Warhammer Online: Age of Reckoning PC

User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 370 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 57 out of 370

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. JohnH.
    Oct 7, 2008
    4
    PvE seems very unpolished: mobs that warp around, they keep chasing you after being snared, cast bars not representing the actual casting time, cooldown counters are not precise, animation that doesn't represent the game state (if you try to cast while you're knocked down, you jump up and fall back down), the UI buttons don't get grayed out when you're knocked out .. PvE seems very unpolished: mobs that warp around, they keep chasing you after being snared, cast bars not representing the actual casting time, cooldown counters are not precise, animation that doesn't represent the game state (if you try to cast while you're knocked down, you jump up and fall back down), the UI buttons don't get grayed out when you're knocked out .. etc I mean these things are so obvious, they should feel ashamed of releasing a game with problems that are so clear and obvious. On my server the RvR was completely absent. During the week I played, I have not seen one single assault on a keep. I grinded some BGs, but could not buy any more gear since order didn't hold any keeps. Public Quests are nice, but again there seems to be a lack of participation. You eventually end up solo grinding them, and rarely do you get enough players (4 or 5) to push them over the 1st stage (grind 50 mobs). There are no official support or community forums either (WTF ?!?!?), the best I've seen was a fan forum I think. The game has some performance issues too, there are bugs that make the game choppy on machines that play crysis on high settings. Expand
  2. ChrisR.
    Dec 25, 2008
    5
    Ok so while the reviews on this one are a little bloated for the most part your right. It is a fairly good PvP based game. (or RvR if you will). Now PvP is fine and dandy but MMORPG's are based upon the simple fact that there will in fact be a RPG part of the game. None non-existant. You want to raid? unfortunately the only raiding is done by 6-mans. You can take 20 people in, but theOk so while the reviews on this one are a little bloated for the most part your right. It is a fairly good PvP based game. (or RvR if you will). Now PvP is fine and dandy but MMORPG's are based upon the simple fact that there will in fact be a RPG part of the game. None non-existant. You want to raid? unfortunately the only raiding is done by 6-mans. You can take 20 people in, but the rewards are the same. So save some time and frustration and 6 man it. Note* this is the second game to come out with no end game content and raiding this year. Fail AoC. Fail War. Expand
  3. ConradW.
    Dec 5, 2008
    3
    Don't be lured in by this game. It looks great and at first would appear to be awesome. Everything goes fine, then other players decide that you play your character too well, or you gear is too good, they file complaints about how they died in pvp against you (boo hoo). Suddenly you get nerfed to death by the developers (in the form of a 'patch'), and have to start a new Don't be lured in by this game. It looks great and at first would appear to be awesome. Everything goes fine, then other players decide that you play your character too well, or you gear is too good, they file complaints about how they died in pvp against you (boo hoo). Suddenly you get nerfed to death by the developers (in the form of a 'patch'), and have to start a new character because you played your previous one too good... Then you pray they don't nerf your new character... Expand
  4. Nov 25, 2011
    4
    I know many of you will discredit me when saying this, but I tried WAR coming from WoW. Tbh, I probably would not be into MMO's if it werent for the PvE of WoW. I was given 2 months of paid subscription from my friend, since he knew I played the free version and didn't like it, and I couldn't play it for more than a day... The graphics and mechanics all point towards an unfinished game,I know many of you will discredit me when saying this, but I tried WAR coming from WoW. Tbh, I probably would not be into MMO's if it werent for the PvE of WoW. I was given 2 months of paid subscription from my friend, since he knew I played the free version and didn't like it, and I couldn't play it for more than a day... The graphics and mechanics all point towards an unfinished game, and the PvE is just terrible. PvP is decent, but I couldn't get into the RvR. Expand
  5. BrandonC
    Sep 20, 2008
    2
    The concept of the pvp system is good, but thats about it for positives. The flow of combat is incredibly slow and undemanding, giving virtually no room for skill improvement. The pve system has obviously not been a focus of the developers, something thats fine with me, but i know a lot of players like an interesting story-line in pve quests, something this game is completely lacking. The The concept of the pvp system is good, but thats about it for positives. The flow of combat is incredibly slow and undemanding, giving virtually no room for skill improvement. The pve system has obviously not been a focus of the developers, something thats fine with me, but i know a lot of players like an interesting story-line in pve quests, something this game is completely lacking. The graphics remind you so much of wow that you will be constantly reminded that the gameplay and funfactor over time is very, very far from that of wow. Expand
  6. JoelK.
    Sep 19, 2008
    2
    There are several good concepts in this game, such as the Tome of Knowledge and public quests that everyone is on about, but the game still feels stale and old. The combat is excruciatingly slow and dull, a throwback to the early days of MMO's and the art direction is a bleak copy of WoW imitation. Even Age of Conan, with all it's flaws, have MUCH more heart and soul, and thus There are several good concepts in this game, such as the Tome of Knowledge and public quests that everyone is on about, but the game still feels stale and old. The combat is excruciatingly slow and dull, a throwback to the early days of MMO's and the art direction is a bleak copy of WoW imitation. Even Age of Conan, with all it's flaws, have MUCH more heart and soul, and thus more long-term potential than this. Expand
  7. Kxzut
    Sep 20, 2008
    3
    Game with almost no potential. The combat is slow and dull. Public Quests is just a different grind for reputation (influence). Instanced scenerios are small and there's just few of them. World RvR is nothing new as well, in fact it's just dumbed down DaoC system. The graphics are dreadful with very low visiblity range (forget about beatiful sceneries).
  8. John
    Sep 27, 2008
    4
    Now, I've been a fan of the Warhammer series since I was like 12, when I would play using my Dad's models, and while I rarely play anymore I still enjoy the universe. Now I was excited for WAR when I first heard of it. They promised a lot, and since it was Mythic I thought they would deliver. I'm sorry to say, but they did not. Let's get this out of the way. The game Now, I've been a fan of the Warhammer series since I was like 12, when I would play using my Dad's models, and while I rarely play anymore I still enjoy the universe. Now I was excited for WAR when I first heard of it. They promised a lot, and since it was Mythic I thought they would deliver. I'm sorry to say, but they did not. Let's get this out of the way. The game is a WoW clone from head to toe. They have a few extra gimmicks tacked on, but it is what it is. Now is this a problem? Not really, WoW had a fantastic UI, and was great in it's simplicity. But, WAR did not copy paste this perfectly. The combat still feels incredibly slow. Especially when playing as someone who isn't incredibly heavy on damage. The things that do separate WAR from WoW, (RvR, Siege Weapons, Public Quests), feel incredibly tacked on, and some feel incredibly gimmicky. Public Quests sound great in theory, but very rarely do they go beyond Kill 100 Soldiers Kill 10 Champions Kill 1 Hero. So all you're getting is some kind of pseudo-raid, where every schmuck who did nothing is getting the chance to roll on gear. RvR and World PvP as a whole is also pretty terrible. I've mentioned this in previous posts, but if you rolled Order, you will never win. Ever. The game requires very little skill to be good at, especially in Group PvP, where the majority of it is just Zerg Rushing, and since Destruction outnumbers Order immensly, Order will always win. Ocasionally you'll group with some people who have a strategy, but that rarely lasts more than 20 minutes. The game promised to revolutionize PvP, but I don't see where it did this. RvR was ripped directly from DAoC and was just watered down to acommodate the incoming flux of WoWtards. Scenarios are just BGs, (some are just complete copy pastes in fact, there is no difference at all between Dragon's Bane and Arathi Basin. Hell it even takes place in a basin). Keep Sieges suffer from the same problems RvR and World PvP do, where Destruction just destroys because they have more numbers. I already said how the combat is slow, but it also looks terrible. The animation is choppy, is prone to bouts of extreme twitchiness, and are slow. Not to mention just incredibly boring. I'm not going to say that WoW's were perfect, but compare a Female Undeads animations to a Female High Elves, and you'll sort of get the picture. One of the things that WAR substantially lacks is PvE. While they do indeed have dungeons, I can tell you right now, that NO ONE does them. And for good reason. Having been through only 2 dungeons myself, I can already say that there's a reason why. The loot sucks, and the bosses are poorly scripted. Most of the bosses rarely go beyond tank and spank where they just do more damage than usually or have some kind of stupid spell they cast. Leveling through PvE is also a terrible endeavor, since the quest options are even worse than WoW's, where every single quest is just "Kill X of Y, Talk to Y, Collect X, or Kill and Collect X of Y" Also, the crafting system is incredibly poor. I have yet to see a single reason to even do one. Now on to End-Game. End-Game consists of grinding Tier-4 scenarios and the occasional Keep Seige. That's it. It's just WoW again where you do nothing, but grind BGs and Arena. Also, there are a lot of balance issues. Which is really typical of Mythic, since they have a track record of terrible balance that would make even Blizzard blush. Bright Wizards are completely insane when it comes to damage, while classes like Engineer are almost completely useless. That's not to say that there was nothing I liked about WAR. I liked how armor in this game actually looks like armor instead of WoW's warpaint and giant shoulders, and I also liked how you can level up by PvPing, something that should have been added to WoW at the beginning. WAR needs work. A lot of it. The game needed at least another 6 months in development, but of course, EA being the greedy %@*#s they are, rushed the game out to steal some customers before WOTLK crushes Expand
  9. FrankG.
    Sep 4, 2008
    3
    This game is in its current state no more than a decent wow clone with somewhat updated graphics. The pvp system is good, but no better than wow and with its goal obviously being wow v2.0 it will in my view surely be just another game that people will try out and yet again be disappointed with the lack of fun factor where wow so greatly succeeded.
