User Score
7.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 524 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 71 out of 524

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Sep 6, 2011
    10
    Alot better than I expected. The combat system with the range system works as well as I would hope, and there was enough diversity in the weapons that it kept me interested. It gets pretty overwhelming at times with the onslaught of enemies on you, and gets pretty challenging. It is really satisfying when you get the hang of the stunning and destroying the enemy to gain health. I haven't played the Multi-player yet, but I have a feeling it's going to be pretty awesome! I like this type hack and slash game, and it's a good break from a stressful week! I recommend it. Expand
  2. Sep 6, 2011
    10
    Adrenalized gun-play, twisting and weaving plot-lines, overwrought character development and a bombardment of on-screen displays, Warhammer 40K Space Marine is a magnificent piece of art.
    Game of the year.
  3. Sep 6, 2011
    10
    Game is freaking awesome! MP is a blast, as it's different than the regular FPS MP. This is definitely the sleeper hit of the year as it didn't get the exposure of some of the other games being released. Combat from melee to range is seamless and tonnes of fun hacking at Orks and then blasting them with your bolter.
  4. Jan 28, 2012
    9
    Taking in the objective way in gaming without doubts space marine deserves a 9/10, inmersive campaign and very well done co op and multiplayer. I wont say it is a perfect game cause, most of the time the camera is a bit tricky so you must to get experienced with that. Overall Space Marine is a game that is worth every penny.
  5. Sep 6, 2011
    9
    Warhammer 40K Space Marine puts you in the armored boots of Captain Titus, of the Ultramarines. Tasked with defending the Forge World Greia (among other things). You are usually joined by your loyal squad Sidonis and Leandros, fighting an innumerable number of orks and eventually chaos forces. Using all kinds of weaponryt, from the humble bolt pistol to the accuratly named devastator, to the traditional chainsword to the room sweeping thunder hammer. The game itself is suprisingly smooth and flows rather well on a high end PC, and as far as I can see, the bugs are few and far between. Hit registry is very reliable and you can easily slice through several boyz in a single swing of your chainsword. Of course, you can also sit back and hammer boyz and nobz alike with the bolter; each weapon has its own strengths and weaknesses and allow for multiple styles of play,though I suspect most of you will just charge into a massive horde yelling "For the Emperor!". Speaking of charging, I could not write a proper review without mentioning the jump pack. With it, you can soar above your enemies and charge down, causing a truly earth-shaking impact. That was the most fun I've had in a long time; eat it Gears of War! There is a multiplayer, but there's nothing really worth mentioning; we've seen it all before. Environmentally, the game does a good job showing you a war-torn forge world, though hardly to the extent the vox chatter suggests (more dead bodies NOW!). The world never quite drew me in as it should, but its open areas and "ork taint" do a good job of giving you a full view to the extent of the damage the orks invasion has done, and the surviving Imperial Guard really do convey the sense of urgency the environment couldn't. Of course, this game isn't without its flaws. My first complaint is the lack of any kind of cover system; a 7 foot tall power armored soldier is kind of a huge target. I know, Relic and THQ wanted you to feel like a real Space Marine (Who I can remember took cover in the Dawn of War series), but most of the time it makes me feel like a real bullet magnet. There are a few glitches, but nothing game breaking, and many of you might not even notice anything. Of course, as we all saw in the demo, the orks sound more like angry british people than actual orks, and chaos forces sound a little off. Most annoying of all is that your companions, while immortal, do almost no damage to enemy forces, and are only good for distracting a few away while you activate fury mode in the nick of time. Apart from all things mentioned above, this game is definitely worth a try no matter if you're a Warhammer fan, shooter fan, Gears of War fan, or just a fan of games in general. If anything above gets to you too much, then just wait until the price drops. Expand
  6. Sep 6, 2011
    10
    This game frigging rocks!!! I'm totally not a 40K fan boy but the shooting and melee mechanics combined with the violence blood fest is a brutally brilliant combo. This game definitively gives Gear of War 3 a run for its money.
  7. Sep 6, 2011
    10
    Before you leap into this game, keep two things in mind: YOU CAN MUTE PLAYERS and the campaign gets much better as it progresses.
    Overall, Space Marine is a good game... I'd recommend playing it on Hard mode and with multiplayer customization in mind. While the content is currently kind of limited (only a few multiplayer maps), the character customization and combat options are endless.
    If you're a fan of 40k, it's a must-play. If you're not... well, if you like Third-Person Shooters, Hack-n-Slashers, or Arcades, you'll probably like this game. Expand
  8. Sep 6, 2011
    9
    I didn't had a lot of hope for this game, I was doubting it a lot. But after playing some time, I realised how amazing it is! It seems easy, and simple, but I actually had a lot of fun kicking ass with a Spacemarine. The weapons are devastating in their own, brutal way. The campaign is a bit shorter then I expected, but it has a good plot and gameplay. I also like the difficulty setting then other shooters these days, both 3rd and 1st. You have to be careful and look around carefully so you don't get your ass beaten. This was the same for the multiplayer. At first I just charged in blindly, which resulted into me dying a lot. Speaking of the multiplayer, I haven't fully done it yet, but I can already tell it seems to be a fun experience. I have great hopes for Spacemarine, and I will certainly be playing it for a long time. Expand
  9. Sep 6, 2011
    10
    I know when a game is good, and its when I have a hard time putting it down. Space Marine is a game that does this for me. The story, locations, music, and action just keep pulling me in.
  10. Sep 7, 2011
    9
    Its not going to win any awards for voice acting, story, or overal originality/replayability but it is more fun than half of the huge studio releases I've played this year. It is amazing goddamn FUN. You are slaughtering your way through thousands and thousands of Orks, smashing their heads, disemboweling them, vaporizing them. If you love warhammer at ALL you will be thrilled with this. On a side note, the graphics are actually quite excellent, with fully rendered backgrounds in most of the environments, and a complete lack of annoying "invisible walls". Just wait till you get your hands on a jetpack, the game gives you a TON of mobility. The multiplayer is absolute hilarious chaos, and worth checking out even if it won't hold your interest like a COD or Battlefield title might. Overall an excellent buy. Expand
  11. Sep 6, 2011
    9
