplayer is spot on giving it great replayability.
  19. JacobA
    Feb 27, 2009
    10
    I was worred about this game during the beta... but with the full release, my fears were put to rest as relic has done it again. This is easily the best RTS currently on the market. They have returned to the tabletop origins of 40K and done it well. The removal of most base construction, and the inability to secure points on the battlefield brings all of the focus onto your units in the I was worred about this game during the beta... but with the full release, my fears were put to rest as relic has done it again. This is easily the best RTS currently on the market. They have returned to the tabletop origins of 40K and done it well. The removal of most base construction, and the inability to secure points on the battlefield brings all of the focus onto your units in the field and emphasises strategic engagement and battlefield control. I am still plumbing the depths of this game as far from making things simpler, relic has designed an amazingly complex game, with layer upon layer of strategic options at your disposal. Do you cut off an enemies power supply? Attempt to hold a key location, knowing it will cost you valuable units, when do you stay, when do you withdraw, when do you feint and surprise flank an enemy... brilliantly done. Expand
  20. AnonymousMC
    Feb 28, 2009
    9
    Personally I think that the game is great. I'm sure with future patches and DLC it will get even better. What STARS said was hilarious, but other than that a little idiotic. If you want to play CoH....go play CoH. I find it refreshing that a gaming company decided to spend more than 10 minutes on the actual structure and foundation of a highly anticipated release and did somethingPersonally I think that the game is great. I'm sure with future patches and DLC it will get even better. What STARS said was hilarious, but other than that a little idiotic. If you want to play CoH....go play CoH. I find it refreshing that a gaming company decided to spend more than 10 minutes on the actual structure and foundation of a highly anticipated release and did something that you don't sit down with and wonder why you just bought what seems to me the 5000th release of the same RTS. As much fun as massing a million zerglings is, it's nice to spend your time playing actually DOING something. Expand
  21. PPM
    Mar 11, 2009
    10
    Great Game! First i thought that only one playable race is would be a bit boring,but i found out, that the storymode (campaign) is very good and the multiplayer is also very enjoyable, playing with Friends...One thing is that thq separates this game in many announced add-ons (- much money for them).
  22. MikeSikora
    Mar 11, 2009
    10
    While SP experience is kind of lacking, gets boring after a while (always same enemy layots on same maps...), its saved by excellent MP. Small-scale, very specialized units and every one of them useful in some way. Absolutely addictive, and despite its flaws, well worth having and playing.
    #1 RTW multiplayer game at the moment.
  23. DeyKim
    Mar 13, 2009
    10
    This is a great game, what more could a person ask for? Relic did a great job in making a creative RTS that is unique from all the others on the market, just like they did with Homeworld. A fan for life, do yourself a favor and get this game!
  24. JooseA
    Mar 14, 2009
    9
    I love the multiplayer and the single player modes of the game. The ranking system is decent and the games don't take too long to start. So far all my negative feelings are directed at the Steam engine and its implementation when I start the game.
  25. JoshuaC
    Mar 14, 2009
    10
    Dawn of War II come even closer to capturing the gameplay and feel of the Tabletop game. It proves an excellent challenge for those that are used to the build a huge army style game play and requires the player to actually use strategy to will the day.
  26. FabianL
    Mar 22, 2009
    9
    Except the bugs which will be fixed soon and some balance problems here and there the game is simply awesome. To me the best RTS game out there. Even the singleplayer is awesome I say. First singleplayer campaign in ages I´ve played several times. Usually I just hop into multi and give it a go, leaving single untouched.
