Metascore
74

Mixed or average reviews - based on 34 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 551 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Warhammer 40,000: Space Marine is a fast-paced third person action-shooter from Relic Entertainment allowing players to don the armor of one of the emperor's chosen in a battle for the very survival of humanity. Featuring a seamless mix of melee and ranged combat, Space Marine will deliver a true next generation experience when it launches on Xbox 360 and PlayStation 3. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 20 out of 34
  2. Negative: 0 out of 34
  1. Sep 19, 2011
    88
    If you're a fan of the Warhammer 40k machine or just looking for some good old fashioned action then look no further than Warhammer 40,000 Space Marine for PC.
  2. Sep 19, 2011
    80
    Space Marine combines gameplay elements to nail the feel of being a 7 foot armored tool of destruction. The game will simply leave you wanting more in both good and few bad ways.
  3. 80
    All in all, Space Marine captures the essence of the Warhammer universe: huge, classic factions and their infinite fight for control, the weapons and the power of the high tech future.
  4. Oct 8, 2011
    75
    Warhammer 40K: Space Marine takes solid third-person concepts and uses them to create an atmospheric piece of WH40K that boasts the same care and meticulous attention to detail that Relic has bestowed upon its RTS titles. The third-person shooter setup is more satisfying than RTSes because you get to step through the bodies of Ork foes on the ground rather than gazing down at your troops from above.
  5. Sep 23, 2011
    71
    It feels fun for a while, but it never gets exciting or particularly rewarding.
  6. Sep 13, 2011
    70
    By the end of my roughly eight-hour, straight-forward Space Marine adventure, I couldn't help but feel Relic Games missed out on a golden opportunity to take what is a good game – and a strong debut for the Space Marine franchise – and elevate it to great.
  7. Sep 18, 2011
    50
    Any potential for an entertaining and brutal third-person action game set in a popular world of Warhammer was killed right at the start with primitive level design and boring fighting. On a paper, this game had a lot of potential which sadly remained unfulfilled except one thing: very solid multiplayer. Right now, multiplayer is the only reason to play this game or at least think about it.

See all 34 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 25 out of 190
  1. Sep 6, 2011
    10
    Alot better than I expected. The combat system with the range system works as well as I would hope, and there was enough diversity in the weapons that it kept me interested. It gets pretty overwhelming at times with the onslaught of enemies on you, and gets pretty challenging. It is really satisfying when you get the hang of the stunning and destroying the enemy to gain health. I haven't played the Multi-player yet, but I have a feeling it's going to be pretty awesome! I like this type hack and slash game, and it's a good break from a stressful week! I recommend it. Expand
  2. Dec 17, 2011
    10
    It don't matter If you are new to the Warhammer 40k universe or just love it like me...look no further, This is YOUR game.

    The Campaign
    level is fun and fast (about 10 hrs total game time) but the multi-player is where you earn your armor. This is where you put yourself against the Best Terra has to offer you. Sure there are some tough learning curves (lvl 1-7 are just death,death and more death) but as you earn your Armor and weapons upgrades you even out the battlefield and earn rank and glory. This game with all the DLC out now and coming soon makes the price tag totally worth it and any TRUE son of the Emperor wouldn't be caught without it. The Emperor Protects.... Expand
  3. Sep 6, 2011
    9
    Warhammer 40K Space Marine puts you in the armored boots of Captain Titus, of the Ultramarines. Tasked with defending the Forge World Greia (among other things). You are usually joined by your loyal squad Sidonis and Leandros, fighting an innumerable number of orks and eventually chaos forces. Using all kinds of weaponryt, from the humble bolt pistol to the accuratly named devastator, to the traditional chainsword to the room sweeping thunder hammer. The game itself is suprisingly smooth and flows rather well on a high end PC, and as far as I can see, the bugs are few and far between. Hit registry is very reliable and you can easily slice through several boyz in a single swing of your chainsword. Of course, you can also sit back and hammer boyz and nobz alike with the bolter; each weapon has its own strengths and weaknesses and allow for multiple styles of play,though I suspect most of you will just charge into a massive horde yelling "For the Emperor!". Speaking of charging, I could not write a proper review without mentioning the jump pack. With it, you can soar above your enemies and charge down, causing a truly earth-shaking impact. That was the most fun I've had in a long time; eat it Gears of War! There is a multiplayer, but there's nothing really worth mentioning; we've seen it all before. Environmentally, the game does a good job showing you a war-torn forge world, though hardly to the extent the vox chatter suggests (more dead bodies NOW!). The world never quite drew me in as it should, but its open areas and "ork taint" do a good job of giving you a full view to the extent of the damage the orks invasion has done, and the surviving Imperial Guard really do convey the sense of urgency the environment couldn't. Of course, this game isn't without its flaws. My first complaint is the lack of any kind of cover system; a 7 foot tall power armored soldier is kind of a huge target. I know, Relic and THQ wanted you to feel like a real Space Marine (Who I can remember took cover in the Dawn of War series), but most of the time it makes me feel like a real bullet magnet. There are a few glitches, but nothing game breaking, and many of you might not even notice anything. Of course, as we all saw in the demo, the orks sound more like angry british people than actual orks, and chaos forces sound a little off. Most annoying of all is that your companions, while immortal, do almost no damage to enemy forces, and are only good for distracting a few away while you activate fury mode in the nick of time. Apart from all things mentioned above, this game is definitely worth a try no matter if you're a Warhammer fan, shooter fan, Gears of War fan, or just a fan of games in general. If anything above gets to you too much, then just wait until the price drops. Expand
  4. Nov 24, 2012
    8
    The game is good
  5. Nov 5, 2011
    8
    If you like shooters, if you like the 40K universe, if you enjoyed the look of the Dawn of War series, you will most likely enjoy Space Marines. It may not be the best shooter on the market today, but the scenery oozes 40K character and detail. When playing the single player campaign you should take some time to enjoy the scenery, how it matches the Dawn of War 1 & 2 look and how much detail there is - easily overlooked if you just run through the levels. The game developers eye for detail shows that they love the subject. The multiplay is interesting but suffers from balancing and match making issues, which bring down the average. THQ should take a close look at the more established shooters and redesign this part of the game, as it stands the multiplay is enjoyable, but not great. Note however that the balancing issues can be offset with smart playing and experience (not a challenge for the experienced fps player), just accept that you'll have to swallow your pride when a high xp players pops along to kill you in a single blow. Orcs would be fun in multiplayer, just a suggestion. I'd give it 8/10 as its stands today. Expand
  6. May 20, 2013
    7
    As it stands now, Multiplayer is brutal and almost unforgiving to new comers, How ever it has its enjoyable moments, Exterminatus is enjoyable,though some recent bugs have started to annoy. Campaign is enjoyable and fun, the story is well written with some amazing art work and characters. But as Multiplayer stand currently, 41 level cap and weapon buffs severely punishing new players, i can not give this game a 10/10 how ever it wholly earns its 7. Expand
  7. Sep 17, 2011
    0
    This is the worst console port of 2011. Single: No fun at all to its ending. Multi: Out of balance. The graphic engine is damn old. This may suit for kids under age of 12. Others surely hope to get refund back. Expand

See all 190 User Reviews