    When I first picked this up I thought for sure, even on normal I could just sit back and fire away, or wade in into melee and basically play god while I cut down hordes of greenskins. I was verily curbstomped by multiple black orcs and choppas and realized that no, I was not god, and yes, the developers did indeed put a good amount of time into the combat. I think it's what many people fear these days. When a developer says the story is the most impressive aspect people immediately think they're in for a good story, with passable to downright terrible combat used as a way to lengthen the title and not really provide any sort of challenge or fun factor. I am happy to say that Space marine most definitely is firing on all cylinders. The combat is solid and has more depth that expected. The combo system really helps there. And of course the hyped story is indeed fantastic. Also, I have to say the environments are absolutely amazing. The only time you notice any sort of lack of detail is when somebody is talking and their armor is just slightly less crisp looking than you'd like. Definitely a game worth buying. It's great fun. Expand
  12. Sep 6, 2011
    10
    This game really lets you be a Space Marine, and that's good! Great pacing and a good variety of weapons keep it interesting. Playing it on Hard is really a challenge since you cannot just charge into the fray, stun an enemy then execute kill to heal.. You need to tactically plan your assault (defense) then be mindful on which enemies to execute to heal. Multiplayer-wise, it feels like Transformers War for Cybertron without the transforming, which is great and the endless customization options are a great addition to the game. All in all, It's a good game even though I've only familiarized myself with Warhammer 40k lore with the game, Dawn of War 1 and 2. Hoping for more Xenos and mutants to kill on the sequel, hopefully (I'm looking at you, Eldar, Necrons, Tyranids, Tau, Dark Eldar). Expand
  13. Sep 7, 2011
    9
    Warhammer 40K: Space Marine is a refreshing change and welcome addition to my gaming library. After spending some time with the game, it's apparent that Relic spent the appropriate amount of time to successfully implement the combat system (range/melee) and included enough weapons/combination attacks to keep mindless button mashing to a minimum. The game itself runs smoothly and is polished enough (especially at 2560x1600) to provide the eyes with some pleasing visuals. A common concern with "hack n slash" titles is for the game to devolve into a thoughtless, repetitive slash fest; However, I have found this not to be the case with W40K:SM. In fact, it is quite the opposite, the player is presented with a myriad of possible attack scenarios that do not (have to) include using melee weapons at all. In short, if you are looking for a fun third-person-shooter that is not your typical fanfare, W40K:SM is a viable alternative that will likely have you looking forward to the next wave of Orks. Expand
  14. Sep 7, 2011
    10
    Space Marine does whatever it takes to tear you out of reality and put you in the ceramite plated power armor of its namesake. On top of that, it's a pretty solid game. The classic 40k Space Marine weapons are all there, and they all tear enemies up with industrial efficiency. When things get too close for comfort you can seamlessly transition to melee. Don't expect Arkham Asylum style fluidity, but melee combat is very solid all the same. It needs to be, because the game goes out of its way to throw you into the action. You get health back by stunning opponents and performing melee executions and unlike most other shooters, health does not regenerate (in single player). You get a regenerating shield, but it never feels 100 percent necessary to run away from the action and play hide-behind-the-box until it starts regenerating. Enemies often get thrown at you in massive waves, and it's a great deal of fun to crush them with the punchy and powerful weaponry. Each weapon performs differently, and you will encounter combat situations where survival means being able to juggle amongst each weapon as you adapt to the situation. With all that said, single player is mostly just "good", and rarely breaks through into the realm of "awesome". The game is at its best when massive waves of enemies crash down against you and your fellow Space Marines, while you barely manage to hold your ground. If the single player campaign had been like that all the way through, it would have kept me satisfied. Unfortunately, the game all too often turns into a standard shooter where you're running down a corridor and having to deal with just 3 or 4 enemies at a time. The checkpoint system also could have used a bit of polishing. And the game isn't exactly a visual powerhouse. Graphics look pretty dated, though Space Marine and enemy models do look impressively detailed and weapon effects look flashy. So with all that said, this would be a 7.5 star game, if it wasn't for the fact that multiplayer is incredible. After the horror that was Modern Warfare 2 on PC, I was skeptical that the peer to peer system would play nice with my terrible internet connection. They must have some amazing netcode in this game, because the game is usually silky smooth online. Rarely does it devolve into an unplayable lagfest for me unless the person hosting the game is obviously located in an entirely different country. At the time of this review, you can sign up for a game and get dropped into one in a matter of seconds. It remains to be seen whether or not the community remains strong and hack free. As for the game itself, the controls feel great online and the weapons all feel gloriously overpowered except for maybe a couple of them. Hit detection is very solid. When I die, I usually feel that it's because I made a mistake or my opponent simply outmaneuvered me, not because my latency is messing up the game's mechanics. There is a Call of Duty style rank up system, and the first few levels can be rough for newcomers, but the game lets you steal your killer's loadout every time you die, and that definitely helps alleviate some of the newbie pains. After playing several games, you'll have unlocked some nice things, and it only gets better from there. One of multiplayer's greatest features is the ability to customize each piece of your Space/Chaos Marine's armor, including being able to select from a wide variety of colors. Players end up looking very unique on the battlefield, and I found myself being able to recognize the friends I admired and the enemies I despised solely based on how their characters looked. You unlock more pieces of armor as you complete achievements, and it's fun to play around with what's available to you and come up with something you like. When you're stomping around the battlefield, crushing your enemies in your very own custom tailored power armor...well, few things in life compare. There aren't many maps at the moment, but the few maps that have come with game at release are so solid, that I don't even care. Each has been so carefully crafted and balanced and made just the right size to keep the action flowing at the right pace, there isn't a single time where a map pops up and I cringe because I don't want to play it. As far as I'm concerned, the Space Marine's multiplayer component alone is worthy of a full 10. For the Emperor! Expand
  15. Sep 7, 2011
    10
    Man, someone has to be manipulating the user scores on this game. I played Space Marine and loved it, almost every other written user review is between 8-10, and yet the overall user score is only around 6. That means a whole bunch of people must have given the game a score of 1, which is total nonsense. There's no way anybody in their right mind would vote this game a total failure without any redeeming qualities.

