User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 360 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 57 out of 360

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Sep 2, 2013
    9
    Without a doubt this is the best online game thanks to his amazing PvP.The levels of fun that you can have with a good leader and a good party is out of this world.The clases are very interesting and with their own personality.The world of Warhammer is amazing.My only complain is that the system of rewarding players with renown points needs to revert to the old catch the flag gain the points style. Expand
  2. Aug 16, 2013
    0
    this game is the worst piece of in gaming history, it's not even a game, it's human waste. play at your own risk, don't say you weren't warned. mythic need to disband and find new careers: garbage collection might suit.
  3. Jun 22, 2012
    5
    is beat by wow and age of conan, the latter impressing me the most with epic 24man raids, and great openworld pvp
    more importantly warhammer seems to be dying some more(maybe bioware is too)
  4. May 30, 2012
    1
    there are a lot of things that just plain disappoint me about this game.. i mean its WARHAMMER.. one of the best fantasy worlds ever created. i play and love the tabletop game and i read a lot of the books as well.. but i mean this mmo is just plain dull. the characters move sets are slow and casting times take a while.. there's no normal attack so everything requires action points. compared to wow in the combat area it lacks greatly. where wow might have some slower cast moves it keeps the speed and excitement up with lots to pull off and your basic attack for some classes to be going at the same time. another thing is the world looks great but theyr isnt enough of it.. no expansions ither witch is a huge letdown. they needed to add more races i would love to play skaven with all my heart!!!!!. the story is dull and boring and could have been worlds better, why not have some epic quests including some good characters like gotrek and felix or a fight against grey seer thanquol :( sadly gotrek and felix just stand in a bar and do f*%k all all day year after year. if they wanted this game to be good they should not have only copied wows ENGINE.. they should have taken inspiration from the game as well and made it more epic with more of an rpg feel and a bigger world to travel and explore. instead its just all pvp and who owns what zones which is a cool idea but it kills the whole rpg exploration and epic adventure feel for me completely :(. i was so excited when i walked into my first town.. only to find out that you couldnt even go in any of the buildings and every npc was standing out infront of them.. and this was a problem that plauged the ENTIRE GAME. maybe once in a while you find a building you can actually explore but my god why is every other one jsut a set piece. the lands feel like they were just made with the leveling in mind.. its just a straight path with little areas cluttered with trees or rocks where all the mobs to kill are.. no dramatic area design here no no... in WoW it feels like a living breathing world. the lands are unique and you want to explore and see all there is to see and do all there is to do and there are so many hidden and extra things they just throw in for the people that want to play like that. warhammer online is just a series of small areas where you grab some xp.. meaningless enemies and meaningless, unimaginative areas and storyline.. one of the biggest letdowns of my life : Expand
  5. Mar 24, 2012
    10
    You can go RvR (PvP) untill lvl 1 and PvE is there also good dungs works better and are more fun than in games like WoW. WAR also support addons so u can customize the game by your own.
  6. Feb 29, 2012
    10
    I really liked this game, good PVP, half decent graphics, PVE was weak...but meh...whatever... Poor customer support and constant game mechanics changes have made the servers combine down to only a few (people left in droves), and many levels are so empty now that you are shocked if you see another player since you started to think it was a single player game. I wish EA would rollback the character mechanics to an earlier time rather than just let the entire world wither and die as it is, sad really. Expand
  7. Feb 4, 2012
    5
    Played this game for almost 2 years. Waited for the company to address many player versus player issues. A good ride until you realize the top tier experience is very one sided. An unbalanced PvP game does not deserve a subscription. The guys involved with this title moved on to help with Star Wars The Old Republic. That game has tanked as well. Wait for another title, or try a free to play game.
  8. Dec 31, 2011
    8
    An excellent massive pvp game with massive siege in castles and epic open massive battles nice scenario batttles and i think a usually pve content. Mythic has done some very serious mistakes in this game. First they have open too much servers and the most of them was empty. The second was that never has create a new content and the veteran players was boring to play the same things again and again. Expand
  9. Dec 21, 2011
    7
    Had so much potential, but failed, largely due to lots of lag and that the player base was spread out on far too many servers. Many of these issues were fixed in later patches, but there are still to few players, and ideas such as Public Quests and RvR is something that I think Guild Wars 2 will do several times better, when it it released.
