Metascore
47

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 13 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 13
  2. Negative: 6 out of 13
  1. For less than a buck per level, Fire Warrior is a bargain. [May 2004, p.74]
  2. 40K fans will probably not regret picking this up, and run and gun action fans will definitely get more out of it than gamers looking for something to present them with a major challenge.
  3. 60
    If you don't mind the repetitive enemies with bad AI, the poor save-game options, and a lack of weapon variety, then the Warhammer flavor might be enough to warrant a look. For most people, however, Fire Warrior is simply a mediocre shooter at best.
  4. 60
    Since all of the options that normally accompany a FPS title have been stripped from the game, this is definitely for the casual gamer or an extreme fan of the original strategy game.
  5. Comparisons with "Halo" are inevitable. Unfortunately, Fire Warrior shows how developers can steal elements from superior games, while fundamentally misunderstanding why they worked so well in the first place. [Nov 2003, p.101]
  6. But what holds Fire Warrior back is some rather uninspiring gameplay. You play the entire game as a single lowly Tau warrior and must fight your way through legions of increasingly difficult enemies. Pretty standard stuff.
  7. Fire Warrior also breaks the cardinal rule of licensed games: There's hardly any feel for Warhammer. The personality of the universe doesn’t make its way into the game very often.
  8. This cheap PlayStation 2 port carries none of the punch that can be found in the tabletop game due to a positively antediluvian design that sees you running down an endless succession of corridors hunting for keys.
  9. Provides only a been-there-done-that setting and story line. [July 2004, p.75]
  10. The story is much the same as the game itself, and while there are moments when it seems it could be picking up, it shoots itself in the foot. Normal enemies that take full clips to dispatch, 'puzzles' that make Doom look like a brainteaser... the potholes are all too common and apparent. [Nov 2003, p.127]
  11. 30
    A disaster in far too many ways to count.
  12. If you're feeling generous, it might also be called "Halo Done Wrong." [May 2004, p.61]
  13. A frustrating experience that treats you to many bug-infested levels, freakish AI, monotonous plot, and a tedious atmosphere.
User Score
6.8

Mixed or average reviews- based on 39 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 18
  2. Negative: 4 out of 18
  1. Oct 17, 2013
    10
    This game is too big! So much levels it's even bigger than Daikatana! Hours and hours and hours of gameplay. Beautiful and original locations.This game is too big! So much levels it's even bigger than Daikatana! Hours and hours and hours of gameplay. Beautiful and original locations. After a while it is getting too difficult so I start using Godmode. Still had fun! Levels are also very big and impressive! Full Review »
  2. JackoM.
    Nov 3, 2007
    7
    The thing is that this game provides all the things you need for a decent FPS, it just doesn't have much of the stuff that makes it The thing is that this game provides all the things you need for a decent FPS, it just doesn't have much of the stuff that makes it brilliant. That said, some parts of the gamecreated a great atmosphere and I feel that the critics are far too used to top end games. For AUS$20 this is a great get. Full Review »
  3. JamesW.
    Sep 30, 2005
    5
    I have to say that killing enemies with poor AI got very, very tedious at the end, but somehow the game makes me want to keep playing. This I have to say that killing enemies with poor AI got very, very tedious at the end, but somehow the game makes me want to keep playing. This is of course, the story I'm talking about. For the story alone, you should get this game. Forget about the repetitive gameplay, the buggy levels, and the stupid enemies, just watch the story unfold as you blast the imperium for the Greater Good, and see where Kuju didn't fail in this hopeful game. I actually play the tabletop strategy game, and everything in the game is special and unique; finally, i get to see chainswords ripping apart my fellow tau, my pulse rifles eating through armour, and of course my rail rifles blasting through gunships and whatnot. Most of the gameplay is scripted so your buddies are destined to die, but some parts of this game appealed to me in terms of sound and bits of the gameplay. Sure, the bad things of gameplay outnumber the good things, but the good things were excellent at best. The sound is okay, not as great as I'd hoped, but nontheless the weapons and explosions sound tops (the only thing ruining the sound quality is some of the enemies' voices, but the tau voicing is surprising good) . Oh, and forget about those petty review sites, just get this game for the story, because most of the gameplay elements are taken from other, more successful FPS's (Halo, anyone?). I'm giving this game points for the story and sound, and maybe some extra points for the good parts of the gameplay. But should you get this game? Yes! I live in Australia and I got it for $20AUS at my local EB. In pounds that translates to about 8pounds, and in american dollars it's about 15 or 12. I give this game a 5, and if you read the ending of this review properly you will get this game. It will dissapoint at some areas, but in the parts where Kuju weren't stoned, you'll think, "Yay, 20 bucks for an average game! At least some bits were good!" Full Review »