    Someone's been registering accounts and just spamming this game with "1" ratings without typing any constructive criticisms about the game.

    Such a shame.
    Expand
  16. Sep 7, 2011
    9
    First things first. This game is great. It is, bar none, the best melee/shooter I have ever played. However...

    As many reviewers have mentioned, the single player campaign is on the short side and it didn't ship with co-op. The simplicity of the combat is also an issue for some. In fact, I thought it might be an issue for me after playing the demo. But the use of the combo system and
    stuns, while simple, is not mindless button mashing. Those reviewers who complain about the difficulty while simultaneously lamenting the simple combat system are missing the point: just because you can do a 3 melee + stun attack all the time doesn't mean you should. The game has a depth even with its simple system that makes even the shorter campaign very fun. Did I mention it was a shooter/melee hybrid? The shooting is great too. I have no idea how people can think the shooting is lacking in anyway, other than the fact that you can't regen health while shooting in the single player (excepting going into fury mode, which is really more than you need for most parts geared around ranged combat). These players feel pigeonholed into going into melee to regen health, where they die because they don't use the attack and stun system effectively. That's not bad game design -- its poor playing. Like DOW before it, WH40KSM requires you to move out of cover and into the fray, not to capture strategic points, but to regen health. You might call it a gimmick, but its no more gimmicky than any other health regeneration system in a video game. Also noted by some reviewers: while you are executing a mob, you can be killed by other mobs around you. Some people say this is bad, but again, this is not bad on the designer end, this is bad on the player's end. That simple combat system suddenly seems more daunting when you try to figure out how to extricate yourself from a mass of 'Ard Boyz and stun/execute the lone slugga boy or gretchen running around the perimeter. Or you could just pop fury, but then the inevitable nob or mega nob coming after might be the one to finish you off! Speaking of Nobz, take your simple combat system and go to toe to toe with a nob (without a thunder hammer or fury mode). If you come out on top, chances are you don't find the game a simple button masher.

    As mostly a PC user, I do find the multiplayer a bit odd. No server list is to be seen, you just get thrown onto a server as its starting a new game. Apparently this is common for alot of console games but I'm not too thrilled with that system. There should have been more gameplay modes like KOTH and CTF, but I'm truly hoping the developers will keep adding to this game because the core is so excellent. Barring the strange initial setup and a game preparation step that is 30 seconds too long, the multiplayer is very fun (and one more incredibly annoying feature that I will explain later) . The assault marines may be a bit over powered, especially against a newbie Tactical Marine. But that same tactical marine becomes a nightmare to someone seeking close combat when he has a meltagun, so my verdict is still out on the overall balance until after most players have unlocked the significant weapons. The storm bolter makes me shout whenever someone kills me with it too.

    Speaking of shouting, there is seemingly no way to turn off mics in multiplayer other than muting everyone on your end. This is not good at all. If you have a mic, alot of your shouting (or eating in between games) is going to be heard by everyone on the server. And it sucks. Hugely. That really needs to be fixed. All in all, this game is amazing and its main selling point should simply be as the first game to get both shooting and melee into one game with seamless integration. Or, to be more precise, the total range of combat in this game is the BEST I have ever experienced. There are features that are missing (in multiplayer), and for a full 50 dollar price tag I am a bit disappointed by that. But playing the game itself, both the short, but exciting, campaign, and the multiplayer (with everyone muted, and hopefully the matchup system put you on a server you ping well too!) is incredibly fun. I would give this game something in the 8.* if I could but I cannot. And because all the reviewers (professionals included!) who seem to have given up on the game after dying three times in a row to a mob of boyz backed up by flash gitz with rokkit launchas gave this game a score entirely undeserving of it, I give it a 9/10. After the release of the co op mode and with some developer support in streamlining and adding some feature/settings in multiplayer I would give this game a true 10/10 with no reservations.
    Expand
  17. Sep 7, 2011
    10
    This game is a beast,
    the singleplayer just owns, all the 40k variations of weapons needed for true fan to love this game. The action and tension is just great. Storymode makes me wanna say shut up and take my money.
    Even though multiplayer supposed to be just an addition, it's more than that despite what some cry babies from Gears of War say is very balanced, people just need to realize
    there is no COVER system because you are a freaking SPACE MARINE Adeptus Astarties for God Emperor's sake.
    On top of that in 30 days free DLC exterminatus mode, something like LAST STAND from Dawn of War II Co-op... how freaking awesome is that?
    Expand
  18. Sep 8, 2011
    10
    I love this game. It feels like being a Space Marine. The world feels like that of War Hammer 40k. True, there are some repetitive bits and, yes, it would be great to fight more Chaos Marines. But the game still feels so right. It's so true to the source material that it's worth a high rating on that alone.
  19. Sep 7, 2011
    10
    Great game. Weapons feel great, beating enemies to pulp via melee is very satisfying after a long, stressful day, and the environments are stunning. Multiplayer is a lot of fun but unfortunately has only two game modes and a limited number of maps. Hope they'll expand on that via DLC soon.
  20. Sep 7, 2011
    10
    I've thoroughly enjoyed the game so far. Played for about 5 hours and I'm loving the campaign. Graphics are crisp and fluid the game runs great on my PC. It's edgy like most of the other games in its genre but doesn't get stale like halo and gears of war garbage. Huge recommendation for someone looking for something different yet still exciting
  21. Sep 7, 2011
    10
    Excilent game and portrayal of the 40K universe. Combat is brutal, bloody, and on a large scale. Controls are a bit of a pain, but not unplayable. Game still has a few teething issues, exspecialy in multiplayer, but for new releases, that's to be expected. Well worth the buy for 40K fans, action fans, or players just wanting a bloody, violent game to endulge in. Too many comparisons with Gears of War by fans too butt-hurt over this game being better. Expand
  22. Sep 8, 2011
    9
    I had a really great time with this game. Sure, it isn't perfect and could use a longer campaign with more progression and combos etc, but I think the core mechanics are all there and that's what really makes this game great. I've always loved 40k and that probably helps bias my opinion a bit, but for me it was an awesome experience seeing space marines come to life.

    I think a lot of
    people are rating the game poorly because they simply aren't into 40k and don't know much of the story behind everything. Along with the visuals, the music is also superb and I have not experienced any glitches so far after about 18 hours of play (Besides the usual enemies stuck through walls glitch that happens in basically every game.)

    None of the reviews on here should be lower than 5.....Relic definitely did not make a failure of a game. Bottom line, if you love 40k buy the game! If you're unsure of the 40k universe it may just be another hack n slash to you.
    Expand
  23. Sep 8, 2011
    10
    Multijoueur tout simplement énorme ! à recommander pour les fans de l'univers et amateurs de TPS beat'em all. Le mode solo sympathique sans être particulièrement révolutionnaire. Avec un mode coop qui arrive début octobre, Relic nous livre ici un excellent jeu qui mérite certainement son lot de suite et d'extension. Expand
  24. Sep 10, 2011
    9
    I was expecting this game to be a 7.5 for me, but was pleasantly surprised. The combat is great, the violence is on par with the franchise and we finally get to step into the shoes of our favorite sons of the emperor. Being a Warhammer buff, this game totally hit all the right spots for me. My only gripes are these.