  27. GinK.
    Mar 24, 2009
    9
    in my oppinion it's a good 9. It's not like Dawn of War, the Units are verry small & there are less units but that needs more taktic. No troopmessing anymore. Get your Units in positions that gives good Defense becomes an essential point, in dow was that an nice Gimick but not more. The campaign was verry interesting not just only such an "your here to conquer, have fun..." im in my oppinion it's a good 9. It's not like Dawn of War, the Units are verry small & there are less units but that needs more taktic. No troopmessing anymore. Get your Units in positions that gives good Defense becomes an essential point, in dow was that an nice Gimick but not more. The campaign was verry interesting not just only such an "your here to conquer, have fun..." im just a little bit sad about that the campaign was so short but the Space Marines are the Elite of the Human race so they don't need much time to cut down the enemys. "The IMP's are the Broadsword, we're the Scalpel." Expand
  28. AnthonyY
    Mar 28, 2009
    10
    very good game, graphics rendering is superb and strategy like never before on any RTS. I am a big table top fan of Warhammer 40K so this appeals alot as it tries to stay with Games Workshop IQ. Good gaming and very addictive, campaigns are great and mulitplayer is even better. DOW was excellent but this DOW2 is the way it should be. Looking forward to more maps and more add-ons and very good game, graphics rendering is superb and strategy like never before on any RTS. I am a big table top fan of Warhammer 40K so this appeals alot as it tries to stay with Games Workshop IQ. Good gaming and very addictive, campaigns are great and mulitplayer is even better. DOW was excellent but this DOW2 is the way it should be. Looking forward to more maps and more add-ons and looking forward to the races like CHAOS etc. 10 out of 10 for me and am sure for alot of real 40K fans......good gaming folks. Expand
  29. MarjusA
    Apr 11, 2009
    9
    A good improvement from the previous game, far more true to the original tabletop game in all aspects. Definetively a direction I wish more RTS games would take.
  30. DavidD
    Apr 13, 2009
    9
    The campaign was ok, but it could have been much better if there had also been the campaigns for the different factions. also, where'd all the other races go? the multiplayer is really great, but i was put off by having to make a windows live account AND a steam account. one should be enough. looking forward to expansion packs
  31. StuartP
    Apr 17, 2009
    10
    nice evolution from DOW, and i for one am glad to see that they have gone more towards the table top and traditional warhammer games (been playing the table top game since i was 12...... ooooo, far to long to be healthy!). DOW was a good RTS, but that's all it was. much happier with this version.
  32. BrandonLovesWH40KDOW
    Apr 18, 2009
    10
    I'll give it a 10/10 because Warhammer 40K is really cool i mean c'mon its a fairly the best thing in the world HeHeHeHe (= i mean i love warhammer and i collect THE SPACE MARINES(Blood Ravens) and i bet no one could kmow warhammer more than me i mean i even know what all of the guy's names are! and all the squads and the vehichles the graphic's of this game are I'll give it a 10/10 because Warhammer 40K is really cool i mean c'mon its a fairly the best thing in the world HeHeHeHe (= i mean i love warhammer and i collect THE SPACE MARINES(Blood Ravens) and i bet no one could kmow warhammer more than me i mean i even know what all of the guy's names are! and all the squads and the vehichles the graphic's of this game are EXTRODANAIRY i mean i am not the best actually sorry guy's no offense ! (= but really i mean i like War hammer 40,000 as the best thing in the whole wide world so the sound,graphics,the colour is really good even the voices whic i also mean by the sound and especially the blood when for example you kill a guy from the imperial guards or eldar or orcs or Tau or What ever the blood stay's there i mean like well you know what i mean i mean it's really cool it's just like the real thing in the games workshop and one of the strongest machines are to drive or use or control is probably the hellfire Dreadnaught and the predator Ahnillator and but one of the cool thing's is with the Space Marines is that when you get the scouts squad you can upgrade then to when (say that your on a cliff right and if there is some badguy's down on the ground,they wont be able to see you so you get your scout squad and when the picture of the kneeling guy which is called sniper infiltration research is highlighted then click on it) and then when your on on the cliff that means you can snipe them all without them attacking you back because they will die in one shot but im not sure about vehicles so if you don't know how to that just read my comment ok so it'll probably help you so oh and don't forget Warhammer is the best and so are the Space Marines!!! Expand
  33. LuD
    Apr 24, 2009
    9
    A bit pricey at 50$, but this game is fast-paced and offers a kind of quirky realism that I found DoW 1 was missing...the different unit types really stand out a lot more in DoW 2 in terms of their abilities, which makes the game more of an rpg/rts sort of game. I personally like the new direction, i've only played for a few hours but it's tons of fun.
  34. JakeL
    Apr 27, 2009
    9
    Great game play, lots of options about how to play through. You can grind, quest, or throw in a mix of both. The only reason i wouldn't give War Hammer a full 10 is because the lack of people playing. WoW runs the market so i hope in the future this game will grow and bulk up its user base a little.
  35. RyanG
    May 11, 2009
    10
    I LOVE the way the game flows now, yes, building management is very nice in games of the past. Personally I think Dawn of War needs the pace and focus on combat situations.
  36. boxmonkeyboxmonkey
    May 12, 2009
    9
    Could be better, single player needs to be for all races, need more races but i assume there will be expansions at a later date. other than that the game is great fun and worth buying.