  10. Bazm.
    Jan 20, 2009
    0
    This game is a piece of over hyped garbage that should have never been released even after push backs. Jon S you are completely retarded, collision system rules? From what I see warhammer online has the most horrible collision system in game existence. Getting stuck on 90% of inanimate objects is the least bit "ruling". I for one wanted to see the game crush WoW, hoping for some skill This game is a piece of over hyped garbage that should have never been released even after push backs. Jon S you are completely retarded, collision system rules? From what I see warhammer online has the most horrible collision system in game existence. Getting stuck on 90% of inanimate objects is the least bit "ruling". I for one wanted to see the game crush WoW, hoping for some skill based rvr, and all I got was the /stuck command and skill spamming pvp. Where is the fun in that? MMO's have failed. Expand
  11. JeffV.
    Oct 11, 2008
    2
    One of the things that WAR substantially lacks is PvE. While they do indeed have dungeons, I can tell you right now, that NO ONE does them. And for good reason. Having been through only 2 dungeons myself, I can already say that there's a reason why. The loot sucks, and the bosses are poorly scripted. Most of the bosses rarely go beyond tank and spank where they just do more damage One of the things that WAR substantially lacks is PvE. While they do indeed have dungeons, I can tell you right now, that NO ONE does them. And for good reason. Having been through only 2 dungeons myself, I can already say that there's a reason why. The loot sucks, and the bosses are poorly scripted. Most of the bosses rarely go beyond tank and spank where they just do more damage than usually or have some kind of stupid spell they cast. Leveling through PvE is also a terrible endeavor, since the quest options are even worse than WoW's, where every single quest is just "Kill X of Y, Talk to Y, Collect X, or Kill and Collect X of Y" Also, the crafting system is incredibly poor. Expand
  12. MarmoT
    Oct 10, 2008
    0
    Reasons why WAR sucks: 1. Graphics. The games graphics are terrible, running them at max settings still looks worse than games released many years ago (FFXI looks better and that has graphics optimized around the PS2.) When i first installed the game i assumed the default graphics had been set to very low, or some analogous setting. Wrong! They were at max. I cranked them as much as I Reasons why WAR sucks: 1. Graphics. The games graphics are terrible, running them at max settings still looks worse than games released many years ago (FFXI looks better and that has graphics optimized around the PS2.) When i first installed the game i assumed the default graphics had been set to very low, or some analogous setting. Wrong! They were at max. I cranked them as much as I possibly could, and they still look horrible. This is not acceptable in the gaming world today. Now, don't get me wrong, graphics aren't everything, but WAR's graphics are *so* bad that they actually hurt the enjoyment of the game. 2. Customization. There is no real character customization. Sure, you can give your toon a glass eye. Woo! Awesome! But all of the face options are just variations of the same thing. Everyone looks the same. You want to make a bright wizard? Get used to the thought of looking the same as everyone else - And not just when you first make your character. Because of the gear system, you're going to look like all other Bright wizards for the rest of eternity. It's natural to have some pieces of gear in an MMO that are so good that everyone ends up obtaining said gear, and there is a lot of similarity across the world. However this is similarity based on choice, rather than being foisted upon you by lazy design. 3. Lag. The game has such poor graphics there's no real reason for it to lag. The game gradually slows down as you play it more, and crashes periodically. Don't let people fool you, this is hardly a stable release. 4. Fluidity of animation. I can't believe this actually deserves its own category, but if you play WAR, you'll understand why. Example: A shadowhunter uses a bow - a bow that has no bowstring - a bow that doesn't use arrows (you don't even see the arrow) - a bow that you fire straight into the air if your target is 5 feet in front of you - a bow that fires your imaginary arrow sometimes, other times you see nothing. In other words, it's a big stick, and you just have to pretend you're shooting arrows from it. Example 2: The witch hunter can shoot his/her pistol while running. That's awesome! Too bad the bullet crawls at a snails pace (slower than you run) and has a comet like tail on the end of it. Quest example: You have to fire a ballista at harpies. Too bad you don't actually fire anything. You click on the harpy and it disappears with a "AYEEE" noise accompanying its presumed death. Honestly, that quest felt less fun then opening my web browser. Generic example: even character running looks fake, you slide across the ground, and your steps happen in such a way that it appears like you wouldn't make any progress at all. 5. The PvP fails. And not just because your graphics don't mesh with what you're actually doing, or because spells/abilities fizzle randomly, or because you get a burst of lag and drop from 100% to dead. The PVP fails because the abilities are just uninteresting, and leave very little room for anything besides just "DO MORE DAMAGE TO ENEMY BEFORE ENEMY DOES LETHAL DAMAGE TO YOU." There is very little in the way of control, or the ability to out-play your opponent. A good fight involves both players trying to gain the upper hand by doing things besides just spam dps moves and snares, while jumping in a circle. 6. The questing fails. Why implement wow-style quests to a game that should strive to be better than that? Everyone is sick to death of WoW questing, why wouldn't they realize this, and make pvp the hands down most optimal way to level? Public quests are a great idea. However, they're just like group quests in other games, with the added benefit that the WAR developers assume (possibly correctly) that players are too retarded to right click each other and select "invite to group." I would like to see public quests in future games that aren't terrible. 7. Fundamentally, players don't have enough stake in the pvp that's happening in the world. Shadowbane, while being buggy as hell, and failing due to a bad programming team, got risk vs reward in pvp correct. Losing your entire guild city and your guild as a result of losing a battle makes you really, really, want to win. If shadowbane was re-done in todays MMO world by a competent dev team, it'd blow WAR out of the water. Expand
  13. gewthenk
    Oct 28, 2008
    0
    Played for about a month. For this game to be fun and enteraining it needs to have a heavy population, but few servers have high populations consistently throughout the hours of the day. I'm interested in PvP, but it seems there is only enough people during the evening hours. There are hardly any public groups when I login and I bought this game for the grouping not for solo play. Played for about a month. For this game to be fun and enteraining it needs to have a heavy population, but few servers have high populations consistently throughout the hours of the day. I'm interested in PvP, but it seems there is only enough people during the evening hours. There are hardly any public groups when I login and I bought this game for the grouping not for solo play. There are so many other off line games out there that are better than the solo play of this games. Another drawback is that there is nothing fundamentally new or different in this game compared to others. Another drawback is that for most classes there are mirrors of each other on both destruction and order sides. They are presented as different, but mostly they are just a repacking with different graphics and words. For example, the shaman and the arch mage have the same play mechanic and skill set (there are minor differences, but not enough to make the mechanics of playing the two different). Another problem has to do with the graphics. A skill that has you through an axe at a target sometimes shows the axe being thrown and other times it does not. Other graphic glitches is when you are running away from an attacker in RVR or senarios you might be ten feet away from them, yet you are skill taking damage from their 2 ft sword (not dps condition). Anyhow Marmo has some good points and I won't repeat them (any more than I already have). Though for some people who are brain dead and have never played a MMORPG, then this might be fun.... Expand
  14. BrandonM
    Oct 30, 2008
    3
    I play Warhammer and wonder why they added a world. 90% of the game is RVR mini games, then later on once you're around 35-40. You try to take some cities, this all seems slightly exciting; the taking over the city part that is. Until you realize, the game is made on a engine that is best used when fighting computer npcs. When fighting other players, it is barely entertaining. No I play Warhammer and wonder why they added a world. 90% of the game is RVR mini games, then later on once you're around 35-40. You try to take some cities, this all seems slightly exciting; the taking over the city part that is. Until you realize, the game is made on a engine that is best used when fighting computer npcs. When fighting other players, it is barely entertaining. No real skill is involved, just "planning" if anything. Put your best abilities on 1-5, every now and then when your morale is up, click it. Then if you're a caster or ranged, your job is even easier. 1-5, click the morale, and you never have to hold down w. Now don't get me wrong, this IS how much MMORPGs are played. Or at least, were played. Warhammer feels likes it 4 years old and should have been released at the same time as WoW. Instead, its 4 years newer and has nothing to show for it. The fact is while Warhammer is trying to get its feet set, WoW is raking in money; and in the meantime Blizzard is working on a next gen mmorpg. Between Warhammer's mediocrity and Blizzards intelligent design, I can't see EA mythic's game lasting too long. You can only pretend a game is good for so long. Warhammer did not deliver, nor did it reach reach any expectations. Its doomed to suffer the fate of Age of Conan, and Age of Conan was fundamentally, better. An engine and game play of a next gen mmorpg, killed by a poor company director. Oh well, hopefully Champions online can breathe some life into mmorpgs while we wait for Blizzard's next. Expand
  15. RyanS.
    Sep 21, 2008
    2
    Full of good ideas, the game is plagued by poor implementation of nearly all of them. The art, modeling, animation, and user interface are all sub-par for a modern PC game. Not destined to be the Warcraft-killing title that many hoped it would be.
  16. PaulD.
    Sep 21, 2008
    3
    Gets boring very fast. The pvp system is decently set up and gives you quite a few hours of fun, but for a mmorpg supposed to entertain you for months, this will in no way revolutionize the market. Rvr pvp is good, but you soon realize that its very little demanding. Its obviously built for the whole family, and if you enjoy the competition part of pvp, this will bore you very quickly as Gets boring very fast. The pvp system is decently set up and gives you quite a few hours of fun, but for a mmorpg supposed to entertain you for months, this will in no way revolutionize the market. Rvr pvp is good, but you soon realize that its very little demanding. Its obviously built for the whole family, and if you enjoy the competition part of pvp, this will bore you very quickly as there is pretty much no room for skill improvement in battle. Expand
  17. GaryB.
    Sep 23, 2008
    3
    I really enjoyed the first 6-7 levels, but then the game started to show how repetitive and flawed it really is. Now at lvl 19 I'm already starting to get bored, and it's not even been a week since release. Seems like I'll have to wait for Lich King, or until they fix Age of Conan, to get my MMO hat back on.