    1. Dawn Of War ruined me for anything 40k. The Ultramarines movie and
    this aren't scratching my "These men are the emperor's chosen" itch. Ive read the horus heresy books and many of the series from the Black Library and my mental image of these Angels Of Death makes them to be gods. Dawn of War and it's follow ups really did a great job of making you feel epic, to the point of the hair standing on the back of my neck. I got it in the beginning of Space Marine, and at it's ending but that was all. 2. I bought this twice, collector's edition on 360 and a Steam Copy. The steam version i havent beat yet but the difficulty of controlling the aim with a controller makes it almost unplayable as far as the shooter aspects. Mouse and keyboard is the way to go, especially at the last half of the game when it's impossible to be out in the opoen for very long with the Chosen Of Nemeroth raping you with their plasma weapons and chaos trickery.

    Other than that, i can't wait for a follow up and the enevitable DLC and will continue playing multiplayer for many hours to come.
    Expand
  25. Sep 8, 2011
    10
    W40K: Space Marines is great fun & ork heads give a satisfying bloody "pop" after a few concentrated rounds. Being a big fan of the rts games I wasn't so sure I would really like the game past appreciating the setting & story, thankfully this was not at all the case. This game has a high level of polish rarely seen in pc releases these days & seems more a tip of the hat to long time fans than a console cash-in with a bad port job. It was a blast playing down on the battlefield & personally I would have rather seen mp left out in favor of more sp content, but now too many games are a 6-7 hour sp campaign with the same damn mp games tacked on. Expand
  26. Sep 8, 2011
    10
    Great game, awesome action and the real gritty, heavy feel a 40k game should have. Been waiting for something like this for 'many' years, cant believe it's taken so long for it to finally come!
  27. Sep 8, 2011
    10
    This is such an awesome game. I had such a great time playing it. I am not the biggest fan of 3rd person shooters or Warhammer 40k, but still had great fun. Good job Relic.
  28. Sep 8, 2011
    10
    Not mad about this game, just wish there was more offered. It seems like everything was created for someone who wasn't familiar with 40k, but sometimes developers forget that the 40k audience is going to be their greatest consumer anyways! This game has great bits to it, but also suffers from mediocrity. The action in the single player was great. But pacing seemed to be somewhat of a problem on two aspects. The only thing that spiced up combat was when you acquired a new weapon. This happened at a consistent rate throughout the campaign, but it never made up for a lot of the monotony of combat. You might have to turn on a machine here or there, but there is no combat scenario that is really interesting or challenging. There aren't many different enemies between the orkz and chaos, and there is never really any sense of desperation or urgency in combat. Fight. Kill. Rinse. Repeat. Another pacing problem seemed to be with the story, I feel as if too little happened for too long. You never traveled to other planets, you essentially had one goal in the game, you stay on the same planet doing menial tasks to accomplish a slightly more important goal which will eventually lead you to your main goal, which in the sense of the whole Warhammer 40k universe, seemed extremely unimportant. The combat style is very similar to Gears of War - the only difference however is that GOW created interesting scenarios with combat instead of throwing wave after wave of enemies at you. The executions are a nice touch to the combat system, but are certainly not enough to make up for the lulls in the combat. The multiplayer is a fresh breath of air, nothing too special here, but definitely something to keep your attention until another 40k game comes out or just any other top-tier multiplayer game like MW3 or BF3. It adds a new perspective to the 40k universe which is really nice. I think it would have been awesome to add more races to the game, at least in multiplayer. the Tau, Necrons, playable Orkz or the Eldar would've made for some very fun multiplayer possibilities. All in all - I'm not mad that I bought it, just wished it was a more in depth 40k game Expand
  29. May 13, 2012
    10
    When i first played the demo i was amazed. The combat system is fast, full of adrenaline, and the melee and ranged combat is just perfect together. It feels absolutely good to blow a head of an orc off or slice him in two. The weakest point in the game is the single player with an average story and weak boss fights, but the multiplayer is the best out there. Its quite balanced, very fast paced, and very unique. The exterminatus game mode offers you the joy of slaughtering hordes of enemies, and a hard challenge at the same time. Buy the game, get out there with a heavy bolter, shoot some orcs, and u will know what I was talkin about. Expand
  30. Sep 10, 2011
    10
    Love it! Warhammer 40,000K world in a third person shooter. Game flows nicely and is really fun to play. The guns are great and the melee is insane. A lot of work was put in to this game and the end product is amazing.
  31. Sep 9, 2011
    10
    A great 3rd person action game! The sound design is well done just like the warhammer 40k atmosphere. It makes a lot of fun to fight through the hordes of orks and chaos space marines, only the multiplayer modes would have been more tolerated but it may still make a lot of fun because of the many unlockable items.
  32. Sep 11, 2011
    10
    Adrenalized gun-play, twisting and weaving plot-lines, overwrought character development and a bombardment of on-screen displays, Warhammer 40K Space Marine is a magnificent piece of art. Game of the year.
  33. Nov 16, 2011
    9
    One of the best third person shooters iv'e played in years, the last time i had so much fun in a TPS game was back in Max Payne 2.
    Space marine combines third person shooting mechanics and god of war melee combat into one wonderfull game. There's no **** cover system,no chest high walls only you,your gun,your giant chainsword and milions and milions of orks and chaos marines to murder.
    In
    some firefights you'll find yourself fighting over 100 enemies at the same time, there is nothing more amazing then holding a hill in co-op with 3 friends while being attacked by 100-200 orks. at the same time.
    SP is ok
    CO-OP is AMAZING
    MP is pretty good.
    I strongly reccomend you buy this game.
    Expand
  34. Oct 4, 2011
    9
    Overall I am very, very pleased with Space Marine.
    Relic has done a great job bringing 40k to life once again, proving that they're the right ones for the job of developing 40k Games.
    While I'm not a huge Multiplayer fan myself, I couldn't help but enjoy Space Marine's Annihilation and Seize the Ground matches for hours already.
    My impatience was well justified and the game did not
    disappoint in the slightest. Expand
  35. Sep 18, 2011
    9
    To make things clear - Im a fanboy. Totally devoted to Warhammer 40k universum. Ive lost hours of my life on playing all games from Dawn of War series, another countless hours for w40k books. Yes, i never played the original tabletop game, but such things were never my kind of thing. It never stopped me from adoring the warhammer world and its unique feel. And what about the game? I'll make it short. If you're a wh40k fan... you'll love it. Space Marines are epic as always, fights are bloody, voice-acting is superb. Graphics are astonishing, game is also very optimised - you'll play it even on some older machines. Another thing is soundtrack - not so "heavy" as in Dawn of War, but also great. Orchestrated by Sascha Dikicyan and Cris Velasco... this first name will ring a bell - this guy is known also as Sonic Mayhem ( Quake OST, Borderlands, Mass Effect 2) ... What can i say? EPIC sounds. And gameplay? Blood and gore. All the memorable weapons are here. Bolters, chainswords, lascannons, assault jetpacks, power axes.. Against you - hordes of Orks. Legions of Chaos. Pure fun in killing all of them. Offcourse, there's not much else to do in this game - but slaying xenos and heretics is so orgasmic, you would not dare to be bored... That would be heresy;) So, generally - for fans of WH40k - it's a must-have. For everyone else? You can give it a try, maybe this will be your first step into the dark and grim world of Warhammer 40.000 ? Expand
  36. Oct 15, 2011
    9
    I played this game all the way to the end which is rare for me. if you are a fan of the universe you will enjoy the game as it really captures that "warhammery" "space mariney" feel. It really respects the source material (except that bolters are just machine guns, I guess they have to give in a little to expectations)