  37. MatusJ
    May 16, 2009
    10
    This game is just so much fun and, the grafics and the way teh Story was made. its just amazing how they done it, they did a good job.
  38. DylanW
    May 25, 2009
    9
    Awesome game. Loved it. Still do. Only short coming I honestly give it, is that tyranids are unbalanced compared to the other races.
  39. SergeyK
    Jun 13, 2009
    10
    Intriguing improvement from the original ones, it contains a very complex and interesting story line on singleplayer, while it may get a tad bit dull, it doesn't make the singleplayer bad. I was happy when Gabriel Angelos back, I wasn't much of a fan of Davian Thule, but his voice changed, and he stopped making annoying rants. Multiplayer was also a very fun part of the game, Intriguing improvement from the original ones, it contains a very complex and interesting story line on singleplayer, while it may get a tad bit dull, it doesn't make the singleplayer bad. I was happy when Gabriel Angelos back, I wasn't much of a fan of Davian Thule, but his voice changed, and he stopped making annoying rants. Multiplayer was also a very fun part of the game, the Orks were very made, because they are meant to have strong infantry, but mediocre vehicles, and they made it fair by decreasing the cost of the Ork vehicles. Space Marines were made expensive, but they are very deadly, Eldar were designed to be fast, and contain some have firepower. Tyranids were made to be numerous, but they aren't so resilient, but they get stronger while smaller in numbers, with a bigger resource requirement. All have their strengths and weaknesses, but it's all evened out. This is a very good game, with great singleplayer while containing a superb multiplayer. I recommend it to people who are willing to adapt to other types of RTS's, have small arms fire that can't penetrate tanks like in Company of Heroes, and no base building. Overall it's a very good game. Expand
  40. StephenH
    Jun 14, 2009
    9
    Campaign is excellent. The only reason I gave it a 9 of 10 is for the Multi-player mode. It just doesn't live up to Dawn of War 1 yet.
  41. BenS
    Jun 17, 2009
    9
    Very good game, needs harder AI players, played it one night and can beat the experts already, very fun though, haven't tried the campaign mode yet, but will soon, and would have liked to see stationary defenses but overall the game is good, I'd say 9.5 outta 10 but that isn't an option and it isn't quite a 10/10.
  42. RobertM
    Jun 26, 2009
    9
    Great game. RTS is solid, and i love how the campaign does not require base building. The RPG element is a nice addition. The RPG element does not really seem to give your squad leaders any real personality or depth, but it does allow for a very customizable strike force for every mission. Everyone can be tooled for just about any tactic. Game play is repetitive at times, and multiplayer Great game. RTS is solid, and i love how the campaign does not require base building. The RPG element is a nice addition. The RPG element does not really seem to give your squad leaders any real personality or depth, but it does allow for a very customizable strike force for every mission. Everyone can be tooled for just about any tactic. Game play is repetitive at times, and multiplayer gets a little old but over all solid, story driven game that is a blast to play. Expand
  43. AnonymousMC
    Jul 25, 2009
    9
    Excellent tactical game. Good length (took me about a week of good solid playing to get unlock the last level, I'm still finishing up side missions). Small number of units make you use them smartly. Even in multiplayer you cannot simply throw units to their deaths. It would have been nice to have more races and for other races to have a campaign, but great without them. HopefullyExcellent tactical game. Good length (took me about a week of good solid playing to get unlock the last level, I'm still finishing up side missions). Small number of units make you use them smartly. Even in multiplayer you cannot simply throw units to their deaths. It would have been nice to have more races and for other races to have a campaign, but great without them. Hopefully there will be an expansion to keep the game going. Expand
  44. RC
    Jul 25, 2009
    8
    I was a little disappointed with this game. Half the time you're just waiting to spawn a squad because they cost so much resources. Then, once there spawned, they die in a few seconds. Besides this the game is a lot different then the other DOW's. Once I adjusted to the the new feel of the game it was fun. The campaign has a good plot but, gets repetitive after a while. Graphics I was a little disappointed with this game. Half the time you're just waiting to spawn a squad because they cost so much resources. Then, once there spawned, they die in a few seconds. Besides this the game is a lot different then the other DOW's. Once I adjusted to the the new feel of the game it was fun. The campaign has a good plot but, gets repetitive after a while. Graphics are great with lots of details best graphics for an RTS. All in all 8 out of 10. Expand
  45. AlexM
    Sep 11, 2009
    9
    RTS/Tactical Masterpiece. 4 squad. 4 time more epic than the original DOW. Seriously. The battles are far beyond epicness and the action is nothing short of amazing! The music, the sound, the graphic, the gestion of items, etc... Warhammer 40K deserved that!!! 9 out of 10, and not 10 because i'm aware that not including the Chaos in the plot is a shame for the W40K's fans. (I RTS/Tactical Masterpiece. 4 squad. 4 time more epic than the original DOW. Seriously. The battles are far beyond epicness and the action is nothing short of amazing! The music, the sound, the graphic, the gestion of items, etc... Warhammer 40K deserved that!!! 9 out of 10, and not 10 because i'm aware that not including the Chaos in the plot is a shame for the W40K's fans. (I don't give a shit about chaos, but still, it's an important part of the W40K) Anyway, i'm almost happy that Relic didn't put them in the story (They look so... has been...) Orks are there! More funny than ever! SO who cares!!?? Expand
