Warhammer 40,000: Dawn of War II PC

  • Publisher: THQ
  • Release Date: Feb 18, 2009
User Score
8.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1505 Ratings

User score distribution:
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. AronRoy
    Oct 4, 2009
    9
    More diversity is in need for the music and the maps. The game music range from DoW 1 was quite excellent and more diverse in its subjects. Otherwise an excellent game. AND there is a bug with the Heavy Autocannon from the dreadnought, sometimes it doesn*t fire, but the ability is realoading without any enemies having recieved fire, quitre annyoing..
  2. SamT
    Feb 23, 2009
    9
    This game takes all of the good bits from CoH and the heroes and levelling up from an rpg mixes them together with some good old fashioned warhammer violence and comes up with something very special... Definitely the future of rts gaming
  3. AndreasG.
    Feb 24, 2009
    9
    A very good game, reinvents RTS in lots of ways and removes parts that doesn't make much sense. Singleplayer was fun and different from other RTS games, though there was some parts of repetitiveness. Multiplayer is also very fun and allows for a lot of different strategies, where combined arms beats spamming any day. Multiplayer could use a bit more unit variety at the end game A very good game, reinvents RTS in lots of ways and removes parts that doesn't make much sense. Singleplayer was fun and different from other RTS games, though there was some parts of repetitiveness. Multiplayer is also very fun and allows for a lot of different strategies, where combined arms beats spamming any day. Multiplayer could use a bit more unit variety at the end game though. All in all the problems are somewhat easily fixed and there's a huge potential in what could be upcoming downloadable content and expansion packs. The future will only make this game even better. Expand
  4. AndyP
    Mar 4, 2009
    7
    As a lover of both DOW & COH I was delighted to see a move to the tactical aspect and the arrival of tyranids, but limited options to play skirkishes means I will be watching for the mods and patches that will hopefully come along, though the annoying way everything is tied into a windows live and steam account may preclude people with greater vision from helping us poor saps who just loveAs a lover of both DOW & COH I was delighted to see a move to the tactical aspect and the arrival of tyranids, but limited options to play skirkishes means I will be watching for the mods and patches that will hopefully come along, though the annoying way everything is tied into a windows live and steam account may preclude people with greater vision from helping us poor saps who just love to play. A resounding "well its OK", but worth £35? - I will definitely think twice before rushing to buy the next update ...... for now, I'll go back to DOW 1 and COH. Expand
  5. JeremyJ
    Jan 12, 2010
    0
    Imtro video 10,game 0. It's a crap.The original Warhammer 40,000: Dawn of War is far better.
  6. AndrewM
    Jan 10, 2010
    4
    Good quality campaign mode, it was accurate to how space marines would do things, not giant assaults out of nowhere. However, I was appalled at the lack of detail in multiplayer and single player scenarios. All the races were almost exaclty the same as the ones next to it and the playstyle was far from how they are supposed to be played, orks dont use tactics, they rely on numbers as do Good quality campaign mode, it was accurate to how space marines would do things, not giant assaults out of nowhere. However, I was appalled at the lack of detail in multiplayer and single player scenarios. All the races were almost exaclty the same as the ones next to it and the playstyle was far from how they are supposed to be played, orks dont use tactics, they rely on numbers as do tyranids (although they probably use more than orks). Furthermore being forced to get a windows live account to play the game is a huge waste of time if you will almost never use it. Expand
  7. AlexandreM
    Jan 20, 2010
    9
    Even without building elements this game is awsome!! All the battlesare really intense. If u like RTS, check it out
  8. flyntj
    Jan 6, 2010
    9
    pretty fun like the multiplayer stuff and survival mode, main quest is fun though a little boring after a while
  9. AnonymousMC
    Feb 20, 2009
    10
    Great take on a tired genre. Not perfect, but heading in the right direction. I'm giving extra credit for innovation and taking a big risk, we need to reward this. Otherwise it's a solid 8.5 game with potential to get even better if they live up to their DLC promises.
  10. JedL
    Mar 21, 2009
    5
    By itself, DOW 2 is a competent and reasonably well-polished RTT with nice visuals and fx, but a bit underwhelming in terms of SP and even MP gameplay. As a successor to DoW, it is a total failure that never does deliver on the promises of picking up where it's predecessor left off and bringing the series closer to Warhammer 40K fluff and TT. Much of the strategy and gameplay options By itself, DOW 2 is a competent and reasonably well-polished RTT with nice visuals and fx, but a bit underwhelming in terms of SP and even MP gameplay. As a successor to DoW, it is a total failure that never does deliver on the promises of picking up where it's predecessor left off and bringing the series closer to Warhammer 40K fluff and TT. Much of the strategy and gameplay options that were present in Dawn of War and Company of Heroes are sorely missing here and much of the game seems rushed and contrived. Not a keeper in my collection...I'll stick with DOW and COH thank you very much. Expand
  11. Squid
    Mar 2, 2009
    7
    I did not expect the game that I recieved, I expected a very statergy based game, tied to the tabletop game with maybe the flare of a multi-layered combat system we found in DoW1 and its expansions. Very pretty game, although I do have to put a big thumbs down at the linear gameplay. Pinning an opponent is great, but what about morale? What about the other 15-20 units that failed to be I did not expect the game that I recieved, I expected a very statergy based game, tied to the tabletop game with maybe the flare of a multi-layered combat system we found in DoW1 and its expansions. Very pretty game, although I do have to put a big thumbs down at the linear gameplay. Pinning an opponent is great, but what about morale? What about the other 15-20 units that failed to be featured? I understand they plan on expansion-ing in the future (who woulndn't) but I would of liked to see more units, or failing that, better units such as actually having more than ONE ranger/devastator with a weapon....anyway, 7/10. Expand
  12. ZackS
    Mar 2, 2009
    10
    this game not only tries to reinvent the the RTS formula but succeeds in every imaginable way. This is a huge improvement over the first in every single way. Theirs a reason relic is one of the best devs out there. This game only fortify s that claim.
  13. YashaPahomi
    Mar 3, 2009
    10
    This game offers you a two unique gameplay expiriences. The single player campaign with the RPG expiriens. And the skirmish multiplayer RTS expirirence. And, what really matters, that bowth parts are made so well and splesh on the player so mutch anger, force, and fun that it's imposible to stop playing. And it all comes with tons of details and variety of abilities and strategies.This game offers you a two unique gameplay expiriences. The single player campaign with the RPG expiriens. And the skirmish multiplayer RTS expirirence. And, what really matters, that bowth parts are made so well and splesh on the player so mutch anger, force, and fun that it's imposible to stop playing. And it all comes with tons of details and variety of abilities and strategies. It's worth 100 out of 10!!! Expand
  14. Kyle:
    Mar 4, 2009
    9
    this is a great game, the only reason i dont give it a full 10 is sometimes the units go a little retarded and thats very important for a melee player like me. i dont want my units standing around when they are being fired upon. it also feels like when i play i am too easily out ranged and just get blasted, but i guess it is what it is. dominate when things are slightly in my favor. greatthis is a great game, the only reason i dont give it a full 10 is sometimes the units go a little retarded and thats very important for a melee player like me. i dont want my units standing around when they are being fired upon. it also feels like when i play i am too easily out ranged and just get blasted, but i guess it is what it is. dominate when things are slightly in my favor. great game, and its fun having a choice of commanders and wargear for them in order to really customize gameplay besides colors. i agree, i would like to see more campaign and more races added, but for what it is, its amazing and judging by DoW1 there should be expansions on the way. Expand
  15. fdfsdadsad
    Mar 5, 2009
    1
    I was completly disapointed by DoW 2. If you loved DoW 1 you will be really disapointed by this second part. First thing, you don't even have a builder, you can't make any buildings, you just train squads to join the battle. Second thing, you can't micro at all, the only thing you can do is make your squad ''fall back'' an auto fast running that brings I was completly disapointed by DoW 2. If you loved DoW 1 you will be really disapointed by this second part. First thing, you don't even have a builder, you can't make any buildings, you just train squads to join the battle. Second thing, you can't micro at all, the only thing you can do is make your squad ''fall back'' an auto fast running that brings your squad back to your only building. Compare this to DoW 1 and its pure crap. The only good thing are the graphics. This game is not worth paying 50$ for, not at all. Expand
  16. TheoS
    Mar 5, 2009
    6
