Warhammer 40,000: Space Marine PC

User Score
7.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 580 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 74 out of 580
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jun 20, 2012
    6
    A very fun game up to about halfway, then the game starts losing a lot of charm. Some great detail went into the game, but there's still something missing. The chaos enemies are boring mostly, the orks only have about one or two shining moments, the flight sequences are not good, and the combat becomes tedious at about half way through. Overall, the game has very little replayability evenA very fun game up to about halfway, then the game starts losing a lot of charm. Some great detail went into the game, but there's still something missing. The chaos enemies are boring mostly, the orks only have about one or two shining moments, the flight sequences are not good, and the combat becomes tedious at about half way through. Overall, the game has very little replayability even for warhammer 40k lore fans. Expand
  2. Feb 5, 2012
    6
    Felt a lot like Gears of war..which my girlfriend loved, and I disliked greatly. GOW is big hulking soldiers with big guns aimlesly walking around stupid and pointless maps killing masses of bad guys. What makes this game MORE interesting is is Dawn of War element. I really enjoyed DOW and it was neat to see the races that I played with in that game. Tired of hearing all the ImperialFelt a lot like Gears of war..which my girlfriend loved, and I disliked greatly. GOW is big hulking soldiers with big guns aimlesly walking around stupid and pointless maps killing masses of bad guys. What makes this game MORE interesting is is Dawn of War element. I really enjoyed DOW and it was neat to see the races that I played with in that game. Tired of hearing all the Imperial Guardsmen in the game tell me over and over "hurry, get over to this place, you must stop the orcs!" Poor Plot. You can't jump until you get jumpjets...so cracks in the ground and rubble slow you down a lot. Also, I felt like I just wanted to get past the level I am on so I can get to the next level so I can start to have some fun. Finding new weapons was fun..running out ot ammo was not. Felt like I was always having to use the crappy pistol until I found ammo..and ammo is everywhere...it has to be because you aren't allowed to carry enough and you go through it so quickly.. Terrible drama element to get excited to find basic ammo so you can use your basic weapons.

    Played for about 4-5 hours...single player and Multiplayer....it was fun until now. Could have been so much more.
    Expand
  3. Feb 27, 2012
    6
    As a big fan of the WH40k universe, a game like this is long overdue. Outside of dawn of war, most wh40k games have been mediocre at best. The biggest strength of the game is how you really do feel like a giant genetically engineered superhuman in power armor (aka space marine). I felt like a super bad mofo ripping through orks and chaos in hand to hand combat. Graphics and sound are alsoAs a big fan of the WH40k universe, a game like this is long overdue. Outside of dawn of war, most wh40k games have been mediocre at best. The biggest strength of the game is how you really do feel like a giant genetically engineered superhuman in power armor (aka space marine). I felt like a super bad mofo ripping through orks and chaos in hand to hand combat. Graphics and sound are also very good. Now to the stumbling blocks...... Story is pretty forgettable and predictable. For a world that is under massive attack it sure can feel empty most of the time, you will stomping through empty environments through a good portion of the game. Why could they not have more parts where you fight with other imperial guard units? Hell the best part of the game is the fight on the bridge with fellow space marines and it is SO SHORT. There is no co-op through the campaign which is very disappointing! The multi player is so laggy and broken at times I wonder what the point is? There are no dedicated servers and you will find that the host migrates so much that it can be unplayable. When it does work it is pretty fun, when it works...... Finally all the pointless DLC is a real slap in the face when the multiplayer issues are so glaring, the only DLC worth anything is the chaos unleashed pack. For a game that could have been so much, it is a tad on the disappointing side. While I highly recommend the game for WH40k fans, I can't really recommend it to other people which is the vast majority. Expand
  4. Dec 19, 2012
    7
    TL;DR Mindless linear action, a good base for the franchise to start from, but still has its problems.

    First of all, if you're expecting a well written story filled with meaningful dialogue and characters that you'll remember, you might want to stop now. What you're going to get is a third-person hack and slash bloodfest while playing as one of humanity's bona fide badasses. The story
    TL;DR Mindless linear action, a good base for the franchise to start from, but still has its problems.

    First of all, if you're expecting a well written story filled with meaningful dialogue and characters that you'll remember, you might want to stop now. What you're going to get is a third-person hack and slash bloodfest while playing as one of humanity's bona fide badasses. The story is nothing to remember, just your basic "save the world" with a twist thrown in. The characters are about as emotional as a sack of bricks and play the most basic archetypes. The world itself is nothing to look at, just a human foundry planet with dead bodies littering the landscape. After that, Space Marine begins to shine.

    You are guaranteed to feel like a Space Marine, this should be undoubted. When you crash into a group of Orks with the jetpack and start swinging the Thunder Hammer, there is no better feeling. The combat is quick and decisive, and simple yet rewarding at the same time. I did say the combat was mindless, however, that doesn't mean that you are simply God and can walk through the game. There will be parts where you die a couple times, figure things out, and carry on, which is nice. There are times where you feel overwhelmed but you end up powering through it and can't help but think "damn, that was awesome!". The transition from ranged to melee is also amazing, and one does not make the other useless luckily.