  46. EliJ.
    Sep 16, 2009
    10
    Probably the best tactical gaming experience ever. I loved company of hero's and I really cant say this game is better than it...but i would much rather see my venerable dreadnought's assault cannon literally blow my enemy into little pieces than order around little army men. The cover system is solid and I love the fact that they actually made the space marines as powerful as Probably the best tactical gaming experience ever. I loved company of hero's and I really cant say this game is better than it...but i would much rather see my venerable dreadnought's assault cannon literally blow my enemy into little pieces than order around little army men. The cover system is solid and I love the fact that they actually made the space marines as powerful as the praise they give them. When I'm ordering my marines around i know that I'm in command of the dominate force in the Warhammer 40k's universe. Anybody who doesn't like this game probably never gave it a chance. They most likely played a few missions and thought to themselves, why it isn't this the old game with better graphics? Play it for a few weeks and you'll see how amazing it really is. Too be honest, I didn't like it at first either...but then I found out that strategy and tactics can be a lot more fun than mindlessly smashing two armies into each other. Eagerly awaiting the expansion. Expand
  47. isaccos
    Dec 24, 2009
    10
    the best game ever, if u wanna challenge your intelligence try to win multiplayer games against the rest of the world gamers... try if u think to be sooo good and accept the DEFEAT!
  48. Eve860Eve860
    Dec 31, 2009
    10
    Guys this is without doubt the best RTS i've ever played, it's a bit demanding on the graphics cards but the effect is fabulous!!! I've had the game ever since Beta, and it still remains to be my utter favourite game ever!!! The competition is so tough i'd advise any would be buyers to buy now and train for the release of Chaos in March, it's so in the bag for me Guys this is without doubt the best RTS i've ever played, it's a bit demanding on the graphics cards but the effect is fabulous!!! I've had the game ever since Beta, and it still remains to be my utter favourite game ever!!! The competition is so tough i'd advise any would be buyers to buy now and train for the release of Chaos in March, it's so in the bag for me personally!!! well done Warhammer and co. Starcraft II really has had to be remade cos I bet they knew they'd have a flunk on their hands compared to this masterpiece! Buy buy and die people! muahahaha! Expand
  49. Oct 26, 2010
    10
    Relic has been pushing innovation in the RTS genre that was dominated in the early 90's by the powerhouses of Westwood Studios and Blizzard. While Westwood was absorbed into EA and Blizzard switched their focus towards the MMO market, this developer has quietly pushed release after release in the RTS market starting with the wonderful Homeworld series. If you like "traditional" style ofRelic has been pushing innovation in the RTS genre that was dominated in the early 90's by the powerhouses of Westwood Studios and Blizzard. While Westwood was absorbed into EA and Blizzard switched their focus towards the MMO market, this developer has quietly pushed release after release in the RTS market starting with the wonderful Homeworld series. If you like "traditional" style of RTS found in Starcraft and C&C this might not be your game. Single player it plays like an RTS with elements of an RPG with experience pts, skills, and item drops. This is not a game where who has the highest APM but using good tactics that utilize the strength of your squads. Charging into battle will only get you killed. This puts the strategy into RTS, not simply following the same build order in SCII for the first 10 minutes over and over again. Expand
  50. Sep 23, 2012
    9
    I am generally not a big RTS fan, but I greatly liked Dawn of War II. Maybe perhaps it was very action-oriented and had a good pace. Maybe also this is why many of the fans of the original didn't like this one. You don't actually build anything in this game or collect resources, etc. You just get dropped off in the battle zone and using various skills and military tactics you have to getI am generally not a big RTS fan, but I greatly liked Dawn of War II. Maybe perhaps it was very action-oriented and had a good pace. Maybe also this is why many of the fans of the original didn't like this one. You don't actually build anything in this game or collect resources, etc. You just get dropped off in the battle zone and using various skills and military tactics you have to get the mission done. The missions have a good length and do not drag on, but there are loads of them. Another feature that I really loved about Dawn of War II is the presence of RPG elements. The squad characters level up as you complete missions and when they level up you can advance them in certain combat disciplines, whether