  18. SomeOne
    Feb 28, 2009
    3
    I have tried this game on two occasions for a 30 day subscription each time. The first time was roughly 15 days after it's release, and I had beta tested it a bit before it went live. My first 30 days were fun at first. A few of the races are quite fun the first time around especially the greenskins. However some of the other races quests are setup in probably the most annoying way I have tried this game on two occasions for a 30 day subscription each time. The first time was roughly 15 days after it's release, and I had beta tested it a bit before it went live. My first 30 days were fun at first. A few of the races are quite fun the first time around especially the greenskins. However some of the other races quests are setup in probably the most annoying way possible, requiring you to run to the same general location time after time and giving you items in your inventory you must click to continue but only in certain spots under certain conditions, etc. As I stated my first week or so was fairly enjoyable. Tier 1 (levels 1 to 11) is not too bad in scenarios. Tier 2 builds on Tier 1 but not favorably towards the up end of T2 because of knockbacks beginning to appear and everyone spamming them. I couldn't play much into Tier 3, the scenarios were horrible, the knockbacks were plentiful, and it was generally just a really un-fun way to play. So I made a lot of new guys during my first 30 days, and I became really tired of the quests overall. And PQ quests were nothing special when you had to have people to finish them in most cases. It got really tedious. And on top of this, the performance of the game was dismal. It had a "memory leak" like problem where after you played for an hour or two the game animations would start freezing up, the bar icons would become lagged, and lots of really quirky things would begin happening like the minimap going black or not being able to zone. Which forced you to reload your game (exit completely and restart) as soon as a symptom began because within 30 minutes the game would become unplayable either due to FPS or because you couldn't tell what was happening since the UI was glitching out. I didn't subscribe past my initial 30 days until Late January of 2009 when a friend of mine wanted to try the game. I was skeptical but had heard a lot of good things about their patches and how much better it was performance wise, etc. So I risked the monthly and was quite thoroughly punished for it. First, the good. The game performed better, not a lot better..but better. It took longer for the quirks to show up..maybe 4 hours instead of 1-2..and didn't make the game completely unplayable like it used to. And their CSR response times were much improved, however their ability to due anything useful has not. You'll get "We'll investigate further into this." a lot from them.... Now the bad. And there's a lot of it. Generally my first week was similar to my initial first week on my first month. Since I had to move to another server due to severe lack of players on my original server. Low/Low population every time I bothered to check it, and it was considered a "high population" server on their server move list...so I couldn't not salvage my characters to use on a non-ghost town server. So I spent my first week trying the one new class on each side (unimpressed with both) and doing the same old quests yet again. It seemed I got stuck a lot more often than I used to, I'd get stuck on anything I tried to jump over sometimes so bad I couldn't free myself without using /stuck. Very annoying. I mainly play Destro, and it was VERY common to be up against teams of Warrior Priests, Engineers, Rune Priests, IBs with a peppering of Bright Wizards. It was seldom to see anything else. So WP is basically a healing tank, Engineer is a high DPS range, RP is a mega healer, and IB is the tank to end all tanks. Got pretty dull with all the tankage and healing going on. On top of the very predictable team layout, you'd get bots playing. Mostly you'll notice shamans who are bots because they tend to get very low scores and spam their green beam attack (very visible), but I ran into other people botting. Or just people doing a little damage, then laying dead for the rest of the round, or going AFK in a corner of the map. CSRs would reply quickly and promptly do nothing about these worthless team members. So you'd spend hours getting queued with these guys. After my first week back in the game, I had a "naming policy violation" on my account. When i did a search for my character name on their website, I found a lot of names just like mine on other servers. AND the name found in violation was one of my non-played characters on the ghost town server. So I tried to dispute the violation, and found out you can't because their email system is misconfigured and bounces back with errors when you send emails to the addresses they give you for disputes. At this point, I called their support line, which is not toll free, complained and told them if they can't get someone on the phone to talk to me about it that I want my monthly fee back and they can just cancel my account. They refunded my monthly sub, and my account was still active for the rest of the 30 days. So I played a little, got a guy to Tier 2...was in no hurry to get to Tier 3 and Tier 4 because Tier 3 was such a drag..and nothing I was hearing from current players was changing my mind. And Tier 4...it seemed everyone in T1 and T2 was rerolling because Tier 4 was either bugged and/or pointless and they just generally preferred the T1 and T2 PVP gameplay. Take note that WAR Online has lost about half of it's subscriber base since launch, and I would say it's safe to say that they have lost more due to very spread out player base. They need to force merge a few servers together and work on clearing out the bots that infest the scenarios screwing up the team balance. But I believe by the time they react the damage will probably already be done...the game probably will go the route of Tabula Rasa with all the staff cuts they've had in the last 2 months. So, I'd suggest waiting or finding another game because this one needs a lot of work on the mechanics and general gameplay as most current subscribers seem to spend their time making alts instead of participating in the "end game" (which there really isn't much end game just a lot of repeated town raids). Expand
  19. JorgeP.
    Oct 22, 2007
    1
    Stale, sterile. graphics. Stiff and awkward animations. Slow combat system. Just plain boring.
  20. ScottD.
    Nov 6, 2008
    3
    This game is a natural continuation of the MMORPG genre with a few twists but its downfall is that it's a giant leap backward. Let's take it one at a time. Gameplay: Nothing new here. Punch buttons, cast spells, etc, etc. Scenarios are great except they pull the player base away from world PvP. er, RVR. whatever. Graphics: People looking for the next generation graphics will be This game is a natural continuation of the MMORPG genre with a few twists but its downfall is that it's a giant leap backward. Let's take it one at a time. Gameplay: Nothing new here. Punch buttons, cast spells, etc, etc. Scenarios are great except they pull the player base away from world PvP. er, RVR. whatever. Graphics: People looking for the next generation graphics will be disappointed. Perhaps they render more poly's per square inch and all that stuff but the game still looks old. Same themes we've seen before. I remember reading multiple threads in the WoW forums about what your first 'Wow' moment was. Some say Ironforge, some say Ragnaros. This game is completely devoid of 'wow' moments. Everything is sort of ugly. For artistic merit, I give this game a 2. You can pack as many polygons as you want into a character or scene, but if it's ugly (and this game is really, really ugly) then it's all for naught. World: Here is where the game really fails. It is supposed to be a MMORPG, but feels more like an arcade game. Instead of actually flying from one local to another, you get these horrible cut scenes that just take up time. Instead of being an entire world like Warcraft, it basically is just a series of instances. Each zone is an instance, each scenario is an instance. Yuck. Not at all immersive. Lag: You think WoW was bad? Try downloading to each client the image of each character and what they've dyed their armor etc and this game take you back 4 years to those Tarren Mill fights in Wow. Punch a button, wait 5 secs for everything to catch up and then try to press another before you are dead. Cheesy, Cheesy. We will have to wait a while before a game can actually deliver on what our imaginations know can be done. Crafts/tradeskills: laughable. Overall this game will keep you occupied for a couple of months, but the horrible art work, the terrible score, and the just overall general ugliness of the game will eventually turn most players off. Sound: OMG, is there sound in this game? Horrible, absolutely terrible amateurish music. I do more interesting stuff on my computer every day. Lots of ridiculous completely non-orchestral junk thrown in at all the wrong moments and the main theme is just one level above the Sesami street theme. Really terribly embarrassing. Expand
  21. MarkC
    Oct 28, 2008
    3
    Well I'm done with this game, on my way out...I left Mythic a Feedback on their Herald Page, can't believe they didn't ask me why I left, guess they really don't care. I have spoken on forums and emails to many beta testers asking them what went wrong with this game, while Most tell me that Mythic didn't listen too me I have a feeling much of the beta testing that Well I'm done with this game, on my way out...I left Mythic a Feedback on their Herald Page, can't believe they didn't ask me why I left, guess they really don't care. I have spoken on forums and emails to many beta testers asking them what went wrong with this game, while Most tell me that Mythic didn't listen too me I have a feeling much of the beta testing that went on was on the destruction side (for those that don't know thats the evil side of the game, with order being the good side). I will now give my rating and reasons for the rating. Community-3 ...Poor community that at first blamed the poor community aspect to the chat box, chat box is somewhat fixed now and still no community involvment, literally you can walk around altdorf for hours without seeing a word being typed, once in a while you will read a (Region) 1. / HELP!! at Reikland were being overrun....I don't know about you guys, but too me this sounds like a pretty weak community fanbase too me. Graphics-2.5 IF, you have a Nice rig with 640mb of video memory and a nice CPU you might squeeze out some decent video out of this game by tweaking your Nvidia control panel by "forcing" your AA to X12 or somewhere in those numbers, most folks don't know how to do this or they don't have the hardware for the specs so their game looks very choppy. Guild Wars which is a F2P game and has been out since 2004 looks much much better than the graphics of WAR this is pretty disappointing. Class Balance-2 Don't even know where to start here...you have the Order side, and you have the Destruction side...the Destruction side has Tanks Galore with the ORC, CHOSEN, and the Maurauder--and there about to get another Zerg machine with the Black Guard. While the Order side has the Ironbreaker and the Swordmaster, not only are the abilities and combat much better on the destruction side they are also asthetically looking more "cool" hence the "cool factor" comes into play, this creates a huge Imbalance in the game, and if you know anything about WAR it's all about ORVR, although you can't have a fun experience when you find yourself being overrun by a zergfest due to an imbalance in the servers, right now there is a severe imbalance in most every server in Warhammer a study done by Waralytics has confirmed this, you can google it and look for yourself. Mythic has done a very poor job of creating likable and combat effective characters on the ORDER side and it will cost them dearly. Skills and Abilities-3 ...Because of WAR's tabletop game and DAOC they have already pre-nerfed a lot of classes during the beta cycle and it's pretty clear that they have severly, severly gimped many classes to oblivion, case in point the Squig Herder, and the Shadow Warrior, not to mention the Magus (which currently holds the number 1 spot and the most undesirable character in Warhammer online with 4% out of 500,000, the only thing keeping it lower is the fact that they gave the Magus, along with the eng, one of the most bone headed skills in MMO history with Chaos rift, just type in "chaos rift+nerf" on google and you will see what I mean, too tired to go into it. Mythic "tried" to implement a dynamic combat system, that lets most classes jump around between stances or combat maneuvers, problem is LAG and Ineffective scripting has proven a challenge for players to take advantage of this new system...skills graying out, stance dancing, poor cooldowns and all kinds of issues with the combat system are severly killing this game. PVE-2 Pve is pretty much dead in Warhammer, while it seems like the world is big and grand it's also empty of many mobs, instances are empty like ghost towns, you have MT. Gunbad in T3 which looks promising, but lack of great loot, and buggy NPC's make for a frustrating experience even for the hardiest RP RPG players around, just horrible. Audio-1 most fo the time that I played I had my computer on mute, and just heard music, dead zones, crickets chirping, just really pathetic. it is evident that I can go on and on about this game, fact this, I'm not trying to make Mythic look bad, they did it to themselves, i'm a 20 year MMO veteran...should of gone in beta for this game, I went in beta for GW and LOTR, but In a way I'm glad I didn't, like I said most beta testers really had no impact on the game itself, and many of them are not even playing the game anymore, my advice to new players....stay away from this game, you will be disappointed. Expand