    Combat is solid and 90% of the way there but do yourself a favour
    and play with a gamepad. Graphics are solid. level design is decent but you can tell its working with the console limitations as your generally stuck in a pretty small environment (but they hide it fairly well). Expand
  37. Sep 24, 2011
    9
    A great game definitely worth the buy if your a fan of the table top game it really makes you feel like your apart of a true Warhammer 40k atmosphere and has a variety of enemies and weapons to play with at your disposal. Even though it does have its down sides like a short campaign and a bit of a COD type multiplayer which they could have made a little different its more than a rent than buy if you have a console until they bring in last stand and co-op campaign I would wait a bit until they are out but still a great game. Expand
  38. Dec 17, 2011
    10
    It don't matter If you are new to the Warhammer 40k universe or just love it like me...look no further, This is YOUR game.

    The Campaign level is fun and fast (about 10 hrs total game time) but the multi-player is where you earn your armor. This is where you put yourself against the Best Terra has to offer you. Sure there are some tough learning curves (lvl 1-7 are just death,death and
    more death) but as you earn your Armor and weapons upgrades you even out the battlefield and earn rank and glory. This game with all the DLC out now and coming soon makes the price tag totally worth it and any TRUE son of the Emperor wouldn't be caught without it. The Emperor Protects.... Expand
  39. Sep 11, 2011
    9
    Loved the game and the story. As someone new to WH40K lore, it was a good introduction. I loved the combat especially the melee mechanics. It was well worth the price. The multiplayer is also good but can he chaotic at times. The only flaw for me was it was too short, save multiplayer it was a 8-10 hour experience.
  40. Sep 15, 2011
    9
    Truly a great representation of Warhammer 40k. The dialog, characters and story are all portrayed as if games workshop themselves created it. Masterpiece. My only complaint is with the fact that they made it for console too so of course it massively lacks in some areas like multi-player and combat complexity. Makes me wish for the old days when games were written for PC then dumbed down ports were made for console.

    Somehow, we let the retards win and now everything is written for console then ported to pc :(
    Expand
  41. Nov 27, 2011
    10
    I bought this for the multiplayer - The Multiplayer: In terms of lag, its not laggy at all. (I live in europe) I have had almost no lag exept for once. (Though I still support dedicated servers for all pc games). There are many ppl online. I dont have to wait long to enter a match. you can costumise your appearance and loadout while in lobby witch is nice.
    The guns feel and sound cool. The
    perks are balanced, you can be creative with them! The third person camera is great. The space marine feels mighty in multiplayer.

    I highly reccommend this game to ppl who like MP shooters, but want something new.
    Expand
  42. Sep 12, 2011
    10
    Warhammer 40,000 Space Marine is a fantastic game. I honestly didnâ
  43. Sep 15, 2011
    10
    Whilst the RTS games of Relic Entertainement are brilliant I have to admit that Space Marine is a rather mediocre 3rd person shooter. Real depth and immersion never builds up, the story can be predicted and the rushing in waves of enemies get tedious. The animations don't look smooth and the small boss fights are ridiculously easy. Whilst I'm not a fan over cover systems in general this game could need one. The planet or environment in which you fight as well as the textures lack detail and the the mindless fighting gets boring fast. Being a fan of numerous other shooters I have to say Relic better continues their great work on the RTS sector of the Wh40k franchise. Expand
  44. Sep 18, 2011
    10
    Game is nearly ideal! MP is a blast, as it's different than the regular FPS MP. This is definitely the sleeper hit of the year as it didn't get the exposure of some of the other games being released. Combat from melee to range is seamless and tonnes of fun hacking at Orks and then blasting them with your bolter.
  45. Sep 18, 2011
    9
    I for one came into this game as more of a fan of Warhammer than of this type of game. I have watched my son play Gears of War, a lot, so I am familiar with that game for comparison sake.

    From the Warhammer perspective, this game does not disappoint. It pretty much plays like any good Space Marine novel. I enjoyed the story, while some may critique the heavy use of cut scenes. I saw it
    as a plus. Heck, i could have gone with even more extended scenes. I hope some creative souls out there get a hold of this game engine and use it to create some great Warhammer "movies". If you can make a cut scene, you can do a feature length Anime. ;-)

    The game play itself was reasonable. I found the same shortcomings that others have mentioned. Too close of a camera... getting killed while locked into a "special move" animation. I suspect that if a casual older gamer like myself can master the controls and make his way through the game without too much effort. Then someone like my son, a maniac 18 year old console gamer. Might find the game lacking enough challenge. That said, he likes reading the Warhammer books as well. He said "This game is Sick".

    I like the multi-player well enough. I think it needs to be "expanded" a lot. Different modes, and of course teh promised co op mode.
    Expand
  46. Sep 19, 2011
    10
    The single player is on the short side but I liked the variety of weapons and situations the game put me in. I liked the way the game made me use both melee and ranged weapons and by the end of the game I felt very powerful. Overall it was not a long game but the main point is that I had a lot of fun while playing.

