Metascore
73

Mixed or average reviews - based on 22 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 22
  2. Negative: 1 out of 22
  1. 90
    Warlock 2 is an incredible well crafted game that is easy to bury hours into. Like any other good strategy game it can take some time to find the right strategy that will suit your play style, but that process of discovery is what makes these games so enticing.
  2. May 9, 2014
    86
    Warlock II is like an edited finished version of the first one. Bit too easy, but very addictive. [May 2014]
  3. Apr 17, 2014
    82
    Island-hopping in a fantasy world felt new to me, and this builds upon the already engaging strategy that exits in Warlock.
  4. Apr 18, 2014
    81
    It looks like a twin to the first installment, but offers new gameplay elements and a lot of fun. Having to repeat the main quest in every new game is a bit annoying, though.
  5. May 7, 2014
    80
    Warlock 2: The Exiled is a solid war-focused 4X strategy game with fantastic presentation.
  6. Apr 19, 2014
    80
    Warlock II might take place in a silly universe where narrators like to impersonate Sean Connery and kingdoms are ruled by regal rats or chatting skeletons, but Ino-Co has taken its construction very seriously. It’s exactly what a sequel should be, keeping the spirit of the original but improving every aspect.
  7. Apr 16, 2014
    80
    A TBS with a sense of humor doesn't come along every day. Don't mistake light-hearted for light-headed, however - “Warlock 2: The Exiled” is a solid, if limited, game. It can provide hours of fun in an attractive package without overwhelming the player with detail.
  8. Apr 15, 2014
    80
    Warlock 2 is definitely a step in the right direction – it takes everything that was good about the first game, and refines it a bit, while also leaving the original experience intact.
  9. Apr 11, 2014
    80
    Though it could still use some balancing, Warlock II is a highly addictive game that offers a new twist on the classic Civilization-style formula.
  10. May 1, 2014
    79
    Warlock II manages to be a fun, elegant, even if not overly deep, strategy game. The AI won't win any Nobel prize, but the whole package is quite decent.
  11. Apr 24, 2014
    78
    Warlock 2 is now the best version of an enjoyably streamlined strategy series. Unfortunately, for owners of the original, it isn't so much better that it's worth wholeheartedly recommending.
  12. May 13, 2014
    75
    Warlock II: The Exiled mixes several elements like magic, combat and city building is an interesting way. It makes the game complex and deep and should be at least tried by fans of the genre.
  13. Apr 11, 2014
    74
    While the AI could be smarter and the game in general more complex, Ino-Co Plus has done a good job of adding clever features to the established formula. Researchable spells, multiplayer and a mighty editor add a lot to the game’s replay value, while the new city limit keeps long matches from getting overly stressful. Whoever liked the first Warlock will probably love Warlock 2.
  14. May 21, 2014
    70
    Because the focus is on such small groups, distinctive visual design helps reinforce the idea that each piece of your army is special. Ships, lords, and even foot soldiers are remarkably well designed.
  15. Apr 15, 2014
    70
    Warlock 2: The Exiled is a game that offers some great content while still making the same mistakes as its predecessor. The differences with Warlock: Master of the Arcane are not as obvious to justify the release of a completely new game, especially without having corrected a number of the existing defects. However the game is still as good as it was the first time around and gets us to stay glued to our screens turn after turn. We could be facing a superb 4X game just with a few additional options, an improved AI and some technical work. But it will continue to remain a second-row-game as long as Ino-Co Plus isn't solving the evident shortages of this Warlock series.
  16. Apr 11, 2014
    70
    Warlock 2: The Exiled is Warlock: Master of the Arcane with a new mode and tuning. If you have liked the previous game, you will love this sequel… but only if you accept paying for something similar in many ways.
  17. May 7, 2014
    69
    Warlock 2 is a better game than its predecessor, Warlock: Master of the Arcane, but after several playthroughs you will succumb to the familiar boredom.
  18. Apr 30, 2014
    67
    While the balance of complexity and usability of the resource and the Civ5-like city management is well executed the weak AI, the abysmal diplomacy system and the superficial religion do their best to keep you away from this. Sometimes this turnbased strategy even feels unfinished.
  19. 60
    A very challenging strategy game that depicts a world of sorcerers and their empires. Civilization with spells? Yes – and it bites hard. [Issue#242]
  20. May 11, 2014
    60
    Warlock 2 offers a lot of options for a fantasy strategy fan, and the Exiled mode is fun the first time, but there's something missing in the formula to make it a truly memorable game.
  21. Apr 30, 2014
    60
    If you liked the first game or need something to scratch that Civilisation itch then this will make you very happy indeed – just don’t say I didn’t warn you about the giant turtles.
  22. Jun 5, 2014
    40
    Warlock 2: The Exiled slightly innovates the original game's formula, but it meddles with its strong and weak points to a small extent. The game stays true to its action-oriented style along with content and troop imbalance. However, with the addition of a weird story campaign and especially restrictions that appear, the game gets annoying and spoiled.
User Score
7.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 77 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 16
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 16
  3. Negative: 3 out of 16
  1. Apr 13, 2014
    9
    After purchasing Age of wonders 3 two weeks ago, I'd have to say that it didn't hold my attention as long as i though it would, then I triedAfter purchasing Age of wonders 3 two weeks ago, I'd have to say that it didn't hold my attention as long as i though it would, then I tried Warlock 2 and i was very pleasantly surprised.

    There's a wide choice of buildings and units you can work towards, spells and other things, the game looks decent enough and the combat is fun and makes you place and move your units carefully around the map!

    I would prefer a tutorial to explain which building do what, and things you need to build first etc.. and I was hoping multiplayerwould have simultaneous turns.

    Other than that I am having a lot of fun with the game, and can't wait to see what mods come out for the game.
    Full Review »
  2. Apr 13, 2014
    7
    After being quite disappointed with Age of Wonders III and it's cumbersome empire management and UI shortcomings, I have to say that Warlock 2After being quite disappointed with Age of Wonders III and it's cumbersome empire management and UI shortcomings, I have to say that Warlock 2 can evoke the "just one turn" feeling way better for me.
    You are working towards clear goals and have to make meaningful decisions, be it while deciding what to build or how to react to special events that occur regularly. The fights are diverting and tactical even without a separate tactical map.

    There are some downsides, though, which prevent me from giving a higher score.
    - Presentation and sound are decent, but could be better, even for an 4x game
    - I've encountered several bugs like weirdly overlapping dialogues, once even of a quest that was already finished. I also seem to be unable to finish a quest where an enemy mage periodically casts terraforming spells on my and my allies domain. The quest where I could spend 1000 gold to stop that is no longer available.
    - The AI could take some improvements
    Full Review »
  3. Apr 13, 2014
    8
    Warlock 2: The Exiled is very much the same game as the first one, with marked improvements in nearly every area of the game. While the gameWarlock 2: The Exiled is very much the same game as the first one, with marked improvements in nearly every area of the game. While the game seems to me to resemble a standalone expansion pack than a true sequel, it is also the same price as a traditional expansion pack and does not require the first game to play.

    With two full new factions and the new Exiled mode, and the easily accessible modding tools, this game will get hundreds of hours of playtime out of me. Not to mention that Paradox and Ino-co are very active on the forums and quick to fix any problems that arise in the game, and implement suggestions from the community regularly.

    The only down side I have noticed is the only somewhat improved AI, but that is not the strong point of any strategy game these days so I can't hold that against them too much.
    Full Review »