  22. gwarbob
    Sep 13, 2008
    6
    Summary: Uninspired, Uninspiring, Bland, Unpolished, Not bad but definitely not worth spending money on unless all you want to do is BGs with character classes which have so little customisation and near enough no true variety. Not to be cruel but this is simply not good enough to pay for. This game is a basically Guild Wars with a longer levelling process. The gear is given to you as you Summary: Uninspired, Uninspiring, Bland, Unpolished, Not bad but definitely not worth spending money on unless all you want to do is BGs with character classes which have so little customisation and near enough no true variety. Not to be cruel but this is simply not good enough to pay for. This game is a basically Guild Wars with a longer levelling process. The gear is given to you as you go with little or no gear hunting aspects. The pve solo quests are truly terrible, generic dross. The mobs are offensively bad, constant mob porting doesn't even beging to hide how terrible the mob ai is. The Public Quests are truly excellent and innovative a feature though and a true highlight. The PvE isn't the point of the game and the game itself is a series of same old same old BGs which are the end game. Imagine the pvp aspect of wow taken out and made into a game and you pretty much get War. Now there's nothing wrong with that but the implimentation of War is actually very uninspired. The character graphics, movement and spell casts are horrible, graphically the game is utterly uninspired with some amazing buildings but also some terrible geometric hills and simply textured ground. Gameplay, due to there being a ridiculous number of classes, is actually fairly shoddy too. Whilst the colision detection ads a true team aspect to the pvp, the classes are bland to the extreme, samey and lack excitement. There are simply too many, the differences are purely graphical in many cases and there is no actual character customisation to speak of. The PvP combat itself is a bit of a downer. The poor character animations result in an estetically repulsive and hugely simplistic experience where a lot of generic looking characters in pvp reward gear run around casting the same sequences of spells. The combat also suffers from pace issues, the casts arent seamless and the gameplay simply doesnt flow in PvP. People keep saying "it's like the old tarren mill battles"... er... yay? that really sucked? People generally hated it after a week because it was pointless and stupid? Why has this become a celebrated feature? And as to overall contribution of your pvp, allegedly making it meaningful, fiddlesticks. It's just bg grinding!! There is really nothing wrong with this game as such, it's playable despite not being as polished as we may have hoped. Its problem is that it's simply not captivating, there is very little to it, it doesn't inspire that mmo feeling, there is no true gear hunt and the end game gameplay are just BGs. I personally hate wow's raidin system but how can this compete when all it has is some pretty average group based pvp scenarios? the pve content, despite the brilliant public quests, simply isn't there. There are no instances, no reps as such, there is no progression and there is just an endless set of bgs to grind through... i totally fail to see the appeal of this game as anything else but a squad based pvp game. it simply lacks everything else an mmo should have. Expand
  23. AnthonyB.
    Sep 26, 2008
    4
    I've been playing WoW since the beginning, and this game does not really compete. I would say it's the best of the 2nd-tier MMOs, but the pacing is extremely slow, the PvE feels tacked on, and the character, style, and charm of WoW are nowhere to be found in WO.
  24. Apr 20, 2011
    5
    Played this every day for over a month, nice ideas executed poorly I expected so much more from this but it ended up being a real disappointment which is a shame really as it got old very quickly and so the initial novelty soon wore off The interaction with the other players and the environment felt very disjointed the progression past level 20 was excessively slow and the tradePlayed this every day for over a month, nice ideas executed poorly I expected so much more from this but it ended up being a real disappointment which is a shame really as it got old very quickly and so the initial novelty soon wore off The interaction with the other players and the environment felt very disjointed the progression past level 20 was excessively slow and the trade skills were confusing and hard to level. Expand
  25. Feb 4, 2012
    5
    Played this game for almost 2 years. Waited for the company to address many player versus player issues. A good ride until you realize the top tier experience is very one sided. An unbalanced PvP game does not deserve a subscription. The guys involved with this title moved on to help with Star Wars The Old Republic. That game has tanked as well. Wait for another title, or try a free to play game.
  26. Oct 14, 2011
    7
    Decent game, but it was just too similar to WoW for me and it didn't have nearly as much content. That was probably what really killed it, if WoW had not been out I think it would have done much better. The pvp was fun though, I just quit before I had leveled to the maximum level so I never experienced the end-game (I went back to WoW instead). Still, it's not a bad game by any means, andDecent game, but it was just too similar to WoW for me and it didn't have nearly as much content. That was probably what really killed it, if WoW had not been out I think it would have done much better. The pvp was fun though, I just quit before I had leveled to the maximum level so I never experienced the end-game (I went back to WoW instead). Still, it's not a bad game by any means, and today it might be worth trying out since it probably has a lot more content now than it did when it was newly released. Expand
  27. SteveK
    Nov 19, 2008
    6
    I really wanted to like this game. I like the accessibility of it, I like that it doesn't suck your life away. I like that some of the runaround of the other MMO's (and you know what I mean by "other"...) is largely eliminated. It's not built aorund raiding, there aren't annoying and unnecessary 10 minute flights while you do nothing. You can start PvPing pretty much I really wanted to like this game. I like the accessibility of it, I like that it doesn't suck your life away. I like that some of the runaround of the other MMO's (and you know what I mean by "other"...) is largely eliminated. It's not built aorund raiding, there aren't annoying and unnecessary 10 minute flights while you do nothing. You can start PvPing pretty much right away. All that is cool, but in the end, there seems to be remarkably little to do (that is worthwhile) OTHER than do the same scenarios over and over and OVER. The world itself seems a little limp and not enough people doing PvE stuff. The cities are empty, there seems to be very little community feel outside of your own guild. I will give Mythic this: they are VERY responsive, they change and tweak things all the time. That is great, but overall the game is not, it is underwhelming, almost like an undercooked WoW. There are some great ideas here, but just not compelling enough for me. If you like PvP (and only PvP), you will probably like this game. If you like to actually have role playing in your role playing games, then this is not for you. Expand
  28. DanG.
    Sep 20, 2008
    0
    This game is terrible because of the choppy controla nd poor resolution
  29. RobertKerr
    Jul 7, 2009
    0
    Read the player forums.
    Loads of bugs, terrible end game, non existent class balancing, cheats/exploits rampant, low server populations...

    This game is in a death spiral while Mythic is arranging deck chairs.

    THE worst MMORPG I have EVER played and the worst customer service I have seen in any endeavour in my life.
    Don't buy it- wait for Aion.
  30. KyleK
    Mar 14, 2009
    0
    This game is laughably bad. I can't think up enough BAD things to say about it.

    The graphics are not good. In fact, they're ass. The game is laggy and jittery, the user interface blows, the quests are the same old fetch and kill bullshit. The abilities are the same old bullshit. Nothing about this game is fresh or original. I almost shat myself laughing when some NPC archer
    This game is laughably bad. I can't think up enough BAD things to say about it.

    The graphics are not good. In fact, they're ass. The game is laggy and jittery, the user interface blows, the quests are the same old fetch and kill bullshit. The abilities are the same old bullshit.

    Nothing about this game is fresh or original. I almost shat myself laughing when some NPC archer shot me and his arrow literally turned in midair as it tracked me as it flew at about 2 mph. The production values are horrible. The developers should be ashamed of themselves!!!!
    Expand
  31. AuntFlow
    Dec 26, 2008
    9
    The character graphics are some of the finest in any MMO I've ever played. The worlds are, as many have noted, ugly. Dark. Dreary. But that's the idea. It imbues the game with the true feeling of unrest and war that is portrayed in the Warhammer universe. The race's design and personality are very vibrant, with the typical Dwarvish hardiness being portrayed in the fullest, The character graphics are some of the finest in any MMO I've ever played. The worlds are, as many have noted, ugly. Dark. Dreary. But that's the idea. It imbues the game with the true feeling of unrest and war that is portrayed in the Warhammer universe. The race's design and personality are very vibrant, with the typical Dwarvish hardiness being portrayed in the fullest, the dim-witted Greenskins adding infinite amounts of humor into the game, the elves adequately portraying the immense beauty and pride of their race(s), and the humans displaying the gritty struggle against evil and corruption that rings so true even when used in a Medieval analogy. I'd also like to point out that, as I see a few of you are confused with, Warhammer is NOT copying World of Warcraft. In fact, it's much the opposite, as they are both directly and indirectly mimicking and making variations on Tolkein's legendarium. The RvR has a very, very solid design which is certain to ensure the game's success in the long run. However, as with any newly released MMO, there are problems that inhibit experiencing this aspect to the fullest. Fortunately, Mythic is an immensely attentive and fast-acting company. Hotfixes fly by quickly, and the first patch made a huge step toward solving the population and oRvR imbalances, with Keep sieges constantly occurring. The classes are very, very well designed and diverse, with each staying true to it's archetype, but never straying too far from it. The Tanks are tactical forces of nature on the battlefield, and the healers, if adeptly used, equally powerful, as is not the case with many (in fact, most) MMOs. However, there are many things that need fixing, of course. Lack of item diversity is a problem. Heck, Order's mounts are two horses and a hovering gyro copter (which ALMOST makes up for the lack of mount diversity). The crafting system is very unique, but there are many (initially) overlooked problems. I have very high hopes for this game, with fixes and new content being released regularly. The game grows on me more and more as it grows better and better. Expand
  32. DerrickC.
    Dec 5, 2008
    4
    I would say this is an OK game, but they keep messing up character classes by completely changing game mechanics with patches. It was recently patched and now character abilties are all messed up. Avoid this one for the moment, and if its still around in a few months maybe give it a shot if your still interested
  33. Sep 24, 2010
    5
    I'm not saying Warhammer is a bad game. It's just that we've already seen things like it. If you've played WoW or LOTRO, this won't have you hooked.