    The multiplayer, on PC, is only as good as the host computer. Without
    dedicated servers some hosts are very poor. The good thing is that I get matched up quickly and i get good hosts most of the time. Time flies when I play this game and that has not happened for a while. Expand
  47. Sep 30, 2011
    9
    From a single player perspective this game is amazing. They have designed an experience rich with the cannon of Warhammer that drops you into the world of the Space Marines. The controls were fast and easy to tune for faster game play at maximum difficulty. Although i found two drawbacks to this game... re-playability is not a main point for me. I found the repetition in redoing the identical thing rather boring. The multiplayer was effective although i find that its very unbalanced for new players. I highly recommend the game overall for an amazing experience. Expand
  48. Nov 3, 2011
    9
    This game is just plain fun. The up close and personal combat is done spectacularly well and the beautiful art work of the environments draw you into the scene. If you're a gamer like me who just wants to get on with the combat and gets impatient with extended dialogue, then this may be for you.
  49. Dec 23, 2011
    10
    Adrenalized gun-play, twisting and weaving plot-lines, overwrought character development and a bombardment of on-screen displays, Warhammer 40K Space Marine is a magnificent piece of art. Game of the year.
  50. Jan 9, 2012
    9
    Amazing game. Combat system is easy to get acuustomed to and a whole lotta fun! The campaign has a great story and the levels have a good difficulty ratio. But the most fun is in the multiplayer hands down! Probably the best multiplayer ive ever played. With the mix of the hack and slash and the range weapons, simply awsome and well executed ! A must have for fans of FPS with a lot of action! the campagin was just about 10hours and ive spend another 20hours playing multiplayer and im still not bored! Awsome game, totally worth it's value. Wait for a sale on steam if you dont wanna pay the 50 dollars ! Expand
  51. Jan 12, 2012
    10
    I Absolutely loved the campaign for this game. The difficulty was perfect you had to look at your surroundings for areas which have good cover or a good spot to have a massive melee brawl. The boss battles were so much fun. They were not really for difficulty they were for pure fun. Gameplay was like a mix of halo and gears of war. You could roll around and it was in 3rd person. Insanely good responsiveness. The multiplayer is where it died. The plasma cannon literally ruined it. Where is the skill in that gun? You charge up and the hit a huge radius killing every enemy in it. Imagine a wraith from halo but with 10times the radius and faster travelling shots. Yeah that was the gun. The hammer i find had the dumbest perk. All it does is makes it stronger. A weapon which can already 1shot now has a much higher chance for oneshotting. I loved the classes. They were balanced. A tactical marine is the counter for an assualt marine/Raptor. the Havoc/Devastator is the counter for the tactical marine. And the raptor is the counter for the Havoc/ devastator. The game lacked in levels. A whole 5levels to play on for 2.5 months. There were no Dedicated servers for the game. I don't have the best internet but it isn't bad. And I was stuck at 3/5 bars the whole time. The game had a good skill level. If you were skilled (Which not to brag but I was better than most) you could easily top the score boards. Exterminatus was realeased and it made the game way to easy. I could go solo and get to wave 9on both arena's and bring home about 15k XP. thus making everyone lvl up super fast and getting rid of low levels. I would reccomend it if you like to play a game for about a month and then drop it and never pick it up again. Expand
  52. Apr 24, 2012
    9
    This game defies third-person-shooter and brawler mechanics. First things first: If you are a Warhammer 40k fan just like i myself am you will love every tiny little detail they put into it. The atmosphere, the level design with it's vast and huge buildings is near to perfect. And then you have to take this Scenario and put in highly aesthetic close combat which is even enhanced by one of the best control settings i have seen so far (if you are using a xbox 360 controller). Blending shooter Elements in an third-person-hack'n'slay is pretty hard to do but Relic did the job fairly well. So what else to tell you about this? the campaign is kind of short, i must agree, but that does not influence the incredible fun this game actually makes. if i had to write a review on the singleplayer mode only it would definetly get a 10 out of 10 since i only paid 20 Bucks for it. But there is also a multiplayer mode. Unfortunately this mode is stricken with balance-issues and a lack of internal match-options. If you are playing PvP you will most likely discover that player level and equipment matters. some weapons are plain overpowered others prove themselves to be obviously useless. And of course the level and the perks you have equipped will make you either inferior or highly superior to your enemies. Then there is also an PvE mode where u find yourself in an arena and slaughter waves of orcs. Problem with this mode is, that it is made for 4 players. And you can't even adjust the options to make it any easier when you are playing with 2 players. Nevertheless if you have 3 or more people and you are able to survive in the arena this mode provides a ton of fun. So to sum this up: 9 out 10 and one of the best third-person-action-games i have ever played. And it is even pretty cheap by now (~ 20 bucks on steam) so you should consider buying it. Expand
  53. Apr 25, 2012
    9
    I'm a fan of sandbox games, and never enjoyed any game with a scripted story or campaign except Gothic(1). I wouldn't have liked this game either because the story is pointless and your on very tight rails.. but!, the combat is just so over the top with your space marine dishing out the most supreme ass-whoopings by the bushel. They nailed the most important thing they needed to, the melee mechanics, making this hands down the best hack n' slash money can buy. The guns have some nice diversity and pack plenty of punch, no complaints. The health mechanic of regenerating only on melee fatalities is a perfect fit for a space marine, no cover required. They also throw in a bonus power that refills as you get kills called fury. Fury seriously augments your normal powers and generates health while attacking which allows you to take out the elite orcs and bosses. I never got a chance to play Gears of War which this has been likened to but I've played a ton of games, fps's etc.. but this sets a new standard for virtual violence which I can't at the moment imagine how anyone is going to top. Multiplayer has been a bit of a letdown so far, didn't enjoy the maps I've seen or starting at a huge disadvantage to seasoned players who have the good gear. Regardless, I can't wait to see what they do next with this series. Believe the hype. Expand
  54. Dec 7, 2012
    9
    Ripping through hordes of orcs is a totally satisfying experience. The visuals and sound are amazing. If you want a little mayhem this game totally delivers. The story is B-movie style but the visceral action is what counts in this game. It is totally worth the sale price on Steam.
  55. Feb 5, 2012
    10
    I've never rated any game a 10, but I have no problem doing so with this title. I guess it is an accurate rating as if I were to write this game myself I would change nothing. Well only one single thing actually, I would leave it up to the player as to whether or not my Space Marine would be wearing their helmets. They don't during the whole game. :P Other than that, this is a perfect FPS, better than any other I've played. It is different in combat tactics, the graphics are awesome and the story if great. The whole package is spot on from Games Workshops high standards. I am very familiar with the Space Marine Codex as well as Orks and the 40K premise and story line. To me this game NAILS it all perfectly. Bought it on sale too for $16.99, but it is well worth the full retail cost and then some. Love the visuals as well, they really bring the Warhammer 40K universe to light just the way it is on the books. I haven't even tried the multi player yet, saving that for after the campaign. Expand
  56. Oct 3, 2012
    9
    I Got the boxed retail copy of this on release day installed and registered on steam, I actually tried multiplayer first and well.... lets just say I never manged to get to the single player within the first few weeks so I will just review the multi to begin with.