it's health and survival, ranged damage, melee damage, or energy utilisation. This gives a certain element of replayability as you can take each squad member in different directions. Each character has their distinct strengths and weaknesses, and hence a lot of decision making befalls on the player when it comes to choosing which gear to equip them and in fact which squad members to take on the mission (as you can't take them all). The campaign is pretty long and also has a bit of an open-ended style to it after about halfway through, where some missions are optional and others are time-sensitive, meaning you also have to make decisions in regard to prioritising your missions, which is great fun and is incredibly intense. There is a lot of incentive to do well on each mission, because the better you do them, the more additional deployments you get and hence you can solve time-critical missions earlier on. I'll also review the Chaos Rising expansion on here too. It introduced a new story arc that takes place a year after the Dawn of War II campaign, and although the storyline is better, full of various twists, the campaign suffers a bit from being way too linear. There is no more incentive for doing well, because you do not get additional deployments and there are hardly any optional and time-critical missions. Chaos Rising also introduces an additional squad member, as well as a new idea to the gameplay - the corruption system. To be honest, I wasn't too fond of this idea as it was a bit annoying since all of the best gear was corrupting to the squad members, so you either had to use mediocre gear, or to use the corrupting gear and face the consequences during the game. Although Chaos Rising was a bit weaker in my opinion than the Dawn of War II campaign, I generally enjoyed them both and they lasted me a good amount of time - the original DoW II campaign should last you around 20 hours, and Chaos Rising another 10, so you'll have at least 30 hours in a single playthrough, not to mention the option of playing co-op with friends, as well as the hoard/survival mode. Expand
  51. Oct 4, 2013
    10
    Easily the best RTS game out there, even a few years after release (with Retribution expansion pack) compared to it Starcraft 2 feels like it is DoW's retarted cousin.
    There are 6 factions in multiplayer, each one feels very different from another and each has 3 different commanders which differentiate them further, making it very hard to be bored with it.
    There is an incredible amount
    Easily the best RTS game out there, even a few years after release (with Retribution expansion pack) compared to it Starcraft 2 feels like it is DoW's retarted cousin.
    There are 6 factions in multiplayer, each one feels very different from another and each has 3 different commanders which differentiate them further, making it very hard to be bored with it.
    There is an incredible amount of unit upgrades, wargear for commanders, abilities and tactics to use. Each race takes a good 30-50 hours to master, there are many people with 1 k hours clocked in and still playing (personally I have about 300 and counting). Larger maps with up to 6 players are even more challenging, with more emphasis on long term strategy rather than micromanagement.
    Yet the game is not by any means overwhelming, and it's quite easy to learn the basics.
    The only thing that's not done right is too few maps. I'd really like to see some maps coming in DLC format, but since THQ got bankrupt it's very unlikely.
    There is also survival horde-mode, where up to three players defend themselves from hordes of incoming enemies, after each game earning experience and wargear to upgrade their heroes. Although not very complex it is very addictive.
    As to singleplayer, the base game's singleplayer campaign is pretty good and lasts for a good 15 hours if you do all the side missions. Chaos Rising campaign is shorter but has new interesting features and multiple endings making it also a good chunk of fun. In Retribution, the advantage is that you can play it with any race of your choosing, not just Space Marines, but the disadvantage is worse story and less unit customization options. Personally the base game's campaign is my favorite.

    There are still people playing in time I write this review (october 2013), it's very easy to find someone to play with, both newbies and pros with thousands of hours. There are also mods (I recommend Elite mod) that add additional units and maps. Easily one of the best game I've played, and the best RTS.
    Get it, it's dirt-cheap these days. No excuses, go to a store
    Expand
  52. Apr 24, 2012
    8
    Dawn of war 2 is a great game to have for your pc. Campaign's a lot of fun. Multiplayer is very fun to play Campaign 8/10 Multiplayer 8/10 DOW 2 8.5/10
  53. May 15, 2012
    9
    I enjoyed this game. Its downside is it seems to lack some complexity. I haven't tried online mode, so this rating is only representative of campaign play.