    I did not delve much into the multiplayer, however, it is not perfect but is still a good feature at the same time. The customization is also great, but parts can only be unlocked with multiplayer. Overall, it is a fun experience for anybody, fan or not, of WH40K.
    Expand
  5. Oct 12, 2011
    5
    It looks like an xbox game, and reminded me of why I never buy games for the xbox. It felt like an Xbox game, ditto. It had that looking through a pinhole camera point of view the Xbox uses to cope with the fact its ancient and its was over extremely quickly with awful multiplay served up like a wilting side salad. I had to keep looking down to realise I was playing this on a PC. It isIt looks like an xbox game, and reminded me of why I never buy games for the xbox. It felt like an Xbox game, ditto. It had that looking through a pinhole camera point of view the Xbox uses to cope with the fact its ancient and its was over extremely quickly with awful multiplay served up like a wilting side salad. I had to keep looking down to realise I was playing this on a PC. It is the warhammer universe, and it was over quickly so I did finish it. Immediately uninstalled. Another massively boring tunnel vision / linear plot with little illusion of choice and not much immersion. But there were space marines and things to clobber. Pretty disappointing to the point I wouldnt buy DLC a sequel or anything from the same Developer unless I knew it was PC specific. Expand
  6. Sep 19, 2011
    6
    Ok this was by far the best representation of a space marine by far.Single player rocked threw ork lvls.Totaly awesome wading threw orks with a chainsword and bolter,loved it. Slowed down a bit when u start running into chaos!This was a big fail for the game!The end boss to was so easy yes granted the 4 to 5 waves you need to fight to get to him was interesting.The actual boss was aOk this was by far the best representation of a space marine by far.Single player rocked threw ork lvls.Totaly awesome wading threw orks with a chainsword and bolter,loved it. Slowed down a bit when u start running into chaos!This was a big fail for the game!The end boss to was so easy yes granted the 4 to 5 waves you need to fight to get to him was interesting.The actual boss was a joke.10 hours max and probably 5 or 6 on a hard walk threw.Single player was still hella fun!It gets an 8. Ok now the multiplayer.I myself like a lvl up system where you unlock weapons as you go,gives some accomplishment to your game.Controls are tight love how they have seamlessly took the 4 classes and made them rock.With perks and weapon upgrades!Now the bad!You cannot turn off the VOICE!If i speak even over vent i hear echos threw all the other players.And no turning steam talk does nothing to this problem,Epic fail!The second epic fail is the host system.Who ever invented this,it needs an overhaul.Constantly getting bad host lagy people jumping around to the point you cannot hit them.Fun on good ping games not playable on bad host games and seeing how 8-10 games are the bad host games.Epic Fail!One week after launch very few games going on cus of this reason!Multi gets a 2 as it is not playable most of the time.Bringing it to a rough 6.Really had high hopes i could play this game all day long...sad! Expand
  7. Sep 22, 2011
    6
    After finishing this game I think I bought this game just because this is a WH40K universe, which I really like. Yes, killing all the green skins with melee and ground pound, but after end there is nothing interesting to do...
  8. Sep 24, 2011
    5
    Campaign Mode Review: Graphics: No breakthroughs, but definitely not dated and pleasing to the eye. Art design was good, no lack of material from Games Workshop to go on and they kept the look and feel. Animations are solid and play well without any glitches. Sound: Score was ok and in theme. Voice acting was clearly on a budget. It wasn't horrible, but the dialogues felt stale. VoiceCampaign Mode Review: Graphics: No breakthroughs, but definitely not dated and pleasing to the eye. Art design was good, no lack of material from Games Workshop to go on and they kept the look and feel. Animations are solid and play well without any glitches. Sound: Score was ok and in theme. Voice acting was clearly on a budget. It wasn't horrible, but the dialogues felt stale. Voice actors just reading their lines...didn't really feel connection to their situation or the theme. This is an over-the-top gothic sci-fi / fantasy IP...the acting did not convey that at all....and the lines were cheese as well. Story: Short and formulaic, especially if you played the the other Warhammer 40K titles by THQ (which are WAY better games). Don't expect heavy plot and forget about any twists. Gameplay: Ouch. This is where the game gets really ugly. It really brings it down to the very basics. You move around and shoot or melee attack. When you equip yourself with a jump pack, you can actually jump high and smash down upon your foes (probably the most fun out of the whole game), otherwise jumping is not an option, not even tiny little jumps over rocks or crates...you are inexorably tied to the ground. Fortunately you can tumble to evade shots and run, but not crouch. Cover? It's important to allow your shield to recover, but don't expect any special move, action or animation to take cover. Simply move behind an obstacle and stand there....again, no crouching behind short obstacles, they'll just shoot you in the head as you stand there. Given other games like Assasins Creed or Call of Duty, or pretty much any recent action shooters, I really felt confined with my these limitations. OK, so I don't expect my space marine to run across tight ropes or over roof types, but not even crouching? Not very fun (except for jump packs, that was a lot of fun. Too bad you don't get to use it often enough). Another really annoying feature (or lack thereof) that has absolutely no excuse: no load/save games. No ability to edit key bindings. NO KEY BINDING OPTIONS??? Are you guys serious? This is marketed as a $50 title? THQ actually published this?? Level Design: Yawn. So linear it practically holds your hand along the whole way. There really is NO decision making whatsoever. No side missions, no nothing extra. You can explore the levels a little more thoroughly, but there is very little incentive to do so at all. The only things you need are ammo refills which are conveniently placed everywhere so you will be hard pressed to EVER run out. The skull thingy's with voice recorded logs are utter rubbish! Adds little to the a very thin story and weak plot. Adds nothing to the game play. In fact, they're quite annoying because you can only listen them from your options menu...so essentially you actually have to stop playing for 10 - 15 second conversation snippets of (mostly) insignificant (and poorly acted) dialogues. Finally, you can get over the whole campaign in less than 10 hours....which is plenty for a game that has nothing new to offer for the latter 5 hours of play. Summary If you're a Warhammer 40K fan, you may briefly enjoy this title, but will be let down by another cheap production of a rich and popular IP. I bought this from Steam for $50 (pre-purchase) because they threw in Darksiders for free. Quite honestly, DarkSiders was sooo much better that they should have really been offering Space Marine as a freebie for a copy of DarkSiders. I'm just glad I got something decent for my money. I believe you will find this available for $19.99 or even $9.99 very soon...which is good because it's not worth more than that. Expand
  9. Sep 6, 2011
    7
    Not a bad game by any means. It won't win game of the year or anything but it is enjoyable. It does feel a bit too short and multiplayer is a bit lame right now but hopefully some tweeks to it are on the way. The game feels violent and gritty, as it should. The camera angles are a bit crappy and certainly elements of the game feel a bit forced. Not to mention that the voice acting isNot a bad game by any means. It won't win game of the year or anything but it is enjoyable. It does feel a bit too short and multiplayer is a bit lame right now but hopefully some tweeks to it are on the way. The game feels violent and gritty, as it should. The camera angles are a bit crappy and certainly elements of the game feel a bit forced. Not to mention that the voice acting is pretty bad but then again this game really isn't about the story. In my opinion, this game is a fine addition to the Warhammer 40,000 IP. Expand
  10. Oct 8, 2011
    7