    Nothing new to see here in the way of RTS games. Good graphics, but thin on Multi-Player content and possessing a redundant Single Player. No support for game modifications and no mention of a map editor in the future, combined with an aggravating setup that requires both a Windows LIVE account and a Steam account, it comes off as very unfriendly for the unsavy. The requirement to locate Nothing new to see here in the way of RTS games. Good graphics, but thin on Multi-Player content and possessing a redundant Single Player. No support for game modifications and no mention of a map editor in the future, combined with an aggravating setup that requires both a Windows LIVE account and a Steam account, it comes off as very unfriendly for the unsavy. The requirement to locate and download another unassociated program just to redeem pre-order and promotional keys is another flaw worth mentioning. Not like the first Dawn of War in any way shape or form except for core material on which they're both based on. The core material calls for squads, objectives, Space Marines, and aliens, and that's the beginning and the end of the comparisons between the two Dawn of War titles. Users will also find the Army Painter has has it's options reduced down to only a sparse selection of the paints you can buy from a Games Workshop retailer; there is no RGB palette, and the importing of custom insignia and banners is no longer a feature. There are many people who state this game is a reinventing of the RTS genre, but the features are all present in titles we've seen in the past. Cover systems, setting up and taking down heavy weaponry, and unit leveling are hardly new and can be seen across a huge number of titles and settings ranging from the historic to science fiction. Straight off the bat I can name Ground Control and Blitzkrieg as boasting most of the systems present in the game, however, both of those titles have many features Dawn of War II simply does not. As for the Single Player game mode's RPG elements, they have been done in Namco Bandai's Warhammer: Mark of Chaos title, with the difference being the RPG elements in Mark of Chaos were also available for online play. The RPG elements in Dawn of War 2 are simply not present in it's Multi-Player component. For the sake of originality when compared to the RTS genre as a whole, this game lacks absolutely all of it. Many of the systems are seen used in Relic's other RTS Company of Heroes, so if you did enjoy that title you may enjoy this one. It does not break any ground in any field except for what the Dawn of War series has offered thus far, while many players feel it is taking a few steps backwards in the process. Expand
  17. DestryBn
    Mar 6, 2009
    8
    In my opinion this game deserves a 7.5 however since i cant get that on here i guess 8 will do. I am a big DOW fan...I loved the last few games and when i learned that DOW2 was coming out i damn near $#!+ my pants, however when i finnaly downloaded the game and played i was a tad dissapointed. First the instillation took forever second the video wasnt skippable (was fine the first time In my opinion this game deserves a 7.5 however since i cant get that on here i guess 8 will do. I am a big DOW fan...I loved the last few games and when i learned that DOW2 was coming out i damn near $#!+ my pants, however when i finnaly downloaded the game and played i was a tad dissapointed. First the instillation took forever second the video wasnt skippable (was fine the first time but it didnt save so i had to watch it again). third i dont like having to sign up for anything just so i can play a game...i already had steam, the idea just buggs me. the next problem was no building system, which was a big wake up call for me, cuz i dont know about everyone else but i like to master all the diff races and learn all of there units upgrades and buildings before i fight them so i went to skirmish and theres no way to build stuff so i was like WTF! anyways i finnaly figured out that thats not how things work anymore and that just made me loose alot of interest right there, and i know there are alot of people out there going its a great game anyways and in alot of ways i agree. ive only had an opertunity to play singleplayer as i downloaded it but to me it seems good. the story line is interesting the leveling system is new and the wargear variations makes for some interesting strategies. The way the game playes itself only made me want to give it a 6-7 at most...however then i thought about it and realized that this is exactly what the first dawn of war needed, to me this game is great because its a step in the right direction, what i want in DOW3 is the combination of the ideas. im hoping Relic brings back the tech trees building ideas and the large amount of race selection (especially the Necrons, they hauled ass...they where also my fav army) and adds in a sort of vetren system so that you can equip diffrent war gear to your squads as well as the foundry, temple, and comm tower ideas. So all in all it was an ok game with a bit o replayablility to it but what makes it great is the hop for the future and the combining of the series. Expand
  18. KristofferP
    Mar 8, 2009
    10
    This game has given me something I really whished for, the possiblility to play ranked games with my friends (Starcraft, Dawn of War 1and Comany of Heroes all had a very flawed 3v3) It also takes about 15-20min to complete a game opposed to the 1h matches of Starcraft. But the best part is that it is fast, fun and full of blood
  19. JonW
    Mar 9, 2009
    9
    This is an exceptional game. I have enjoyed it since the beta, even though there have been a couple multiplayer balance issues the presentation, the gameplay and extreme emphasis on tactics is truly refreshing. Be warned that if you think RTS skill is definied by how well you can micromanage haverster units to gain an economic advantage you will be dissappointed. This is a game that This is an exceptional game. I have enjoyed it since the beta, even though there have been a couple multiplayer balance issues the presentation, the gameplay and extreme emphasis on tactics is truly refreshing. Be warned that if you think RTS skill is definied by how well you can micromanage haverster units to gain an economic advantage you will be dissappointed. This is a game that emphasizes tactical manuever not extremely large armies. In other words if you like Total War as opposed to Starcraft you'll be very satisfied with this game. Expand
  20. jj
    Apr 10, 2009
    10
    So what if it doesn't have base building, This is the closest thing to the table top game that you will get. anyone who knows warhammer will be delighted with this game. The way you can use cover and pure tactics means everything to any general. Victory in this game is hard to come by online I have found, but when you win, it really really feels good.
  21. TrevorCapp
    Apr 5, 2009
    3
    While the game is playable enjoyment is constantly ruined by broken down video display 75% of the time, whoever thought streaming this kind of game in a manor similar to everquest (even saved games have to be loaded from the net) should be castrated. since buying the game I have managed to play 3 small sessions the other times display breaks up to make it all but usless, I will not beWhile the game is playable enjoyment is constantly ruined by broken down video display 75% of the time, whoever thought streaming this kind of game in a manor similar to everquest (even saved games have to be loaded from the net) should be castrated. since buying the game I have managed to play 3 small sessions the other times display breaks up to make it all but usless, I will not be purchasing any other games using Steam hosting as a requirment. Expand
  22. KeithS
    May 11, 2009
    9
    This is a very different approach to the WH:40K universe than the the first DOW. It has a much better storyline and is truer to the table top game. I personally don't like the multi-player aspect of the game as much. It isn't as fast paced as the first game. Also the team leader/hero thing in the missions isn't my favorite style of RTS. All in all the game is very This is a very different approach to the WH:40K universe than the the first DOW. It has a much better storyline and is truer to the table top game. I personally don't like the multi-player aspect of the game as much. It isn't as fast paced as the first game. Also the team leader/hero thing in the missions isn't my favorite style of RTS. All in all the game is very enjoyable, visually appealing and has great elements of play. I give this game 9 slices of pie out of 10. Expand
  23. ShaneP
    Jun 1, 2009
    8
    Visually stunning and the campaign has an interesting RPG style twist to it. The multiplayer is enjoyable but it does suffer from balance issues. The games biggest downfall is the lack of multiplayer maps. There are for example, currently only two 2v2 maps in the ranked rotation.
  24. JamesA
    Jul 1, 2009
    7
    i'd like to first get my criticism out of the way. the campaign is somewhat bland on the normal difficulty with the warboss and the avatar bosses unimaginably powerfull. the muiltiplayer has two blade dulling flaws 1. the skill matching system (or whatever its called). it simply doesn't work. it doesn't match players in ability. you'll find yourself fighting many i'd like to first get my criticism out of the way. the campaign is somewhat bland on the normal difficulty with the warboss and the avatar bosses unimaginably powerfull. the muiltiplayer has two blade dulling flaws 1. the skill matching system (or whatever its called). it simply doesn't work. it doesn't match players in ability. you'll find yourself fighting many skilled opponents but often with little or no chance of winning. 2. the lack of character balance and strategy. this sounds wierd about such a series but the issue is that in 45 games, at least 38 games simply wound down to building one type of unit en masse and then steamrolling through the map. it is a strategy, but the only one ever used. no unit is overpowered, but many are underpowered, like the banshies, the rangers and the sm scouts. all of this needs to be addressed before i can give it a better score. that aside the game is beautifull, inovative and is a suitable successor to its predessessor, if just needs a bit of balance team TLC (but quite a bit to be honest). Expand
  25. MisterX
    Jul 2, 2009
    10
    Fantastic game. Giving Starcraft fans something new to play with while we wait *forever* for SC2. Relic has resolved most of the problems with minor bug patches soon after launching the game and a major content and skill balancing update with new maps, which gives a nice fuzzy supported feeling to a customer like me. Requires a quick mind and fast fingers. Some learning curve when playing Fantastic game. Giving Starcraft fans something new to play with while we wait *forever* for SC2. Relic has resolved most of the problems with minor bug patches soon after launching the game and a major content and skill balancing update with new maps, which gives a nice fuzzy supported feeling to a customer like me. Requires a quick mind and fast fingers. Some learning curve when playing multiplayer, of course. Expect to get destroyed by online players at first unless you study a bit and practice your strategy against the CPU. Great game, like playing modern "bullet chess" aka super-fast speed chess. Expand
  26. RamoneB
    Jan 18, 2010
    10
    How can you build your Army when the Computer is at full strenght and attacking you before you get to your first power supply?
