Metascore
74

Mixed or average reviews - based on 34 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 543 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Warhammer 40,000: Space Marine is a fast-paced third person action-shooter from Relic Entertainment allowing players to don the armor of one of the emperor's chosen in a battle for the very survival of humanity. Featuring a seamless mix of melee and ranged combat, Space Marine will deliver a true next generation experience when it launches on Xbox 360 and PlayStation 3. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 20 out of 34
  2. Negative: 0 out of 34
  1. Sep 19, 2011
    88
    If you're a fan of the Warhammer 40k machine or just looking for some good old fashioned action then look no further than Warhammer 40,000 Space Marine for PC.
  2. Sep 19, 2011
    80
    Space Marine combines gameplay elements to nail the feel of being a 7 foot armored tool of destruction. The game will simply leave you wanting more in both good and few bad ways.
  3. 80
    All in all, Space Marine captures the essence of the Warhammer universe: huge, classic factions and their infinite fight for control, the weapons and the power of the high tech future.
  4. Oct 8, 2011
    75
    Warhammer 40K: Space Marine takes solid third-person concepts and uses them to create an atmospheric piece of WH40K that boasts the same care and meticulous attention to detail that Relic has bestowed upon its RTS titles. The third-person shooter setup is more satisfying than RTSes because you get to step through the bodies of Ork foes on the ground rather than gazing down at your troops from above.
  5. Sep 23, 2011
    71
    It feels fun for a while, but it never gets exciting or particularly rewarding.
  6. Sep 13, 2011
    70
    By the end of my roughly eight-hour, straight-forward Space Marine adventure, I couldn't help but feel Relic Games missed out on a golden opportunity to take what is a good game – and a strong debut for the Space Marine franchise – and elevate it to great.
  7. Sep 18, 2011
    50
    Any potential for an entertaining and brutal third-person action game set in a popular world of Warhammer was killed right at the start with primitive level design and boring fighting. On a paper, this game had a lot of potential which sadly remained unfulfilled except one thing: very solid multiplayer. Right now, multiplayer is the only reason to play this game or at least think about it.

See all 34 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 25 out of 187
  1. Sep 6, 2011
    10
    Alot better than I expected. The combat system with the range system works as well as I would hope, and there was enough diversity in the weapons that it kept me interested. It gets pretty overwhelming at times with the onslaught of enemies on you, and gets pretty challenging. It is really satisfying when you get the hang of the stunning and destroying the enemy to gain health. I haven't played the Multi-player yet, but I have a feeling it's going to be pretty awesome! I like this type hack and slash game, and it's a good break from a stressful week! I recommend it. Expand
  2. Dec 24, 2013
    10
    A highly under-rated entertaining action game.

    Pros
    -The 40k universe is well pictured and as expected revolves around the unsubtle
    epicness of the franchise.
    -The RPG elements nicely supports the action part of the game, rather in-depth visual personalisation and decent class/ability/perk unlockable system
    -Great multiplayer in all its variants, co-op arenas, tdm, ffa etc.
    -The gameplay action and feel of power is just brilliant and makes all the fun, especially in multiplayer.
    Expand
  3. Sep 9, 2011
    10
    A great 3rd person action game! The sound design is well done just like the warhammer 40k atmosphere. It makes a lot of fun to fight through the hordes of orks and chaos space marines, only the multiplayer modes would have been more tolerated but it may still make a lot of fun because of the many unlockable items. Expand
  4. Sep 22, 2012
    8
    I like this game, i really do. I gave it only 8, for dead multiplayer and short gameplay, campaign could be a bit longer. Combat system is brilliant, melee weapons are pure pleasure to use. Everything runs smooth, no technical issues, controls are responsive enough. Graphics is nice and music is solid. Definitely worth its price. Expand
  5. Nov 5, 2011
    8
    If you like shooters, if you like the 40K universe, if you enjoyed the look of the Dawn of War series, you will most likely enjoy Space Marines. It may not be the best shooter on the market today, but the scenery oozes 40K character and detail. When playing the single player campaign you should take some time to enjoy the scenery, how it matches the Dawn of War 1 & 2 look and how much detail there is - easily overlooked if you just run through the levels. The game developers eye for detail shows that they love the subject. The multiplay is interesting but suffers from balancing and match making issues, which bring down the average. THQ should take a close look at the more established shooters and redesign this part of the game, as it stands the multiplay is enjoyable, but not great. Note however that the balancing issues can be offset with smart playing and experience (not a challenge for the experienced fps player), just accept that you'll have to swallow your pride when a high xp players pops along to kill you in a single blow. Orcs would be fun in multiplayer, just a suggestion. I'd give it 8/10 as its stands today. Expand
  6. May 20, 2013
    7
    As it stands now, Multiplayer is brutal and almost unforgiving to new comers, How ever it has its enjoyable moments, Exterminatus is enjoyable,though some recent bugs have started to annoy. Campaign is enjoyable and fun, the story is well written with some amazing art work and characters. But as Multiplayer stand currently, 41 level cap and weapon buffs severely punishing new players, i can not give this game a 10/10 how ever it wholly earns its 7. Expand
  7. Apr 23, 2012
    0
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The singleplayer wasn't that bad. It was fun charging into a group of bad guys with your chainsword in one hand and the pistol in the other cutting them all down to size. But then that's all you did with the exception of the jet pack a couple times which was very satisfying, falling from the sky and splattering everything beneath you. Also when an enemy is stunned preforming a final kill on them was pretty fun too. But the singleplayer seemed to lack any customization at all apart from picking up a different weapon every so often. The multiplayer is terrible. For a start you're now allowed to mute everyone, that was amazing update =/ which apparently also improves the connection. Wow. Playing the multiplayer the weapons are so far unbalanced its a joke with people sticking to the same old gun with a couple perks which allows them to sit in a corner and one shot everyone running by or just using the plasma launcher to kill groups without even having to use any skill. Then the latency issues combined with the terrible graphics just make it pointless to play which is a shame because it could have been so much better. I actually just copied everything before this, and am just posting to skew the results, as it bothers me that the user score is the same as the critic score. Expand

See all 187 User Reviews