    Overall great game, especially in the single player. This game really excels at giving you the feeling of power as you strike down twenty orks at once and run along to kill some more! The transition from melee to ranged and back is smooth and it's not even worth complaining about. While the story in the single player is nothing to write home about, and not even canon, it still sets up anOverall great game, especially in the single player. This game really excels at giving you the feeling of power as you strike down twenty orks at once and run along to kill some more! The transition from melee to ranged and back is smooth and it's not even worth complaining about. While the story in the single player is nothing to write home about, and not even canon, it still sets up an adventure that does what it's supposed to: To lead you to the next battle. Overall, the single player is a good piece of work, and to top it off the graphics are pretty shiny. If only the same could be said for the multiplayer. The multiplayer is by far a simple console port, and not even really good. Due to the fact it runs on P2P servers, it means that you will randomly die to a shot that actually hit you four seconds ago, and you will be unable to dodge a big hammer from the Assault class, effectively removing your top half body from the lower. The lag is the main issue, as the rest of the multiplayer is the pretty standard stuff. There's team deathmatch, and a second mode where you fight for contested zones. Overall, pretty simple stuff, but it might just keep you hooked for a while after you're done with the singleplayer, due to the leveling system. Expand
  11. Oct 1, 2011
    6
    While it has it's fun moments, it leaves much to be desired. Gameplay is ok, and so is the graphics, but nothing spectacular, and the story is beyond lame. But then again, I've never been into Warhammer 40K.
  12. Sep 15, 2011
    6
    Space marine is a game where you are a hulking monster of a man who's sole purpose is to rip in half anything that stands in your way. By that standpoint, i believe Relic both reached and surpassed their goal beautifully. Weather in single or multiplayer, the feeling that you are ten feet tall and bad-ass seeps from every aspect of the game. However, this does not change the fact thatSpace marine is a game where you are a hulking monster of a man who's sole purpose is to rip in half anything that stands in your way. By that standpoint, i believe Relic both reached and surpassed their goal beautifully. Weather in single or multiplayer, the feeling that you are ten feet tall and bad-ass seeps from every aspect of the game. However, this does not change the fact that Relic failed utterly in their goal. They set out to build a single player experience that should have knocked our socks off, but the lackluster cast of characters, mediocre voice acting (WTF happened to Steve Blum?), moderate plot, and incredibly repetitive combat scenarios overall dragged the game's single player experience into the pits. While I am a huge fan of the game's multiplayer and overall combat system, it is difficult to overlook Relic's failure of a campaign. Expand
  13. Nov 14, 2011
    7
    The game itself is not bad. its fluid the gameplay but it feels poorly optimized. Its a fun game and bring all the warhammer feeling into it. but fails to make it playing as warhammer. RTS is a RTS and not can be turned into a FPS. this is Warhammer 40K : Call of Duty with Orks. 7 is a my score for this game. its fun and good to have a nice time, some blood and some shooting, but feelsThe game itself is not bad. its fluid the gameplay but it feels poorly optimized. Its a fun game and bring all the warhammer feeling into it. but fails to make it playing as warhammer. RTS is a RTS and not can be turned into a FPS. this is Warhammer 40K : Call of Duty with Orks. 7 is a my score for this game. its fun and good to have a nice time, some blood and some shooting, but feels like a hybrid and maybe who knows if a sequel will learn from the mistakes of this game. if you find it at discount price like -50% go for it. Expand
  14. Dec 11, 2011
    7
    If you're a Warhammer 40k fan you might like this change of gameplay that puts you right in the shoes of a Spacemarine, its full of action, and Orcs, by no means does this game live up to the wonderfull RTS games in the series who contain so much more, but it sure is a nice addition to the francise.
    Play the Campaign, have a great time, but at the end of it all, youll most likely hope for
    If you're a Warhammer 40k fan you might like this change of gameplay that puts you right in the shoes of a Spacemarine, its full of action, and Orcs, by no means does this game live up to the wonderfull RTS games in the series who contain so much more, but it sure is a nice addition to the francise.
    Play the Campaign, have a great time, but at the end of it all, youll most likely hope for the next game to be another RTS.
    Expand
  15. Sep 12, 2011
    7
    Not bad for what we all knew was going to be a console port. I actually think it's easier to play on PC than my PS3 and it looks better on PC. I already liked this franchise and found the single player fun. The combat system is a proven one, like playing God of War in the Space Marine universe, and the switch from melee to ranged weapons is executed very well. The graphics and sound areNot bad for what we all knew was going to be a console port. I actually think it's easier to play on PC than my PS3 and it looks better on PC. I already liked this franchise and found the single player fun. The combat system is a proven one, like playing God of War in the Space Marine universe, and the switch from melee to ranged weapons is executed very well. The graphics and sound are top notch and make you feel immersed in the combat (depending on your weapon, some of the kills are pretty wicked). My only copmlaints are the limited field of vision at times causing me to get stuck on things or shooting walls when it appeared I had a clear line of sight and there is no real cover system. I was able to run through it pretty quick on normal (yeah.....not a big fan of hard cuz I'm not a pro gamer and like to enjoy the game....not yell at it). The multiplayer is enjoyable as well. Not a big fan of the lobby system though......it's pretty much a Call of Duty/Modern Warfare style of lobby. This should be expectd though from a console port and I highly doubt anyone is going to spend their hard earned money on a dedicated server for this game when we have BF3 coming out in a month. Also, there is no option to turn off the mic's except to individually mute everyone (which isn't that hard to do but is annoying to have to do it every round). As it has been stated, for some unknown reason they are automatically on and ALL of them are ACTIVE AT THE SAME TIME. Also, there are only 2 modes, a death match mode and a capture the flag style mode. It isn't bad but a little more variety, like protect the Inquisitor mode or a running of the squigs would keep the multiplayer fresh instead of it getting stale. A co-op mode for the campaign would have been nice too, wonder why they didn't do that..... Expand
  16. Sep 30, 2011
    7
    It takes a while to warm up to the game. The mechanics are very basic and the story non-existent but it's still a fun action game. Being a War40K surely helps
  17. Sep 9, 2011
    6
    What's good: The SP is kind of fun since you get to feel like a god, however, the story is really not interesting. It's just a hack and slash. Most of the story is just military jargon. Also, the orcs can only yell SPACE MARINE!
    MP. Where do I begin. It's a console port. Keybinds don't cover all keys if you use the keypad (lefties are people too). Also actions happen after you
    What's good: The SP is kind of fun since you get to feel like a god, however, the story is really not interesting. It's just a hack and slash. Most of the story is just military jargon. Also, the orcs can only yell SPACE MARINE!
    MP. Where do I begin. It's a console port. Keybinds don't cover all keys if you use the keypad (lefties are people too). Also actions happen after you release the "interact" key instead of when you press it. Key hints map to default keys in some cases (deploy/spawn). FOV is too narrow. Lobby system. OMG, give me a server browser please with pings displayed instead of bars. Voice comms work, but are turned on by default. Be prepared to mute everyone every single map because it doesn't save in between rounds. Be ready to grind because you are going to get raped until you level up past the default weapons. Maps are from 1998, all cubes and ramps. My price point, $20.
    Expand
  18. Sep 10, 2011
    7
    Space Marine is a good game, not great 'cause it has its flaws.