  54. Jun 1, 2012
    8
    The campaign is a great mix of RPG and strategy game-play and the last stand is one of my favorite games but i preferred DoW 1's base building and larger armies to this game's shift to tactical game-play although many people will probably like it
  55. Oct 10, 2012
    10
    Finally, an RTS that requires a huge amount of skill and tactics in multi-player. Although I do see why people prefer the original, I believe that replacing the huge army with smaller, more tactical squads is a welcoming change. The campaign is entertaining, but would be much better if the AI had any intelligence at all. However, multi-player is where this game shines. Probably the bestFinally, an RTS that requires a huge amount of skill and tactics in multi-player. Although I do see why people prefer the original, I believe that replacing the huge army with smaller, more tactical squads is a welcoming change. The campaign is entertaining, but would be much better if the AI had any intelligence at all. However, multi-player is where this game shines. Probably the best RTS I have played in a long time. Expand
  56. Dec 21, 2016
    9
    Quite different from the previous game system, but still is a great game, very fast, good graphic, nice units, it should be considered a lot more by sega btw let's see the III.
    If You can take the unofficial Elite expansion, really great additions, the one You would like to see from the original producer.
  57. Jul 21, 2012
    8
    Someone else wrote the perfect summary in a review: Dawn of War II is a great game. But it doesn't feel like "Dawn of War", or like a real time strategy game. If you manage to ignore that, it's a lot of fun: it's basically part Diablo, part Jagged Alliance, which is great. It's also very fast paced, requires quite a bit of playing skill (on higher difficulty levels at least), and looksSomeone else wrote the perfect summary in a review: Dawn of War II is a great game. But it doesn't feel like "Dawn of War", or like a real time strategy game. If you manage to ignore that, it's a lot of fun: it's basically part Diablo, part Jagged Alliance, which is great. It's also very fast paced, requires quite a bit of playing skill (on higher difficulty levels at least), and looks great -- a very visceral feel of obliterating those enemies of mankind. But what is missing is the feel that you're leading an *army*. That is something that many of us enjoyed in the original Dawn of War, and that is the real problem of the sequel: I don't mind that there's no base building, but the fact that I only play 4 squads of soldiers makes this a completely different type of game. I would have preferred if THQ would have created two series of games: the original RTS Dawn of War series, and a series called something like Dawn of War: Squad Combat, in which this game would belong. In summary, it's a pretty good game, but I miss the more epic scale of a real RTS. Expand
  58. Aug 5, 2012
    8
    Dawn of War II is weaker than its predecessor, but it's still a good game. The unit customization, experience and campaign are nice, but it lacks the strategic depth of the first game.
  59. Jan 7, 2013
    9
    One of the best looking RTS for sure.. Camping mod has som really interesting missions but also some boring ones. Story is good and characters are funny too. The multiplayer is best part of this game for sure.
  60. Feb 3, 2013
    10
    Me encanta en todo ámbito, las misiones son muy simpáticas. Me gusta el progreso de cada personaje e ir mejorando las aptitudes que estimes convenientes. Me gusta que siempre haya un jefe final al que vencer y los hay unos bien poderosos. Siendo solo un iniciando en el mundo warhammer, debo decir que me encanta esa ambientación futurista retro tecnológica, esa mezcla fascinante como deMe encanta en todo ámbito, las misiones son muy simpáticas. Me gusta el progreso de cada personaje e ir mejorando las aptitudes que estimes convenientes. Me gusta que siempre haya un jefe final al que vencer y los hay unos bien poderosos. Siendo solo un iniciando en el mundo warhammer, debo decir que me encanta esa ambientación futurista retro tecnológica, esa mezcla fascinante como de futuro y pasado. Lástima que sea tan opacado por starcraft, siendo que éstos tomaron "prestadas" muchos conceptos para su juego. En fin no he probado el multiplayer,pero la campaña está de lujo no tengo aspectos negativos que comentar. Expand
  61. Dec 11, 2012
    8
    A lot of people give their rating based on their taste instead to look at the game from a neutral position. It is a lot different than the first part, but it sure is a worthy part in the Warhammer series. I got really late into the Warhammer world, with DoW 1 being released in 2007 and the second one in 2009. I played the first one first to get into the story in case the second one is aA lot of people give their rating based on their taste instead to look at the game from a neutral position. It is a lot different than the first part, but it sure is a worthy part in the Warhammer series. I got really late into the Warhammer world, with DoW 1 being released in 2007 and the second one in 2009. I played the first one first to get into the story in case the second one is a continuation of the story. I understand that some people are upset it isn't like the first one but in my opinion it's even better. DoW 1 was a standard RTS just playing in the Warhammer universe, nothing special. But DoW 2 actually isn't like most of the other RTS games, it has some RPG elements that fit right in. The campaign is challenging if you're playing it on a hard difficulty, it's quiet boring in the beginning but you get more and more into the story and get hooked. With all the upgrades and skills for each squad you actually have a choice on how you want to do your missions. If you're looking for a little different RTS, DoW 2 is a good choice. Expand
  62. Mar 20, 2013
    9
    Dawn of War 2 is kind of a mix of strategy and RPG. It's different from other RTS's in the sense that units level up as they fight and get stronger. You can also equip different weapons on to different squads and change them up to your liking. At least in the singleplayer.

