Metascore
73

Mixed or average reviews - based on 32 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 32
  2. Negative: 0 out of 32
  1. The units in the game are very detailed and unlike a lot of strategy games they look really good when the camera is zoomed in all of the way. Furthermore the game provides an excellent unit editor that really lets you customize the look of your armies.
  2. Despite these issues, the game mechanics and Warhammer atmosphere make Mark of Chaos a must for fans of tactical wargaming, and unlike the tabletop game, it doesn't cost a fortune. [Jan. 2007, p.78]
  3. Tactical yet still accessible. [Jan 2007, p.60]
  4. There is so much going for Warhammer: Mark of Chaos and while it’s beset with lingering technical woes, underneath it has the right stuff and would be well deserved of your attention.
  5. It looks great, plays well and really kicks ass on multiplayer mode.
  6. Even though a few aspects of Warhammer: Mark of Chaos aren't all that they could be, it nicely distills all of the best characteristics of the tabletop game. It's as close as you're going to get to the real thing without spending a fortune on miniatures.
  7. 80
    A pretty fun game. It's not perfect by any means and has some bugs that can be annoying, but the battles themselves offer a good variety of strategies set in a dark and brooding environment.
  8. While the game drops the ball a little bit in terms of storytelling, it’s still a solid RTS that fans of the genre should take a look at.
  9. 80
    Likely to be appreciated by the Warhammer fanatics amongst you or Total War fans looking for a fantasy-based spin.
  10. I first thought Mark of Chaos would easily make my top 10 list of favorite strategy games, but several weeks later it's become just another guilty pleasure.
  11. A good start, but Black Hole has forgotten to make the final adjustments. Tactical fighting needs more variables, sieges suck, friendly fire should be at least an option and overall the single player mode should be more challenging. [Jan 2007]
  12. Mark of Chaos probably makes a worthwhile purchase for fans of the universe. RTS fans may also find it entertaining, but not very innovative in terms of the gameplay basics it has to offer.
  13. Left behind by "Company of Heroes" and the rest, but still satisfying strategy fare. [Jan 2007, p.74]
  14. Mark of Chaos is a colourful and reassuringly manly semi-strategy effort. Full of brawn as it undoubtedly is, it's also lacking in brains. [Jan 2007, p.62]
  15. Although Mark of Chaos doesn’t have a terrific story and the system requirements can be a bit high, the gameplay can prove to be fun.
  16. Mark of Chaos captures the fantasy combat of the popular Warhammer franchise in a beautiful way, but it's marred by some technical issues and a basic strategic campaign.
  17. Only hardcore fans of Warhammer need really apply: there are quite simply too many other RTS games out there which are far better, many of which beat Mark Of Chaos at its own game without even intending to.
  18. A little perseverance will reap great satisfaction from this polished RTS, and considering there's around 25 hours of gameplay per faction on the campaign missions alone, this is a title that deserves recognition. [Christmas 2006, p.111]
  19. There are minor problems, such as lackluster cut scenes that fail to live up to the opening cinematic and a loot collection system that sometimes forces you to choose between holding the line and making a quick dash for cash, but if you're prepared to overlook these then the game should make a worthy addition to your collection.
  20. It's a rather chaotic mix of excellent gameplay and flawed finishing, but as the beginning of what should be a continuing series of RTS games, it's by no means a bad start.
  21. It can be a great service to fans of Fantasy Battles and medieval warfare in general; the issue is that it demands a perfect storm of circumstances to fully enjoy it.
  22. 70
    If instead you'd like a cup of real-time Warhammer that's like the Total War series' tactical battles -- only with magic, monsters, and that trademark "grim world" panache -- this is that game. To Warhammer hardcores, that might sound like nerfing. It's not.
  23. It falls behind with its skimpy plotline, which is made worse by a series of monotonous missions which usually involves sweeping the map and killing everyone. Consider buying Warhammer if you're in the mood for a fun but flawed gothic fantasy romp.
  24. I like this game. It’s solid RTS and the graphics are fresher than ever. Aside from the odd typo, misnamed texture (did the testers get to the dwarf caves?) and sprite collision, it’s all top quality stuff.
  25. 70
    The biggest problem is that it isn't quite there yet in terms of expansiveness. If you're mainly interested in the single-player campaign, then you may be a little disappointed.
  26. 69
    Mark of Chaos is disappointing. More disappointing that the game itself really deserves, as it is a perfectly respectable RTS that has nothing to be ashamed of on your local game stores shelf next to its peers.
  27. It's not a bad game, just a terribly uninspiring and disappointing one. [Christmas 2006, p.66]
  28. There is some tactical entertainment to be had here, to be sure. When the game is firing on all cylinders, the battles are frantic and fun. Unfortunately, that’s a somewhat rare occurrence.
  29. For all the atmospheric window-dressing, it doesn't extend its reach beyond competent familiarity. [Jan 2007, p.85]
  30. There is going to be an inevitable split between tabletop players absolutely delighted with the best-ever visual recreation of their game of choice (though possibly also apoplectic about some of the liberties taken with Warhammer rules) and general strategy gamers nonplussed as to why they'd possibly want to play this messy, sometimes broken-feeling thing over the hugely superior (but less aesthetically inventive) "Medieval II: Total War."
User Score
7.2

Mixed or average reviews- based on 45 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 18
  2. Negative: 4 out of 18
  1. LeeH
    May 20, 2008
    5
    Good concept, however severely let down by the loading times between battles, which renders the game unplayable.
  2. DarrenC.
    Sep 18, 2007
    10
    I hope you like my story in the game, I tried my best to make it relate to Warhammer. I love WarHammer very much. I hope you enjoy. But Namco did do some changes to my story. =-/ oh well. Anyways I'll do my best on #2 of mark of choas. TY =-) Full Review »
  3. PaulJ.
    May 22, 2007
    5
    After reading the previews and reviews in Micromanía (Spain) I was looking forward to the game, however I was soon disappointed. The start-up movie is great and really sets the scene, but although the graphics are good, the gameplay lets this game down. Basically, WH: MOC plays like WH: Dark Omen; this is a really old game that I had for my PS1 and apart from the graphics and different missions, they're practically the same game. Average Full Review »