  27. kajemby
    Jan 2, 2010
    9
    Maybe Pratoe M should get a new system. But then do we really want to be playing this excellent game with a racist? I think not.
  28. JonH
    Jan 3, 2010
    10
    This game is amzing it conects with the table top RTS it's based on to the letter I can't wait for the expansions.
  29. JohnM
    Nov 3, 2009
    1
    Completely unplayable. Unless you have a powerful computer dont bother buying this game. Besides the extremely annoying and frequent hiccups and slowdowns (often resulting in a total system freeze) the multiplayer aspect of this game is a huge nightmare. First of all the lag from someone else's connection also affects your own experience, so 90% of the game result in an agonising Completely unplayable. Unless you have a powerful computer dont bother buying this game. Besides the extremely annoying and frequent hiccups and slowdowns (often resulting in a total system freeze) the multiplayer aspect of this game is a huge nightmare. First of all the lag from someone else's connection also affects your own experience, so 90% of the game result in an agonising slowmotion followed by a, "player has disconnected" message. Then there is the issue of game balance ... There is none at all ! Just pick the flavor of the month unit, spam it and obliterate your oponents. Completely lame and boring. Stay away from this game as if it were an infectuous disease !!!! Expand
  30. JustinA
    Oct 16, 2009
    9
    They took it all away! If you played Company of heroes from the original then you dam well know they took away the massive tank battles in COH (2 tigers 2 pershings and where the heck is the 2 jags anyway?) ... when they moved on to OF. Same with this game. there are no longer those massive build and smash battles its a more integrated take care of these uber squad game. Yes i feel they They took it all away! If you played Company of heroes from the original then you dam well know they took away the massive tank battles in COH (2 tigers 2 pershings and where the heck is the 2 jags anyway?) ... when they moved on to OF. Same with this game. there are no longer those massive build and smash battles its a more integrated take care of these uber squad game. Yes i feel they should have put MORE into the campaign.. even though watching the ship jump thru the warp is pretty it still seems a bit lacking compared to the last 4 frakkin games, letting you command and attack the enemy with the little bot armys smashing your rears. However i feel there on to something and this game does not dissapoint... this was not meant to be a starcraft 2 clone.. and i feel they have done an excellent job of proving that. ALSO if you know ANYTHING about Relic is that they are ADDING more and MORE into this game 4 expansions of the last game lemme spell it out for you M-O-R-E is on the way. And that my friends could change anything my little fanboys. Expand
  31. SeanB
    Oct 26, 2009
    4
    Cool graphics and the army painter is definitely much more capable of creating various armies, but many player favorite factions were left out which was an extreme dissapointment. Each mission was extremely repetative, and halfway through the game, I felt as though I had already beaten it. The same tactics can be used over and over again, and the only challenge the game brings is keeping Cool graphics and the army painter is definitely much more capable of creating various armies, but many player favorite factions were left out which was an extreme dissapointment. Each mission was extremely repetative, and halfway through the game, I felt as though I had already beaten it. The same tactics can be used over and over again, and the only challenge the game brings is keeping you interested in it. Expand
  32. STARSBarry
    Feb 19, 2009
    6
    Dawn of War 2 is one of those games that trys to reinvent the genre, and bombs itself down with stupid marketing, poor ideas and a lackluster play style, an easy example will be the removal of base building, as stated constantly in a boring monolog that spews from relic base building isent needed, infact this is 4th RTS game relic have made without it (the first 3 being homeworld 1 & 2 + Dawn of War 2 is one of those games that trys to reinvent the genre, and bombs itself down with stupid marketing, poor ideas and a lackluster play style, an easy example will be the removal of base building, as stated constantly in a boring monolog that spews from relic base building isent needed, infact this is 4th RTS game relic have made without it (the first 3 being homeworld 1 & 2 + its spinoff) however it fails to take into account that for everything you take away you must give something back. What this turns into is bassicaly an RTS for the console, there is no defence just attack attack attack, there is no base building just attack attack attack, indeed while attacking is the key focus of this game i find it so slow and repetative that i get board watching my heavy bolter team waddle slowly towards some cover, while my oponants attempt to slowly waddle towards my position only to be instantly supressed and for there commander to hit the recall button for them to return to base. The multiplayer matches last a max of 15 mins each if you have played C&C 3 multiplayer before and im assuming that you have, and have probebly stopped playing it along with everyone else becouse it gets boring FAST! this game gets boring FAST! I got board of it in the Beta thats how fast you get board. Over all as far as RTS go the multiplayer and skirmish is not fun, if you on the otherhand have ever thought hey I wish RTS got rid of all that boring base building and got strait onto fighting, but you wished the fighting involved eldely men who will die at any second of high colestrol and can only amble around the battlefeild at walking pace while screaming about the good old days of Halo 2 when games lasted only 3 minutes this is the game for you, infact I emplore you to buy it becouse you will buy the craptastic DLC relic will spew from its anus every 2 weeks for live points. All in All its probebly becouse im a turtler in RTS which is a valid tac in team games, however this game removes all defence style strats, so you cant really do that... therefore alienating half of all RTS players in one go, if you play defence in RTS's you will HATE this game dont even bother, go play company of heroes as the brits and artillary people from the otherside of the map behind you massive stronghold of AT guns and morters. SINGLEPLAYER!! yea this is the big thing... well not according to relic its not but it is.. bassicaly this plays like one of those standard issue C&C or starcraft or infact any RTS game mission where you dont have a base, theres multiple objectives with multiple paths and you have to decide, theres also loot so bassicaly your playing world of warcraft except less fun as a group of slow waddling old people in armor, this is what saves the game for me, yes its repetative, yes the gameplay gets boring quickly as with the rest of the entire game, but the storyline drives you along, you really want to see what happens to this group of eldely "BURN THE HERETIC" marines on there slow quest to collect there pensions. So pretty much, if you liked dawn of war you probebly wont like this, if you liked company of heroes you probebly wont like this, if you liked homeworld you probebly wont like this, however if you enjoy smashing your face into an xbox controler while screaming FAG over the microphone to a bunch of 13 year old mexicans on a game of GTA4 this will be the RTS for you, infact its not really an RTS its more of a QTE becouse you just mash the build devasator squad and then mash the move to commander button over and over till you win/lose it wont really matter eitherway becouse itl be 10 minutes over and then you will go off and play some TF2 or subcom or a game that takes more tactical thinking like pong! over all 6/10 I was gonna give it a 7 but found out I coudent make space marine chapters with a dick or nazi symbol or a middle finger on there shoulders, this is largly down to relic releasing these 3 chapters in the "community pack" later this year for 599 microsoft points, there will also be adding realtime weapon change while there at it. Expand
  33. AngusM
    Feb 19, 2009
    7
    Beta was really entertaining and if the single player campaign employs the same gameplay with the promised (and largely confirmed) RPG mechanics, I think this title will be a joy to play through with mates.
  34. FredA.
    Feb 21, 2009
    6
    Single player campaign like going down a well decorated corridor. Nice but ultimately, a corridor. I can not even begin do describe the level of frustration, nay, hate I feel when it comes to being forced to be logged in to save my game. Maybe not today, maybe not tomorrow, but then I will stop buying games that do the same, definitely.