    The premise is quite simple if you know the lore: you are a Space Marine, a genetically altered soldier with a massive powered armour. An Imperial Forge World (a planet-wide factory) has been overrun by orks. Go and kick'em the hardest you can. And that is the single player campaign, a gore-fest like no other. You can
    Space Marine is a good game, not great 'cause it has its flaws.

    The premise is quite simple if you know the lore: you are a Space Marine, a genetically altered soldier with a massive powered armour. An Imperial Forge World (a planet-wide factory) has been overrun by orks. Go and kick'em the hardest you can.

    And that is the single player campaign, a gore-fest like no other. You can fight in range mode or melee mode, and the controls are so flawless you can change from one mode to the other with a button. The action is glorious, it's difficult to describe how powerful you'll feel in the armour of a Space Marine, but every step makes the screen tremble, every blow makes bodies fly, every bullet shot sprays litres of blood. You'll feel awesome.

    The combat system doesn't let you take cover like, for example, in Gears of War. You have two health meter: the armor that regenerates over time and your health. When the health is low, go into the fray and perform a finishing move on an enemy, this will make you heal. It may sound silly, but once you're in a fight it performs extraordinarily well. The graphics are good. The characters are modeled so perfectly and so finely animated, that you won't notice the rather low-res textures. The level design is quite linear, sometimes dull, but every now and then a spectacular sight strikes your eyes, and you just sit in awe: believe me the gothic world of Warhammer 40k never felt so real.

    But once you finish the single player campaign and try the multiplayer things start to fall apart. The multiplayer is beyond doubt the weakest part of the game. Buggy, laggy and boring. The same mechanics that work so fine in SP do not perform the same in MP, and you'll end often dying without even knowing the game is started. The leveling mechanics do not help at all, people with better equipment than yours have a too great advantage, and things start to become interesting only after a long time, when your level is on par with the others.

