Warhammer 40,000: Fire Warrior PC

User Score
7.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 43 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 23 out of 43
  2. Negative: 9 out of 43
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. KohG.
    Jun 30, 2005
    7
    I have played this game up to level 13 so far and I am very impressed with the later level designs. Got to run around a wartorn planet, a Tau spaceship, an Imperial spaceship... Wonder what's next? There is no doubt that great fun can be had in this game, so you can take what the critics say with a pinch of salt... However, I must agree that you have to get used to the AI - it's I have played this game up to level 13 so far and I am very impressed with the later level designs. Got to run around a wartorn planet, a Tau spaceship, an Imperial spaceship... Wonder what's next? There is no doubt that great fun can be had in this game, so you can take what the critics say with a pinch of salt... However, I must agree that you have to get used to the AI - it's kind of irritating to kill some of your enemies; they practically run around trying to dodge you. The sound is also a let down because you can hear the enemies uttering similar remarks throughout the game - sometimes giving away their position. If you can live with that, you WILL enjoy this game! Expand
  2. JoeF.
    Oct 22, 2003
    5
    It's a OK game that will keep you entertained for a few hours but doesn?t inspire you to get past the first few levels, and doesn?t come any ware close to Unreal or Half-Life. The plot is OK and improves as the game goes along. But the unresponsive controls make it boring, and the AI could be outwitted by a Small Fury Newt. It?s a game which had a lot of potential that was never It's a OK game that will keep you entertained for a few hours but doesn?t inspire you to get past the first few levels, and doesn?t come any ware close to Unreal or Half-Life. The plot is OK and improves as the game goes along. But the unresponsive controls make it boring, and the AI could be outwitted by a Small Fury Newt. It?s a game which had a lot of potential that was never realised. I feel the Warhammer 40,000 universe offers masses of possible games with good story lines, and hope the next installment will be much better. Expand
  3. Chris
    Oct 24, 2003
    7
    Well, i love the world of Warhammer 40.000, even if I don't play the table game, but I'll try to be "neutral" and fast. First, the good things: The atmosphere. It's great, you can even breath it. The visuals inside the cathedral-ship are stunning, gothic, wonderfully taken from the Warhammer world. The story is good, even if someone that knows nothing about the 40K universe Well, i love the world of Warhammer 40.000, even if I don't play the table game, but I'll try to be "neutral" and fast. First, the good things: The atmosphere. It's great, you can even breath it. The visuals inside the cathedral-ship are stunning, gothic, wonderfully taken from the Warhammer world. The story is good, even if someone that knows nothing about the 40K universe will make many questions about some aspects. The weapons are nice, but not outstanding. The FMV are fantastic, made with a great style and vision. They add much to the game and make you go on and on, till the end, just to see the next FMV (well, on the other hand it is not so good. There should be more than that). The game has one of the most intresting starts I've ever seen. The opening with a wild drop into the trench-hell is really cool, very close to those seen in Starship Troopers movie. The design of ships and weapons is original from the 40K: just marvellous. And voice-acting is quite good. Now the not-so-good things. Triggers, above all. To many triggered events, expecially with your team mates that MUST die at a certain point and there is no way to save them. It seems that each damn game has the same limitations with fellow soldiers. I was really hoping that those limitation would be eliminated with this title, but to no avail. Fire Warrior follows the path of the other games, without adding anything new. The game is very straightforward and there is only one way to do things. You have NO freedom here. Sometimes I was feeling I was a muppet guided by those who talked to me during the action. What a shame. Now the really bad things. Fire Warrior is tiring (not boring, or at least not the first time you play it and you like the 40K). The ONLY thing to do, is shooting on the same types of enemies, finding keys and placing the explosive charges. Period. So why I gave it a 7? Simple. I love the 40K world, I like the story and I love the FMVs. Period. This game will mostly be enjoyed by guys like me or Warhammer fanatics, but the Quake-Doom veterans and High-quality-FPS lovers will disappointed. The developers could add more depth by making the combat-suite more cool with some nice options, like, let say, a cloaking device, or fast-running mode, or high-jumping etc etc. The player could improve it while he is becoming more advanced warrior, till he obtains the exoscheletal armour. He could use the automated drones in combat from remote the instructor was talking about in the Training mission. Well. The game manual made me think that, but the game itself woke me up: it is a basic FPS, with nice story, wonderful atmosphere, great FMVs, it is long enough, but has no interesting things to do. Period. Expand