  35. AZ
    Feb 21, 2009
    4
    bleh, just bleh. HUGE fan of DoW1 & CoH, this is just bleh. Campaign got boring and repetitive fast, multiplayer same thing. Its just not that fun with such small armies that can be killed in seconds if you are not watching them the entire time. Very small amount of maps (7!!!!!) causes most games to be a repeat. I was very disappointed, I was sure this would be my next RTS, but no, seems bleh, just bleh. HUGE fan of DoW1 & CoH, this is just bleh. Campaign got boring and repetitive fast, multiplayer same thing. Its just not that fun with such small armies that can be killed in seconds if you are not watching them the entire time. Very small amount of maps (7!!!!!) causes most games to be a repeat. I was very disappointed, I was sure this would be my next RTS, but no, seems like im going back to CoH. Expand
  36. MaxE
    Feb 21, 2009
    10
    Single player campaign is my thing, and I loved it here. You get a sense of ownership as you return to locations throughout the galaxy (I counted 13 maps so far, some being major story locations only visited once) and perform new missions on them. The co-op campaign is a wonderful thing, and it's enabled me to lure my girlfriend into playing, who is now also a fan. The promise of Single player campaign is my thing, and I loved it here. You get a sense of ownership as you return to locations throughout the galaxy (I counted 13 maps so far, some being major story locations only visited once) and perform new missions on them. The co-op campaign is a wonderful thing, and it's enabled me to lure my girlfriend into playing, who is now also a fan. The promise of wargear drops plus the fast mission speeds keeps tempting me to do the "just one more mission thing", and the post-mission ratings have me pushing to do them more and more efficiently- sort of like a racing game, except there's no cars, and you blow up anything that moves. Expand
  37. EbenizinK
    Feb 21, 2009
    6
    I gave 6 because an effort was made for this game. Otherwise I would give it 3.I think this game is very simplified and dumbed dumb down, for whatever reason I don't know. But it is definitely a disappointment for me. This is not a RTS, it's more like the good old commandos games, only lot worse and shallow(commandos was very good indeed). No real tactical thinking is required I gave 6 because an effort was made for this game. Otherwise I would give it 3.I think this game is very simplified and dumbed dumb down, for whatever reason I don't know. But it is definitely a disappointment for me. This is not a RTS, it's more like the good old commandos games, only lot worse and shallow(commandos was very good indeed). No real tactical thinking is required to play, just the basic knowledge will do (like: spearman on front, archers behind them). You have undying characters at your disposal, no base or unit building, maps and missions are easy and same, all have end map bosses which adds more to sameness. I advise people who are looking for a real RTS to play medieval total war II or dawn of war I again. (This not about the game: I also advise people who think roleplaying games means/consist only of developing character stats to look wikipedia for a definition or play fallout I) I 'm a true gaming fan but I'm very dissapointed over the last couple of years because the games that are being produced are getting worse and worse. Mostly because simplifications of them. Last word: I advise King's Bounty over this one. Expand
  38. NoahA
    Feb 22, 2009
    9
    The RPG element of this game works really well with the RTS aspects of it, and that makes the single player part of the game very engaging to me, as I love kitting up my squads specifically for the mission at hand and seeing how they do. The only things that I might change are the very low unit cap in multiplayer and the fact that it uses both GFWL and Steam as online services. Using both The RPG element of this game works really well with the RTS aspects of it, and that makes the single player part of the game very engaging to me, as I love kitting up my squads specifically for the mission at hand and seeing how they do. The only things that I might change are the very low unit cap in multiplayer and the fact that it uses both GFWL and Steam as online services. Using both at once seems pretty superfluous, and I think it would have been better to just pick one and stick with it. Expand
  39. Trevor
    Feb 22, 2009
    9
    Like 40k? Like RTS games? Like RPG games? If you answered yes to the above three, this game is for you. The campaign is awesome to start with. With a very well created loot/exp system, there's not much to not like. Do not let the fact there is no base building shun you away from purchasing this game. It makes up for it with other well created mechanics. A definite MUST BUY.
  40. RamzaB
    Feb 22, 2009
    6
    Too easy, too slow, boring, lack of multiplayer maps. Campaign dull and repetitive. Lack of units, no base building, races way too similar. Annoying multiplayer bugs, requires Steam and Games for Windows which are more often than not a big problem rather than a help or improvment for the user. Saving grace? Graphics, that's it.
  41. RyanJ
    Feb 22, 2009
    9
    Nine for the absence of base building, and the inclusion a of a great micro/macro aspect. Instead of spending 15 minutes creating the superior squad behind protection of a base, we are given a powerful team at the start. This results in keeping your eyes on the battlefield and also on your squads, encouraging you to constantly be adjusting to the movements of your foes instead of just Nine for the absence of base building, and the inclusion a of a great micro/macro aspect. Instead of spending 15 minutes creating the superior squad behind protection of a base, we are given a powerful team at the start. This results in keeping your eyes on the battlefield and also on your squads, encouraging you to constantly be adjusting to the movements of your foes instead of just churning out more cannon fodder from a bloated base. Though hardcore rts and returning DoW fans may find it lacking without the inclusion of a base building aspect. Expand
  42. JasonK
    Feb 23, 2009
    0
    Problems 1. Had to join Stream and Windows Live. 2. No Buildings! What? So RTS with no base building? 3. Where are the multiplayer maps? 6 Maps? no 4v4? or 2v2? 4. Its nothing like DOW I and shame on me for asuming it was a sequal and not checking first before I payed 50 bucks for a game I am so bitterly dissapointed. If I wanted Warhammer 40k Real Time Role Playing Tactical Simulator I Problems 1. Had to join Stream and Windows Live. 2. No Buildings! What? So RTS with no base building? 3. Where are the multiplayer maps? 6 Maps? no 4v4? or 2v2? 4. Its nothing like DOW I and shame on me for asuming it was a sequal and not checking first before I payed 50 bucks for a game I am so bitterly dissapointed. If I wanted Warhammer 40k Real Time Role Playing Tactical Simulator I would have bought that. DOWII was supposed to be RTS. At least I thought it was. Guess Im the sucker. 5. I now have to listen to my 3 freinds who also are disappointed with the game whine constantly about it. I hope to god Starcraft 2 doesnt follow DOWIIs example. If I could return the game I would. But guess what? I can't! Ill think twice before I buy something from THQ again. Expand
  43. AndreiP
    Feb 24, 2009
    6
    Three steps forward, ten steps back. This is more or less what Relic achieved with their newest title. First of all I'd like to state I have nothing against the lack of base building nor the squad-like mechanics. I simply dislike how this game not only failed to improve upon what was poor in the first, but utterly ignored the specific issues completely. The story is a cliche and the Three steps forward, ten steps back. This is more or less what Relic achieved with their newest title. First of all I'd like to state I have nothing against the lack of base building nor the squad-like mechanics. I simply dislike how this game not only failed to improve upon what was poor in the first, but utterly ignored the specific issues completely. The story is a cliche and the way it's told by audio briefings doesn't help in any way. Cutscenes or any other noteworthy methods of storytelling are nowhere to be found in Relic's title. The plot is predictable, the characters are stereotypical and the writing is simply dull. It's like they didn't even try - a shame, for the IP is great. The singleplayer is a borefest to normal players. People which enjoy grinding for XP and Items on the same maps time and time again, might enjoy it though. After playing the same maps over and over, either defending or seeking a boss, you'll start wondering why you bought a 50 Euro game rather than downloading a Korean MMO for free. The gameplay, is not particularly bad, but for those that played Company of Heroes, it's nothing new either. However, I personally found DoW 2 more enjoyable than the first game in this respect, so Relic's idea was commendable. The only problem that plagues both the singleplayer and the multiplayer are the mildly unresponsive units. When you're seeking to destroy your Eldar friend and your 3 tanks get stuck without any means of getting them out, it's slightly irritating. Dawn of War 2 had great potential, yet it feels like a rushed and unfinished product. The interface, is rather uncomfortable and has a grotesque 90's look. Matchmaking is a pain, despite the use of Live. There are very few maps to be having fun in multiplayer, most of which you'll already be sick of after finishing the campaign. Ultimately, the game doesn't deserve anything above an 8 even if you're completely uninterested in story elements. If you're expecting an epic, engaging and sentimental tale in DoW 2 and value storylines a great deal, this is a 5-6 grade game, and that's being polite. I Expand
  44. EddieS
    Feb 26, 2009
    3
    One word sums up how I feel about this game-disappointed. The first Dawn of War was incredible, and got better with each installment. After waiting so long, after all the hype...I wish I would have waited till this hit the bargain bin at walmart while I continued to play the original in the interim. The campaign was fun, a lot of the features are hard to use and not as effective as the One word sums up how I feel about this game-disappointed. The first Dawn of War was incredible, and got better with each installment. After waiting so long, after all the hype...I wish I would have waited till this hit the bargain bin at walmart while I continued to play the original in the interim. The campaign was fun, a lot of the features are hard to use and not as effective as the simpler ones (there's really no point in having cyrus other than to laugh at him during his holier than thou monologues between missions). All this talk about "you really have to use tactics" is nonsense. the controls are clumsy, and you're tactical options are pretty small. "Well...dropped all my bolter turrets, time to try to clumsily select cover that they'll just leave when i tell 'em to switch targets anyway, or will get blasted by a grenade, then i'll have to make all my boys run back to base to reinforce again." The running back to base or comm array or whatever to reinforce is lame. The only real strategic decisions you'll make are "flamers, bolters, or missile launchers for this one?" When you've got something that works, stick with it, improve it. There's a reason there's such a rabid fan base for the first one. By trying to reinvent the wheel they've really gimped their own franchise. Expand
  45. NathanielL
    Feb 27, 2009
    1
    The unforgiving nature of the single player campaign has been, and continues to be very frustrating. The inability to save has made me angry on more than one occasion. Further I feel the game would benefit if more of it were on an individual's computer, rather than through the internet.