  34. Nov 13, 2010
    8
    Very good pvp, great and fun classes, good community, warhammer athmosphere. I have played casual since launch ( about two year ) . I think war have best and most balanced pvp, lotro have best pve and most intresting quests and character modification, wow is mix all off these but have most fun dungeons and boss fights.
  35. JohnF.
    Mar 16, 2009
    8
    My review of Warhammer Online is based on experiences from 2 open RvR servers, Dark Crag and Pragg. On Dark Crag, I played a White Lion, a High Elf character that I leveled to rank 28. This character has a pet that accompanies the White Lion throughout his or her travels and is called a War Lion. The War Lion grows as you level up your White Lion and by rank 28, it is quite large and My review of Warhammer Online is based on experiences from 2 open RvR servers, Dark Crag and Pragg. On Dark Crag, I played a White Lion, a High Elf character that I leveled to rank 28. This character has a pet that accompanies the White Lion throughout his or her travels and is called a War Lion. The War Lion grows as you level up your White Lion and by rank 28, it is quite large and fearsome. However, by rank 40 your War Lion will be a formidable beast and will be equivalent in size to a 550 pound male, African Lion standing next to a person. Of course, a War Lion is your pet and it will never harm you. You can even name your pet with a name of your choosing. Otherwise, the default name will be displayed, Expand
  36. AndrewLittle
    Aug 29, 2009
    10
    loved it, based around pvp and leveling, this game didnt just throw the same crap Wow does with crappy AI npcs attacking you, but gets you fighting you player enemies to level up... Fast paced and the level cap rounds the game off to around a 10 to me !
  37. KyleG.
    Sep 22, 2008
    9
    Great game, but it lacks a certain polish to make it the best. The launch issues and server population balancing will be challenges that the game will have to overcome in order to become a long term success.
  38. JWong
    Oct 1, 2008
    10
    Great game, having tons of fun in PvP. A much needed breath of fresh air in a genre that has too much PvE centric MMOs. World PvP is alive again in WAR. Some of the best scenary I've seen in a game especially the lush landscapes of the elves combine with the awe-inspiring keeps.
  39. Paul
    Sep 21, 2008
    10
    Adults rejoice! FINALLY! an MMO suitable for people with lives and limited timespan to play games. They've removed the time wastage that fills most other MMORPG's. Interface is excellent, Quest system is excellent, PVP is excellent.
  40. MikeH
    Sep 21, 2008
    6
    nice to see some original idea's actually make it into the game unfortunately bad implementation of some features and complete removal of others have left this so called wow beater, reeling in the corner. in addition terrible eu launch problems and bad game performance for an already aging engine wont help make this the classic it should have been :(
  41. BenB.
    Sep 20, 2008
    10
    If you want a pvp game, this is it. Period. If you are a raiding/instance wow player, go back to wow.
  42. JoeB.
    Sep 30, 2008
    9
    I love this game. The magus was a huge disappointment though. 9/10
  43. MalF
    Oct 2, 2008
    10
    PvE is good, especially the PQs, but RvR is immensely addictive. Yes, the graphics aren't amazing, but amazing graphics would affect gameplay during large RvR skirmishes. Besides at least they're much less cartoony than WOW!
  44. Dre
    Oct 6, 2008
    10
    I just purchased this game along with a 2 month game card. I made the switch from WoW because I was bored with grinding for hours to get honor and the high level raiding wasn't that great. WAR is a nice change and though I'm still in the low levels of the game, I'm having a blast. Highly recommended! WoW killer? I don't know, Nice change? Definitely.
  45. NickG.
    Sep 18, 2008
    8
    Early days yet. But the servers seem stable, the graphics are good and it's fun to play. Whether this carries on til the high levels and the PvP is as good as the PvE will be the telling point. A smooth launch, and I hope to see more.
  46. StuartB.
    Sep 18, 2008
    9
    Great game so far! Graphics are decent, RvR is really fun and the character customization from the abilities and tactics to train in to the dying of the armor and adding trophies. The ability to keep yourself an individual among so many is really robust. They take a lot of the aspects of other games, DAoC, WoW, LOTRO, and merge them into a great combination. This game will be successful Great game so far! Graphics are decent, RvR is really fun and the character customization from the abilities and tactics to train in to the dying of the armor and adding trophies. The ability to keep yourself an individual among so many is really robust. They take a lot of the aspects of other games, DAoC, WoW, LOTRO, and merge them into a great combination. This game will be successful at start, and I see it being even more successful once Mythic throws some patches and upgrades. Expand
  47. PearceS.
    Sep 19, 2008
    9
    Wonderful game that takes the WoW formula (that is, take the best of the previous and do it better) , but leans heavily on Mythic's previous MMO. To date, this is the only MMO that actually does seem to provide the boatloads of time sinks (most of them fun and rewarding) that hardcore players want but the pick-up/put-down play-style that the casuals so love about WoW.
  48. JayF.
    Sep 26, 2008
    8
    I like the game. PROS: Public quests are great, the pvp is really good. Interesting classes. Pretty damm balanced too for having 20 classes. CONS They sorta throw you to the wolfs in the beginning of the game with little intro. Need more of a tutorial. I know ZERO about the warhammer world, found it to be lame myself so a little more info about what the heck is going on would help. They I like the game. PROS: Public quests are great, the pvp is really good. Interesting classes. Pretty damm balanced too for having 20 classes. CONS They sorta throw you to the wolfs in the beginning of the game with little intro. Need more of a tutorial. I know ZERO about the warhammer world, found it to be lame myself so a little more info about what the heck is going on would help. They do need more customization in the talent tree thing they have going on but I suppose thats why the classes are so well balanced. Also, the warhammer world is stupid and lame imo. That being said and this is coming from someone who thinks war is lame, (really lame, did I mention that?) this is a great game. I wanted to hate it but I ended up loving it. Conan is crap. I wanted to LOVE that game but funcom made a game that is sorta fun for 20 levels then CRAP. I love the conan world and i think the war world is for freaking nerd losers but I love warhammer online. So honestly what better review could you get for this game? Screw you funcom, die die die! Expand
  49. DanW.
    Sep 20, 2008
    10
    I've now been playing this game since the CE head start began and I am thoroughly impressed with the game. It shares some ideas from the culmination of the MMORPG genre over the years, but also brings so much more to the table that I've never experienced before. Especially in coming from a World of Warcraft background and spending time with that game since it's initial I've now been playing this game since the CE head start began and I am thoroughly impressed with the game. It shares some ideas from the culmination of the MMORPG genre over the years, but also brings so much more to the table that I've never experienced before. Especially in coming from a World of Warcraft background and spending time with that game since it's initial launch, I've now canceled my subscription to WoW in favor of spending time with this game. The RvR and PvP in WAR is too much fun and highly addictive. It really feels like you contribute to the state of being for the world you're playing in. WoW you were just there, you never really could change the world or it's state. This game takes it to a whole other level of participation and feeling of actual achievement. Speaking of achievements...WAR is a competitor's dream come true with the amount of achievements you can collect while playing and not just text saying congrats you did this or that, but they bring on tangible rewards like armor you can wear or titles your name can bare. It is so much fun. I think with the promises of free content being added in the future and the quality of what is already here, this game will last a long time and bring a lot of fun to those that play it. I've recommended it to several friends and all of them are having a blast. Join the WAR and pick a side and have yourself some of the best fun you'll ever have in an MMORPG. Expand
  50. AnthonyJ.
    Aug 24, 2007
    9
    Seems like a great game, love the idea of RVR from DAoC and it looks like it'll keep me entertained for quite awhile.
  51. NeoS.
    Oct 1, 2008
    9
    My only problem with Warhammer is that I would have liked to have seen more crafting options. Otherwise, I previously did not play PvP MMO gameplay, but this is the first MMO that actually has me excited and enjoying PvP.
  52. AnonymousMC
    Oct 13, 2008
    10
    WAR is a brilliant MMO that surpassed every expectation I had. Finally MMOs are being released that can outshine the genre dominating WOW. For PVP (RVR) WAR is better than WOW in every possible aspect. PVE though is lacking, but LOTRO more than outshines any MMO I've played in PVE and RP. My main complaints are that on the WAR RP realms I've stll yet to see any RP, and theWAR is a brilliant MMO that surpassed every expectation I had. Finally MMOs are being released that can outshine the genre dominating WOW. For PVP (RVR) WAR is better than WOW in every possible aspect. PVE though is lacking, but LOTRO more than outshines any MMO I've played in PVE and RP. My main complaints are that on the WAR RP realms I've stll yet to see any RP, and the community is becoming more and more like WOW, The community in LOTRO is still way better than the communities of WOW and WAR. Overall, when comparing WAR to the other two leading MMOs I'd put it like this: For PVE/PVP balance, item base play, and the largest community by far, and where you can act (or for some be) a racist bafoon, go with WOW. For the most immersion, Rp, best PVE play, best story, and the most intelligent and mature online gaming community I know of, go to LOTRO. For the most competitive, most fun, most successful and most integrative PVP, not to mention the most creative classes I've ever seen, go to WAR. But the community will inevitably become like Wow's, since so many are coming from their and the more popular and mainstream the game gets, the more it attracts idiots. 2 years ago Wow was the best online game. Now, in my order, it's like this: 1. WAR 2.LOTRO 3. WOW Expand
  53. JeroldB.
    Oct 14, 2008
    10
    Undoubtedly one of the best MMO's to come out in a long while. PvP is a blast, the graphics are gorgeous, and the mechanics are exciting and engaging. Aside from a couple bugs left over from beta, the game is quite polished and is a joy to play. A highly engaging and entertaining MMO for those looking for a nice serving of mainly PvP.