    That's a shame, because this was probably the best contender against Gears of War.
    Expand
  19. Oct 9, 2011
    7
    First attempt at a 3rd person shooter and it shows, some of it works well but theres little new that hasnt been done to death in GOW except the Warhammer universe as a backdrop, just seem to lack that vital ingredient that keeps in pushed into tthe also ran clone games, rather than a genre leader
  20. Nov 14, 2011
    7
    The overriding theme in this game is shooting, and all the action keeps you on your toes. If you're looking for a story line or RP, this isn't the game for you. In general, I can see reasons for the mixed reviews. If you're a gamer who grew up on video games, I can see where this game might be boring. However, if you're an old guy like me (60+), this type of game is great.
  21. Oct 4, 2011
    7
    A good first effort from Relic making an action FPS, their love for the 40k fiction is evident. The campaign is good, the shooting and melee mechanic is fun. I hope they improve the dialog in the next game, it is way to sparse for my liking. These are battle brothers they should be talking to each other all the time. I also knock the for the fact that you can die during unbreakableA good first effort from Relic making an action FPS, their love for the 40k fiction is evident. The campaign is good, the shooting and melee mechanic is fun. I hope they improve the dialog in the next game, it is way to sparse for my liking. These are battle brothers they should be talking to each other all the time. I also knock the for the fact that you can die during unbreakable animation which regenerates your health quickly becomes annoying. Expand
  22. Nov 1, 2011
    7
    A linear, though fun game with satisfying combat that is let down by a couple of points. A good feel for what being a Space Marine is like with a story line far more interesting than the poor Ultramarines movie that came out a couple of years ago. The combat is crunchy with a nice heft and weight to the melee options available, it also rewards timing and smart play more than I expected.A linear, though fun game with satisfying combat that is let down by a couple of points. A good feel for what being a Space Marine is like with a story line far more interesting than the poor Ultramarines movie that came out a couple of years ago. The combat is crunchy with a nice heft and weight to the melee options available, it also rewards timing and smart play more than I expected.

    The multiplayer is a lot of fun and the addition of co-op is much appreciated. Unfortunately the lack of dedicated servers is the biggest downside to the game. Being unable to start your own server is also a problem.

    Overall a fun little game for everyone and a must buy for fans of the 40k setting.
    Expand
  23. Nov 16, 2011
    5
    Enjoyable Single-player, not Oscar material but it fits in with the material its working with, it pretty does what what you would expect from a game like this, it is perhaps on the short side. Multi-player is enjoyable when it works but is sadly much enjoyment is slowly killed off with the very poor p2p match-making, lag is abundent and often leads to mean deaths and miss kills.Enjoyable Single-player, not Oscar material but it fits in with the material its working with, it pretty does what what you would expect from a game like this, it is perhaps on the short side. Multi-player is enjoyable when it works but is sadly much enjoyment is slowly killed off with the very poor p2p match-making, lag is abundent and often leads to mean deaths and miss kills. Multi-player game modes are very limited and not really going outside the normal team deathmatch, flag capture modes which get repative quickly. Overall however the game after a while has little real replay value, once you mastered the Ranks in MP there was little left in SP to justify playing for long periods outside the occasional dibble. Expand
  24. Feb 6, 2012
    7
    If you are a fan of testosterone with a dash of adrenaline you won't be disappointed by this title. Not many games make you feel like a total badass from square one, but this game does it splendidly. Fun combat, impressive visuals and top notch sound work. The only real downside is that it gets a bit repetitive, but in bite size chunks "Space Marine" is a real treat!
  25. Dec 31, 2011
    7
    A very nice action game based to warhammer 40k world. Very nice and smooth gameplay, fantastic graphics, and an epic music. The only negative is that there is not so much different enemies.
    The game has and a very good multiplayer mode but with not too much maps
  26. Sep 17, 2011
    7
    Overall Space Marine is a very good game that any Warhammer fan will enjoy. The campaign is fantastic with brilliant voice acting and cut scenes that really bring you into the action. There's about 8 - 10 hours worth of gameplay on hard difficulty and I loved every minute of it (yes, even when I was dying!). Sadly the multiplayer isn't even in the same league as the single player, which isOverall Space Marine is a very good game that any Warhammer fan will enjoy. The campaign is fantastic with brilliant voice acting and cut scenes that really bring you into the action. There's about 8 - 10 hours worth of gameplay on hard difficulty and I loved every minute of it (yes, even when I was dying!). Sadly the multiplayer isn't even in the same league as the single player, which is why I've only given the game a 7/10 overall, with a better multiplayer it could have easily gotten an 8/10 in my book. The multiplayer uses a P2P system instead of dedicated servers which causes all the usual problems (host advantage, drop outs, massive lag, warping, migration issues etc) but that's only part of the problem, the other major issue is the lack of content, there's only 5 maps and 2 modes and it gets boring really fast, I'm currently rank 38 (41 max) and I'm already too bored to bother getting to 41, I will make it, but slowly.

    A good start from Relic, and I expect great things from Space Marine 2, but it will all depend on how well they flesh out the multiplayer and if they correct their stupid decision and use dedicated servers.

    SP: 8/10
    MP: 6/10
    Overall: 7/10
    Expand
  27. Sep 7, 2011
    5
    The single player campaign for WH40K: Space Marine is your typical WH40K fare. Space Marines charging into an Ork Horde to deliver the Wrath of the Emperor. That said, there's a few quirks that will leave even veteran gamers gnashing their teeth. Coverless combat doesn't really work well. Yes, the mechanics of the game lend itself to being more aggressive, but there are situations thatThe single player campaign for WH40K: Space Marine is your typical WH40K fare. Space Marines charging into an Ork Horde to deliver the Wrath of the Emperor. That said, there's a few quirks that will leave even veteran gamers gnashing their teeth. Coverless combat doesn't really work well. Yes, the mechanics of the game lend itself to being more aggressive, but there are situations that demand use of cover.

    As far as multiplayer, that's a lost cause for three major reasons. 1) Peer to Peer, 2) shaky map design, and 3) no anti-cheat package. Peer to peer just does not work for shooters. A dedicated server package is a must if you want to provide MP in a shooter game, first or third person. And with any shooter, a solid anti-cheat package is a must. Nothing will kill a game faster than players getting stuck with cheaters and no way to remove them, and in WH40K, you can't bail out of a match until the game ends. Map design is also very problematic, with some maps having base spawns that are in direct LOS from the opposing side. This will inevitably lead to spawn camping, which ruins the fun for players.