  46. KhalidA
    Feb 27, 2009
    10
    This game is the perfect RTS! Not only do you get to command your own hero but level him up and upgrade him! In addition to other squads ofcourse. Combat is really intense and the special abilities are excellent. More importantly, is the way the campaign was setup, and how the planets, their strategic assets, intelligence, defense all tie in to your strategy, its really very welll done. This game is the perfect RTS! Not only do you get to command your own hero but level him up and upgrade him! In addition to other squads ofcourse. Combat is really intense and the special abilities are excellent. More importantly, is the way the campaign was setup, and how the planets, their strategic assets, intelligence, defense all tie in to your strategy, its really very welll done. The cool visuals and the outstanding interface on the galactic map is also a beautiful touch. The only thing that was missing for me, was just a little more customization for your character, not necessary but would make the story and the events in the game more involving such as face customization, thats it really. Dawn of War perfected! Expand
  47. JamesD
    Feb 27, 2009
    6
    Other than the tedious STEAM installation process and forcing of update game that does not even support resume, this is by far not worth to purchase. No internet, and you can't play this game. I'll give a 6 for this, installation to make users feel comfortable to install should be top priority instead of going through heaven and hell get this game running.
  48. JamesM
    Feb 20, 2009
    7
    Microsoft live is the cheapest lazy way for them to do multiplayer, has tons of complications when you try to start a game and get in with friends. Either the routers dont work togethor or the 3v3 constantly lags because of people with crummy computers that have there settings to high. DEDICATED MULTIPLAYER SERVERS and i would give the game a 12.
  49. JoeHendry
    Feb 28, 2009
    10
    Stunning, and new game play is fun and not as formulaic as other similar games i.e; bulid big city... Defend city wile building more troops..... wait till you have more troops than enemy..... Destroy enemy city...!!!

    This game has more variety and i feel is more true to the W40K world..... cant wait for the Add-ons!
  50. KenM
    Mar 1, 2009
    5
    Like most games, there is a challenge to recreate an experience that is enjoyable regardless the operating system. Both XP and Vista have extremem issue with the way this product uses system resources. It should be unnecessary to strip startup apps and other system features to enjoy a product as purchased. Also this idea that I must run a started client for Steam to obtain patches and Like most games, there is a challenge to recreate an experience that is enjoyable regardless the operating system. Both XP and Vista have extremem issue with the way this product uses system resources. It should be unnecessary to strip startup apps and other system features to enjoy a product as purchased. Also this idea that I must run a started client for Steam to obtain patches and enjoy the experience is simply outrageous. I see this product coming off the shelves as soon as Starcraft 2 is released. Expand
  51. AaronF
    Mar 10, 2009
    10
    I'd give this game a 9 because I don't believe it is PERFECT, but since there are people giving this game a 2, I had to give it a 10 to help offset the idiocy of people giving this game a bad review. Mike M, you are a fool. DoW 2 offers exciting game play, goal-setting and achieving ambitions, and lots of room for further expansion. Not to mention co-op modes, which are always a I'd give this game a 9 because I don't believe it is PERFECT, but since there are people giving this game a 2, I had to give it a 10 to help offset the idiocy of people giving this game a bad review. Mike M, you are a fool. DoW 2 offers exciting game play, goal-setting and achieving ambitions, and lots of room for further expansion. Not to mention co-op modes, which are always a plus. I am switching back and forth from this to Empires Total War, and enjoying both immensely. Expand
  52. GarthM
    Mar 12, 2009
    9
    While I am a great fan of this universe and genre, there's a few persistantly annoying software items that plague this game. I appreciate the focus on squad based combat and the individuality of each squad, but due to some fatal scar errors appearing repeatedly in certain missions, they're nearly unplayable. (Most notorious, which they've fixed, was angel gate, but While I am a great fan of this universe and genre, there's a few persistantly annoying software items that plague this game. I appreciate the focus on squad based combat and the individuality of each squad, but due to some fatal scar errors appearing repeatedly in certain missions, they're nearly unplayable. (Most notorious, which they've fixed, was angel gate, but I've had more trouble with "The Wailing Doom." I was a little disappointed at the initial offering of four races, but am looking forward to expansions. Also, the tyrranid race was done fairly close to form. Excellent polish, limited replay, but enjoyable overall. Expand
  53. PaulK
    Mar 14, 2009
    10
    I just finished the campaign and it was one of the best campagins I have ever played through. Although quite easy, throught the levels, the end boss, on most levels, really proved to be a great feature and made it just a bit harder causing the game to balance out very nice.
  54. ForrestM
    Mar 10, 2009
    10
    I absolutely adore this game. I believe the vast majority of negative reviews are from people who expected it to be just like the first game. When I look at this game I see the good elements of DoW1 combined with the good elements of Company of Heroes. The campaign is pulled of artfully and is truly innovative and successful in its innovation. The lack of base building blends in perfectly I absolutely adore this game. I believe the vast majority of negative reviews are from people who expected it to be just like the first game. When I look at this game I see the good elements of DoW1 combined with the good elements of Company of Heroes. The campaign is pulled of artfully and is truly innovative and successful in its innovation. The lack of base building blends in perfectly with the tactical play style of the game and the interface is beautifully streamlined making micromanagement a breeze. Sure there may only be 4 races and 1 campaign but if history is any sort of teacher, we can count on expansions. Expand
  55. SethRule
    Mar 17, 2009
    9
    This game is an excellent and bold first step in a new direction for both the Dawn of War series and the RTS genre as a whole. The game looks and plays great, and the campaign is breath of fresh air into genre; a welcome change of pace from most RTS games which only include a campaign mode for posterity. In some places, however, the game feels unfinished. The multiplayer, in particular, This game is an excellent and bold first step in a new direction for both the Dawn of War series and the RTS genre as a whole. The game looks and plays great, and the campaign is breath of fresh air into genre; a welcome change of pace from most RTS games which only include a campaign mode for posterity. In some places, however, the game feels unfinished. The multiplayer, in particular, is in need of balancing on more variety, but remains pulse-pounding and entertaining when you find a good match. One has to think of this game as more of a starter pack to be expanded upon in the months and years to come through DLC and the inevitable expansions. Much like the original Dawn of War so many years back, Dawn of War II is a work of art, but also a work in progress, and it may take time for it to reach it's true potential. Expand
  56. brookehillard
    Mar 19, 2009
    2
    great game upon intial look, but features such as waiting up to 20 min for a ranked match and once you get into a ranked match the teams being no where near equal destroy the game. If you are looking for a good multiplayer RTS wait for star craft this x-mas
  57. GuyWalbe
    Mar 21, 2009
    5
    This game is only marginally an RTS and should not have been marketed as one. It is more akin to Real time tactical/RPG the likes of Mechcommander or the Commandos series of games. It is neither as fun as the original Dawn of War series, nor as polished as the Company of Heroes series, which it takes most of its ideas from. It is an inferior RTS game and would not be worth mentioningThis game is only marginally an RTS and should not have been marketed as one. It is more akin to Real time tactical/RPG the likes of Mechcommander or the Commandos series of games. It is neither as fun as the original Dawn of War series, nor as polished as the Company of Heroes series, which it takes most of its ideas from. It is an inferior RTS game and would not be worth mentioning were it not for the -short- Singleplayer. Expand
  58. CorwinP
    Mar 2, 2009
    10
    You see so few games these days where the developers spent as much time on the single-player gameplay and storyline as they did on multiplayer gameplay. Warhammer 40k's DoW II stands above and beyond all of the rest in all respects. It has balanced multiplayer interaction, a fantastic and epically enthralling storyline, and single player gameplay that will indeed keep you coming back You see so few games these days where the developers spent as much time on the single-player gameplay and storyline as they did on multiplayer gameplay. Warhammer 40k's DoW II stands above and beyond all of the rest in all respects. It has balanced multiplayer interaction, a fantastic and epically enthralling storyline, and single player gameplay that will indeed keep you coming back to play all difficulties. Its replayability is high and I see myself playing this game on into the future. At least until Dawn of War III comes out. Expand
  59. Felixi
    Mar 2, 2009
    10
    If you have played the desktop version of this game, then this will be a game that you will love. This game has captured the fun element of computer games, without selling out to cheezy compromises. I put off buying this game for two weeks because I read some of the negative reviews on this site. Don't be swayed this game is worth buying.