  54. DanW
    Oct 1, 2008
    9
    I can say little against this great game. Great polish, great scope and unrivalled immersion. It sweeps you along at a rate of knots, yet has so many achievements, secret unlocks and that typical Games Workshop black humour that you genuinely regret leaving a zone for the next one. My only current gripe is the game's predilection to scenarios as the most efficient way to level up I can say little against this great game. Great polish, great scope and unrivalled immersion. It sweeps you along at a rate of knots, yet has so many achievements, secret unlocks and that typical Games Workshop black humour that you genuinely regret leaving a zone for the next one. My only current gripe is the game's predilection to scenarios as the most efficient way to level up your PvE and RvR ranks. I want more carrots to take my fight to the open world - whether that be PvE or RvR. Expand
  55. JonasL.
    Dec 19, 2008
    9
    I have never been much for MMO games, except for a brief period with EVE. I still think the genre is undeveloped and needs to get better, but Mythic uses what they know works and give us lots of it in Warhammer.
  56. VeoL
    Oct 27, 2008
    8
    Good game, and it has game a long way in the past few months since closed beta, which leads me to believe that Mythic are going to put all they have into delievering. However as everyone has said before there are a number of animation issues, as well as general 'clipping' of armour, that are somewhat distracting. For instance, while playing as a freshly made Dark Elf I switched Good game, and it has game a long way in the past few months since closed beta, which leads me to believe that Mythic are going to put all they have into delievering. However as everyone has said before there are a number of animation issues, as well as general 'clipping' of armour, that are somewhat distracting. For instance, while playing as a freshly made Dark Elf I switched my weapons into opposite hands which caused my body to literally collapse in the center, so I looked like an odd hour glass. The characters have much more charm than WoW's however and the game has a very rich, indepth storyline that doesn't have things tacted on as an excuse to balance the game. (Draenei/Blood Elves) The characters are also somewhat original when compared to WoW and it's bastardized 'fantasty' atmosphere. The complaint about the art style being a copy of WoW is also a bit ignorant, as Warhammer has always had a mature yet jokey feel to it. I also agree that after around lv15 the game does generally start to slow down, badly. You can get to lv9 in a few hours, but after that it's as if you hit a brick wall and it takes hours just to get a level. I've personally given up on a lv16 White Lion because it is simply not interesting enough for me to put so much time into leveling in. I think with a few months polish this game, like WoW before it, will hit a very respectable stage that'll start reattracting fans. A lot of people forget that WoW is an extremely polished 4 year old MMO, that has been plagued with all sorts of game destroying bugs in its time. But to round it up, this game has a lot of potential, let's just hope Mythic gets the chance to fix everything up before it sinks to the depths with every other failed MMO. Expand
  57. ChrisM.
    Oct 3, 2008
    9
    Everything you could want in a PvP based game. Richer and more depth than anything on the market.
  58. GeoffJ
    Oct 4, 2008
    10
    After getting past the graphics, and doing some fine tuning with my system software-graphic-override-settings, the game has a lot of charm and innovative features. Very rewarding PVE and PVP content, and the fact that what you do acutally "counts" towards something, is much better than games where your objective is "getting better stuff". Great tie-ins with public, scenario, standard PvE, After getting past the graphics, and doing some fine tuning with my system software-graphic-override-settings, the game has a lot of charm and innovative features. Very rewarding PVE and PVP content, and the fact that what you do acutally "counts" towards something, is much better than games where your objective is "getting better stuff". Great tie-ins with public, scenario, standard PvE, and PvP quests. Lots of things from other games & MMOs that you wish they did, but nothing overly complex that leaves you without a grip on what to do. Get in on the ground floor while the getting is good, this one looks like its staying around for a long time. -2 for a few minor annoying bugs, though they are under par compared to other game & MMO launches -2 for graphics & sound +1 for easy work around for graphics without conflicts, and easy system load on older computers +4 innovative quest design scheme, backstories from obvious professional writers, and "im a bold-black quest text, read me and do it" - love that sometimes :) +2 adding things you'd wish other games in the genre did +3 easy learning curve +2 easy grouping throughout the whole game +2 for original and robust content (WoW is not the originator of this content, starting with Warcraft 1, if anyone remembers and played that game, real-life-litigation and timeframe prove Blizzards red-hands there) Expand
  59. MichaelH.
    Oct 4, 2008
    10
    This is the first game I can honestly say deserves a 10. The game play is intense, tactical, and requires thinking/teamwork. PvP that has a point. Considering I was, up until I played this game, an avid PvE only player I can say the PvP (or RvR as it is touted in game) is spectacular and easy to pick up... if not difficult to master.
  60. StewartL.
    Oct 7, 2008
    10
    An incredible game. Some bugs yes, but nothing groundbreaking. The smoothest mmo launch ever. Funcom - make a note please of how things should be done when you'll be releasing your third not-so-successful mmo :) PvP is so addictive you wont believe it. Graphics are ok - better then wow anyway. Enough eye candy to enjoy yourselves for the first 30 minutes - after that you don't An incredible game. Some bugs yes, but nothing groundbreaking. The smoothest mmo launch ever. Funcom - make a note please of how things should be done when you'll be releasing your third not-so-successful mmo :) PvP is so addictive you wont believe it. Graphics are ok - better then wow anyway. Enough eye candy to enjoy yourselves for the first 30 minutes - after that you don't notice the graphics - just the addictive immense gameplay. PvE is there to just get you level up and gear up for pvp. Theres no getting away from pvp in this game - and thats what makes it fun. Expand
  61. MikeK.
    Aug 30, 2008
    10
    From my beta experience, all I can say is that this game is the most fun I've ever had in an MMO. It never feels like grinding at all, and appears to be able to support casual gamers, which is just bizzarre in an MMO.
  62. RyanT.
    Sep 16, 2008
    9
    Amazing rvr system, public quests are great, and the tome of knowledge is the best thing to happen to MMO's in quite some time. Great game!
  63. DanielC.
    Sep 16, 2008
    9
    I've been playing since Closed Beta. Basically if you like PVP then this is THE game to play now, no lag, great combat engine and very little bugs.
  64. MartinP.
    Sep 21, 2008
    9
    Bugs need to get fixed on ranged attacks. Otherwise I love the game.
  65. BrianS.
    Sep 21, 2008
    5
    Any vote above 5 for this is pretty much the same thing the votes above 5 for AoC were, people desperately hoping and praying that their new purchase will meet their hopes and expectations of being able to be the one in their peer group that was "right" that their new game purchase would beat WoW. Simple facts are, WAR does not beat WoW...in any respect. WAR's PvP is alright, but Any vote above 5 for this is pretty much the same thing the votes above 5 for AoC were, people desperately hoping and praying that their new purchase will meet their hopes and expectations of being able to be the one in their peer group that was "right" that their new game purchase would beat WoW. Simple facts are, WAR does not beat WoW...in any respect. WAR's PvP is alright, but lacks speed and a true feel of impact in what you do. Also you get immediately immersed in PvP...which is good, but also bad because fighting in a PvP instance with two abilities and zero understanding of your class is what you'll be doing for the first few PvP instances, the play of PvP in WAR is slow, awkward, badly animated and mostly confusing...even for experienced PvPers from other games. The PvE experience is archaic, mobs don't move around at all unless based at a camp, the early level PvE experience throws a ton of quests at you that are all relatively boring Kill X Number of X quests and fetch quests that bring nothing new to the table. The class balance is questionable, especially on the RvR level, and to top it all off the character art style is no more advanced than WoW's really. 7 faces, various hairstyles...welcome to being identified by the armor you wear...oh wait everyone else is wearing the armor you've got too. WAR is to WoW what DAoC was to Everquest...an alternative, but not a competitor in any sense of the word. Expand
  66. JonathanK.
    Sep 21, 2008
    9
    People who are claiming this is a WoW clone really haven't done their research or played the game long enough to know what they're talking about. This game feels distinctively Mythic. If you liked DAOC this is DAOC for the next generation. The game offers new innovations in both PVP and PVE, with more focus on the pvp of course. 20 classes, (10 on each faction) which play People who are claiming this is a WoW clone really haven't done their research or played the game long enough to know what they're talking about. This game feels distinctively Mythic. If you liked DAOC this is DAOC for the next generation. The game offers new innovations in both PVP and PVE, with more focus on the pvp of course. 20 classes, (10 on each faction) which play distinctively different from one another. Wonderfully unique environments. And is easy enough on the casual gamer that you don't have to poop sock for days at a time in order to compete with those who do. Public quests are an excellent feature to keep the PVE happy and offer a different way to get loot of you don't feel like pvping. There is instanced scenario pvp (like WoW BGs) but there are also open PVP pools like in DAoC where your faction must take and hold strategic points and keeps. Endgame in this game is the PVP sacking of the other faction's capital city, which you can actually occupy. This game is by no means WoW other than the similarity in their interface. Expand
  67. Glock
    Sep 22, 2008
    9
    Incredible game that delivers from the very start. No undersold promises here and the potential to become a true contender for WoW's crown.
  68. haraldurj.
    Sep 23, 2008
    10
    Really really awesome game ... probably the best I've ever played. the public quests really come instead of the instances. with a little more polish it could be the best game of all time.
  69. MonoxideC.
    Sep 23, 2008
    10
    Out of the -countless- MMOs I have played since Ultima Online first came out in 97... this is by far the most fun I have had since those early days. Lives up to the hype and then some. Amazing job Mythic.