    but who gives a about the singleplayer, the MULTIPLAYER in this game is badass, and for me that's what really
    Dawn of War 2 is kind of a mix of strategy and RPG. It's different from other RTS's in the sense that units level up as they fight and get stronger. You can also equip different weapons on to different squads and change them up to your liking. At least in the singleplayer.

    but who gives a about the singleplayer, the MULTIPLAYER in this game is badass, and for me that's what really makes this game amazing. It's addicting, it's tactical, it's competitive, and it's simply awesome. It has a very high learning curve however, expect to get your ass kicked for a while before you actually get good at it. It doesn't have enough maps, and the pathing is a bit messed up, but the sheer attention to detail with the character models and superb voice acting mixed with incredible depth (in the multiplayer) makes this game a must for strategy fans in my books.
    Expand
  63. Jun 28, 2014
    9
    Dawn of War spielt im Warhammer 40k Universum von Games Workshop.
    Die Kampagne kann wahlweise alleine oder im Koop bestreiten.
    Die Story ist wie bei allen 40k Geschichten… Krieg!. Diese Geschichte handelt vom Kampf um den Sub-Sektor Aurelia, welches auch die Rekrutierungswelt der Bloodravens beinhaltet. Wir spielen einen jungen Space Marine Captain, vom Orden der Bloodraven, der am
    Dawn of War spielt im Warhammer 40k Universum von Games Workshop.
    Die Kampagne kann wahlweise alleine oder im Koop bestreiten.

    Die Story ist wie bei allen 40k Geschichten… Krieg!.
    Diese Geschichte handelt vom Kampf um den Sub-Sektor Aurelia, welches auch die Rekrutierungswelt der Bloodravens beinhaltet.
    Wir spielen einen jungen Space Marine Captain, vom Orden der Bloodraven, der am Anfang seiner Laufbahn steht und gegen Orcs in die Schlacht zieht welche die Rekrutierungswelt bedrohen.
    Nur um festzustellen das der Auslöser für den Angriff der Orcs eine weit größere Bedrohung ist.

    Einen Basisaufbau gibt es nicht.
    Der ♥♥♥us liegt auf unseren Squad´s und dem Kommandanten der Space Marines welchen wir ins Feld führen. Die Positionierung, das Nutzen von Deckung, das Ausnutzen der gegnerischen schwächen und die Spezialfähigkeiten unserer Einheiten bringen uns den Sieg.

    Während der Kampagne sammeln die Einheiten welche wir ins Feld führen Erfahrung. Hiermit können wir den unterschiedlichen Einheiten Fähigkeiten freischalten.
    Darüber hinaus können wir Ausrüstungsgegenstände (Relikte und Artefakte des Ordens) finden.
    Die gewählte Ausrüstung und freigeschalteten Fähigkeiten Beeinflussen wie sich der Trupp auf dem Feld schlägt und spielt. Somit hat man die Möglichkeit die Trupps seinen eigenen spielerischen Vorlieben anzugleichen.

    Die Kampagne hat Schlüsselmissionen, daneben ist sie aber dynamisch. So können zeitlich begrenzt zur Verfügung stehende Missionen absolviert oder ignoriert werden, was uns zum Vor- oder Nachteil gereicht.

    Für PvP Liebhaber gibt es 1v1, 2v2, 3v3 Kämpfe bei denen durch das Halten von Kontrollpunkten der gegnerische Punktestand auf 0 reduziert werden muß um zu gewinnen. Zur Wahl stehen die vier Rassen die in der Kampagne die Hauptrolle spielen.