  60. Fenon
    Mar 2, 2009
    5
    I found the graphics for this game to be undesirable, all that shine just doesn't look right on the battle hardened damaged space marines. And you can't help but compare it unfavourably to DoW, it's much less of a game and while I played DoW for months without getting bored, I was bored of DoW2 within the first day. We were told that the reason DoW didn't have Tyranids I found the graphics for this game to be undesirable, all that shine just doesn't look right on the battle hardened damaged space marines. And you can't help but compare it unfavourably to DoW, it's much less of a game and while I played DoW for months without getting bored, I was bored of DoW2 within the first day. We were told that the reason DoW didn't have Tyranids was because they couldn't do them justice on the old engine, but I fail to see how DoW2 has done anything at all any justice. There are only two saving graces for DoW2, the excellent cover system and it's modding community who I'm hoping will undo all the damage that has been done to the DoW series. If you are looking for a Warhammer 40K game get the first Dawn of War game and it's expansions, it's vastly better, you won't easily get bored of it and hopefully by the time you do, those wonderful modders will have worked their magic to make DoW2 a playable game deserving of it's name. Expand
  61. PeterK
    Mar 2, 2009
    9
    Most of the low scores are from people who want this game to be something it isn't - DoW1. And I guess that's fair enough, but if, like me, you're ready for something new, this game is an absolute blast. Bringing the focus in on the tactics of battlefield by removing base building and complicated tech trees, this game is much faster than the original, but easily as Most of the low scores are from people who want this game to be something it isn't - DoW1. And I guess that's fair enough, but if, like me, you're ready for something new, this game is an absolute blast. Bringing the focus in on the tactics of battlefield by removing base building and complicated tech trees, this game is much faster than the original, but easily as involving as you concentrate on map control and unit combinations/placement to win the day. It needs some more multiplayer map and game types, but what's in there will definitely keep you happy and perhaps we'll get some more through developer promised downloadable content (free and fee based). The single player campaign may not have the deepest of storylines, but it is a lot of fun, and I'll be replaying it a couple of times. Expand
  62. PaulC
    Mar 22, 2009
    8
    There are a lot of new things in this game. On the whole, I think they work. There are several design changes I would have made, but I think the good far outweighs the bad. This is primarily true in the SP campaign. The MP side, I think, is a bit more broken due to too few maps and poor matching through MS' TrueSkill system.
  63. MattH
    Mar 22, 2009
    4
    A very good game if it were a prelude to Dawn of War [1]. Unfortunately the repetitive nature of singleplayer grinds you down the second play through. Multiplayer is good for 2-3 games but then becomes very predictable and boring. Very few unit choices, very little strategy involved, direful selection of maps (only 7 maps supplied), unit pathing is very poor, cover system and your A very good game if it were a prelude to Dawn of War [1]. Unfortunately the repetitive nature of singleplayer grinds you down the second play through. Multiplayer is good for 2-3 games but then becomes very predictable and boring. Very few unit choices, very little strategy involved, direful selection of maps (only 7 maps supplied), unit pathing is very poor, cover system and your unit's overriding AI spoils micromanagement. Expand
  64. AdamJ
    Mar 3, 2009
    6
    Fatal flaw in the pop cap double counting whenever I am reinforcing error. Get it fixed Relic. I spent $50 on this and I don't want to have to work around bugs like this when I spend so much for a game. And if you can't release a game without jeopardizing the quality of your other games (IE COH), then dont release a game until then.
  65. StephenT.
    Mar 4, 2009
    10
    I can honestly say that after playing this game, I can never go back to the traditional RTS game ever again. With Dawn of War II, Relic has completely reinvented the RTS genre, to the point where there is no going back. It plays like a dream, the perfect blend of strategy and action, combined with great graphics and physics engines makes for an all around great game. Don't believe I can honestly say that after playing this game, I can never go back to the traditional RTS game ever again. With Dawn of War II, Relic has completely reinvented the RTS genre, to the point where there is no going back. It plays like a dream, the perfect blend of strategy and action, combined with great graphics and physics engines makes for an all around great game. Don't believe what the critics say about the so called, "less-impressive single-player campaign," as, while it does lack variety, it is an incredibly enjoyable experience that does, unlike many RTS games, require tactics and strategy (Gamespot, http://www.gamespot.com/pc/strategy/warhammer40kdawnofwar2/review.html). Having only played the beta, I can't judge the multiplayer component 100%, but from the feel of the beta, I know that without intelligent micromanagement, you can't do anything except lose. So if you read out there to stay away, experienced RTS players, don't buy it, because without the use of tactics, you can't hope to succeed. Overall, I find the game a little repetetive and the lack of multiplayer maps disappointing, however, the kick in the collective pants of the RTS genre is a welcome one, which I welcome with open arms. I truly must say that Relic has made the perfect RTS experience with Dawn of War II, one which makes it easy to overlook any shortcomings, and one which will keep me entertained until the next expansion or next game that Relic releases. Expand
  66. CarlKershaw
    Mar 4, 2009
    9
    I would have liked to have seen a more varied campaign with been able to play the other races but overall I like the new direction they have taken with the game and think it moves away from the monotinous building of bases to nuke things, you can just move straight out and have fun.
  67. DanielC
    Mar 5, 2009
    8
    To start with it is much better than DOW 1. While I did expect better, it is much more in tune with real Warhammer 40K. The squad make up and number of units is much more like tabletop than the first DOW. Also without base building it focus more on platoon level tactics, cover, fields of fire, support while advancing, etc., which is what 40K is all about. Also I love being able to To start with it is much better than DOW 1. While I did expect better, it is much more in tune with real Warhammer 40K. The squad make up and number of units is much more like tabletop than the first DOW. Also without base building it focus more on platoon level tactics, cover, fields of fire, support while advancing, etc., which is what 40K is all about. Also I love being able to customize you wargear and kick up the skills of my various squads. Now for the negative. It still crashes, after a few patches! I have more than the recommended specs and it seemingly randomly crashes. Grrrr. Also I hate of vehicles and terminators destroy all of my cover, both should be able to use cover as well! There should be an option for those units to avoid tromping everything, maybe I wanted that wall standing there to protect my flank. Expand
  68. MikeB
    Apr 10, 2009
    9
    The campaign is repetitive as others have mentioned (and the reviews themselves) but I find that less of a problem when I'm turning orks into green cubes and tyranids into squishy bits. The actual game is fun as hell. I don't see how people could give this a 1. It may not be your cup of tea but there is no way this game is a 1 or even a 5. Everytime I've seen this it's The campaign is repetitive as others have mentioned (and the reviews themselves) but I find that less of a problem when I'm turning orks into green cubes and tyranids into squishy bits. The actual game is fun as hell. I don't see how people could give this a 1. It may not be your cup of tea but there is no way this game is a 1 or even a 5. Everytime I've seen this it's been from someone who mentioned it's not like Dawn of War 1, get over it. Expand
  69. TravisP
    Apr 13, 2009
    10
    All time favorite game! all around game play is great. this type of Hybrid RTS/RPG really brings new strategy paving a new path for RTS games to come! I love how you no longer build, so you're more in the field of battle and using tactics rather than pawning your opponent. graphics are amazing however, the one thing that bugged me was RAM requirements, and drive space. make sure you All time favorite game! all around game play is great. this type of Hybrid RTS/RPG really brings new strategy paving a new path for RTS games to come! I love how you no longer build, so you're more in the field of battle and using tactics rather than pawning your opponent. graphics are amazing however, the one thing that bugged me was RAM requirements, and drive space. make sure you buy a computer with high RAM and a good graphics card otherwise you may find this tittle pretty sluggish. but its well worth the price. Expand
  70. OttoLo
    Apr 15, 2009
    3
    I spent hours and hours playing DOW1. I was looking forward to this seguel but when I after the first minute playing it...I was horrified. Skirmish sucks...You are not allowed to really build anything, which makes it more easier. And capturing the strategic points ain't fun. The story mode was ok, but I didn't like that they give you so many "heroes" to play. I'd prefer one I spent hours and hours playing DOW1. I was looking forward to this seguel but when I after the first minute playing it...I was horrified. Skirmish sucks...You are not allowed to really build anything, which makes it more easier. And capturing the strategic points ain't fun. The story mode was ok, but I didn't like that they give you so many "heroes" to play. I'd prefer one stronger hero and lots of weaker soldiers. And your only tactic in the game is that you make your way using covers. That is not really tactic. It's all just the same. "Forward, cover, kill. Forward, cover, kill." Of course there is chance of going multiple ways in the map, but it cannot cover all the mistakes. At least skirmish's unit types were acceptable. Graphics are over hyped. From long distance, they look mediocre, but from close they are ugly as dog's ass. Relic really f*cked up with this. No real strategy, mediocre graphics, voice acting from hell and on the top of a cake, NOT REAL SEGUEL, ONLY PILE OF SH*T COSTING 50$. F you Relic, you dissapointed me. Expand
  71. noname
    Apr 24, 2009
    9
    Counter-Strike: Source offers flexible styles of play. Using mod's and various game settings, there is always something fun to do involving great action and Edge-of-your-seat thrills. The mechanics allow you to quickly get used to working out, and the smooth rendering with higher model machines give such a life like feel, as though you were in really Razing and Blazing "The Point". Counter-Strike: Source offers flexible styles of play. Using mod's and various game settings, there is always something fun to do involving great action and Edge-of-your-seat thrills. The mechanics allow you to quickly get used to working out, and the smooth rendering with higher model machines give such a life like feel, as though you were in really Razing and Blazing "The Point". Hands down, 11 score in my book. Get it today. Get in and play! Expand
  72. RichardSteele
    Apr 6, 2009
    0
    It completely fials in caturing the feel of warhammer 40K. Online multiplayer is a total failure, and skirmish is dull and totally uninteresting. Did I meantion it totally fails to capture the feel of warhammer 40K? It's just a lazy attempt to re-skin their WWII game. 4 man tactical squads? Has anyone at Relic even played 40K? Aparently not.