    All in all, it's good for SP, but terrible for MP, but still a game a WH40K enthusiast will want.
    Expand
  28. Sep 6, 2011
    6
    It's decent, just like I expected. The overall gameplay is quite fun it's a good hack-and-slash, you'll definitely get your fair share of orks. Theres definitely some cool weapons, left hand with a giant hammer and right with an assault rifle, kick ass. The combo system was a good idea too, it worked out well. However, there is a serious lack of content in this game. The single player wasIt's decent, just like I expected. The overall gameplay is quite fun it's a good hack-and-slash, you'll definitely get your fair share of orks. Theres definitely some cool weapons, left hand with a giant hammer and right with an assault rifle, kick ass. The combo system was a good idea too, it worked out well. However, there is a serious lack of content in this game. The single player was roughly 6-7 hours long, it was an okay/good story, crappy voice acting though. Most of the single player is a serious roll, it offered little challenged to more experienced gamers, even on "hard". The multiplayer played well, it is extremely generic however .. it has two modes, capture the objective and team death match.. that's it, nothing more. Apparently theres a co op mode coming in October, well.. I won't be playing this game then. Expand
  29. Sep 6, 2011
    5
    I shall Break this review down into the good and the bad...The good: This game very accurately portrays the Warhammer 40K universe exceptionally, the dialogue, the lore, and the massive scale architecture, Relic got all that spot on. Multiplayer has great customization for your character, Armor customization and weapon load outs...The Bad: The single player campaign is short, about 5 and aI shall Break this review down into the good and the bad...The good: This game very accurately portrays the Warhammer 40K universe exceptionally, the dialogue, the lore, and the massive scale architecture, Relic got all that spot on. Multiplayer has great customization for your character, Armor customization and weapon load outs...The Bad: The single player campaign is short, about 5 and a half hours on hard mode. There are no vehicles...at all. The violence is just over the top ridiculous, and the melee combat is just an awful hack and slash. The multiplayer basically follows the Call of Duty formula, there are weapon load outs, along with perks, but the biggest problem...is that there are only 2 game types. At this point I pretty much know relic for always having 1-2 different game types for all of their games, anyone here ever played Team Fortress 2, or halo? Know how many game types are in them? 10X more than Space marine. This multiplayer will get pretty dull really fast for it horribly lacks variety, and it requires absolutely no team work. I am especially disappointed that there are no vehicles, Even the first halo game had vehicles and more game types, and that is a 10 year old game... In short, the game is pretty mediocre, not worth 50 dollars. Expand
  30. Sep 6, 2011
    6
    No co-op is a big mistake. Adding it as a DLC won't make up for it. Multiplayer is kind of a joke, given the amount of maps, and most of the time, it's a campfest. Singleplayer is also bad in my opinion. Story doesn't grasp you, neither does the atmosphere of the game. Having to execute something to get HP back is a BIG mistake. Also, there is no progression in SP. Also, it is short. FeltNo co-op is a big mistake. Adding it as a DLC won't make up for it. Multiplayer is kind of a joke, given the amount of maps, and most of the time, it's a campfest. Singleplayer is also bad in my opinion. Story doesn't grasp you, neither does the atmosphere of the game. Having to execute something to get HP back is a BIG mistake. Also, there is no progression in SP. Also, it is short. Felt like a waste of money to be honest. After playing Darksiders, God of War, Mass Effect, and some other TPS games, this game doesn't excel in any of these; action/brawler/TPS. Average on all. And annoying as hell. While trying to get some HP back, being unable to move in animation while some rockets are heading on your way is surely fun. Expand
  31. Mar 7, 2012
    7
    Bad first: It is simple and a bit short and the multiplayer has no dedicated server service but nothing else is wrong with the game. It is a very fun SP gameplay and also MP makes ton's of fun. Just perfect for some stressless hours of splattering your enemys with a big smile on your face.
  32. Jun 30, 2012
    5
    The idea would have been so great! But this mindless button smashing and control point system, to watch, listen, go, kill BEFORE you can fix your error is sooo stupid. Thats why I hate console games and ports for the pc. Take Einstein's brain and put a mouse's in his head instead. Thats console... And this was developed by RELIC (CoH, DoW 1-2). You need no brains, no tactic (even if youThe idea would have been so great! But this mindless button smashing and control point system, to watch, listen, go, kill BEFORE you can fix your error is sooo stupid. Thats why I hate console games and ports for the pc. Take Einstein's brain and put a mouse's in his head instead. Thats console... And this was developed by RELIC (CoH, DoW 1-2). You need no brains, no tactic (even if you try, you fail - you cant spare ammo, if you're full granades and press E, they disappear in thin air...).
    Soo weak game for a so good universe (thats the 5 points I gave), from so good developers... They obviously needed the money... Or I dunno...
    (Check box for spoilers? For this game? Lol.)
    Expand
  33. Mar 11, 2015
    5
    Only recommend for fans of the 40k universe. Seems like a lazily thrown together game. Big and dumb, lots of noise both visual and audible combined with a very close third-person camera can make game-play very confusing. Add to this the use of squigs whose presence is usually signalled only by their screech with is inaudible through combat and you end up with too many deaths that feelOnly recommend for fans of the 40k universe. Seems like a lazily thrown together game. Big and dumb, lots of noise both visual and audible combined with a very close third-person camera can make game-play very confusing. Add to this the use of squigs whose presence is usually signalled only by their screech with is inaudible through combat and you end up with too many deaths that feel cheap. Enemy's hits will register despite that on screen they miss by meters and illogical enemy design, for instance Orks who carry massive shields are most easily defeated by being rushed head-on with a melee weapon.