    Die Animationen und die generelle erzeugte Atmosphäre passen perfekt um sich im 40k Universum wiederzufinden!

    Ein rundes RTS Spiel welches ohne den Basisaufbau für ein schnelles dynamisches Spielerlebnis sorgt.
    Expand
  64. Aug 2, 2014
    9
    When I first tried this game, I'm going to be honest: I was incredibly mad. "No buildings? What the heck? Only a handful of units? Why? What is wrong with everything?".
    Then, I started realizing something. This is not your average "hoard-resources-build-a-giant-army" RTS. It has a much more fast-paced and agile take onto real time strategy, which as much disorienting as it is at first, is
    When I first tried this game, I'm going to be honest: I was incredibly mad. "No buildings? What the heck? Only a handful of units? Why? What is wrong with everything?".
    Then, I started realizing something. This is not your average "hoard-resources-build-a-giant-army" RTS. It has a much more fast-paced and agile take onto real time strategy, which as much disorienting as it is at first, is a welcome change. The game purely focuses on combat; there are only two upgrades and both of them are to unlock high tier units, the squads have different skills depending on the weapon equipped and the squad itself, the commander isn't a useless **** that you need to protect, it stays on the frontline wrecking havoc amongst the enemy ranks or providing all kinds of support to your squad.
    At the end of the day, you take a look at it and can help but think that this is a mix between MOBA and RTS, and a darn good one.
    Definitely worth your attention if you don't mind having a faster, more quick reaction based experience!

    Oh also, the campaing is **** EPIC! Loved every bit of it, recommend playing it before getting into multiplayer so you're more familiarized with the gamplay.
    Expand
  65. Jul 8, 2016
    8
    COH approach and it bloody works! No more annoying meatgrinder from the first game. The game is really polished, albeit pretty linear. The campaign has a fast tempo and is well scripted. Several tactical approaches possible, each quite satisfying. Another gem is a personalised squad that offers a load of customisation.

    - : still no proper strategic map or operational freedom.
  66. Jun 22, 2016
    9
    Among my favorite Warhammer titles and favorite strategy games period, Dawn of War II is the beginning of a three-part epic tale of the battle for the Blood Ravens' recruitment worlds, continued with the Chaos Rising expansion and concluded in the stand-alone Retribution. This title represented a considerable departure gameplay wise from the first Dawn of War and its expansions, movingAmong my favorite Warhammer titles and favorite strategy games period, Dawn of War II is the beginning of a three-part epic tale of the battle for the Blood Ravens' recruitment worlds, continued with the Chaos Rising expansion and concluded in the stand-alone Retribution. This title represented a considerable departure gameplay wise from the first Dawn of War and its expansions, moving away from base building, resource gathering and large-scale battles towards a smaller squad tactics format seen in the earlier Company of Heroes series, from which Dawn of War II borrowed its graphics engine: a shift that was not universally welcomed. Dawn of War II is a blend of real-time squad tactics and an RPG loot-and-level system that I found deeply engrossing. The campaign is heavily story-driven and takes you to a variety of environments, including the interior of a space hulk made famous by the turn-based series of that name. Excellent music, visual effects and voice work accompany the proceedings. Series mainstays the Space Marines, Orks and Eldar returned, along with newcomers in the fearsome Tyranids, not featured in the first game due to, supposedly, engine limitations. Epic, pitched battles and a surprising end-game return of a popular character from the first game wrapped up the experience for me in the best way possible. The main flaw of DOW II was its use of the Games For Windows Live client, but it has since been updated to remove that particular pustule. An excellent title overall and worth playing today. Expand
Metascore
85

Generally favorable reviews - based on 67 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 64 out of 67
  2. Negative: 0 out of 67
  1. 85
    The single-player mash-up of RTS and RPG elements works really well, and the multiplayer is fast and exciting. Relic's reinvention of the Dawn of War brand is a breath of fresh (or possibly fetid, Tyranid infested) air.
  2. Dawn of War II is a highly innovative twist on the usual RTS formula that dares to think outside the box while staying true to the WH40k source material. Campaign co-op play is a great addition to the already superb single player game but the head-to-head multiplayer skirmish is a bit of a disappointment.
  3. Dawn of War was a finely tuned game with huge battles and many disposable troops. Dawn of War II is faster, lighter, smaller, in some ways more interesting and in other ways somewhat lacking in its execution. But taken as a whole it’s impossible to not recommend the game to 40K fans and to those who are willing to accept that this is not a linear sequel to an aging franchise.