Metascore
73

Mixed or average reviews - based on 22 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.9

Mixed or average reviews- based on 73 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Warlock 2 is a turn-based strategy game of fantasy warfare. Rival against Great Mages, lead mighty armies into fierce battles, wield ancient magic, use cunning diplomacy and faith as your weapons. Experience the challenge in single or multiplayer.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 22
  2. Negative: 1 out of 22
  1. 90
    Warlock 2 is an incredible well crafted game that is easy to bury hours into. Like any other good strategy game it can take some time to find the right strategy that will suit your play style, but that process of discovery is what makes these games so enticing.
  2. Apr 17, 2014
    82
    Island-hopping in a fantasy world felt new to me, and this builds upon the already engaging strategy that exits in Warlock.
  3. May 7, 2014
    80
    Warlock 2: The Exiled is a solid war-focused 4X strategy game with fantastic presentation.
  4. May 13, 2014
    75
    Warlock II: The Exiled mixes several elements like magic, combat and city building is an interesting way. It makes the game complex and deep and should be at least tried by fans of the genre.
  5. May 21, 2014
    70
    Because the focus is on such small groups, distinctive visual design helps reinforce the idea that each piece of your army is special. Ships, lords, and even foot soldiers are remarkably well designed.
  6. Apr 11, 2014
    70
    Warlock 2: The Exiled is Warlock: Master of the Arcane with a new mode and tuning. If you have liked the previous game, you will love this sequel… but only if you accept paying for something similar in many ways.
  7. Jun 5, 2014
    40
    Warlock 2: The Exiled slightly innovates the original game's formula, but it meddles with its strong and weak points to a small extent. The game stays true to its action-oriented style along with content and troop imbalance. However, with the addition of a weird story campaign and especially restrictions that appear, the game gets annoying and spoiled.

See all 22 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 14
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 14
  3. Negative: 3 out of 14
  1. Apr 20, 2014
    10
    Игра не без минусов, но за неимением достойной альтернативы заслуживает похвалы. Честно говоря за последние пару лет - она, как глоток свежегоИгра не без минусов, но за неимением достойной альтернативы заслуживает похвалы. Честно говоря за последние пару лет - она, как глоток свежего воздуха для эанра civilization- подобных игр. Символично, что она вышла почти в то же время, что и Age Of Wonders 3 (замечательная игра, про которую я могу сказать то же). Expand
  2. May 8, 2014
    9
    Great game. I loved the original and while the sequel doesn't add all that much.. it is certainly an improvement that I was happy to playGreat game. I loved the original and while the sequel doesn't add all that much.. it is certainly an improvement that I was happy to play through a few times again. Lots of good rpg/strategy army and empire building goodness. Expand
  3. Apr 13, 2014
    9
    After purchasing Age of wonders 3 two weeks ago, I'd have to say that it didn't hold my attention as long as i though it would, then I triedAfter purchasing Age of wonders 3 two weeks ago, I'd have to say that it didn't hold my attention as long as i though it would, then I tried Warlock 2 and i was very pleasantly surprised.

    There's a wide choice of buildings and units you can work towards, spells and other things, the game looks decent enough and the combat is fun and makes you place and move your units carefully around the map!

    I would prefer a tutorial to explain which building do what, and things you need to build first etc.. and I was hoping multiplayerwould have simultaneous turns.

    Other than that I am having a lot of fun with the game, and can't wait to see what mods come out for the game.
    Expand
  4. Nov 22, 2014
    8
    A entertaining 4x strategy game with good replayability. The UI scales nicely on a 4K Monitor. Most graphics are very pleasing to the eye butA entertaining 4x strategy game with good replayability. The UI scales nicely on a 4K Monitor. Most graphics are very pleasing to the eye but the building icons are bland and should be redone. Expand
  5. Apr 14, 2014
    8
    A good game, I especially enjoyed the exiled single player mode, where I have to conquer a number of small floating islands before getting toA good game, I especially enjoyed the exiled single player mode, where I have to conquer a number of small floating islands before getting to the final "Ardania" island. Each island after the 2nd one has progressively tougher opponents, and having multiple gates between the islands means that on several occasions I found myself fighting on 2-3 fronts. This was both good, and frustrating, as it's easy to get tied into a long stalemate.

    The AI is way better than Age of Wonders 2, in my case an enemy AI has backstabbed me twice, and then actually pleaded for peace on multiple occasions. (While Age of Wanders2 opponents never seemed to make any diplomatic deals with me. Whatever I sent them was rejected). So it's good to see diplomacy that's actually works.

    In terms of empire management, the new "city limit", which starts at 5 and got to 11 in my case is a two edge sword. For one, it makes cities a lot more important, but later on I found myself wanting to try out different temple units, so I had to get rid of some cities (turn them into free cities) to build temples on holy ground.

    Overall, there's plenty of depth in this game, from 5+ nations with different units to the spell research tree to the multiple specialized units from temples.
    Expand
  6. Apr 17, 2014
    8
    Warlock 2 is a challenging game and gives a enjoyable experience to players. It's a riveting game to enjoy with friends as its quick paced andWarlock 2 is a challenging game and gives a enjoyable experience to players. It's a riveting game to enjoy with friends as its quick paced and easy to understand. Although coming out the exact same time Age Of Wonders 3 did gave it a rocky start as Age of Wonders 3 is also an amazing game but more indepth and requires more patience to play. It really depends on your preferences I purchased both games and enjoy them both but Warlock 2 has a skirmish vibe while Age of Wonders 3 has a more campaign feel to it.

    This game overall is fun but it will test your skills as you get overwhelmed often. So best of luck on the fields of battle :)
    Collapse
  7. Apr 18, 2014
    1
    Ai not being able to negotiate. AI not being able to get past simple terrain obstacles. Units spamming the same lines every time you orderAi not being able to negotiate. AI not being able to get past simple terrain obstacles. Units spamming the same lines every time you order them. "Lost caravans" straight up giving end game spells with in the first 10 turns. In-game quest giving spells far more powerfully than anything in the tech trees. Battlemage, in-game items, and special start area gated behind day one dlc. You name any aspect of 4x games and Paradox **** it up. Expand

See all 14 User Reviews