  10. Nov 25, 2011
    4
    I know many of you will discredit me when saying this, but I tried WAR coming from WoW. Tbh, I probably would not be into MMO's if it werent for the PvE of WoW. I was given 2 months of paid subscription from my friend, since he knew I played the free version and didn't like it, and I couldn't play it for more than a day... The graphics and mechanics all point towards an unfinished game, and the PvE is just terrible. PvP is decent, but I couldn't get into the RvR. Collapse
  11. Oct 14, 2011
    7
    Decent game, but it was just too similar to WoW for me and it didn't have nearly as much content. That was probably what really killed it, if WoW had not been out I think it would have done much better. The pvp was fun though, I just quit before I had leveled to the maximum level so I never experienced the end-game (I went back to WoW instead). Still, it's not a bad game by any means, and today it might be worth trying out since it probably has a lot more content now than it did when it was newly released. Expand
  12. Apr 20, 2011
    5
    Played this every day for over a month, nice ideas executed poorly I expected so much more from this but it ended up being a real disappointment which is a shame really as it got old very quickly and so the initial novelty soon wore off The interaction with the other players and the environment felt very disjointed the progression past level 20 was excessively slow and the trade skills were confusing and hard to level. Expand
  13. Nov 25, 2010
    10
    This game is multi-dimensional and allows different avenues for players to explore the game experience. Free trial users can play to their hearts content in the beginners sand pit area, and discover a mini-world of unlimited free trial players there. Most players will focus on the PVP battles and contests that make up the core activities of WAR. By engaging in this constant combat and chasing the ebb and flow of the battle lines, players will not have much time to devote to the player quests and other quests that are available to explore. Specialised dungeons and mini-worlds are also available to players to venture into with an organised group occasionally. But for many, the lure of constant battle, interrupted by matched combat arenas known as scenarios, will be too great! The worlds are stunningly created and incredibly engaging. My experience with joining a player guild in the final stage of the game was the highlight. My only problem with this game is the lack of time to devote to it! Expand
  14. Nov 13, 2010
    8
    Very good pvp, great and fun classes, good community, warhammer athmosphere. I have played casual since launch ( about two year ) . I think war have best and most balanced pvp, lotro have best pve and most intresting quests and character modification, wow is mix all off these but have most fun dungeons and boss fights.
  15. Sep 24, 2010
    5
    I'm not saying Warhammer is a bad game. It's just that we've already seen things like it. If you've played WoW or LOTRO, this won't have you hooked.
  16. Nov 25, 2011
    0
    I know many of you will discredit me when saying this, but I tried WAR coming from WoW. Tbh, I probably would not be into MMO's if it werent for the PvE of WoW. I was given 2 months of paid subscription from my friend, since he knew I played the free version and didn't like it, and I couldn't play it for more than a day... The graphics and mechanics all point towards an unfinished game, and the PvE is just terrible. PvP is decent, but I couldn't get into the RvR. Collapse
Metascore
86

Generally favorable reviews - based on 54 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 52 out of 54
  2. Negative: 0 out of 54
  1. Mythic has dutifully done everything it needs to to compete with Blizzard's jack of all trades and master of most. Crafting is weak, and dungeons - the small, instanced experiences that really cement the group dynamics in an MMO - are frustratingly rare, but aside from that WAR does it all, and does it well.
  2. Touted as being the pretender to the throne of MMO games, expectations for Warhammer Online were running high. Whilst brilliant in a lot of ways, the lack of polish and a fundamental flaw in the game dynamic does not bode well for its longevity. It is certainly worth playing, but it will leave you wondering why it was not finished before release.
  3. Whether your preference is for PvP or PvE, the frustrations of aimless wandering and vague directions are gone.