    Multiplayer: Um... this is what an infantry based wargame should be all about. Intense firefights where things like picking
    your spot & useing overlapping fields of fire actually mean something and running off on your own will usually get you mutilated, fortunately VOIP is built into the game itself. before we get to that the mechanics in Multiplayer work differently to single player. Probably the biggest difference is that Armour & health recharge/recover when you are in cover (like most squad based shooters) moving the game to a slighly more strategic cover based shooter.... sort of. We have the fairly standard multiplayer leveling up and unlocking system with their own tweaks and flairs, killstreaks unlock new armour customizations faster and so on. There are 3 classes to choose from and each as their strengths and weakness.

    Basically there is something for every occasion and I am sure there is a class there that appeals to everyone, although there is no support class. Thats because ammunition can be picked up from fallen foes and fallen battle brothers alike. At level 4 you unlock the armor customizer (before that you are stuck as an Ultramarine or a default chaos space marine) which lets you pretty much make your marine on either side look however you want using the armor components you unlocked, there are a lot of insignias & loads of colours to choose from and each individual armour piece can be coloured in multiple parts and individual armour pieces changed out as you see fit (so you can have Mk4 armour on 1 leg and Aquila armour on the other leg if you really want for example) they give you 8 slots on each team to make custom looks if you like to switch between them as you see fit & there are also a ton of Space marine chpters with preset armour sets you can then customize ontop of that (first 2 I made were Blood Angels death company and Blood Angels veteran squad armour). The level of customization is impressive and means lots to unlock later on. You can customize the loadouts of the 3 basic class slots & as you unlock the custom slots they let you decide which class to put in each of the 5 custom slots and let you configure the loadouts for each based on the class you picked.

    The weapons are fairly balanced although I found the default boltgun felt a bit weak at times in the begining but maybe I just took a while to master it. The unlockable weapons are not really more powerfull just different & usefull in different situations.

    It is not another COD or BF game nor is it meant to be, But it does feel like a squad based wargame and everything about it screams epic battles even though you are only playing with 16 people. If you ever played Dawn of war/ DOW 2 and thought "man it would be so awesome to be in that combat in a first/third person shooter" then Relic have granted your wish. Single player: its a gore fest and a lot of fun, the story and gameplay moves along at a breakneck speed for the most part & I found myself pushing further & further to see what would happen next. Around the middle of the game I found it getting repetitive with the same enemies over & over and I was glad when the story finally took a turn and presented new enemies to overcome.

    I found the last third or so of the game more challenging and fun although the format of the final boss battle was quite a letdown.

    Overall this is a great and while I enjoyed the multiplayer Vs gameplay significantly more the Single player & Co-op postions other people will find the opposite.
    Expand
  57. Dec 24, 2012
    9
    MUST play for WH40K fans. Thriling set battles, great visuals and some of the best sound effects. Sure it's linear to the extreme but it's fun. This game did not get a fair shake. I hope they make a SM2.
  58. Feb 20, 2012
    10
    THQ deserves to keep the Warhammer 40k ip.
    The big question I always ask myself when I play a video game adaptation of something is "do I feel like".
    Lately alot of comic and movie adaptations seem to fail at this quite frequently (go play Thor or Green Lantern and get back to me) and in the past alot of great i.p's or franchises have been butchered in the video game department.
    Not since
    Arkum Asylum have I felt so much like the central character , and been so immersed in a familiar world. So in answer to the question in my opening statement...
    I FEEL LIKE A SPACE MARINE WHEN I PLAY THIS GAME!
    Wading into a horde of orcs with chainsword in one hand bolter in the other, I loved the seemless switching between mele and ranged combat. Controls are amazing , the single player is a work of art, and the multi-player is a blast and the co-op is some of the best I've ever played! Only thing missing is dedicated servers. DLC has proven worth it for me too with the Dreadnaught mode in MP and the Chaos Unleashed pack was a nice change up for co-op, slaughtering thousands of guardsmen instead of orcs (in most cases both at once) playing as Chaos.
    Space Marine was just what WH40K needed in the video game department and THQ has come through again.
    Expand
  59. Sep 24, 2011
    10
    GOOOOd GAAAME!!! The combat system with the range system works as well as I would hope, and there was enough diversity in the weapons that it kept me interested. Overall, Space Marine is a good game...
  60. Sep 27, 2011
    10
    This game had me hooked off the bat. Immediately as you begin playing your dropped into the mist of action and right away your already hacking and slashing your foes. I realize there is a lot of lore behind Warhammer 40,000 from a gamer perspective I enjoy the game play mechanics. It gives you the best feeling of what a space marine would be like. Using a jump pack is superbly fun I knew it was going to be good but I spent hours and hours of simply dropping on top of my foes and finishing them off in melee combat. At the same time if you prefer range combat you can easily work on that and for working on that specific class you gain perks to help you out. A survival coop will be released soon and I sure as hell cant wait to get my hands on it after all many games become really big because of coop game play. Another thing is if relic continues releasing maps and game modes this game will last even longer which is a plus since Relic has been known to release these kinds of things in the past. There are still a few things that could have been taken into accountability the levels feel a little linear not too much freedom unfortunately also it only held me for about a good 12-13 hours campaign wise. Which if I do say so myself is longer then most of the other games I have played but overall this game was quite successful in capturing the audience of Warhammer 40,000 fans and luring new fans into the fray. Overall it is a fun and good game I will keep playing this and so long as it has support such as future DLC's and maybe one day allow modding support I will keep playing this game. Expand
  61. Sep 28, 2011
    10
    This game. Oh my god, this game. I took a look at it (before I downloaded it) and thought it would be like the other Warhammer games. Was I wrong. I downloaded it, and got in, and I was completely spellbound by it when I got in. It had a feel like Gears of War, with the over-the-shoulder PoV and the creatures you fight, as well as the weapon change screen, and like Halo, with the UI, shields/health system, and the resemblance to those nasty little Grunts. I absolutely love(d) this game and hope Capt. Titus brings us to a sequel. Expand
  62. Sep 22, 2012
    10
    I enjoyed this game from start to finish. Great story, great game mechanics. You will never get bored with this game (just talking about the single player campaign). The multiplayer aspect of the game, I see it as a bonus. And those who say this game ain't hard or too easy.. you choose which level of difficulty you want to play the game. Great game even for a year old game! Loved it!
  63. Feb 5, 2012
    9
    Way better then I thought. The Single Player is awesome but no freedom in it, executing an Ork to gain health is awesome. The physics are quite realistic and fun. Multiplayer, however is a different story. Exterminatus is the best feature of multiplayer. You and a group of people (be it your friends or random people) must defend yourself from tons of Orks and capture control points. However the Versus mode is quite challenging. I've seen level 2 people with combat knifes fight against level 90 people with thunder hammers, I personally suck at versus but I'm pro with Exterminatus. This is a really good game and is worth it. Expand
  64. Feb 21, 2012
    10
    Buy it for the Multiplayer, we have, in our community about 20 people who have the game and on any night, now in Feb 2012, we can shoot out a Steam announcement for the game and play the most awesome MP ever!