  73. RaphS
    Apr 9, 2009
    10
    I'll give it a 10/10 : +Extraordinary graphics (you'll need a good cpu) +Revolutionary strategy game (No boring construction phase or what so ever) +Responsive and intelligent units (each squad can be fully controled, upgraded and has it's own ranking levels) +Intense battles with a reactive environment (intensity, destruction and blood are the 3 bases of battles in this I'll give it a 10/10 : +Extraordinary graphics (you'll need a good cpu) +Revolutionary strategy game (No boring construction phase or what so ever) +Responsive and intelligent units (each squad can be fully controled, upgraded and has it's own ranking levels) +Intense battles with a reactive environment (intensity, destruction and blood are the 3 bases of battles in this game, the all new reactive environment with destructible walls, barricades etc ... gives a thumb up for the game) +Non-Linear Campain (For my part, I loved the campain even if it's quite short if you take a level below "Primearch" but it's based on a solid scenario and gives the game a spice of roleplaying with the innovative "equip your characters and level them" system in a RTS which is quite surprising) +Good choice of the races (Space Marines, Orks, Eldars and Tyranids are all very different from one another but they are a perfect combination of races that had to be put in this game of equalised battles; all that matters is your skill and your "game-reflexes"). To conclude I think this game should be nominated for the game of the year award. I just hope the producers won't make the same mistake they made in DOW 1 ( Including in each expansion a new race ==> it completely disorganises the game ). Expand
  74. ChristemoA
    May 10, 2009
    0
    this game sucks balls compared to Dark Crusade and Soulstorm. Relic have taken their best franchise and killed it. there nothing to this game. its extremely bad and nothing else. if they had made this game properly, like the 3rd and 4th game, it would be 50
  75. RickP
    May 13, 2009
    10
    This game Rocks! I have the entire Dawn of war series, love them all! But DOW II brings a whole new level to the intensity of the future of war... in teh future there is only WAR.
  76. AnonymousMC
    May 17, 2009
    8
    This game is fast paced & really engaging when you face a horde of enemies. Back then playing DOW : Dark Crusade (Soulstorm sucks) micromanagement like plasma beam or meta grenade is not necessary, you just need to have the strongest & largest troops to win the game. This game actually requires some strategy & thinking to play so bravo for that.

    The fact that a RPG / RTS hybrid is still
    This game is fast paced & really engaging when you face a horde of enemies. Back then playing DOW : Dark Crusade (Soulstorm sucks) micromanagement like plasma beam or meta grenade is not necessary, you just need to have the strongest & largest troops to win the game. This game actually requires some strategy & thinking to play so bravo for that.

    The fact that a RPG / RTS hybrid is still a new experiment for Relic they should be encouraged to further refine & enhance the game later on.
    Expand
  77. WillL
    May 22, 2009
    2
    Just no, I waited for so long to upgrade my pc to play this game and all that relic have done is created a pc rts that looks and handles like a damn console rts. I know they told us that base building was going to be gone but unti l played the game i didnt realise quite how bad this would be, waiting to gather up enough resources to buy stuff in multiplayer takes far to long, then once Just no, I waited for so long to upgrade my pc to play this game and all that relic have done is created a pc rts that looks and handles like a damn console rts. I know they told us that base building was going to be gone but unti l played the game i didnt realise quite how bad this would be, waiting to gather up enough resources to buy stuff in multiplayer takes far to long, then once you've built your 3 or 4 squads you have a lot of 'fun' slowly moving them towards critical locations where chances are they will either all get killed by weapon emplacements or suffer a couple of losses so your forced to fall back and lose all your progress. Where is the fun in this! Couple this with matchmaking that takes longer than halo 3 and a ranked system that seems to delight in placing low level players against high level players and we I'm left wondering what the hell I just wasted my money on, Campaign is all that even makes it worth a 2 in my books as the storyline is good and once you've leveled up enough commanding is moderately fun untill you play on insane difficulty which somehow makes your supposed superhuman soldiers completely pathetic when facing anything larger than a tyranid gaunt. Oh and boss fights suck. Expand
  78. JohnCerril
    May 20, 2009
    6
    Great campaign, great multiplayer gameplay... if evenly matched. The TrueSkill in this game is so broken that I am quitting until they remove it from the system. It's a game I like to have fun in, and fun for me is not getting blasted by Rank 52 TrueSkill 36 people. Replay value plays heavily into my rating of all games, seeing as longevity is key in purchases.
  79. PatR
    May 4, 2009
    9
    Great fun, the missions bring you straight into the thick of the action and rarely take too long, effectively forcing you to abandon old base-building strategies of grinding on until you've won. The RPG advancement is fun but a little tacked on, and the superhuman space marines are rarely in trouble unless you really push the advance, or until you meet a tough boss, but still, it Great fun, the missions bring you straight into the thick of the action and rarely take too long, effectively forcing you to abandon old base-building strategies of grinding on until you've won. The RPG advancement is fun but a little tacked on, and the superhuman space marines are rarely in trouble unless you really push the advance, or until you meet a tough boss, but still, it makes the action RTS genre a reality in spectacular style. Expand
  80. WilC
    May 6, 2009
    6
    While the game is visually impressive and fast paced, it may be too much so for anyone who was expecting something similar to the previous incarnations of the franchise. Base building is all but gone and the scale of combat has become small and squad-centric; somewhat like a bird's eye view of a first-person shooter playing out below.
  81. FrisodeJ
    Jun 1, 2009
    1
    This game is 1 gigantic anticlimax... No basebuilding, well okay. But not like this. It's like joining and waiting, waiting, waiting and when something seems to be happening it turns out to be stupid. I played it for 2 days begging it was just a slow beginning, but still, nothing... Good things: Great graphics and a good story, but nothing more than that. Overall: VERY bad...
  82. KevinS.
    Jun 29, 2009
    9
    While this game may not be the best RTS ever, it is fun amnd engaging. I love the moldability of my squad and the flexibility of each mission. At first I wasn't sure if I enjoyed how they reused the maps, but aftera while I realized that it was a lot of fun and it helped engage me into the story line.
  83. JasonD
    Jun 5, 2009
    1
    i have played all of the games and was so looking forward to this one, the graphics are great and the story is brilliant but its nothing like the other games, no base building is a big mistake and game play is so slow. I have given it 4 weeks of trying to get into this game but have now given up and gone back to the originals. Shame as it was full of so much promise :(
  84. ElliottFairclough
    Aug 12, 2009
    9
    Absolutely brilliant! Superb game that mixes both an exhilirating RPG style campaign storyline, which allows you to play against numerous enemies, but is somewhat repetitive, with the action-packed multiplayer that seems as if you can't get enough of it. It's like a drug (well sort of)! However, some aspects do need variation and improvements that would make the game better.Absolutely brilliant! Superb game that mixes both an exhilirating RPG style campaign storyline, which allows you to play against numerous enemies, but is somewhat repetitive, with the action-packed multiplayer that seems as if you can't get enough of it. It's like a drug (well sort of)! However, some aspects do need variation and improvements that would make the game better. Despite this i still give a well earned 9 out of 10. Good job Relic! Expand
  85. FrankieE
    Aug 3, 2009
    6
    Ok where do it start!? As a hardcore 40K fan and a massive fan of the previous DOW titles i can say that i am disspointed with this game. Whilst i understand that relic wanted to change and go somewhere new, they have in fact gone backwards... allot. Multiplayers is not worthwhile, we have lost a major aspect of the game. You can no longer build buildings which has removed a massive side Ok where do it start!? As a hardcore 40K fan and a massive fan of the previous DOW titles i can say that i am disspointed with this game. Whilst i understand that relic wanted to change and go somewhere new, they have in fact gone backwards... allot. Multiplayers is not worthwhile, we have lost a major aspect of the game. You can no longer build buildings which has removed a massive side of the game, you no longer have to build to gain new equipment and you cant attack/defend these postions which gave the previous titles an edge. Also you cannot build massive armys which removes the whole "War" aspect. Add to this list the fact you only have 4 races to play with. On a more positive side, single player is very addictive and i like the customize the squad feature, its a shame you can use these players in multiplayer. Also the introduction of the tyranids is a godsend. Expand
  86. mikemiller
    Aug 3, 2009
    9
    Great Campainge, even better in Co-op.
