Metascore
74

Mixed or average reviews - based on 34 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 546 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Warhammer 40,000: Space Marine is a fast-paced third person action-shooter from Relic Entertainment allowing players to don the armor of one of the emperor's chosen in a battle for the very survival of humanity. Featuring a seamless mix of melee and ranged combat, Space Marine will deliver a true next generation experience when it launches on Xbox 360 and PlayStation 3. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 20 out of 34
  2. Negative: 0 out of 34
  1. Sep 19, 2011
    88
    If you're a fan of the Warhammer 40k machine or just looking for some good old fashioned action then look no further than Warhammer 40,000 Space Marine for PC.
  2. Sep 19, 2011
    80
    Space Marine combines gameplay elements to nail the feel of being a 7 foot armored tool of destruction. The game will simply leave you wanting more in both good and few bad ways.
  3. 80
    All in all, Space Marine captures the essence of the Warhammer universe: huge, classic factions and their infinite fight for control, the weapons and the power of the high tech future.
  4. Oct 8, 2011
    75
    Warhammer 40K: Space Marine takes solid third-person concepts and uses them to create an atmospheric piece of WH40K that boasts the same care and meticulous attention to detail that Relic has bestowed upon its RTS titles. The third-person shooter setup is more satisfying than RTSes because you get to step through the bodies of Ork foes on the ground rather than gazing down at your troops from above.
  5. Sep 23, 2011
    71
    It feels fun for a while, but it never gets exciting or particularly rewarding.
  6. Sep 13, 2011
    70
    By the end of my roughly eight-hour, straight-forward Space Marine adventure, I couldn't help but feel Relic Games missed out on a golden opportunity to take what is a good game – and a strong debut for the Space Marine franchise – and elevate it to great.
  7. Sep 18, 2011
    50
    Any potential for an entertaining and brutal third-person action game set in a popular world of Warhammer was killed right at the start with primitive level design and boring fighting. On a paper, this game had a lot of potential which sadly remained unfulfilled except one thing: very solid multiplayer. Right now, multiplayer is the only reason to play this game or at least think about it.

See all 34 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 25 out of 189
  1. Sep 6, 2011
    10
    Alot better than I expected. The combat system with the range system works as well as I would hope, and there was enough diversity in the weapons that it kept me interested. It gets pretty overwhelming at times with the onslaught of enemies on you, and gets pretty challenging. It is really satisfying when you get the hang of the stunning and destroying the enemy to gain health. I haven't played the Multi-player yet, but I have a feeling it's going to be pretty awesome! I like this type hack and slash game, and it's a good break from a stressful week! I recommend it. Collapse
  2. Dec 17, 2011
    10
    It don't matter If you are new to the Warhammer 40k universe or just love it like me...look no further, This is YOUR game.