    Peer to peer isn't ideal but with friends from the same country (Australia in our case) it can hardly be faulted.

    The visceral, bloody gameplay with the diversity and depth of
    weapons and perks makes the game so satisfying. We consider the default DLC to grab, the Chaos Unleashed pack (adds awesome new Exterminatus missions where you kill humans and orcs as Chaos marines) and the Dreadnought pack. But it now, tell your friends, get it cheap www.cdkeyshere.com is GREAT value and trusted site. enjoy Expand
  65. Jul 16, 2012
    10
    The single player is awesome, but the multiplayer is also really good with extras not just tacked on. The first time you go in to brace stance with a Heavy Bolter you KNOW you're in WH40K.
  66. Sep 13, 2012
    9
    Repetitive environments, but high replay value. Very fluid combat in MP and enjoyable canon SP storyline. -1 point for lacking MP maps; although the control point mode is very enjoyable/replayable. DLC is acceptable but the lack of players means you'll need some good luck or a STEAM sale weekend in order to actually experience it fully. Exterminatus is excellent for non-competitive players, but most perks can only be unlocked in PvP which is disappointing for those non-comp players. Expand
  67. Oct 10, 2012
    9
    Good game, has a fun single player campaign and online is very fun. You can just jump into games with other players and play both vs. or co-op. Really underrated game, got it off steam sale and have since bought quite a bit of the DLC.
  68. Nov 28, 2012
    10
    If you are a Warhammer 40K fan you have to play this game. If not I still recommend trying this game out.
    Not your typical shooter. I find it pretty innovative on many levels.
  69. Jan 1, 2013
    10
    Early couple of playing hours I was really annoyed and felt dizzy by the un/intentional camera slow motion, and game story was forgettable. And then intense hack-and-slash combat sparked the game and I mmediately started second play-through. My character was killed quite lot and even though I felt frustrated I kept going back to beat the game. For $7.46 this game is worth playing!
  70. Feb 21, 2013
    10
    An obviously fantastic game Imagine that when Gears of War meet with the Warhammer 40K All the gore and blood spreading around with it's brilliant combat controls.....and also with the masterpiece soundtrack!
    What else could i say This game is awesome! By the way,there is a totally FREE DLC Exterminatus mode(Survival mode) download in this awesome game How can anyone refuse it Just
    go buy it and love it Expand
  71. Dec 27, 2012
    10
    ARE YOU KIDDING ME? This game is amazing--I had passed it over sale after sale but finally went for it. I regret all the time I've lost that I could be playing this game.

    It's fast, vicious, and DAMMED FUN! I play with an XBox 360 controller on my PC and this game controls GREAT! The graphics are astounding, the combo system a blast, I love the mechanics of the game, the story-line, the
    true to WH love. The animations and gore are just BRUTAL and totally fulfilling for any gamer who's fond of some hardcore combat action.

    I can't advise people enough to at the VERY least play the demo--you'll be hooked and curse these ridiculous meta-critic scores that skewed such an amazing game down.
    Expand
  72. Dec 30, 2012
    10
    I knew about Warhammer 40k but I had never actually played the Dawn of War or the table top game. This game went on sale one day for $7 and all I can say is that I would have been glad to pay $60 for it. A GREAT story line and an amazing combat system. A great action hack and slash game mixed with a third person shooter. Instead of a cover system (Gears of War) you're forced to get up close and personal with your enemy be it an Ork or a twisted and corrupt Chaos Space Marine in savage and bloody battles! And it has a great story and really good characters. And the voice work is pretty solid as well. The graphics are REALLY nice. The characters look like their table top counterparts. Even as you and your fellow Space Marines move through the battlefield, the very ground shakes (due to them wearing a 2 ton armor set). This game literally changed me as a gamer and got me into the Warhammer 40k franchise and I LOVE it. I have NOTHING negative to say about this AMAZING game. And the multiplayer is top notch! Balanced, fun, action packed, fast paced, and overall better than many other games out there. Don't let this game go by. You'll regret it. Expand
  73. Dec 24, 2013
    10
    A highly under-rated entertaining action game. Pros -The 40k universe is well pictured and as expected revolves around the unsubtle epicness of the franchise. -The RPG elements nicely supports the action part of the game, rather in-depth visual personalisation and decent class/ability/perk unlockable system -Great multiplayer in all its variants, co-op arenas, tdm, ffa etc. -The gameplay action and feel of power is just brilliant and makes all the fun, especially in multiplayer. Expand
Metascore
74

Mixed or average reviews - based on 34 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 20 out of 34
  2. Negative: 0 out of 34
  1. Oct 31, 2011
    70
    The campaign requires an interest in 40K, while the basic multiplayer modes are fun for all. [Dec 2011, p.67]
  2. 60
    The only thing rising Space Marine from the grey pool of mediocrity is world of Warhammer 40.000 itself. Rich story background deserved more than a linear hack'n'slash game. [Oct 2011]
  3. Oct 27, 2011
    75
    A solid debut in action genre for Relic and a must-buy for any Warhammer 40k fan. [Nov. 2011, p.61]