  70. JonS
    Sep 24, 2008
    9
    Warhammer from a WoW addicts perspective - Pros: 1) Your level is "scaled" in pvp scenarios (equivalent to WoW BG's) so players who are much higher level than yourself don't 1-shot the lower end people. 2) The Warhammer equivalent of mana (action points) regen very quickly when you stop casting. IMO the combat is higher pace because of this since you don't have to stop to Warhammer from a WoW addicts perspective - Pros: 1) Your level is "scaled" in pvp scenarios (equivalent to WoW BG's) so players who are much higher level than yourself don't 1-shot the lower end people. 2) The Warhammer equivalent of mana (action points) regen very quickly when you stop casting. IMO the combat is higher pace because of this since you don't have to stop to eat/drink to regen. 3) There is a massive amount of pvp. Not just world pvp but scenarios so it doesn't feel like your doing the same old pvp grind as much. 4) When rolling for loot on a boss drop you are actually rolling for a bag of goodies basically. So if you win the highest roll your bag will usually contain a nice piece of class specific gear for you and if you already have it you can opt for gold, crafting mats, etc. 5) The game has public quests, so all you have to do is walk to a boss area and participate in the fight for a chance to roll on loot. 6) Collision detection rules! It adds a whole new dynamic and strategy to the game and it's much easier for tanks to protect the squishies in back that are nuking/healing. 7) People who are tanks and good at damage mitigation feel a lot more useful in pvp than with other mmo's i've tried. 8) You actually level yourself by doing pvp so you aren't force to pve at all if you so choose. 9) High level players going to low level zones will not be able to gank lowbies. (Or certainly not in the sense that they do in WoW) Cons: 1) Graphics engine isn't what I'd call next gen, but it makes up for it in gameplay. 2) When I've been healing in pvp I've felt like there is a little delay from when the heal goes off until when i see the health bar move. Nothing major, could be just my pc Iffy: 1) Right now the Chaos faction seems much more populated than the Order faction. I'm hoping this imbalance doesn't lead to major problems with Order being able to compete in World PVP. Too early to say. 2) Still waiting and hoping the addon community or *gasp* the game devs come out with a range finder to fade bars for players out of healing range. Nothing yet but I'm sure there is a way. 3) I haven't been playing long, but it feels really easy to rip aggro off of tanks in pve. Hopefully once I hit higher levels they will be holding it better than they are now. Conclusion: 1) Mythic has done an excellent job of really looking at the way things are done in mmo's these days and tweaking it or adding some cool new idea. For me my main concern is about the game being fun and Warhammer has been nothing but fun since I've started playing. Expand
  71. BradT.
    Sep 25, 2008
    10
    Played EQ for 3 years then WoW for 3 years. This game blows those out of the water. Warhammer takes away the grind and farming that you find in most all other MMOs. I'm a big fan of PVP and there PVP system is far superior to any other. The art direction of Warhammer has a much more mature and gruesome feel to it compared to WoWs cartoony looking graphics. I find this game to be so Played EQ for 3 years then WoW for 3 years. This game blows those out of the water. Warhammer takes away the grind and farming that you find in most all other MMOs. I'm a big fan of PVP and there PVP system is far superior to any other. The art direction of Warhammer has a much more mature and gruesome feel to it compared to WoWs cartoony looking graphics. I find this game to be so much more entertaining than anything I've experienced with previous MMO's. There might be some class imbalances but even at launch, classes seem more balanced than anything Blizzard has been able to accomplish. My only gripe with the game so far is the usual bugs you'll encounter with any recently released MMO. This game does it all and better. Although I guess if spending 8 hours sitting in your chair doing a raid is what you're looking for then stick with Warcraft as this game seems more catered to the casual player, which I love about it. I'm sure there is plenty to love for a hardcore gamer, but everything seems within my reach and I'm only able to play for a couple hours at a time. The days of Warcraft's dramatic gear differences are gone. Expand
  72. RubenD.
    Sep 25, 2008
    9
    With WAR comes the end of the endless hours of killing the same animal or coming and coming again to the same dungeon to get thar precious magic item. It´s a bye bye to the level 70 killing level 10 for fun. and it trully is epic, you are at war eithere you like it or not. Wellcome to the red thin line.
  73. FabL
    Sep 20, 2008
    10
    Great game. After years of waiting for some real PvP in WoW ... I've given up and moved on. And what a wonderful game I've found. If you enjoy Raiding ... stay in WoW. If you enjoy PvP ... time to leave WoW and join Warhammer.
  74. JohnM.
    Sep 29, 2008
    9
    A great game all around! They've gone far out of their way to make all the most fun stuff (the RvR) accessible all the time from the first second you log into the game! You can join a PvP scenario the very first thing you do in the game, before you even kill one monster! You can join from anywhere at any time (although sometimes the more populated realm will have a wait before A great game all around! They've gone far out of their way to make all the most fun stuff (the RvR) accessible all the time from the first second you log into the game! You can join a PvP scenario the very first thing you do in the game, before you even kill one monster! You can join from anywhere at any time (although sometimes the more populated realm will have a wait before players can get into a match). And there is a game packed with PvE content to explore in between PvP. While there aren't nearly as many dungeon instances as there are in WoW, there are many public quests that are sort of like taking all the best parts of WoW instances, the boss encounters, and putting them out into the world so everyone can jump in on them anytime! The top contributors to these PQs get instance calibur loot rewards too! But the core of the game is PvP. In a way when I pop onto WAR I feel a battlefield 2142, or Counterstrike vibe. I usually immediately queue up for a scenario, or go out into the RvR areas and look for open world PvP. Its just brilliantly done! I can't give it a 10 because there are still some technical glitches, mainly with lag issues (sometimes there is warping and rubberbanding), and also sometimes the animations are stiff. But seriously, for a game on release day to be this good hasn;'t happened in a long time! Expand
  75. FrancoisM.
    Sep 30, 2008
    10
    Richer than WOW its closest competitor. The fundamental are different, they're based ont PvP, not raids or grinding. So it you and your actions that count, not so much your level or gear. Friendly for newcomers, and a huge amount of content and stuff around for hardcore players of the genre. It raises the bar a great big notch! Plus a superb launch, so jump right in and enjoy.
  76. glenna.
    Sep 3, 2008
    9
    This game is stunning ,if you like world of wardcraft you will lovve this ,its got everything pvp pve its huge and at lvl 1 you can join the action not level 65 etc the graphics are stunning make wow look cartoonish. i could go on and on its awesome buy it.
  77. JohnB.
    Sep 5, 2008
    10
    This is the MMO that I've been looking forward to. I've been in the Beta and it has been amazing!
  78. DanR.
    Sep 7, 2008
    8
    As a beta tester for WAR, I can say that I am very impressed with my initial game experience. WAR has a vast amount of potential, and EA seems poised to capitalize on it.
  79. jimbob
    Nov 1, 2008
    6
    I desperately wanted to like this game, but simply uninteresting to play, with bland character class design, and poor technical implementation. It'll take a big overhaul to pull this one up to a reasonable standard, and to be frank, I don't think it'll last long enough for the coders to try.
  80. AndyA
    Oct 12, 2008
    10
    This game is great. It seems the reason it has a score of 85 is people who just down vote it to 3 and under because of their precious WOW, or maybe pure stupidity. This is by far my favourite MMO, i can see myself playing this for a long time.
  81. EliasO
    Nov 3, 2008
    8
    Great game! I have been playing for two months now and all I can say is that Mythic really keep their promises! They keep pumping out patches fixing what little glitches are in the game and everything just feels super smooth! Public Quests are great fun and it's easy to find people in your chapter doing them with the Open Party system, Realm versus Realm lakes are also extremely fun Great game! I have been playing for two months now and all I can say is that Mythic really keep their promises! They keep pumping out patches fixing what little glitches are in the game and everything just feels super smooth! Public Quests are great fun and it's easy to find people in your chapter doing them with the Open Party system, Realm versus Realm lakes are also extremely fun to fight in - my guild (The Sylvan Blades) Has claimed several keeps in different tiers and we do our best to defend them for Order! (It's going very good for Order on Karak-Hirn).. I have always loved playing the underdog, the one being besieged and fighting for his life with tactics and skill ;-) Mythic is going to keep this baby alive for a long time, and I'm going to stay on for the ride. Pure awesome.. :-) (allthough some dungeon are just too hard! haha) Expand
  82. JexterD
    Nov 5, 2008
    6
    This is a Warhammer game that does not really feel like Warhammer. I think developers have gone too far to make this to appeal those looking for instant gratification and forgot that there are players who enjoy MMOs because they provide a long-term challenge for character and guild development in social environment. I gave this a 6 because it's an OK game, but nothing to write home This is a Warhammer game that does not really feel like Warhammer. I think developers have gone too far to make this to appeal those looking for instant gratification and forgot that there are players who enjoy MMOs because they provide a long-term challenge for character and guild development in social environment. I gave this a 6 because it's an OK game, but nothing to write home about. It takes MMORPGs to a wrong direction in my opinion. Expand
  83. CoreyV.
    Oct 15, 2008
    10
    Awsome game been playing it since closed beta and been a Mythic fan since DAOC came out and they really nailed it with this one support and join the WAAAHH!!!