    The Campaign
    level is fun and fast (about 10 hrs total game time) but the multi-player is where you earn your armor. This is where you put yourself against the Best Terra has to offer you. Sure there are some tough learning curves (lvl 1-7 are just death,death and more death) but as you earn your Armor and weapons upgrades you even out the battlefield and earn rank and glory. This game with all the DLC out now and coming soon makes the price tag totally worth it and any TRUE son of the Emperor wouldn't be caught without it. The Emperor Protects.... Expand
  3. Sep 6, 2011
    9
    Warhammer 40K Space Marine puts you in the armored boots of Captain Titus, of the Ultramarines. Tasked with defending the Forge World Greia (among other things). You are usually joined by your loyal squad Sidonis and Leandros, fighting an innumerable number of orks and eventually chaos forces. Using all kinds of weaponryt, from the humble bolt pistol to the accuratly named devastator, to the traditional chainsword to the room sweeping thunder hammer. The game itself is suprisingly smooth and flows rather well on a high end PC, and as far as I can see, the bugs are few and far between. Hit registry is very reliable and you can easily slice through several boyz in a single swing of your chainsword. Of course, you can also sit back and hammer boyz and nobz alike with the bolter; each weapon has its own strengths and weaknesses and allow for multiple styles of play,though I suspect most of you will just charge into a massive horde yelling "For the Emperor!". Speaking of charging, I could not write a proper review without mentioning the jump pack. With it, you can soar above your enemies and charge down, causing a truly earth-shaking impact. That was the most fun I've had in a long time; eat it Gears of War! There is a multiplayer, but there's nothing really worth mentioning; we've seen it all before. Environmentally, the game does a good job showing you a war-torn forge world, though hardly to the extent the vox chatter suggests (more dead bodies NOW!). The world never quite drew me in as it should, but its open areas and "ork taint" do a good job of giving you a full view to the extent of the damage the orks invasion has done, and the surviving Imperial Guard really do convey the sense of urgency the environment couldn't. Of course, this game isn't without its flaws. My first complaint is the lack of any kind of cover system; a 7 foot tall power armored soldier is kind of a huge target. I know, Relic and THQ wanted you to feel like a real Space Marine (Who I can remember took cover in the Dawn of War series), but most of the time it makes me feel like a real bullet magnet. There are a few glitches, but nothing game breaking, and many of you might not even notice anything. Of course, as we all saw in the demo, the orks sound more like angry british people than actual orks, and chaos forces sound a little off. Most annoying of all is that your companions, while immortal, do almost no damage to enemy forces, and are only good for distracting a few away while you activate fury mode in the nick of time. Apart from all things mentioned above, this game is definitely worth a try no matter if you're a Warhammer fan, shooter fan, Gears of War fan, or just a fan of games in general. If anything above gets to you too much, then just wait until the price drops. Expand
  4. Sep 22, 2012
    8
    I like this game, i really do. I gave it only 8, for dead multiplayer and short gameplay, campaign could be a bit longer. Combat system is brilliant, melee weapons are pure pleasure to use. Everything runs smooth, no technical issues, controls are responsive enough. Graphics is nice and music is solid. Definitely worth its price. Expand
  5. Oct 22, 2011
    8
    I really liked this game a lot. The blend of close combat and ranged combat is amazing. If you are a fan of the genre, there is nothing I have seen yet that brings home the feeling of being a Space Marine quite like this game does. I also like the multiplayer with the ability to earn ranks, skills and specialized looks, so why not a 10? Here is why: Single player game is VERY short. It's so short that you don't even really have time to get creative with the weapons before it's over. If they came out with some expansion material that was inexpensive or free, this game could be a 9 or 10 for me. Expand
  6. Feb 19, 2013
    7
    Combines third person shooting with third person hack n slash pretty well. While the melee combat isn't as deep as games like God of War, it's still very fun to hack up tons of orcs rushing at you. There are tons of enemies that it becomes over whelming, which adds to the difficulty. While the gameplay is great, graphics look really good, and music fits well, this game really lacks story. I felt like I was just moving from one section to another just to hack up more orcs with no real purpose behind what I'm doing. If the story were more engaging, this game would be an easy recommend, but it's still worth checking out for the gameplay. Expand
  7. Apr 23, 2012
    0
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The singleplayer wasn't that bad. It was fun charging into a group of bad guys with your chainsword in one hand and the pistol in the other cutting them all down to size. But then that's all you did with the exception of the jet pack a couple times which was very satisfying, falling from the sky and splattering everything beneath you. Also when an enemy is stunned preforming a final kill on them was pretty fun too. But the singleplayer seemed to lack any customization at all apart from picking up a different weapon every so often. The multiplayer is terrible. For a start you're now allowed to mute everyone, that was amazing update =/ which apparently also improves the connection. Wow. Playing the multiplayer the weapons are so far unbalanced its a joke with people sticking to the same old gun with a couple perks which allows them to sit in a corner and one shot everyone running by or just using the plasma launcher to kill groups without even having to use any skill. Then the latency issues combined with the terrible graphics just make it pointless to play which is a shame because it could have been so much better. I actually just copied everything before this, and am just posting to skew the results, as it bothers me that the user score is the same as the critic score. Expand

See all 189 User Reviews