    The idea that you can only heal by executing enemies is cool, though it is bewildering to watch Captain Titus stand still for half a second or more after finishing an execution or melee combo just blithely allowing enemies to wail on him before the player regains control.

    The PC port was obviously not a priority, the most obvious evidence is the key bindings. To zoom with scoped weapons you press [ctrl], to change the magnification you press [z]. [ctrl] is forgiveable given melee is quite reasonably bound to [mouse2] but there is little reason why in the context of zooming the magnification cannot be re-bound to the mouse-wheel which would be much more ergonomic for a key-board and mouse.

    Space Marine just feels half-arsed.
    Expand
  34. Aug 10, 2013
    6
    First the good. The seamless integration between range and melee combat makes combat fluid and enjoyable. The variety of weapons is nice and largely well balanced. While there aren't a lot of graphics options for PC, the visuals and effects are good and the game performs smoothly without devouring a lot of resources. Controls with both gamepad and mouse and keyboard work perfectly andFirst the good. The seamless integration between range and melee combat makes combat fluid and enjoyable. The variety of weapons is nice and largely well balanced. While there aren't a lot of graphics options for PC, the visuals and effects are good and the game performs smoothly without devouring a lot of resources. Controls with both gamepad and mouse and keyboard work perfectly and are very intuitive.

    Now the bad. The game is short and not very replayable. The multiplayer fell way short of expectations. Peer to peer matchmaking means a load of lag. While this may be ok for THQs RTS games, it makes the action oriented Space Marine nearly unplayable in multiplayer. In order to get the most out of multiplayer (access to all modes and characters) you will need to let THQ nickle and dime you with DLC packs. So much superfluous DLC it's just nauseating. Since THQ is now defunct, multiplayer is no longer getting updates, though it still works as far as I know.

    The single player experience is worth it for both action game fans and Warhammer fans. Outside of that, there is no reason to play this game.
    Expand
  35. Jul 6, 2012
    7
    Not spectacularly innovative, but fun in places. The game is a little one-dimensional in that there are only three enemy types - Orks, more Orks and Chaos forces, gameplay ranges from "go here, shoot that" to "go there, shoot this". Multiplayer is a much-needed addition and offers deathmatches as well as co-op style matches. Possibly offers more for the WH40K fan than to those who areNot spectacularly innovative, but fun in places. The game is a little one-dimensional in that there are only three enemy types - Orks, more Orks and Chaos forces, gameplay ranges from "go here, shoot that" to "go there, shoot this". Multiplayer is a much-needed addition and offers deathmatches as well as co-op style matches. Possibly offers more for the WH40K fan than to those who are unaware of the Games Workshop franchise. Not a bad buy but would recommend only doing so if found for under £10.99. Expand
  36. Oct 15, 2013
    5
    This game really offers anything interesting or fun only to Warhammer fans. The pacing is terrible, with frantic hack-and-slash followed by endless corridor walking while you are listening to dialogue that is only added flavour. As a Warhammer 40,000 fan, I sort of liked the short adventure of a single marine, even if the plot was so obvious and seen so many times before that it was almostThis game really offers anything interesting or fun only to Warhammer fans. The pacing is terrible, with frantic hack-and-slash followed by endless corridor walking while you are listening to dialogue that is only added flavour. As a Warhammer 40,000 fan, I sort of liked the short adventure of a single marine, even if the plot was so obvious and seen so many times before that it was almost insulting. The voice acting is decent, art is great (it is Warhammer, after all), sounds and music very good. Still... you are not missing anything, if you won't pick this up. Expand
  37. Nov 22, 2013
    7
    Space Marine is a decent, satisfying bone crunching hack-and-slash shooter coupled with nice graphics and let down by its single player modes linear gameplay, dull environment and short longevity Warhammer 40K fans will like Space Marine but should grabbed in the Steam sales at 75%+ off.
  38. Jan 7, 2013
    5
    A somewhat disappointing experience in the end. The game is just an attempt to make money off Warhammer 40,000. It is aimed at the current WH40K fanbase, and is unlikely to earn it any new fans. The graphics are average with somewhat uninspired environments, but there is a large amount of gore, which is nice compared to all the "kid friendly" shooters these days. The sound effects are goodA somewhat disappointing experience in the end. The game is just an attempt to make money off Warhammer 40,000. It is aimed at the current WH40K fanbase, and is unlikely to earn it any new fans. The graphics are average with somewhat uninspired environments, but there is a large amount of gore, which is nice compared to all the "kid friendly" shooters these days. The sound effects are good and the voice acting, too. Story, although predictable for any WH40K veterans, is good enough for a game like this. The gameplay combines (rather simple) melee combos with third person shooting which, refreshingly enough, doesn't utilize the cover system. Combining those two with great levels of gore, the player can see what it's like to be a Space Marine, rather than modern games' generic sissies sitting in cover half the game. The game's first big negative is the amount of wasted RPG and sandbox potential.With the RPG elements lacking entirely and the whole game being set on a single planet with very little visual change between linear levels. The second negative is the shameless money-grabbing i.e all the pointless and overpriced DLC that should have been in the game from the start. When everything comes together, you have a decent TPS which gets a lower score because it could have been so much more, had the developers not taken the easier path just to make more money. Expand
  39. Feb 19, 2013
    7
    Combines third person shooting with third person hack n slash pretty well. While the melee combat isn't as deep as games like God of War, it's still very fun to hack up tons of orcs rushing at you. There are tons of enemies that it becomes over whelming, which adds to the difficulty. While the gameplay is great, graphics look really good, and music fits well, this game really lacks story.Combines third person shooting with third person hack n slash pretty well. While the melee combat isn't as deep as games like God of War, it's still very fun to hack up tons of orcs rushing at you. There are tons of enemies that it becomes over whelming, which adds to the difficulty. While the gameplay is great, graphics look really good, and music fits well, this game really lacks story. I felt like I was just moving from one section to another just to hack up more orcs with no real purpose behind what I'm doing. If the story were more engaging, this game would be an easy recommend, but it's still worth checking out for the gameplay. Expand
  40. May 20, 2013
    7
    As it stands now, Multiplayer is brutal and almost unforgiving to new comers, How ever it has its enjoyable moments, Exterminatus is enjoyable,though some recent bugs have started to annoy. Campaign is enjoyable and fun, the story is well written with some amazing art work and characters. But as Multiplayer stand currently, 41 level cap and weapon buffs severely punishing new players, iAs it stands now, Multiplayer is brutal and almost unforgiving to new comers, How ever it has its enjoyable moments, Exterminatus is enjoyable,though some recent bugs have started to annoy. Campaign is enjoyable and fun, the story is well written with some amazing art work and characters. But as Multiplayer stand currently, 41 level cap and weapon buffs severely punishing new players, i can not give this game a 10/10 how ever it wholly earns its 7. Expand
  41. May 28, 2014
    7
    The problem with Space Marine is the same as many games out there in these days: its way too simple, easy and linear. They game needs a better combat system, one more challenging and intense. Harder enemies, less ammo, no regeneration of health, bigger variety of enemies and variety of weapons since all of them are the basic guns of almost every shooter out thereThe problem with Space Marine is the same as many games out there in these days: its way too simple, easy and linear. They game needs a better combat system, one more challenging and intense. Harder enemies, less ammo, no regeneration of health, bigger variety of enemies and variety of weapons since all of them are the basic guns of almost every shooter out there (shotguns/snipers/lasers/mgs). Those are a few of the things I missed for this game. I like the idea of including melee combat, but its way too OP, i dont remember enemies counter attacking my melee attacks. I also missed the kind of gore that make a difference in gameplay, like in Ninja Gaiden. I would like to see the game to be a bit more tactical, make a real use of your companions, like giving them orders. Also, why not a reloading/jamming system as in gear of war. It is a good game for a low price if you are into action games. I really hope Relic bring us more, Warhammer universe have a lot to offer. Expand
  42. Jun 30, 2013
    6
    Take combat from Arkham Asylum and make it worse, then take combat from Gears of War or any of it's clone and make it worse. Now combine those two and you have Space Marine. The gameplay is at some points great fun and at some points simply tedious. The other thing I found to be wrong in this game was the direction of cinematography etc. I don't think the game knows what it wants to be.Take combat from Arkham Asylum and make it worse, then take combat from Gears of War or any of it's clone and make it worse. Now combine those two and you have Space Marine. The gameplay is at some points great fun and at some points simply tedious. The other thing I found to be wrong in this game was the direction of cinematography etc. I don't think the game knows what it wants to be. The WH40k universe is famous for being a dark and gritty place, but this game is neither that nor gratuitous tongue-in-cheek action. While that isn't bad per se, it just leaves the same bland feeling about it all that the so-so combat does.