  84. LeahR
    Oct 18, 2008
    6
    I wanted to love it, and I tried my best, but the game is so rough, buggy, unstable, unpolished, and imbalanced that it drove me away in frustration. It plays like a fun if lopsided game still very much in beta. The problem is we're now paying money for this. It's also disheartening that Mythic has failed to address the vast outcry about class and population imbalances, and CEO I wanted to love it, and I tried my best, but the game is so rough, buggy, unstable, unpolished, and imbalanced that it drove me away in frustration. It plays like a fun if lopsided game still very much in beta. The problem is we're now paying money for this. It's also disheartening that Mythic has failed to address the vast outcry about class and population imbalances, and CEO Mark Jacobs displays erratic and troubling behavior where he caters to the demands of a vocal minority (on the IGN VN Boards) while ignoring the rest of his customers. I want WAR to improve and succeed, but right now I can only recommend most people avoid this one till it has had several months to half a year to climb out of the buggy mess it's currently in. Expand
  85. MikeS.
    Oct 2, 2008
    7
    As a WoW PVP junkie who lost interest in raiding post BC I thought this game was going to be the perfect medium between the gear-centric grind of WoW and the overly guild centric, unbalance, realistically bland Age of Conan- I wanted fast flashy fantasy with never monotanous PVP. I played WAR as a CE closed beta tester and although at first I was skeptical the game really grew on me As a WoW PVP junkie who lost interest in raiding post BC I thought this game was going to be the perfect medium between the gear-centric grind of WoW and the overly guild centric, unbalance, realistically bland Age of Conan- I wanted fast flashy fantasy with never monotanous PVP. I played WAR as a CE closed beta tester and although at first I was skeptical the game really grew on me quickly. WAR offers a lot of no-brainers that really help the game flow easily (quest locations shown on the map, easy to find groups, PVPing always a click away). But just as quickly as the new features impressed me, the same old issues arouse. Mythic nerfed the EXP from Beta to release and as a result the leveling process became every bit as tedious and arduous as any other MMO. Leveling via PVP sounded like a great idea, but quickly feels every bit as painful as gaining reputation in War Song Gultch. The combat is far slower (more HP, less burst), the healing is very HoT focused and the debuffs/buffs seem to be the focus of PVP (wearing your enemy down as gruelingly slow as possible). Clearly the game is balanced around large combat of organized forces, and while hyper competitive guilds will have a blast getting top honors on the server, there's not much here for the single player. I have never played any other Mythic MMO, but I'm sadly disappointed. Although far far more polished than Age of Conan, I'm not sure Mythic could do enough to win over WoW converts who are used to a similar PVP game play. Basically, unless you played (and absolutely loved) other Mythic MMO's you'll likely find WAR inferior after a while. Even though I no longer play WoW, I would sooner level to 80 in WotLK than finish leveling to 40 in WAR. Expand
  86. michaelm
    Dec 16, 2008
    9
    Great MMO, Mythic is continually improving things. There will always be issues with MMOs but Mythic is pretty quick on getting things fixed. I've never been a PVP player until WAR drew me in. I like how the PVE quests bring you into PVP zones. So the game introduces you to the fun of pvp in a sense. I love the Tome of knowledge, its an addiction I tell ya!
  87. IanT.
    Oct 2, 2008
    9
    One of the downsides of a game so heavily focused on pvp, is that with a low server population it can be kind of boring without people all around to fight/group with. This is only really a problem if you pick a low pop server or play in off hours.
  88. DrakeM.
    Dec 10, 2008
    9
    Great game, has some graphical problems with memory leaks but for the most part looks very realistic when all setting are on, and on high. Massive keep raids seen on server dark craag really remind hardcore warhammer fans of the table top miniature war game they played, or still play. PVE is a bit weak but when it comes down to it the game is PVP based. If you want complicated and Great game, has some graphical problems with memory leaks but for the most part looks very realistic when all setting are on, and on high. Massive keep raids seen on server dark craag really remind hardcore warhammer fans of the table top miniature war game they played, or still play. PVE is a bit weak but when it comes down to it the game is PVP based. If you want complicated and exilerating boss fights play Warcraft. I will say one thing though for new MMO players, warhammer is a lot easier to get into since there is not as much level grinding as wow. When it comes down to it most hardcore WoW fans can see that its just turning into the same old song and dance each expansion, and warhammer really brings a breath of fresh Waaagh! Expand
  89. JayS.
    Oct 24, 2008
    3
    Orcs and elves and trolls ...oh my! Sound like more of the same? It is. And even more so, it is just like every other humans/orcs/dwarves/goblins/elves game you've ever played. Dark elves in bondage gear? Check. Dwarves that tinker? Check. Orcs using "Da (noun)" liberally in every sentence? You betcha! "Uninteresting," "done before," and "formula fantasy", that's just a few Orcs and elves and trolls ...oh my! Sound like more of the same? It is. And even more so, it is just like every other humans/orcs/dwarves/goblins/elves game you've ever played. Dark elves in bondage gear? Check. Dwarves that tinker? Check. Orcs using "Da (noun)" liberally in every sentence? You betcha! "Uninteresting," "done before," and "formula fantasy", that's just a few words and phrases that come to mind that describe Warhammer Online. What Mythic did was basically purchase the Warhammer license and built a sub-par game and graphics engine to recycle the same, boring Warhammer lore with nary a spark of originality or programming aptitude. The animations are akin to Saturday morning cartoons, and with the in-game dialoge, you'll swear you walked into "The Smurfs go to War." The graphics on highest settings are similar to the quality and bit depth of the original Everquest (1999). I gave it a 3 because RVR is mildly engaging, and the mechanism to find RVR battles quickly is good. Other than that, I can't honestly recommend this game. That is, unless you regularly watch Tom and Jerry and/or Looney Tunes. Expand
  90. JacobB.
    Oct 8, 2008
    10
    I've played lots of MMO's before and WAR may look like just a new copy of what's already been done but it's not, With public quests, open partys, RvR Scenarios, the game is a blast to play. I've never enjoyed PvP on an mmo before and i spend at least half my time playing it. Buy the game if you like mmos at all.
  91. BrianJ.
    Jul 28, 2008
    10
    RVR in this game is FTW. I have been waiting for this game for a long time, and from what I have seen this game is going to live up to the hype.
  92. DrakeS.
    Sep 10, 2008
    10
    This is by far the most polished, innovative and fun MMO to come along in years. If you are bored with WoW, or just want the best PvP experience known to man, come and give WAR a try!
  93. RodericR.
    Sep 13, 2008
    10
    Epic game. THE MOST BALANCED CLASSES EVER IN AN MMO. You can get to max level doing: 1. RvR; 2. Scenarios; 3. Public Quests; 4. Quests. You can do any mix of those, its just fantastic. There is no comparison to the keep and city sieges, that alone would keep me playing for 2 years. Add in guild management that is superb, and truly unique Public Quests, and this game is a winner. I would Epic game. THE MOST BALANCED CLASSES EVER IN AN MMO. You can get to max level doing: 1. RvR; 2. Scenarios; 3. Public Quests; 4. Quests. You can do any mix of those, its just fantastic. There is no comparison to the keep and city sieges, that alone would keep me playing for 2 years. Add in guild management that is superb, and truly unique Public Quests, and this game is a winner. I would be shocked if I didn't play this game for 4+ years. Expand
  94. JordanM.
    Sep 18, 2008
    10
    This game is truely a great game and public quests and RvR are a ton of fun. Give the game a chance I'm sure you'll love it.
  95. ElenaA.
    Sep 19, 2008
    9
    I have played wow since release, and I still have my wow accounts, but since i have been playing war, somehow, it makes wow feel purposeless.
  96. ErikM.
    Sep 19, 2008
    9
    I personally really enjoyed this. It's a little something old, a little something new, and altogether wonderful. Grinding is easy, yet entertaining, PvP is simply amazing. The gear scale in this game doesn't reach to meteoric heights like in WoW, and the best stuff is always within reach of the average player, all it takes is a few hours of hard work. The classes are for the I personally really enjoyed this. It's a little something old, a little something new, and altogether wonderful. Grinding is easy, yet entertaining, PvP is simply amazing. The gear scale in this game doesn't reach to meteoric heights like in WoW, and the best stuff is always within reach of the average player, all it takes is a few hours of hard work. The classes are for the most part wonderfully balanced, and a team of complementing and varied classes will beat a zerg rush of DPSers any day. Rather than huge endgame quests that take hours of shitsocking to complete and almost force you to join an elitist guild of no-life neckbeards, you get slightly more mellow, but in my opinion more fun, public quests, where anyone can join, loot is assigned somewhat randomly, with bonuses to whichever player did the most work. So all in all, if you were tired of the hopeless grind and unbalanced classes of WoW, and tired of falling behind in gear because you only casually play the game, this is the one for you. Expand
  97. ChrisE.
    Sep 19, 2008
    10
    Awesome, fun. Beats WOW in every respect, and thats from a guy with 4 lvl 70's. Let the War begin
  98. BobN.
    Sep 19, 2008
    10
    Great game; runs great, looks pretty good, gameplay is great, PvP is a little unbalanced but that's a given with any MMO.
  99. F4rankW.
    Sep 20, 2008
    9
    I'm having fun with it. Played the Pen and Paper a bit as well as the Table Top Game, brings back memories of my youth.
  100. Adamk.
    Sep 20, 2008
    9
    This game have been really Enjoyable for me. It's everything we love about MMO and has improved upon the stuff we hate. The classes in this game are the most well thought out that I have seen in a long time and no class seems out of place. The tome of knowledge is a stellar addition and Public quests are an ingenious idea. You can feel the atmosphere of the game as soon as you create This game have been really Enjoyable for me. It's everything we love about MMO and has improved upon the stuff we hate. The classes in this game are the most well thought out that I have seen in a long time and no class seems out of place. The tome of knowledge is a stellar addition and Public quests are an ingenious idea. You can feel the atmosphere of the game as soon as you create a character. It is dark and you feel like your being assaulted. The PvP in the game is just amazing and there is so many diff pvp minigames along with FFa and seiges. I do have to admit that the graphics look somewhat old but are still quite nice. The combat while cookie cutter it may be gets refreshing take because each class has a specific gameplay mechanic. Expand
Metascore
86

Generally favorable reviews - based on 54 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 52 out of 54
  2. Negative: 0 out of 54
  1. Mythic has dutifully done everything it needs to to compete with Blizzard's jack of all trades and master of most. Crafting is weak, and dungeons - the small, instanced experiences that really cement the group dynamics in an MMO - are frustratingly rare, but aside from that WAR does it all, and does it well.
  2. Touted as being the pretender to the throne of MMO games, expectations for Warhammer Online were running high. Whilst brilliant in a lot of ways, the lack of polish and a fundamental flaw in the game dynamic does not bode well for its longevity. It is certainly worth playing, but it will leave you wondering why it was not finished before release.
  3. Whether your preference is for PvP or PvE, the frustrations of aimless wandering and vague directions are gone.