  4. PeteC.
    Oct 20, 2003
    5
    This game promises much but delivers little. The graphics are unimpressive and seem to be more of a step backwards than forwards and the enemy AI is fairly awful. Probably the biggest problem however is the bugs in the game. I found it very jittery at times even though my computer spec was above and beyond that recommended. Also walls and parts of the suuroundings have a nasty habit of This game promises much but delivers little. The graphics are unimpressive and seem to be more of a step backwards than forwards and the enemy AI is fairly awful. Probably the biggest problem however is the bugs in the game. I found it very jittery at times even though my computer spec was above and beyond that recommended. Also walls and parts of the suuroundings have a nasty habit of disappearing and reappearingmaking it diificult to get your bearings especially when your being shot at, its especially annoying when you unload your gun at a target and the rounds impact an invisible wall. All in all the game could probably have been great but it has rush job all over it, that it has been released with so many bugs is pretty shocking really and I would think twice about buying anything by kuju in the future. If your really thinking about buying it dont, just wait for a few months and you'll be able to pick it up for peanuts on a budget label, it simply doesnt compete with the great games of the genre. Expand
  5. ColinN.
    Jan 12, 2004
    7
    Great to see a 1st person Warhammer 40k game on the market, but the game is difficult to get running, most upto date drivers for audio and graphics are a must and you need the game patches. As a 40k fan I still enjoyed it. When, oh when, will someone realise that the rich and wonderful 40k world is just prime for someone to make a film. It might even challenge Lord of the Rings??
  6. JamesW.
    Sep 30, 2005
    5
    I have to say that killing enemies with poor AI got very, very tedious at the end, but somehow the game makes me want to keep playing. This is of course, the story I'm talking about. For the story alone, you should get this game. Forget about the repetitive gameplay, the buggy levels, and the stupid enemies, just watch the story unfold as you blast the imperium for the Greater Good, I have to say that killing enemies with poor AI got very, very tedious at the end, but somehow the game makes me want to keep playing. This is of course, the story I'm talking about. For the story alone, you should get this game. Forget about the repetitive gameplay, the buggy levels, and the stupid enemies, just watch the story unfold as you blast the imperium for the Greater Good, and see where Kuju didn't fail in this hopeful game. I actually play the tabletop strategy game, and everything in the game is special and unique; finally, i get to see chainswords ripping apart my fellow tau, my pulse rifles eating through armour, and of course my rail rifles blasting through gunships and whatnot. Most of the gameplay is scripted so your buddies are destined to die, but some parts of this game appealed to me in terms of sound and bits of the gameplay. Sure, the bad things of gameplay outnumber the good things, but the good things were excellent at best. The sound is okay, not as great as I'd hoped, but nontheless the weapons and explosions sound tops (the only thing ruining the sound quality is some of the enemies' voices, but the tau voicing is surprising good) . Oh, and forget about those petty review sites, just get this game for the story, because most of the gameplay elements are taken from other, more successful FPS's (Halo, anyone?). I'm giving this game points for the story and sound, and maybe some extra points for the good parts of the gameplay. But should you get this game? Yes! I live in Australia and I got it for $20AUS at my local EB. In pounds that translates to about 8pounds, and in american dollars it's about 15 or 12. I give this game a 5, and if you read the ending of this review properly you will get this game. It will dissapoint at some areas, but in the parts where Kuju weren't stoned, you'll think, "Yay, 20 bucks for an average game! At least some bits were good!" Expand
  7. JackoM.
    Nov 3, 2007
    7
    The thing is that this game provides all the things you need for a decent FPS, it just doesn't have much of the stuff that makes it brilliant. That said, some parts of the gamecreated a great atmosphere and I feel that the critics are far too used to top end games. For AUS$20 this is a great get.
Metascore
47

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 13 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 13
  2. Negative: 6 out of 13
  1. This cheap PlayStation 2 port carries none of the punch that can be found in the tabletop game due to a positively antediluvian design that sees you running down an endless succession of corridors hunting for keys.
  2. Computer Gaming World
    40
    Provides only a been-there-done-that setting and story line. [July 2004, p.75]
  3. 30
    A disaster in far too many ways to count.