    On the technical side, I found it the game to be more or less excellent. And despite the fact that the game is perhaps too short, the plot actually was pretty solid and fitting to the universe.
    If you're a fan of the WH40k franchise, you'll likely find the game good, even great. If you aren't though, be prepared for a... not bad, but not so good either show.

    One thing worth noting is that this is actually the developer's (Relic Entertainment) first non-RTS title, and for a first effort, it IS really solid. If there ever is a sequel made by the same studio, I'm expecting great things from it.
    Expand
  43. Dec 31, 2013
    7
    A fantastic game which left me sitting there thinking 'is that it?'. It's way too short which is a great shame considering the quality of game play it offers.
  44. May 2, 2014
    5
    A mediocre game from all points of view, very predictible and non-fascinating storyline, repetitive and out-of-sync gameplay intensity, and I can't even remember listening to some nice music. You don't even care about your character, or any character in the game, or what happens, generally, you're just a killing machine on the lose, going as fast as you can while hoping to see theA mediocre game from all points of view, very predictible and non-fascinating storyline, repetitive and out-of-sync gameplay intensity, and I can't even remember listening to some nice music. You don't even care about your character, or any character in the game, or what happens, generally, you're just a killing machine on the lose, going as fast as you can while hoping to see the situation improving during the game, but it never does. This game is the ultimate example of mediocrity. Expand
Metascore
74

Mixed or average reviews - based on 34 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 20 out of 34
  2. Negative: 0 out of 34
  1. PC PowerPlay
    Oct 31, 2011
    70
    The campaign requires an interest in 40K, while the basic multiplayer modes are fun for all. [Dec 2011, p.67]
  2. LEVEL (Czech Republic)
    Oct 30, 2011
    60
    The only thing rising Space Marine from the grey pool of mediocrity is world of Warhammer 40.000 itself. Rich story background deserved more than a linear hack'n'slash game. [Oct 2011]
  3. PC Games (Russia)
    Oct 27, 2011
    75
    A solid debut in action genre for Relic and a must-buy for any Warhammer 40k fan. [Nov. 2011, p.61]