Warhammer 40,000: Space Marine PC

Warhammer 40,000: Space Marine Image
Metascore
74

Mixed or average reviews - based on 34 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 589 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Warhammer 40,000: Space Marine is a fast-paced third person action-shooter from Relic Entertainment allowing players to don the armor of one of the emperor's chosen in a battle for the very survival of humanity. Featuring a seamless mix of melee and ranged combat, Space Marine will deliver aWarhammer 40,000: Space Marine is a fast-paced third person action-shooter from Relic Entertainment allowing players to don the armor of one of the emperor's chosen in a battle for the very survival of humanity. Featuring a seamless mix of melee and ranged combat, Space Marine will deliver a true next generation experience when it launches on Xbox 360 and PlayStation 3. Expand
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 20 out of 34
  2. Negative: 0 out of 34
  1. Sep 19, 2011
    88
    If you're a fan of the Warhammer 40k machine or just looking for some good old fashioned action then look no further than Warhammer 40,000 Space Marine for PC.
  2. Sep 19, 2011
    80
    Space Marine combines gameplay elements to nail the feel of being a 7 foot armored tool of destruction. The game will simply leave you wanting more in both good and few bad ways.
  3. 80
    All in all, Space Marine captures the essence of the Warhammer universe: huge, classic factions and their infinite fight for control, the weapons and the power of the high tech future.
  4. Oct 8, 2011
    75
    Warhammer 40K: Space Marine takes solid third-person concepts and uses them to create an atmospheric piece of WH40K that boasts the same care and meticulous attention to detail that Relic has bestowed upon its RTS titles. The third-person shooter setup is more satisfying than RTSes because you get to step through the bodies of Ork foes on the ground rather than gazing down at your troops from above.
  5. Sep 23, 2011
    71
    It feels fun for a while, but it never gets exciting or particularly rewarding.
  6. Sep 13, 2011
    70
    By the end of my roughly eight-hour, straight-forward Space Marine adventure, I couldn't help but feel Relic Games missed out on a golden opportunity to take what is a good game – and a strong debut for the Space Marine franchise – and elevate it to great.
  7. Sep 18, 2011
    50
    Any potential for an entertaining and brutal third-person action game set in a popular world of Warhammer was killed right at the start with primitive level design and boring fighting. On a paper, this game had a lot of potential which sadly remained unfulfilled except one thing: very solid multiplayer. Right now, multiplayer is the only reason to play this game or at least think about it.

See all 34 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 25 out of 195
  1. Sep 6, 2011
    10
    Alot better than I expected. The combat system with the range system works as well as I would hope, and there was enough diversity in theAlot better than I expected. The combat system with the range system works as well as I would hope, and there was enough diversity in the weapons that it kept me interested. It gets pretty overwhelming at times with the onslaught of enemies on you, and gets pretty challenging. It is really satisfying when you get the hang of the stunning and destroying the enemy to gain health. I haven't played the Multi-player yet, but I have a feeling it's going to be pretty awesome! I like this type hack and slash game, and it's a good break from a stressful week! I recommend it. Expand
  2. Dec 17, 2011
    10
    It don't matter If you are new to the Warhammer 40k universe or just love it like me...look no further, This is YOUR game.

    The Campaign
    It don't matter If you are new to the Warhammer 40k universe or just love it like me...look no further, This is YOUR game.

    The Campaign level is fun and fast (about 10 hrs total game time) but the multi-player is where you earn your armor. This is where you put yourself against the Best Terra has to offer you. Sure there are some tough learning curves (lvl 1-7 are just death,death and more death) but as you earn your Armor and weapons upgrades you even out the battlefield and earn rank and glory. This game with all the DLC out now and coming soon makes the price tag totally worth it and any TRUE son of the Emperor wouldn't be caught without it. The Emperor Protects....
    Expand
  3. Sep 6, 2011
    9
    I didn't had a lot of hope for this game, I was doubting it a lot. But after playing some time, I realised how amazing it is! It seems easy,I didn't had a lot of hope for this game, I was doubting it a lot. But after playing some time, I realised how amazing it is! It seems easy, and simple, but I actually had a lot of fun kicking ass with a Spacemarine. The weapons are devastating in their own, brutal way. The campaign is a bit shorter then I expected, but it has a good plot and gameplay. I also like the difficulty setting then other shooters these days, both 3rd and 1st. You have to be careful and look around carefully so you don't get your ass beaten. This was the same for the multiplayer. At first I just charged in blindly, which resulted into me dying a lot. Speaking of the multiplayer, I haven't fully done it yet, but I can already tell it seems to be a fun experience. I have great hopes for Spacemarine, and I will certainly be playing it for a long time. Expand
  4. Dec 11, 2012
    8
    If you played the Warhammer 40k strategy games you're gonna love it for sure, but even if you didn't play any Warhammer games before you'reIf you played the Warhammer 40k strategy games you're gonna love it for sure, but even if you didn't play any Warhammer games before you're gonna love the campaign. I played so many games in my life, from Final Fantasy to Amnesia, so I can say that this game has a really solid story better than most of the games that came out in 2011/2012. You really get into the story and how the Warhammer world feels and you really get into your character you play. Along with a great story you get a combat system with a lot of action, you have a lot of weapons to choose from and every weapon has some pro's and con's so you need to choose what fits you the most. You actually also feel some progress with every new weapon and upgrade and don't feel like you get some useless junk you're never going to use. It actually gets pretty challenging when you get almost an endless horde of enemies storming at you, it's a hack and slash but you can die easily sometimes if you don't shoot some other more dangerous enemies first. You get also quiet a lot of different enemies from the very weak you can kill in one shot to the tank that smashes you to death in 3-4 attacks. I can't give any review to the multi-player because I didn't played it yet, I rather enjoy a single-player campaign with a good story than multi-player but maybe I'm gonna give it a try sometime. I give it a 8 because it's better than a lot of other hack'n'slash games out there and quiet underrated compared to others, but there's still a lot of potential that could have been done in the game, like upgradable armor and skills like in the Warhammer strategy games. Expand
  5. Oct 21, 2011
    8
    Overall a really nice representation of the Warhammer 40K Universe. Some of the material makes more sense to fans of the tabletop game.Overall a really nice representation of the Warhammer 40K Universe. Some of the material makes more sense to fans of the tabletop game. However the plot seems to drag on sometimes with too many inconsequential objectives before you reach the final goal. I felt it was worth the money, but then I am a fan of the overpriced tabletop game. Expand
  6. Nov 22, 2013
    7
    Space Marine is a decent, satisfying bone crunching hack-and-slash shooter coupled with nice graphics and let down by its single player modesSpace Marine is a decent, satisfying bone crunching hack-and-slash shooter coupled with nice graphics and let down by its single player modes linear gameplay, dull environment and short longevity Warhammer 40K fans will like Space Marine but should grabbed in the Steam sales at 75%+ off. Expand
  7. Sep 17, 2011
    0
    This is the worst console port of 2011. Single: No fun at all to its ending. Multi: Out of balance. The graphic engine is damn old. This mayThis is the worst console port of 2011. Single: No fun at all to its ending. Multi: Out of balance. The graphic engine is damn old. This may suit for kids under age of 12. Others surely hope to get refund back. Expand

See all 195 User Reviews