• Publisher:
  • Release Date:
Metascore
85

Generally favorable reviews - based on 67 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1425 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Warhammer 40,000: Dawn of War II is set in the grim, war-ravaged world of Games Workshop’s Warhammer 40,000 universe – a dark, futuristic, science-fiction setting where armies of technologically advanced warriors, fighting machines and hordes of implacable aliens wage constant war. Dawn of War II ushers in a new chapter in the RTS series, as ancient races – including the dauntless Space Marines and savage Orks - clash across ruined worlds on a mission to claim the galaxy and preserve their own existence. Powered by the re-vamped Essence Engine 2.0, the next evolution of Relic’s proprietary game engine made famous in the award winning Company of Heroes, Warhammer 40,000: Dawn of War II delivers fast-paced RTS action with ferocious melee and ranged combat in fully destructible environments. The game immerses players in an in-depth non-linear single-player campaign and a fully-co-operative multiplayer mode. [THQ] Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 64 out of 67
  2. Negative: 0 out of 67
  1. Dawn of War II is an easy recommendation for me to make it is one of the best PC games in recent year.
  2. A really fantastic game that will be able to fascinate old fans and also newcomers in the genre! Go on Relic!
  3. 90
    While the overall formula could still use some fine-tuning, the current product is one part hypercharged tactical combat, one part streamlined competitive RTS, and entirely worth playing.
  4. Extraordinary online play makes it easy to overlook this strategy sequel's less-impressive single-player campaign.
  5. A lack of maps and repetition mar the single-player, but the multiplayer is brilliantly brutal. [Mar 2009, p.81]
  6. Dawn of War 2's greatest accolade is something that it actually does share in common with its predecessor; it's a game that once again takes the Warhammer 40,000 license and does something truly great with it. As for the rest, time will tell if Relic's gamble pays off or not.
  7. It’s in desperate need of some more variation, but Dawn of War II is luscious, visceral and fast-paced.

See all 67 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 65 out of 294
  1. Oct 4, 2010
    10
    Dawn of War II is an excellent game in its own right. However, it is easy to understand how fans of the first game feel slightly wronged after having played it. It is very different compared to the first game, perhaps too much so for it to be called a direct sequel. But if you only look at it as a game it is still quite a great one.

    The visuals are very nice and the gameplay is fluid and fun. Dawn of War keeps setting the standard for visceral combat in the RTS genre.
    Expand
  2. MikeSikora
    Mar 11, 2009
    10
    While SP experience is kind of lacking, gets boring after a while (always same enemy layots on same maps...), its saved by excellent MP. Small-scale, very specialized units and every one of them useful in some way. Absolutely addictive, and despite its flaws, well worth having and playing.
    #1 RTW multiplayer game at the moment.
    Collapse
  3. AlexandreM
    Jan 20, 2010
    9
    Even without building elements this game is awsome!! All the battlesare really intense. If u like RTS, check it out
  4. Artery22
    Nov 28, 2009
    8
    Very good game! The campaign grants many action, but the after some time, the story gone away! And the final Mission isn't very special... The multiplyerpart is good, you can play every 4 races! No base-building only action, thats what i want. And with the last update, there is a new Gamemode "The Last Stand", I played it many hours and I continue to play it many hours =)! It's a big fun, but some items are unusefull and dump! Expand
  5. Mar 11, 2011
    6
    I think the best thing (in my eyes) of this game is the graphics. The graphics are a huge improvement over DOW I and any other RTS I've ever played (and I've played most of the major ones, SC2, Company of Heroes, Supreme Commander I and II, etc etc).
    That's the main good thing I liked. That and how the gameplay revolves more around combat rather than resource gathering. And, of course, the fact that it features the Imperium.

    The thing that I didn't like about this game was that it had very small army sizes, and VERY small battles. This is a step down from DOW I, where you could actually command armies. In DOW II, you get a few squads, and that's it, you're stuck with them. No building squads, no calling in reinforcement squads, nothing. You choose four for each mission and you're stuck with them. This needs a serious fix in the next game.
    Second, the campaign is more of an RTS/RPG hybrid rather than a true RTS. You choose equipment for each character, and decide what each character brings. In regular RTS's, you don't get to do that, each squad has a specialty, and you know their abilities. So it's not a true RTS, but rather an RTS/RPG hybrid.

    Hopefully the next game will be better.
    Expand
  6. LanceB
    Mar 22, 2009
    5
    Big disappointment. Despite the fact this game was released nearly 2 years after Relic's Company of Heroes, DoW II introduces no new RTS concepts & lacks many of the features that made CoH arguably the best RTS ever made. The single player campaign was redundant & boss the 30 minute boss fights made DoW II feel like a World of Warcraft RTS raid. Would not recommend buying in this economy. Much better games out there. Expand
  7. JasonK
    Feb 23, 2009
    0
    Problems 1. Had to join Stream and Windows Live. 2. No Buildings! What? So RTS with no base building? 3. Where are the multiplayer maps? 6 Maps? no 4v4? or 2v2? 4. Its nothing like DOW I and shame on me for asuming it was a sequal and not checking first before I payed 50 bucks for a game I am so bitterly dissapointed. If I wanted Warhammer 40k Real Time Role Playing Tactical Simulator I would have bought that. DOWII was supposed to be RTS. At least I thought it was. Guess Im the sucker. 5. I now have to listen to my 3 freinds who also are disappointed with the game whine constantly about it. I hope to god Starcraft 2 doesnt follow DOWIIs example. If I could return the game I would. But guess what? I can't! Ill think twice before I buy something from THQ again. Expand

See all 294 User Reviews