    But theVersus multiplayer seems watered down, you have to be an expert player to be able to play, and its takes for ever just to get a few squads on the map. I give it a 9/10 because the campainge can kepp you goin for hours on end, if you can put up with a little repetitiveness.(made up word)
  87. DaveTolley
    Aug 5, 2009
    10
    i've got the first DoW games and the expansions, so the change in direction was abit of a shock but once i got used to it, its fucking awesome i love the rpg elements i find it mixs it up abit so its not as boring as i find some other RTS's
  88. STeveSteve
    Sep 17, 2009
    5
    The over hyped campaign was lame. The biggest screwup was creating a dump mp. There is nothing inherently wrong with no base building. The flaw is that the MP is treated like its a base building game which totally ruined the game.
  89. RayE
    Sep 18, 2009
    10
    THQ have done well at improving the game, IF you are a tactic person that like to use the posibilities of every squad/unit andwhat the environment offer you... The lowered amount of unit makes it even better to use tactics, if you play online without any tactics you will be defeated, I think many people was dissapointed on the game because it was so much easier to play dow than dow 2 THQ have done well at improving the game, IF you are a tactic person that like to use the posibilities of every squad/unit andwhat the environment offer you... The lowered amount of unit makes it even better to use tactics, if you play online without any tactics you will be defeated, I think many people was dissapointed on the game because it was so much easier to play dow than dow 2 because of the easy to use squads and high amount of units that have been changed at dow 2 but in my opinion it was a great improvment. And I will keep playing the game until the next generation warhammer game releases. This is and will be one of the most important title of the Dawn of War(DOW) series. Expand
  90. CE
    Sep 3, 2009
    8
    While this game is undoubtedly an RTS it plays different than your regular RTS. It is squad based as opposed to base based; that is the construction of bases and such. In DoW2 you are basically given a main base, a hero unit, and a basic infantry squad. What you do after that is up to you. The combat is pretty energizing and never boring. The only problem is how difficult to obtain While this game is undoubtedly an RTS it plays different than your regular RTS. It is squad based as opposed to base based; that is the construction of bases and such. In DoW2 you are basically given a main base, a hero unit, and a basic infantry squad. What you do after that is up to you. The combat is pretty energizing and never boring. The only problem is how difficult to obtain resources it can be. Sometimes there can be large breaks in the action due to either waiting for resources or for units to build. The other problem is that with so many units you tend to lose track of all your squads and thus you may lose them easily. Other than that though, the game is quite solid. Expand
  91. FrankL
    Sep 9, 2009
    5
    Major disappointment. I awaited this title with much anticipation. I have been a Games Workshop enthusiast for 18 years and am a great fan of the first Dawn of War. First, before I go into how much of a waste this game is... I would like to say I really liked the Tyranids. The makers totally screwed this game up. Everything you loved about the first Dawn of War has been removed. Their is Major disappointment. I awaited this title with much anticipation. I have been a Games Workshop enthusiast for 18 years and am a great fan of the first Dawn of War. First, before I go into how much of a waste this game is... I would like to say I really liked the Tyranids. The makers totally screwed this game up. Everything you loved about the first Dawn of War has been removed. Their is no longer a feeling of large battles. The multiplayer aspect of the game is so bland that makes you want to shoot yourself in the head. You cant shake the feeling that this game is under cooked. All your strategic options have vanished and to make things worse the maps are much smaller than the original. Space Marines with 3 man squads made me want to shove this game up the programmers rear end. How can you fail at making a game with the War Hammer 40k title behind it? These people did. Expand
  92. JamesW
    Jan 22, 2010
    6
    Due to the overwhelming positive review and the good experience from the first Dawn of War, I bought this game without much hesitance. After having tried the single player and multiplayer mode, I am hugely disappointed. Frist of, the single player campaign is boring. It is the first time in my life that I fell a sleep while playing an RTS (literally). All you do is just looking at your Due to the overwhelming positive review and the good experience from the first Dawn of War, I bought this game without much hesitance. After having tried the single player and multiplayer mode, I am hugely disappointed. Frist of, the single player campaign is boring. It is the first time in my life that I fell a sleep while playing an RTS (literally). All you do is just looking at your same tiny Squad, moving them around the map, setup a good position, let them do automatic shooting, heal, then occasionally use their special ability, and repeat that throughout the game. Multiplayer is almost unplayable. Most of the time the match will be disconnected due to somebody's slow internet or computer. However, the new mode, The Last Stand, was pretty fun to play once in a while. I really try to like Dawn of War II, I have install and uninstall the game more than 4 times, but every time I started playing, it bores me. It is great that Relic try new approach on DOW2, but it lost a lot of the charm from the first game while doing so. Expand
  93. OliverH.
    Jan 25, 2010
    10
    So many multiplayer options, fantastic campaign mode with so many unlockable items and highly strategic : ) Awesome
  94. Peterw
    Jan 5, 2010
    10
    I love that game! I think it is like 1000 times better than the old one where you just built a huge amount of units and charged towards the enemy. Each unit got a purpose and you dont embarass yourselves with tons of upgrades, buildings ad workers and all that stuff. I personnaly have a 9000 points chaos army, i saw lots of other units that they coud have included, but then it would have I love that game! I think it is like 1000 times better than the old one where you just built a huge amount of units and charged towards the enemy. Each unit got a purpose and you dont embarass yourselves with tons of upgrades, buildings ad workers and all that stuff. I personnaly have a 9000 points chaos army, i saw lots of other units that they coud have included, but then it would have been another crappy game like soulstorm!!! Expand
  95. NoMadM
    Nov 1, 2009
    10
    The greatest Game of Warhammer 40.000 I ever Played! It's a very well mixture of RPG and Strategy. I play Warhammer since 1999 and could say it was the best Game...most realistik one...I know! It has devenetf dhe Flair of the Warhammer 40.000 Galexy. WELL DONE, RELIK! And, "For the Emperor!"
  96. SPARTANVI
    Oct 20, 2009
    9
    Dawn of War II feels like Company of Heroes and StarCraft smushed together and it is a wonderful marriage. I haven't had so much fun PC gaming since... Company of Heroes. You rock Relic!
  97. JohnL
    Dec 13, 2009
    7
    Rated 7 because of the effort in creating the game. But really, how disappointing! Anyone who has experienced the original 40K would almost certainly want that model back, along with the enhanced gfx and sound of this version. I
  98. AaronLane
    Oct 22, 2009
    10
    Just what I needed. More games like this! Warhammer 40,000 is an incredible universe with plenty of game-worthy ground to explore.
  99. Habuki
    Dec 30, 2009
    0
    CD keys provided from manufacturer don't even work on live. Some kinda voodoo trick to get the game to work. So far, looks nice as a huge screensaver. No product support from relic, steam, microsoft, or THQ. Their suggested fix "buy another game"
  100. DanielS
    Dec 4, 2009
    10
    I personally love Dawn of War 2. The campaign might lack of gameplay but i think that the multiplayer option is fantastic, instead of having tons of buildings with tons of units that dosn't have any special purpose like in dawn of war 2. Dawn of War 2 might not have as many units as in Dawn of War but they all got a purpose.
Metascore
85

Generally favorable reviews - based on 67 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 64 out of 67
  2. Negative: 0 out of 67
  1. 85
    The single-player mash-up of RTS and RPG elements works really well, and the multiplayer is fast and exciting. Relic's reinvention of the Dawn of War brand is a breath of fresh (or possibly fetid, Tyranid infested) air.
  2. Dawn of War II is a highly innovative twist on the usual RTS formula that dares to think outside the box while staying true to the WH40k source material. Campaign co-op play is a great addition to the already superb single player game but the head-to-head multiplayer skirmish is a bit of a disappointment.
  3. Dawn of War was a finely tuned game with huge battles and many disposable troops. Dawn of War II is faster, lighter, smaller, in some ways more interesting and in other ways somewhat lacking in its execution. But taken as a whole it’s impossible to not recommend the game to 40K fans and to those who are willing to accept that this is not a linear sequel to an aging franchise.